Customer Reviews for BUFFALO BORE Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition

BUFFALO BORE Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition

If you’re a serious handgunner, this ammo is what you’ve been wishing for. Buffalo Bore takes factory ammunition to a new level of performance. By loading to maximum SAAMI specification guidelines and by using special imported non- canister powders, Buffalo Bore makes other commercially loaded ammo seem anemic at best. Plus, it’s loaded with a variety of premium bullet types for hunting and personal defense, including sledgehammer-potent Hard-Cast Lead Flat Nose (HFN) bullets for popular concealed-carry chamberings. Per 20. WARNING: This ammunition is intended for use only in firearms for which it is chambered with some exceptions. Check the list below for exceptions. If no exceptions are listed, use this ammo in any gun in working condition for which it is chambered. .45 Colt: Use only in Ruger, Colt Anaconda and Freedom Arms revolvers, T/C, Winchester 1894, Marlin 1894. .44 Mag.: Use only in Ruger Redhawk/Blackhawk, Colt Anaconda, Freedom Arms and Dan Wesson Revolvers. Use in all S&W revolvers made since 1989. Use in T/C, Winchester 1894 and Marlin 1894. .44 Remington Magnum +P+: Use only in Ruger Super Blackhawk, Vaquero, Redhawk, or Super Redhawk models, Freedom Arms model 83, Taurus Raging Bull & Dan Wesson revolvers, Thompson/Center Encore, Winchester 1894 and Marlin 1894 rifles, the H&R Handirifle and any rifle with a falling block action. .44 Special: For use in every .44 Special and .44 Magnum handgun or rifle except Charter Arms Bulldog.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(184 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 184 reviews
5 Stars
133
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
10
1 Star
13
161 out of 184(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Review 21 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buffalo Bore 158gr. .357mag

Date:March 10, 2008
Chrono'd a few - not much to say, other than the company's chrono numbers seem to be very realistic. The company says these are hot loads, and you can believe them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Covington, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buffalo Bore ammo

Date:March 13, 2008
I not only recommend this ammo, I will continue to purchase it myself. I have bought BB ammo for my 450 Marlin, 45-70, 44 mag, 460 S&W, 500 S&W and probably others I don't remember. The velocity in all cases has been as advertised or better with no obvious signs of too much pressure. The recoil is stiff, but that is the trade - off for more velocity with a heavy bullet. To be honest, the heaviest 45-70 loads out of the light weight Marlin are about as much as I can handle and I am over 6' tall and well over 200 pounds. To say the least it is severe if not downright painful, but anything in front of that muzzle when it goes off is going to be in much worse condition than me.
I have gotten pretty good accuracy from all loads, with the 360 grain 460 S&W being exceptional. Cabelas has the best price I have been able to find anywhere.
As long as I am able to continue shooting my big bores, I will continue to buy Buffalo Bore from Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Auburn, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good non-P Ammo

Date:March 14, 2008
I bought the Buffalo Bore .38 special LSWCHP (non-P) for use in my S&W 642 revolver. Buffalo Bore +P ammo is loaded VERY hot, and I wanted a self-defense load that was safe to use in alloy framed revolvers.
This is a very good load. Powerful and accurate, yet recoil is very manageable. I would trust this with any alloy framed gun in good condition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

380 GD

Date:March 17, 2008
I don't know of anything better for my 380. I am not thinking about trading to up a 9mm anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buffalo Bore .44 mag ammo

Date:April 14, 2008
I love the recoil and power produced by these loads.
It's cool to feel your hand shake after firing a half dozen rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Swartz Creek, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullet

Date:May 3, 2008
The best awy to describ this product is WOW! I have tried Buffulo Bore in both 9mm +P+ in 115 grain and 38SPL +P, LSWHC. First of all just by shooting these bullets you can tell they have some velocity just by the kick. I have read in a couple of magazines that the velocity of the bullets match Buffulo Bore's claim. I shoot my bullets into wet newspaper to see how they perform. The 9mm mushroomed to over twice its original diameter with a number of sharp petals. I have shot probably ten other bullets and none have expanded like this. The penetratioon was very deep even with the wide mushroom. These are THE rounds for self defense in 9mm.
I shot the 38 out of a Smith and Wesson Model 36 with a two inch barrel. The recoil was very stout but manageable. You need to hold tight onto this little gun with its smooth grips, however. Usually when I shoot into wet newspaper the bullet has to go through several paper layers before it starts to expand. Not with this round. The entrance hole was twice the diameter of any of the seven defensive rounds I tested. The bullet did not mushroom but the end bent over to one side. It left a fairly wide "wound" channel. Some of the other bullets seven I tested had a wider wound channel but not by much. None I tested in the 38 had near the penetration of Buffulo Bore. Depth of penetration os an important issue with a defensive 38 round.
Because of the velocities (and I am sure the resulting pressures they build up) of these bullets I would not shoot them out of an older gun. Accuracy is more than good enough for self defense in the guns I shot them out of. Weight retention is excellent. I have not found a better defensive round than Buffulo Bore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.500 s&w

Date:May 24, 2008
Great ammo for the massive .500 clean shooting and more accurate than other brands I've tried that cost 10 to 20 dollars more per box
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: hallettsville, tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buffalo bore handgun ammunition

Date:July 7, 2008
I haven't used this ammo yet. I bought it (.357 180gr.) to carry when working around my property where there are a number of wild hogs. The ballistics look impressive, and the 180 gr. solid should give good peneration if, and when I need
it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buff Bore 460 Ammo Is KING!

Date:July 28, 2008
This is some very, very serious stuff. I'm 51 but still pretty strong, and I love heavy-recoiling handguns. So, I put this fine ammo in my 460 XVR at the range today, and...
...after 10 rounds, I'd had all I cared to fire. The first shot broke the otherwise solid inline grip of my wrist and sent the gun up vertical. Shots 2 - 10 did pretty much the same thing, although not quite as badly because I held onto the gun so tight with both hands that my arms nearly shook. After those two chambersful, I switched to some hot-loaded 454 Casull instead, which was alot less traumatic.
The short of it is: this ammo is HOT! The weak-of-heart need not apply to shoot this truly impressive round. The Hornady 200 grain ammo I've been using for hogs works great. With a well-placed shot they die nearly instantly. Hot as the Hornady is, this 360 grain Buff Bore makes the Hornady seem almost mild, by comparison. Just the difference between a 200 grain bullet and a 360.
I cannot wait to try this stuff in the next couple of weeks! I think this will not only kill a hog, it may quarter it as well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

158 grain +P LSWHP

Date:August 4, 2008
I clocked this ammo out of a Model 10 with a 2 inch barrel.....
it averaged around 1000fps, I then switched to a 4 inch barreled Model 10...... the load clocked at 1100fps....
for a +P 38 Special I thought it was outstanding.
Believe the factory advertised velocities.
Recoil is a bit brisk but not bad at all. Enjoy. This is now my go to load in a steel 38.
I've ordered some non+P to try in my Model 642. The +P seemed a bit too brisk for a 15 ounce revolver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: UP STATE NEWYORK big man big hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 180gr buffalo bore

Date:August 8, 2008
I own and old lever action rifle and wanted to have enough power at short range to take deer and pigs+ coyotes . this amow fits the bill alot of power kick feel like my 308 going off .feeds great , loads good ,hits super hard . enough said
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turn Your .380 Into A Stopper

Date:August 18, 2008
Buffalo Bore .380 100 grain LFN round has 281 foot pounds at the muzzle at nearly 1200 fps! .38 P+ performance. Turn that mouse gun into a stopper! My Ruger LCP loves them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ALLENTOWN PA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buffalo bore ammo

Date:September 1, 2008
USED IT FOR RIRSTTIME IN MY SP101 4 INCH 357MAG.
MORE POWER THAN MY 44MAG WITH REG AMMO. THIS WILL BE MY CARRY GUN FOR SHURE.PLIS IT CARRIES LITE AND LOW.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buffelo bore

Date:September 28, 2008
I have not had a chance to hunt with them yet but they are noticeably more powerful when target shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.357 mag whitetail stopper

Date:September 29, 2008
I put away my slug gun last season to hunt whitetails with a model 94 in .357 mag. Went with the 158gr. jacketed hollow point. The round did a wonderful job on a very big doe at 50 yards. I have confidence in using the same setup again this season. Good cartridge Buffalo Bore!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pagosa Springs Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Accuracy & Flawless Function in Tomcat

Date:October 13, 2008
No problems with function in my Beretta Tomcat Inox...accuracy was also better than with the practice ball ammo. Don't know if I would use this hot ammo in a blued Tomcat, but I think it's fine in the stainlss version which has much beefier slide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buffalo Bore .38 special Heavy

Date:October 13, 2008
My Revolver is a Smith and Wesson M&P 340 .357 magnum. (Scandium Alloy Frame/Stainless Steel Cylinder)
Out of a lightweight short barrel revolver, Buffalo Bore 20d would be preferable when you want double the penetration, but a smaller wound channel. (For outdoors/woods/coyotes)
(Very hard cast 150gr. WAD CUTTER bullet — 868 fps (251 ft. lbs.))
For primary use against two legged predators, I'd carry 20C.
(158gr. very soft lead cast, SWC-HC gas checked bullet — 854 fps (256 ft. lbs.))
I am not a great shot so someone else will need to fill you in on accuracy but I can say that felt recoil was minimal making it easy for followup shots...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one dead deer

Date:October 22, 2008
I have a smith and wesson 686 6 inch barrel with a nikon 2x20 scope. I shot a couple boxes of buffal bore 158 grain jacket hollow point at the range this summer. The ammo is very powerful and still give me a good groups, 1 inch at 50 yard; and 2 inch at 100 yards. Just this early season I had to a chance to hunt with this ammo. I shot a doe at 10 yards and she drop right down. The exist hole is about 3 inches. I would recommend to anyone that wants a knowout ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stopping power

Date:November 13, 2008
shot a 400 lb. russian boar at 20 yds. took 2 steps and fell over cant waite till deer season|||!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammo

Date:November 18, 2008
This ammo touts the ballistics worth the price difference if you ever should need the "difference". Paper targets is what most of us shoot our ammo at; hopefully, that is all we'll ever need it for. But, should we need the Buffalo Bore "punch", it's good to know that the velocity and the energy exceeds that of "commodity" rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 184