Customer Reviews for BUFFALO BORE Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition

BUFFALO BORE Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition

If you’re a serious handgunner, this ammo is what you’ve been wishing for. Buffalo Bore takes factory ammunition to a new level of performance. By loading to maximum SAAMI specification guidelines and by using special imported non- canister powders, Buffalo Bore makes other commercially loaded ammo seem anemic at best. Plus, it’s loaded with a variety of premium bullet types for hunting and personal defense, including sledgehammer-potent Hard-Cast Lead Flat Nose (HFN) bullets for popular concealed-carry chamberings. Per 20. WARNING: This ammunition is intended for use only in firearms for which it is chambered with some exceptions. Check the list below for exceptions. If no exceptions are listed, use this ammo in any gun in working condition for which it is chambered. .45 Colt®: Use only in Ruger, Colt Anaconda and Freedom Arms revolvers, T/C, Winchester 1894, Marlin 1894. .44 Mag.: Use only in Ruger Redhawk/Blackhawk, Colt Anaconda, Freedom Arms and Dan Wesson Revolvers. Use in all S&W revolvers made since 1989. Use in T/C, Winchester 1894 and Marlin 1894. .44 Remington Magnum +P+: Use only in Ruger Super Blackhawk, Vaquero, Redhawk, or Super Redhawk models, Freedom Arms model 83, Taurus Raging Bull & Dan Wesson revolvers, Thompson/Center Encore, Winchester 1894 and Marlin 1894 rifles, the H&R Handirifle and any rifle with a falling block action. .44 Special: For use in every .44 Special and .44 Magnum handgun or rifle except Charter Arms Bulldog.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(192 Reviews) 192
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 192 reviews
5 Stars
137
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
11
1 Star
13
168 out of 192(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Review 21 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 BBore

Date:October 8, 2013
Very accurate out of my H&R 357, three shot group at fifty yards you can cover with a quarter. Still waiting for deer season but with the fps out of a rifle it should be deadly. Wish it wasn't quite so expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hot 357 Mag

Date:October 8, 2013
This ammo really does take .357 Mag to the next level. Shot it in my Ruger GP100 4'' and compared to some other 150 grain loads, this stuff had noticably more energy. That means a bit more recoil as well, but on the GP100 platform it was manageable. Probably wouldn't be comfortable with it in smaller frames. Didn't chrono it, but estimate it to be between 1250 to 1350 in velocity. I think this is the most powerful load you could use in 357 Mag. Would be great for bear/large game protection if you don't want to step up to a larger caliber, frankly, I don't think you'd need to. One star removed for price, quite expensive.. but it's not target ammo! Good stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ammo isn't worth the money

Date:August 30, 2013
Attended an advance handgun class and one of the drills was Barrier Penetration/Ballistic Evaluations of ones carry ammo. Shooting through a windshield (from the inside) it penetrated but fragmented into two pieces on exit. Same thing when shooting through a car door.
Would not recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buffalo Bore 10mm 220gr. Hard Cast Out Of Spec.

Date:August 17, 2013
Just purchased four (4) boxes of the 10mm 220 gr. Hard Cast.. Opening up the boxes to inspect the ammo I immediately noticed that ALL rounds showed case bulging where the bullet was seated.. I ran each round through my L.E. Wilson case gage to check overall cartridge dimensions and not one round PASSED the case gage test.. Most wouldn't even drop half way into the gage. Not one pass out of 80 rounds.. This tells me the ammo is dimensionally out of spec.. They do however drop into my KKM barrel.. Other factory ammo including the BB 180gr. JHP pass the gage test fine.. I'm sure BB manufactures fine ammo and again all other BB ammo passed my gage test but I just don't feel comfortable paying high dollar for out of spec ammo..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good choice! Thanks to Cabela's for stocking it!

Date:June 18, 2013
This is a managed recoil, heavy load for 44 mag. I intend to use it in my Ruger Super Redhawk for deer next season. I have had trouble with hollow points stopping with a direct hit on the front sholder bone and think this will resolve the issue! My shots normally range between 15 and 50 yards and I am sure this has the punch I am looking for. Anything farther than that will be a "no shot" since it dropps like a rock at longer ranges. This is expected though, and not a negitive in my review/oppinion. Good job Buffalo Bore!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Constitutional Right Stuff

Date:May 29, 2013
Bullets fed and fired without a flaw on both of my 380 pistols.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Does not feed

Date:May 29, 2013
Not sure if it is my magazne or the shells but these do not feed well at all in my Sig P238.
I have at least two or three FTF with each magazine so I can't rely on these. Using them up at the range so I sorry I bought them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sticks in Cylinder

Date:May 18, 2013
Purchased 180 gr. LFN-GC loads for my Ruger GP100 to carry for self defense against black bears while trout fishing. Shot a box at the range to test accuracy and penetration and found them to be satisfactory even with the added recoil compared to other .357 Mag loads. However, I was very disappointed to find the spent casings cannot be removed with the plunger due to excess expansion of the brass. Had to pry each of the six spent cases out with the edge of a knife! Forget fast reloads with this ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT 10mm ammo

Date:May 14, 2013
I shot five rounds of this 180 gr. JHC 10mm ammo across a chrony from a Glock 20 Gen 4 with 22# recoil spring,4.6" stock barrel and got 1325,1367,1346,1371,1369 fps readings that is 1355.6 fps average and are listed at 1350fps. All five shots were in a 1" group at 25yds shooting freehand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots well

Date:April 16, 2013
Shoots well, but expensive. Have to say, when I couldn't find ammo anywhere else, you all came through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exactly as described, very satisfied!

Date:April 16, 2013
Exactly as described, very satisfied! When I order from Cabela's I get exactly as described and have been very satisfied with all the products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buffalo Bore handgun ammo

Date:April 2, 2013
i have been using this ammo, in several calibers, for some time. i find it to be some of the more powerful per caliber that can be had. accuracy is very good, as is feed & function in all my guns. if you need stout ammo, this might be just the ticket, ASSUMING that YOUR GUN IS STRONG ENOUGH TO TAKE THE EXTRA POWER THESE ROUNDS GENERATE. i do NOT, however, recommend this be used on a regular basis in any gun, as over time, it could be quite punishing. otherwise, GREAT STUFF!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Heavy load

Date:March 19, 2013
Good amo. Shot well on paper from my Ruger. Wanted heavy lead load for hogs . Did not get to use on hunt but felt good to have it with me for backup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:March 19, 2013
Ammo is high quality, no issues or problems! Nice to see this hard to find ammo in stock somewhere! Thanks Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammunition!!!!

Date:January 15, 2013
This is great ammunition!! Id feel very comfortable carrying this in my G20 for bear protection. Shoots very well and has alot of knock down power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth Every Penny

Date:November 26, 2012
These rounds were excellent. I ordered some heavy 10mm, and there is a noticeable difference between this ammo and other factory 10mm loads. Excellent value. Thanks Cabelas! Thanks Buffalo Bore!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

44 Magnum Buffalo Bore 340 grain +P+

Date:November 8, 2012
I purchased this ammo to carry in my Ruger Alaskan during our trips out west. We are usually in the middle of nowwhere camping and I wanted something significant in case we were confronted by a bear. The ammo is definately capable protecting against a bear given the shot placement is correct. The ammunition fired from the Ruger Alaskan is very manageable and accurate. I would recommend this for similar applications. I would also recommend firing several rounds of the ammunition prior to carrying for defense as it has significanly more recoil that typical 44 magnum ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:August 28, 2012
I love this ammo. Just went out and shot the Buffalo Bore against other ammo. I was at the range with my Ruger GP100 .357 mag. I shot a cylinder of my old ammo, then a cylinder of the Buffalo Bore, then another cylinder of the old ammo. Buffalo Bore shoots more accurately, and as a heavier load. Love it! Best ammo that i have shot! I load all my personal defense guns with it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

BB 240 grain Keith .44 magnum lighter recoil

Date:July 30, 2012
Shot 20 rounds each type at targets to compare with other 240 grain .44 magnum loads in my S&W 629- 6" bbl. Recoil was equal or greater with the BB bullets.
All rounds fired just fine. It is perfectly capable ammo but I cannot recommend these as a lighter recoil alternative.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Self Protection

Date:May 22, 2012
Concealed Carry where legal may save you. Most will say 32 & 380 rounds are not enough. I will not go there ! Reality is - You never know when a threat will occur. Having the ability to defend ( a handgun ). I like the Beretta Tomcat. Very easy and comfortable to carry ( Always ). Practice = confidence and effectiveness. Reliability with any gun is up to you. If there is a failure with your gun it should be addressed. NO GUN IS PERFECT. But you can improve the areas of weakness, ( Do It ! ) . Today BB ammo for small caliber easy to carry firearms for self defense statistically should give you extra power. Also NO AMMO IS PERFECT, so prepare and practice for failure in crises. Don't blame - that won't save you. In summery - Having the ability to defend, knowing how to use it and making it perform at its best = a better chance for a positive outcome if your life depends on it.
Develope your own plan - you must be comfortable with it. Read Listen Learn Practice and most of all take care.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 192