Customer Reviews for BUFFALO BORE Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition

BUFFALO BORE Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition

If you’re a serious handgunner, this ammo is what you’ve been wishing for. Buffalo Bore takes factory ammunition to a new level of performance. By loading to maximum SAAMI specification guidelines and by using special imported non- canister powders, Buffalo Bore makes other commercially loaded ammo seem anemic at best. Plus, it’s loaded with a variety of premium bullet types for hunting and personal defense, including sledgehammer-potent Hard-Cast Lead Flat Nose (HFN) bullets for popular concealed-carry chamberings. Per 20. WARNING: This ammunition is intended for use only in firearms for which it is chambered with some exceptions. Check the list below for exceptions. If no exceptions are listed, use this ammo in any gun in working condition for which it is chambered. .45 Colt: Use only in Ruger, Colt Anaconda and Freedom Arms revolvers, T/C, Winchester 1894, Marlin 1894. .44 Mag.: Use only in Ruger Redhawk/Blackhawk, Colt Anaconda, Freedom Arms and Dan Wesson Revolvers. Use in all S&W revolvers made since 1989. Use in T/C, Winchester 1894 and Marlin 1894. .44 Remington Magnum +P+: Use only in Ruger Super Blackhawk, Vaquero, Redhawk, or Super Redhawk models, Freedom Arms model 83, Taurus Raging Bull & Dan Wesson revolvers, Thompson/Center Encore, Winchester 1894 and Marlin 1894 rifles, the H&R Handirifle and any rifle with a falling block action. .44 Special: For use in every .44 Special and .44 Magnum handgun or rifle except Charter Arms Bulldog.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.378 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 185 reviews
5 Stars
134
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
10
1 Star
13
162 out of 185(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Review 21 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sticks in Cylinder

Date:May 18, 2013
Purchased 180 gr. LFN-GC loads for my Ruger GP100 to carry for self defense against black bears while trout fishing. Shot a box at the range to test accuracy and penetration and found them to be satisfactory even with the added recoil compared to other .357 Mag loads. However, I was very disappointed to find the spent casings cannot be removed with the plunger due to excess expansion of the brass. Had to pry each of the six spent cases out with the edge of a knife! Forget fast reloads with this ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT 10mm ammo

Date:May 14, 2013
I shot five rounds of this 180 gr. JHC 10mm ammo across a chrony from a Glock 20 Gen 4 with 22# recoil spring,4.6" stock barrel and got 1325,1367,1346,1371,1369 fps readings that is 1355.6 fps average and are listed at 1350fps. All five shots were in a 1" group at 25yds shooting freehand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots well

Date:April 16, 2013
Shoots well, but expensive. Have to say, when I couldn't find ammo anywhere else, you all came through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exactly as described, very satisfied!

Date:April 16, 2013
Exactly as described, very satisfied! When I order from Cabela's I get exactly as described and have been very satisfied with all the products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buffalo Bore handgun ammo

Date:April 2, 2013
i have been using this ammo, in several calibers, for some time. i find it to be some of the more powerful per caliber that can be had. accuracy is very good, as is feed & function in all my guns. if you need stout ammo, this might be just the ticket, ASSUMING that YOUR GUN IS STRONG ENOUGH TO TAKE THE EXTRA POWER THESE ROUNDS GENERATE. i do NOT, however, recommend this be used on a regular basis in any gun, as over time, it could be quite punishing. otherwise, GREAT STUFF!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Heavy load

Date:March 19, 2013
Good amo. Shot well on paper from my Ruger. Wanted heavy lead load for hogs . Did not get to use on hunt but felt good to have it with me for backup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:March 19, 2013
Ammo is high quality, no issues or problems! Nice to see this hard to find ammo in stock somewhere! Thanks Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammunition!!!!

Date:January 15, 2013
This is great ammunition!! Id feel very comfortable carrying this in my G20 for bear protection. Shoots very well and has alot of knock down power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth Every Penny

Date:November 26, 2012
These rounds were excellent. I ordered some heavy 10mm, and there is a noticeable difference between this ammo and other factory 10mm loads. Excellent value. Thanks Cabelas! Thanks Buffalo Bore!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

44 Magnum Buffalo Bore 340 grain +P+

Date:November 8, 2012
I purchased this ammo to carry in my Ruger Alaskan during our trips out west. We are usually in the middle of nowwhere camping and I wanted something significant in case we were confronted by a bear. The ammo is definately capable protecting against a bear given the shot placement is correct. The ammunition fired from the Ruger Alaskan is very manageable and accurate. I would recommend this for similar applications. I would also recommend firing several rounds of the ammunition prior to carrying for defense as it has significanly more recoil that typical 44 magnum ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:August 28, 2012
I love this ammo. Just went out and shot the Buffalo Bore against other ammo. I was at the range with my Ruger GP100 .357 mag. I shot a cylinder of my old ammo, then a cylinder of the Buffalo Bore, then another cylinder of the old ammo. Buffalo Bore shoots more accurately, and as a heavier load. Love it! Best ammo that i have shot! I load all my personal defense guns with it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

BB 240 grain Keith .44 magnum lighter recoil

Date:July 30, 2012
Shot 20 rounds each type at targets to compare with other 240 grain .44 magnum loads in my S&W 629- 6" bbl. Recoil was equal or greater with the BB bullets.
All rounds fired just fine. It is perfectly capable ammo but I cannot recommend these as a lighter recoil alternative.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Self Protection

Date:May 22, 2012
Concealed Carry where legal may save you. Most will say 32 & 380 rounds are not enough. I will not go there ! Reality is - You never know when a threat will occur. Having the ability to defend ( a handgun ). I like the Beretta Tomcat. Very easy and comfortable to carry ( Always ). Practice = confidence and effectiveness. Reliability with any gun is up to you. If there is a failure with your gun it should be addressed. NO GUN IS PERFECT. But you can improve the areas of weakness, ( Do It ! ) . Today BB ammo for small caliber easy to carry firearms for self defense statistically should give you extra power. Also NO AMMO IS PERFECT, so prepare and practice for failure in crises. Don't blame - that won't save you. In summery - Having the ability to defend, knowing how to use it and making it perform at its best = a better chance for a positive outcome if your life depends on it.
Develope your own plan - you must be comfortable with it. Read Listen Learn Practice and most of all take care.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buffalo bore

Date:May 19, 2012
This round is smokin' at 1700 fps. As you would expect it costs a little in accuracy. I intend to try these on a deer this year. I think this will work fine if I keep my shots to 50 yards and under.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 Sig 125gr

Date:May 17, 2012
1450 fps from glock 33 3.5 inch barrel at 4500 ft Elevation 50 F baro 29.90 at 74% humidity. Shot very nice. Recoil very managable. If the bullets hold up well in gel this will be all that I will ever buy. They really make the Glock perform.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.357 180 grain semi wad cutter. AND WOW!!!

Date:May 7, 2012
I was kind of weary shooting this ammo out of my Ruger SP101. I'm not now. I've shot over a 100 rounds of this ammo in .357 mag 180 gain and I'm very comfortable with it. I'm thinking of switching out my Hornady 158 grain personal defense rounds that I use for conceal carry and switch the the Buffalo Bore 180 grain. Very nice round, but not for the recoil sensitive and faint of heart. These round do pack a punch, and I love it!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

158gr JHC

Date:April 16, 2012
Nice fireball and kick out of a Ruger SP-101. Effective stuff through a marlin lever-action rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Glock 10mm

Date:April 13, 2012
180 grain jammed every shot in my Glock 29. This gun has never jammed with any other ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Corning, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great hunting ammo!

Date:April 2, 2012
I purchased the 357 Magnum 180 Grain LFN-GC. At 1,400 fps it generates over 700 ft/lbs of energy, from my 6" barreled GP100. Great hard cast bullet penetrates deep on deer and hogs. This is your best bet for hunting larger game with your .357. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to hunt deer, hogs, or black bear with their .357.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't forget what .357 Mag is..

Date:March 28, 2012
Needed big caliber to deal with the possibility of Bears and Cats in my adventures but I've got a .357 Magnum.. It all comes down to what they used before the .44 Magnum came along and that was the .357 Magnum and they killed a lot of Bears and Cats..These in my opinion are.357's on Steroids and I feel good about carrying them to defend myself..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 185