Customer Reviews for BUFFALO BORE Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition

BUFFALO BORE Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition

If you’re a serious handgunner, this ammo is what you’ve been wishing for. Buffalo Bore takes factory ammunition to a new level of performance. By loading to maximum SAAMI specification guidelines and by using special imported non- canister powders, Buffalo Bore makes other commercially loaded ammo seem anemic at best. Plus, it’s loaded with a variety of premium bullet types for hunting and personal defense, including sledgehammer-potent Hard-Cast Lead Flat Nose (HFN) bullets for popular concealed-carry chamberings. Per 20. WARNING: This ammunition is intended for use only in firearms for which it is chambered with some exceptions. Check the list below for exceptions. If no exceptions are listed, use this ammo in any gun in working condition for which it is chambered. .45 Colt®: Use only in Ruger, Colt Anaconda and Freedom Arms revolvers, T/C, Winchester 1894, Marlin 1894. .44 Mag.: Use only in Ruger Redhawk/Blackhawk, Colt Anaconda, Freedom Arms and Dan Wesson Revolvers. Use in all S&W revolvers made since 1989. Use in T/C, Winchester 1894 and Marlin 1894. .44 Remington Magnum +P+: Use only in Ruger Super Blackhawk, Vaquero, Redhawk, or Super Redhawk models, Freedom Arms model 83, Taurus Raging Bull & Dan Wesson revolvers, Thompson/Center Encore, Winchester 1894 and Marlin 1894 rifles, the H&R Handirifle and any rifle with a falling block action. .44 Special: For use in every .44 Special and .44 Magnum handgun or rifle except Charter Arms Bulldog.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 200
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 200 reviews
5 Stars
144
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
11
1 Star
13
176 out of 200(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Review 21 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2014

Solid Performance

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Full power loads with reliable cycling and extraction make this cartridge offering from Buffalo Bore a perfect combination for my sometimes finicky, old, semi-auto browning. The brass is from Starline and the hard-cast bullets cycle without hitch.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014

Great Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I am very satisfied with this hand gun ammunition. And i really recommend it to everyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013

Friendy reminder

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Just to let people know, the .40 smith and wesson are +P. The chart doesn't show this but they are.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013

Recommended

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is excellent, consistent ammo with exception to the bullet and brass. These components are changed, I assume, based on availability or cost. That aside, these are top shelf cartridges that are accurate and loaded with performance in mind.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013

Bullets sink into case !

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have purchased their 9mm ammo and .380 caliber just to give it a fair shake. No problems with the 9mm but the bullets in the .380 literally sank into the cases. They would not feed and you could feel the sharp edges of brass where the bullet goes into the case! They might work in a revolver but that's enough to turn me off to their ammo. I think I will stick with Hornady and Cor-Bon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2013

buffalo bore item 23 B - 40 S&W 180 gr JHP

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased two boxes of this ammo thinking that these were premium self defense rounds but at this point I am not sure what make of bullet these are tipped with (as per example speer gold dots)... The bullet doesn't look like a Gold Dot or XTP. I have tried for weeks to get a response from Buffalo Bore Ammo but so far no response from them... Also the buffalo bore ammo boxes don't have lot numbers on them so if there ever had to be a recall then it might prove difficult. The attached image is from the buffalo bore ammo item 23 B... perhaps someone out there recognizes the bullet. I am giving it only two stars because of the uncertainty of what bullet is being used on the ammo that I purchased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013

Big Bore hiter

By
Country: United States
Gender: Male
good shooting. A little High on Price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2013

Great Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very High Quality.Top Power Level.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2013

357 BBore

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very accurate out of my H&R 357, three shot group at fifty yards you can cover with a quarter. Still waiting for deer season but with the fps out of a rifle it should be deadly. Wish it wasn't quite so expensive.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2013

Hot 357 Mag

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This ammo really does take .357 Mag to the next level. Shot it in my Ruger GP100 4'' and compared to some other 150 grain loads, this stuff had noticably more energy. That means a bit more recoil as well, but on the GP100 platform it was manageable. Probably wouldn't be comfortable with it in smaller frames. Didn't chrono it, but estimate it to be between 1250 to 1350 in velocity. I think this is the most powerful load you could use in 357 Mag. Would be great for bear/large game protection if you don't want to step up to a larger caliber, frankly, I don't think you'd need to. One star removed for price, quite expensive.. but it's not target ammo! Good stuff.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2013

Ammo isn't worth the money

By
Country: United States
Attended an advance handgun class and one of the drills was Barrier Penetration/Ballistic Evaluations of ones carry ammo. Shooting through a windshield (from the inside) it penetrated but fragmented into two pieces on exit. Same thing when shooting through a car door.
Would not recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2013

Buffalo Bore 10mm 220gr. Hard Cast Out Of Spec.

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Just purchased four (4) boxes of the 10mm 220 gr. Hard Cast.. Opening up the boxes to inspect the ammo I immediately noticed that ALL rounds showed case bulging where the bullet was seated.. I ran each round through my L.E. Wilson case gage to check overall cartridge dimensions and not one round PASSED the case gage test.. Most wouldn't even drop half way into the gage. Not one pass out of 80 rounds.. This tells me the ammo is dimensionally out of spec.. They do however drop into my KKM barrel.. Other factory ammo including the BB 180gr. JHP pass the gage test fine.. I'm sure BB manufactures fine ammo and again all other BB ammo passed my gage test but I just don't feel comfortable paying high dollar for out of spec ammo..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2013

Good choice! Thanks to Cabela's for stocking it!

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is a managed recoil, heavy load for 44 mag. I intend to use it in my Ruger Super Redhawk for deer next season. I have had trouble with hollow points stopping with a direct hit on the front sholder bone and think this will resolve the issue! My shots normally range between 15 and 50 yards and I am sure this has the punch I am looking for. Anything farther than that will be a "no shot" since it dropps like a rock at longer ranges. This is expected though, and not a negitive in my review/oppinion. Good job Buffalo Bore!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

Constitutional Right Stuff

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bullets fed and fired without a flaw on both of my 380 pistols.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

Does not feed

By
Not sure if it is my magazne or the shells but these do not feed well at all in my Sig P238.
I have at least two or three FTF with each magazine so I can't rely on these. Using them up at the range so I sorry I bought them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2013

Sticks in Cylinder

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased 180 gr. LFN-GC loads for my Ruger GP100 to carry for self defense against black bears while trout fishing. Shot a box at the range to test accuracy and penetration and found them to be satisfactory even with the added recoil compared to other .357 Mag loads. However, I was very disappointed to find the spent casings cannot be removed with the plunger due to excess expansion of the brass. Had to pry each of the six spent cases out with the edge of a knife! Forget fast reloads with this ammo!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013

GREAT 10mm ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I shot five rounds of this 180 gr. JHC 10mm ammo across a chrony from a Glock 20 Gen 4 with 22# recoil spring,4.6" stock barrel and got 1325,1367,1346,1371,1369 fps readings that is 1355.6 fps average and are listed at 1350fps. All five shots were in a 1" group at 25yds shooting freehand
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2013

Shoots well

By
Shoots well, but expensive. Have to say, when I couldn't find ammo anywhere else, you all came through.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2013

Exactly as described, very satisfied!

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Exactly as described, very satisfied! When I order from Cabela's I get exactly as described and have been very satisfied with all the products.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Buffalo Bore Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2013

Buffalo Bore handgun ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i have been using this ammo, in several calibers, for some time. i find it to be some of the more powerful per caliber that can be had. accuracy is very good, as is feed & function in all my guns. if you need stout ammo, this might be just the ticket, ASSUMING that YOUR GUN IS STRONG ENOUGH TO TAKE THE EXTRA POWER THESE ROUNDS GENERATE. i do NOT, however, recommend this be used on a regular basis in any gun, as over time, it could be quite punishing. otherwise, GREAT STUFF!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 200