Customer Reviews for REDDING Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

REDDING Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press

Redding created the ultimate turret press by melding cast-iron construction, powerful compound linkage and a rigid seven-station turret with a rear casting support for precise alignment. The 1"-diameter hollow ram has a 33⁄16" stroke with positive stop. For speed and convenience, Redding engineers added the Smart Primer Arm (for seating large and small primers) and a tubular primer-collection system that can be routed to a trash can or hold hundreds of spent primers before emptying. Accepts all standard 7⁄8"-14 threaded dies and universal shell holders. Shell holders can be rotated to any position. Competition-die compatible. 43⁄4" press opening. Interchangeable turret heads allow quick and easy caliber changes. Comfortable ball handle. Dies and shellholder not included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
30 out of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Review 1 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: inyokern, ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a good turret but...

Date:September 30, 2009
I was pleased with the heavy weight and the casting and machining on this press; however, it seems to have the problem in deflection with large cases when full length resizing. It deflect as much as .003 which causes headspace problems if you are very particular about your ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

corrections for the T7 press

Date:May 25, 2010
The T7 is a very strong press. They do not give any setup instructions. The press will not speed up your loading over a standard single press. The auto primer is in the way preventing you from using the powder measure installed with it. The auto primer workes very well but it is faster to use a hand primer. With the powder measure and autoprimer not being compatible, you are single staging anyway. The only real advantage that I get for my money is having a full setup of my dies. The turret plate will hold two sets of dies but it is too bulkey to have several sets and I reload for eleven different guns. The allen screw that holds the turret plate would be difficult to remove with all the dies installed. I hope this is displayed because I purchased my T7 based on the incorrect reviews posted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great value

Date:February 24, 2008
great press
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press

Date:January 26, 2012
Don't spend your money on buying a different press. The Redding T7 is a great solid press and with the turret, you can place different dies without having to adjust them. You can buy additional turrets and quickly change out the turret with a different one that has different dies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best of both worlds - strong with room for 7 dies.

Date:November 26, 2012
I started out reloading 5 years ago with a budget brand turret press which worked fine but I have gradually moved to needing a single stage for precision rifle rounds. The best solution I could find was this press from Redding. It is easily the strongest press I have ever seen, and if the turret is adjusted properly, there is absolutely NO flex on the head when resizing military 30-06 HXP, which is some really tough brass. One item I was concerned about was the spent primer catcher, as my red 3-letter press would constantly drop spent primers out the side of the ram, since the primer arm would fall out all the time. This press rarely drops a spent primer, maybe 1 in 50.
Beefy as could be and very precise, I couldn't be happier!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant Machine

Date:October 19, 2012
The helpful folks at Cabela's customer service allowed me to exchange the flawed RCBS Turret press for the Redding (with some cash on the side of course). After the negative experience with the RCBS I am happy to report that the Redding does not exhibit any of the shortcomings which prompted the RCBS return. The system to collect spent primers works great. The attachment on the ram for the shellhoder is well designed. The whole press is much bigger and more robust and there is much less flex in the Redding turret during operation than was exhibited on the RCBS. The Redding turret indexes very smoothly. All in all a very quality piece of equipment. As noted above, the Redding is more expensive but it is worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Should have bought it sooner!

Date:May 23, 2012
I read the reviews before I bought this press. I was concerned about the primer feeder and the alinement of the dies. Everything works great. The lever does seem to be a little stiff. I have only loaded rounds for my 9 and 357, I have not tried loading any of my rifles yet. I am very pleased with the press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

How user and maker can improve this great press

Date:December 17, 2011
I love the ease of changing sets of dies, and changing among dies for a caliber.
Improvement: get a 5/16-inch hex driver bit for a socket wrench with an extension rod, or a T-handle hex driver. It will reach down among the dies of a fully-loaded turret.
Suggestion to manufacturer: include a quality T-handle Hex driver with the press.
Suggestion: wrap a hand towel around the ram and spread it out to catch the ball bearing that latches the turret at the die stations when it falls off the spring when you take a turret off. Turn the turret to between dies to keep the ball from sticking in one of the indents.
Suggestion to manufacturer: add a sleeve around the spring that will retain the ball.
I don't mind not being able to use the primer arm and the powder measure together. In fact, I use neither. For convenience, I use a dedicated priming system. For SAFETY, I always load powder in 20 to 50 case batches and inspect them in a loading block to ensure that there are no double or short charges.
Improvements: I cut a piece of wood to fill the slot in the ram (for the primer arm) so that primers would always go down the ram to the collection tube, and used masking tape on the sides so that it would jam lightly into the slot.
Suggestion to manufacturer: offer a replacement ram without the slot cut in it.
The operating handle is an inch or two too long for me to use it comfortably. I'll have to cut the threads farther up the handle to be able to adjust it. Then a nut above and a nut below could be used to hold it in place.
Suggestion to manufacturer: Offer different length handles or make the length adjustable.
Despite these minor issues, I love this press. I'll never go back to threading one die at a time into a press (and having to check the adjustment each time).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lehi, UT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redding T-7 Turret Reloading press

Date:May 11, 2011
If you don't want the best in a monster reloading press, then don't buy this sucker because you'll be disappointed. Man what a nice job Redding has done with this press and with the automatic primer feed you have a great press that holds a minimum of three sets of dies, so you're not constantly changing dies. I have my turret set-up to load .300 Weatherby, 7mm Weatherby and .257 Weatherby. I bought an additional turret from Midway USA and have it set up to load .270 WSM, .300 H & H, .264 Win Mag. The dies change so easily that I have gone from .204 to .340 in the blink of an eye and the press is absolutely the easiest I've ever use. Man does it have power,...it presses .340 brass like they're not there/
Cheers,
Hornybear
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Richmond, Va
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redding T-7 Turret Press

Date:August 2, 2010
The best press I have ever seen. The most sturdy press I have ever seen. You will not be sorry getting this press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: From Fox Lake, IL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redding T-7 A great press

Date:March 30, 2010
Have used other reloading presses in the past and this is by far the best. Extremely heavy duty. The turret is removable. I bought extra turrets so I could set each one up for two calibers and not have to remove the dies. Just interchange the turrets.
Also the Redding T-7 will mount to a Dillon 550 stand for above the bench mounting. I need extra height and the stand fits perfectly.
You move the turret manually which allows for single stage reloading without having to reset each time.
I would recommend this press for everyone from beginners to experts for both large rifles and pistols.
Happy reloading!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Hills,ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redding press

Date:March 29, 2010
Outstanding press
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: FERN CREEK, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great tool

Date:December 1, 2009
Just got this press last week just before Thanksgiving which was sooner than I expected from the delivery date Cabelas initially gave me. Thankyou Cabelas.
For years and years (I'm older than I should be) I used a RCBS single stage JR PRESS and for those years it was all I needed loading 7mm Mag, 270 Win and different handgun cartridges for revolvers.
Of late I started shooting semi-auto pistol and an AR 15 going through much more ammo and the single stage became a chore.
This REDDING PRESS is awesome and once the dies are set up its no worries. The rotation of the die head is smooth and the indexing of it is solid. The handle and ram, smooth in operation create enough force to easily resize cases and install primers. I want to try this press out on my 7mm Mag cartridges; can't imagine much of a problem.
I had thought about buying the other green press but the REDDING looked so much more solid and the reviews were good on the REDDING, more so than the other green turret press. The tube for catching spent primers is a nice touch too.
I'd recommend this press to anyone looking to update their equipment or even for someone starting out. Just keep track of what step you are doing especially when dumping powder charges in your cartridges if you have your hopper off to the side of your press which is what I am doing.
Now go and buy one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redding T-7 Turret Press

Date:November 14, 2009
Extremely heavy duty, very tight linkages and ram. I have a Lyman T-Mag II which I will now devote to just pistol brass as I wanted this press to handle resizing full size rifle brass. The instructions are acceptable. The Redding website is weak on showing a parts diagram for the press or the ability to eve3n order any parts, likely would require a phone call to redding as doing such on the internet at the moment isnt possible. Two weaknesses I could find with the press, one is that an ordinary allen wrench cannot be used to remove the turret once the dies are in place. The best workaround for this is simply to buy a 5/16" hex bit socket and use that in conjunction with a ratchet wrench and extension. Other interesting finding was that since the press is designed to drop primers straight thru the shell holder then thru the ram and into the collection tube was that other things could also drop thru, for instance the entire decapping rod from a Lee full length decapper. The only way to retreive the decapper was to unbolt the press from the table and flip it upside down so the decapper could drop out of the ram. Best fix for that scenario is to remember to never loosen a decapping rod when its situated directly over the ram. Beware the detent ball and spring under the turret at the rear of the press should you elect to remove or change turrets as the spring will fire the ball possibly causing it to be lost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redding T-7

Date:October 19, 2009
THis is not my first press but it is the first turrent style that I have been impressed with. I bought this primarily to work with the 5.7x28mm FN cartridge and I have not been disappointed. Does an excellent job of depriming and seating. I have been using a powder drop from another manufactorer's progressive press that I own and it works great as a turent from powder drop to seating.
I gnerally deprime as a separate operation and prime by hand after doing some work on the primer pockets. I did not purchase the priming mechanism that goes along with the T-7.
The only complaint I have about the T-7 is that I sometimes lose a spent primer out the front of the tube. I suspect that is due in part to the geometry of the 5.7x28mm case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeast PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redding T7 Reloading Press Review

Date:October 4, 2009
I purchased the Redding T7 reloading press to replace a 19 year old loading press that I had. So far to date, I have only reloaded approx. 800 pistol shells, and the Redding press has met my expectations. The press is heavy duty and I look forward to using it on my rifle cases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome press

Date:September 5, 2009
I originally ordered the other green turret press since I owned a Rock Chucker and thought the quality would be similar. I was wrong. This press, on the other hand, is far superior. Smooth and strong with no noticeable play in the turret when sizing. The spent primer catcher is excellent and catches most of the primers in a clear tube which can be directed into a trash can. I still will use my single stage press for my hunting ammo, but for everything else, this is the press to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CORTEZ,CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T7 PRESS

Date:February 9, 2009
ITS THE BEST! BUY IT! BUY EXTRA HEADS TOO. DOES ALL BUT THE LONGEST MAGNUMS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oakland, Tennessee, USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent, as expected

Date:January 21, 2009
I use a full-auto progressive press (Dillon XL 650) most of the time -- because I shoot a lot of pistol, and need to load a few hundred round at a time in several calibers. However, when it comes to my "long rifles" for deer hunting (.30-06, 8mm Mauser, etc.), a progressive is less than ideal. You need to go one step at a time: resize / decap, then clean, inspect, trim the brass; measure powder charges one at a time, etc. -- and you don't need to do more than 50 rounds at a time.
I used a single stage RCBS press for years to do the big bottleneck rifle rounds; but I got tired or re-installing and adjusting dies all the time. I got the Redding turret press because of its reputation, and I haven't been disappointed. I keep the head set up for both the .30-06 and 8mm calibers, and still have room for another caliber if I get another rifle (I'm thinking 30-30 soon). This press will save me a lot of time, yet still allow me the precision needed for top-quality big game rifle loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Redding T-7 Turret Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redding T7

Date:January 20, 2009
I am happy with this press. Very well made, turret latches in place with no play, very solid. This is a quality press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30