Customer Reviews for LYMAN Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler

LYMAN Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler

The world’s most popular brass cleaning and polishing systems. Nearly twice as fast as old-style rotating-barrel tumblers, their unique design allows media to constantly swirl around fully immersed cases. High-speed, agitated motion cleans and polishes every case. Inspect cases without stopping the cleaning operation. Built for the high-volume reloader, with heavy-duty motors and advanced drive systems. Features a 2-gal.-capacity bowl capable of holding up to 1,000 .38 Special cases per cycle.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
9 out of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Review 1 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

lyman 2500 pro mag

Date:March 27, 2014
Purchased two of these and I don't like them. Their biggest problem is they walk from the vibration. The only way I have been able to stop the walking is to use a small clamp and clamp it to the table. I own other tumblers and don't have this problem. Would I reccommend these NO I would not.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman 2500

Date:November 12, 2013
Excellent product, but the Lyman should leave more visible motor voltage. I had to disassemble my to identify.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best price around

Date:July 2, 2012
I shoot cowboy action comp. And I reload about 500 - 800 rounds a week can't be without my tumbler. When my 2500 went down after 8 years of use I found Cabelas prices and delivery time couldn't be beat.
Thanks for keeping me up and loading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tumbler

Date:March 28, 2012
I wanted to purchase a larger tumbler for hundreds of rounds of mixed caliber brass. This tumbler holds more than I need. It does as good a job as any dry media tumbler and quiet also. Have not had long, so if it holds up, I will be very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

2 In A Row

Date:August 30, 2011
1st One received would not power on. 2nd received would not power on.. Enough, bought a Ultra Vibe 18.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jackson, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FILL HER UP AND OFF YOU GO

Date:March 1, 2011
THIS THING WORKS GREAT - THE BRASS COME OUT LIKE NEW.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent value

Date:February 8, 2011
got this one sale and had it delivered to canada with no hassle.large hopper to put lots of stuff in and had it running non stop for days.only drawback is that it tends to move across the floor but put it on a rubber mat and now is okay
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best brass cleaner

Date:April 20, 2009
Over the last 38 years that I have been reloading, I've used several brands of tumblers. Lyman's 2500 pro magnum is the best that I have ever tried. The 2 gallon tub holds so many shells I can't believe it ! I plan on buying another one just to keep for a spare ( just in case they quit making them).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: So. California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love It

Date:February 3, 2009
Works great! Added 500 or so cases and cleaned um up in a few hours....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Surry, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

2 strikes and your out.

Date:December 7, 2008
This is the second Lyman tumbler that has died on me in less than 9 months. This one didnt even last long enough to turn one batch of media black. I'll never own another Lyman product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Only lasted a year and a half

Date:October 15, 2008
Bought this tumbler about 18 months ago and today it quit working with a strong odor coming from the motor, probably burnt out. It was not overloaded and I used it on average twice a week. I will send it back to Lyman and see what they do. I will say that when it was working, it cleaned the brass very well. Being so big, it was tough to empty when full.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs,CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:April 7, 2008
Lyman has always been top shelf during my 50 yrs of experiance with their products. My 2500 tumbler finally quit after 10 years of veary hard use. Can't say enough good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler

Date:April 1, 2008
Lasted 10 hours under light load. Cabela's sent me to Lyman and Lyman said I voided the warranty because I took it apart to fix it and would not even sell the repair parts needed.
This unit is cheaply constructed from light duty components, not made to last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

East

Date:January 8, 2008
Very please with the tumbler. Use it for 50 bmg and it is a workhorse.. really cleans up the old surplus cases well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyman 2500 Pro Magnum Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: North East Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Lyman Turbo Tumbler

Date:March 27, 2007
I had to purchase a new tumbler when my old lyman turbo 600 died, I have used the old tumbler for almost 15 years and was not dissatisfied with the performance of the tumbler,
after some research on the internet i decided to replace it with a new Magnum version of their tumbler if a turbo is good mag has to be better right?
when the new tumbler arrived the first thing i noticed was the weight or more specifically the lack of weight the new tumbler weighs much less than the old tumbler, that in itself is not a bad thing but it just feels cheap.
as i set about getting ready to tumble shells i also was disappointed to find my old bowl will not fit the new tumbler the threaded shaft is of larger diameter stock than the old one.
the bowl itself is made of a lighter material than the old orange one it appears to be made out of 2 pieces of plastic welded or glued together I examined the motor on the new tumbler it is of a open coil design like the old one and smaller in size.
I set the tumbler up and loaded it with 150 45/70 cases it held them fine i plugged in the unit and it began to do its thing i noticed immediately that it agitated faster than the old one and even tho it was evenly loaded and on a level surface it tended to walk around so i had to clamp it to the work bench.
all in all i think this unit can use some improvement and i will list the improvements i think should be made
first it should be made out of heavier material and more weight in the bottom would keep it from walking.
i would like to see compatibility between old and new units (it would have been nice to have a second bowl i could just set on the unit for molly coating or rougher media)
a heavy duty motor (i have my doubts that this motor will last 15 yrs like the old one)
a on off switch instead of just plugging and unplugging the unit
if i have to replace this unit in the future i will probably not purchase a Lyman Tumbler
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.