Customer Reviews for Aguila Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Aguila Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition

SSS (Sniper Subsonic) is loaded with 60-grain bullets, the heaviest available for the .22 rimfire. Tests have revealed 24" of penetration into ballistic gelatin at 200 meters. Per 500. You get a Dry-Storage box with every 500 rounds, a $13.99 value. This rugged polymer box has a lockable lid and a heavy-duty latch. Olive drab color. Measures 14"L x 11-1/2"H x 8"W. Available: 500 rounds - 1 Dry Box WARNING: You must be 18 or older to purchase ammunition. All ammunition will be shipped ground UPS. For safety reasons, we do not accept returns on ammunition. Always make sure you use the correct ammunition for your specific firearm. Check your local laws for any other regulations. ATTENTION:Residents of DE, DC, IL, MA, NY and OH please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any ammunition products.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.946 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
28 out of 37(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Review 21 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2008

22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition

By
Location: Arizona
This is the only .22 cal that I have found in 60 gn. I like it fine it cycled just fine in all my semi auto pistols and rifles. I was pleased and would buy more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2008

Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition

By
Location: CA
This is the second time I have ordered this ammunition, and this time it had been on sale. It’s still a little expensive, but it came with the ammo boxes which I use all the time. This batch came in a different SSS box but worked without flaw in my 10/22 and had 1 failure to extract in my P22 out of 100 rounds each. Any bolt or single shot that I have fired has never had a problem with probably around 3000 rounds fired combined. It performs as advertised and better. Worth paying the price if you have never tried it, even if it isn’t on sale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2008

Perfect for my use

By
Location: Colorado
I don't use it as a target round. I don't know how well it works for that, but it is excellent for my uses at close range (20 yards) when speed isn't an issue. It has plenty of "power" too. If you're considering this round, you probably have an intended use and aren't worried about "keyholes" on paper targets. Try it, you'll like it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

long shot

By
Location: wyoming
these work for longer shots that you don't think that a normal 22 long rifel will work for and it knocks them down to the ground with no problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2008

good ammo make sure you have the right twist`

By
Location: Portland, Or
I used this stuff for my ar 15 that I have a ciener conversion kit for the barrel on it is a 1 in 9 twist and it will stabilize the heavier bullet a normal 22lr barrel with a 1 in 16 twist just wont stabilize it. The stuff does have kind of a toxic smell to it tho so be carefull on breathing after dumping a 30 round mag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

22lr sub sonic

By
Location: fl
the bullets are great they are quiet and hit there mark. the only problem is they smell bad.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2008

Purpose built

By
Location: US
Good stuff. Suppressed, this ammo is awesome!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2007

Great shooting .22LR

By
Location: El Paso, TX
These didn't jam like some of the cheaper .22LR. I was able to shoot as fast as I wanted without a problem. Great product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2007

Great With 1:9 Twist Barrel

By
Location: DeRidder, LA
I bought this ammo for pest control as I live on the edge of a rural area. With the proper barrel twist, the ammo performs very well at 50 yards and under. At 25 yards, using a custom bull barrel and custom trigger on a 10/22, the ammo shoots .25 groups all day long. Noise level is a little higher than standard sub-sonic but not excessive. Killing power is excellent on varmints.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2007

22sss

By
Location: home washington
this is great ammo for plinking the only noise you hear is the sound of the bolt sliding foward. nice for 25 to 30 yard shots
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2007

Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammo

By
Location: Bay Area, California
I shot 100+ rounds of this ammo through my 1964 vintage Remington 513 MatchMaster rifle. I sighted my scope for dead on at 70 yards, and I was able to consistently put 5 shot groups under 1 inch. The rounds are quiet, without the usual crack of a .22LR. I did try shooting at 125 yards, but this ammo appears to drop pretty fast at that range. I had to hold almost 3 feet over the target to get on the paper at that range.
I think this is an excellent round for plinking/varmits at the usual .22LR distances. Very low noise and comfortable to shoot without hearing protectors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2007

Aguila .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammo

By
Location: Middle Tennessee
About as loud as a strong hand clap. Needs 1:9 inch twist to stabilize well. Can be very accurate in the right rifle or handgun. Otherwise will yaw or keyhole if twist not right or barrel too short. Yields very deep penetration. Has been used effectively on wild boar and in culling deer herds in built up residential areas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2007

60grain .22's

By
Location: Palm Beach County FL
when I got the order I LOVED it, just by looking at it. My Glock .40cal. can shoot 9mm(just change Barrell and Magazine, It also shoots .357 and 380 Auto. Last but not least, the gun is also capable of shooting Long Rifle .22 bullets, Since these were twice the weight and the velocity being about the same, I expected great things, I'm so Glad my Gun was on my holster and wasn't in the car, But they did get away with those .22LR Sniper Subsonic. So, I'm going to buy some more.
Thanks,
John
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2007

Sniper Subsonic Ammo

By
Location: PA
Accurate, goes bang EVERY time. Great Groundhog killer at 80 yards.
Bill
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2006

sniper rds

By
Location: ny
excellent product.....sounds so much different than regular shells....got a woodchuck with the first one...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

.22lr sniper sub sonic ammo

By
Location: Rochester, NY
Extremely fast delivery I was plinking in days. This ammo is hard hitting and quite. By no means is it silent but extremely quiter than a standard shell.
The 60 gr bullet drops drastically for long range shooting. However for close range varmit and pest control thos round cant be beat. The sniper sub sonic cannot be matched for knockdown power. Twice the mass and marginally slower velocity than a standard shell makes this a very effective choice for pest control or small game hunting.
If your looking for a round that wont scare the neighbors and hits like a bowling ball on impact this is the round for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Bulk .22LR Sniper Subsonic Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Aguila Sniper Subsonic - Super Useful!

By
There are some things that just exceed all expectations - and Aquila SSS 60gr .22 ammunition is one of them.
When I ordered it, I fully expected it to perform as advertised out of both my bolt and lever action .22s, but I also have an Advantage Arms 22lr L.E. unit conversion for my Glock models 27. A nice way to practice, but, for me, not much use in the woods around the house. The short barrel and high velocity .22s are just too loud. So, on a whim I thought I'd try the Aquilas. WOW.
One would think that a subsonic would not cycle a semi-auto firearm, and the Advantage Arms literature would agree, but the combination of the extra recoil generated by the heavy bullet, coupled with the short case makes the Aguila SSS function FLAWLESSLY in my Advantage Arms/Glock.
The 60gr bullet is sufficiently accurate out of the little Glock barrel to make it a FINE "round the barn" varmint load, taking crows, squirrels, racoons and even possums with ease inside of 25yds - without deafening me (or annoying the neighbors) in the process. The sectional density is good eough that it also allows for clean kills on larger (trapped) nuisance animals like feral hogs.
And did I mention that it is one of the CLEANEST loads I've ever fired through my Glock? Simply amazing.
Now my Glock can do "double duty" - as both my Duty Gun and my backyard "critter getter".
Excellent, excelent product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-37 of 37