Customer Reviews for Hornady Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Hornady Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™

This Hornady .17 HMR ammunition loaded with the V-Max? bullet performs exceptionally well and is engineered to rock small game and meet your plinking and target shooting needs. This 17-grain bullet expands rapidly and comes with a NEW Dry-Storage Box, a $14.99 value. Per 500 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
41 out of 44(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Review 1 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMO

Date:December 12, 2008
Picked some up for my marlin. Shot a couple hundred rounds so far without any problems or misfires. I target shoot to about 300 yards and this ammo is on point. I only put holes in papers so I don't know about the stopping power, but I'm sure it would do fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition 17gr

Date:November 3, 2008
Great ammo really like it would recommend to everyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: high plains, sd
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best there is

Date:October 13, 2008
being that hornady made the .17 hmr (.17 hornady magnum rimfire) in the first place all others fall short, i tried them all, i think it has something to do with there powder, there is less fouling in the bore as compared to others of the same caliber. if you dont believe me check your barrell after shooting a box of cci's then check after the hornadys, way less fouling with the hornadys, i have a marlin that i got 5 years ago with a bsa sweet 17 scope it really hits the prairie dogs hard even @ 200 yds, it also got a coyote @150 yds in the head, among other things, it will go clean through quarters @100 yds, from my experience the cci and remington had the worst bore fouling, hornady had the best, the .17 hmr is the most fun shooting ammo there is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hartford, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy!

Date:October 7, 2008
I purchased this ammo when i bought my new Savage 17 Hmr with a Simmons scope at Cabelas and it's great! I went through 100 rounds at the range and had no miss fires and the accuracy was great, even well beyond 100 yards. It also has good stopping power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tac drivers

Date:September 11, 2008
I use these little monsters in my Savage to pop Dixie cups full of sand at 200yds. I don't think they would be at all deadly at that distance (since they do not rupture or mushroom). But it sure is fun knocking paper cups down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

slugger

Date:September 9, 2008
great ammo really accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Harlan Ky.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady .17HMR 17gr.V-Max

Date:April 29, 2008
Talk about one accurate bullet ! I shoot these in my Savage .17 cal. rifle 100 yard groups of 1/2 inch is normal. Tried the other brands , but Hornady outshoots them all! Way to go Hornady !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ellensburg WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo good price

Date:April 24, 2008
Since I use a Cabela's Pine Ridge Tactical Riflescope and have always had good results with this ammo it is all I put through my Marlin 917vsf. Even though the ammo at the store is usually pretty fairly priced Cabela's bulk ammo has proven to be a good deal. Priced individually the 50 round boxes are about the same price as the sale priced stuff around Ellensburg. The real kicker is the included ammo box which has proven to be one of the handiest things I own. I use it to keep my ammo locked up in my truck while going to the range or woods and it never dissappoints.
The ammo on its own is good but the total package is great.
Happy Hunting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BAKERSIELD, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

HORNADY 17HMR V MAX

Date:April 18, 2008
THIS AMMO IS GREAT, ACCURATE AND WELL PRICED, DOES A KILLER JOB ON VARMITS. THREE PEOPLE IN MY GROUP USE IT ALL THE TIME NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS. THE V MAX IT THE BEST BAR NONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Accuracy

Date:March 20, 2008
Like all Hornady ammo it is awesome!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Caro, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™

Date:March 18, 2008
Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition I think is very good ammunition. I use it in a single shot rifle with a 3 to 9x 50m scope. I shoot red squirrels at 100-150 yds, and I haven't missed yet (knock on wood) and not one squirrel has walked away. It's gets the job done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PERRYSBURG OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.17HMR

Date:February 12, 2008
THIS STUFF WORKS GREAT, iT CARRIES WELL AND IS DEVISTATING TO ANY VARMINT IT HITS. I CAN EASILY PLINK WOODCHUCKS AT 300 YDS WITH THIS AMMO!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.17 HMR

Date:October 30, 2007
Good price for this quality ammo. The included dry box makes it an even better deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Staten Island New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't fine a better bullet

Date:October 23, 2007
What can , I say . The hornady .17 round packs a big hit for a little round. If you have a .17 rifle. I would strongly recommend you to try it. I'm sure you would not regret it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

horniday ammo

Date:October 1, 2007
I think this ammo is the best and most accuret you can get for the .17 hmr i have tryed other types but horniday v-max seams to be the best for in my gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AMITE, LA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BULLETS

Date:September 18, 2007
QUALITY PRODUCT AND QUALITY SERVICE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Paul, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lotsa Fun

Date:August 8, 2007
I really enjoy shooting the .17 HMR and Hornady makes the best ammunition for it. I just returned from a trip to Wyoming where I shot the .17 HMR a lot. It worked great as always. The ammunition box was great to have as we had lots of dust and it keeps the ammunition clean. The only drawback is putting the seals on the box when you first get it. I did one just fine after "learning" on the first box. Wish they'd send two sets of seals, one for practice and one for real.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sheridan, wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice

Date:July 10, 2007
very good ammo, and the free box is really handy!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wilmington,De
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly accurate

Date:July 4, 2007
This ammo is one of the most extremely accurate rimfire cartridge that is on the market today. 190 yard shot on a woodchuck was enough proof for me,and 130 to 165 yard shots are common. Varmints don't stand a chance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: FC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady

Date:June 20, 2007
Excellent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 44