Customer Reviews for Hornady Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Hornady Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™

This Hornady .17 HMR ammunition loaded with the V-Max? bullet performs exceptionally well and is engineered to rock small game and meet your plinking and target shooting needs. This 17-grain bullet expands rapidly and comes with a NEW Dry-Storage Box, a $14.99 value. Per 500 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
41 out of 44(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Review 1 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2008

GREAT AMMO

By
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Picked some up for my marlin. Shot a couple hundred rounds so far without any problems or misfires. I target shoot to about 300 yards and this ammo is on point. I only put holes in papers so I don't know about the stopping power, but I'm sure it would do fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2008

Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammo

By
Location: Lovington New Mexico
Did NOT load smoothly! Too much money for bullets that are no good!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2008

Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition 17gr

By
Great ammo really like it would recommend to everyone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2008

the best there is

By
Location: high plains, sd
being that hornady made the .17 hmr (.17 hornady magnum rimfire) in the first place all others fall short, i tried them all, i think it has something to do with there powder, there is less fouling in the bore as compared to others of the same caliber. if you dont believe me check your barrell after shooting a box of cci's then check after the hornadys, way less fouling with the hornadys, i have a marlin that i got 5 years ago with a bsa sweet 17 scope it really hits the prairie dogs hard even @ 200 yds, it also got a coyote @150 yds in the head, among other things, it will go clean through quarters @100 yds, from my experience the cci and remington had the worst bore fouling, hornady had the best, the .17 hmr is the most fun shooting ammo there is.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2008

Good buy!

By
Location: Hartford, CT
I purchased this ammo when i bought my new Savage 17 Hmr with a Simmons scope at Cabelas and it's great! I went through 100 rounds at the range and had no miss fires and the accuracy was great, even well beyond 100 yards. It also has good stopping power.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2008

Tac drivers

By
Location: Dublin, Ohio
I use these little monsters in my Savage to pop Dixie cups full of sand at 200yds. I don't think they would be at all deadly at that distance (since they do not rupture or mushroom). But it sure is fun knocking paper cups down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2008

slugger

By
Location: new york
great ammo really accurate
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2008

.17 hmr

By
Location: missouri
have done some target shooting with this, very accurate. did set up some apples that fell off of a tree for targets, spectacular results. ready to do a bit of snapping turtle hunting soon to thin down the population in a couple of ponds
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2008

Hornady .17HMR 17gr.V-Max

By
Location: Harlan Ky.
Talk about one accurate bullet ! I shoot these in my Savage .17 cal. rifle 100 yard groups of 1/2 inch is normal. Tried the other brands , but Hornady outshoots them all! Way to go Hornady !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2008

Great ammo good price

By
Location: Ellensburg WA
Since I use a Cabela's Pine Ridge Tactical Riflescope and have always had good results with this ammo it is all I put through my Marlin 917vsf. Even though the ammo at the store is usually pretty fairly priced Cabela's bulk ammo has proven to be a good deal. Priced individually the 50 round boxes are about the same price as the sale priced stuff around Ellensburg. The real kicker is the included ammo box which has proven to be one of the handiest things I own. I use it to keep my ammo locked up in my truck while going to the range or woods and it never dissappoints.
The ammo on its own is good but the total package is great.
Happy Hunting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2008

HORNADY 17HMR V MAX

By
Location: BAKERSIELD, CA
THIS AMMO IS GREAT, ACCURATE AND WELL PRICED, DOES A KILLER JOB ON VARMITS. THREE PEOPLE IN MY GROUP USE IT ALL THE TIME NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS. THE V MAX IT THE BEST BAR NONE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2008

Great Accuracy

By
Location: Mississippi
Like all Hornady ammo it is awesome!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2008

Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™

By
Location: Caro, Michigan
Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition I think is very good ammunition. I use it in a single shot rifle with a 3 to 9x 50m scope. I shoot red squirrels at 100-150 yds, and I haven't missed yet (knock on wood) and not one squirrel has walked away. It's gets the job done.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2008

.17HMR

By
Location: PERRYSBURG OH
THIS STUFF WORKS GREAT, iT CARRIES WELL AND IS DEVISTATING TO ANY VARMINT IT HITS. I CAN EASILY PLINK WOODCHUCKS AT 300 YDS WITH THIS AMMO!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2008

Winchester .17 HMR Performance

By
Location: Arlington, TX
This ammo will consistantly group five shots under one inch at 50 yards out of my stock Ruger 77/17. I haven't had the opportunity to group this ammo at 100 yards. This ammo may perform better with a premium or match grade barrel. Had my groups been under a half inch at 50 yards, I would have rated it 5 stars.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2007

.17 HMR

By
Good price for this quality ammo. The included dry box makes it an even better deal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2007

Can't fine a better bullet

By
Location: Staten Island New York
What can , I say . The hornady .17 round packs a big hit for a little round. If you have a .17 rifle. I would strongly recommend you to try it. I'm sure you would not regret it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2007

horniday ammo

By
I think this ammo is the best and most accuret you can get for the .17 hmr i have tryed other types but horniday v-max seams to be the best for in my gun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2007

BULLETS

By
Location: AMITE, LA.
QUALITY PRODUCT AND QUALITY SERVICE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bulk Hornady .17 HMR Ammunition - 17-gr. V-Max™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2007

.17 Bullets, box

By
Location: Canfield, OH
The bullets work great, the box is a nice addition. Thanks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 44