Customer Reviews for Wolf Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wolf Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ

Match-quality ammo at plinking-ammo prices. Consistent loads with bi-metal (part copper & part steel) bullets ensure tight-grouping accuracy at higher velocities. The 62-gr. full-metal jacket ammo is perfect for target or plinking use. With every 500-round lot, you'll receive a NEW Dry-Storage Box, a $14.99 value. Available: 500-1 Dry box 1,000-2 Dry boxes
Overall Customer Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
37 out of 46(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Review 1 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Luverne AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf ammo

Date:November 20, 2006
Although messy to clean The wolf ammo i recently purchase is good for not only knock down power but for speed an accuracy. The bulk buy is great for any target shooter out there. If you have an AR-15 any brand this ammo is excently for tageting an setting your sights. Also resonably priced. the only down side to the wolf ammo is the powder does not burn as clean so it does leave a mess but can be easly cleaned"your suppose to clean your gun every time you use it anyways" But all around more bange for your buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kokomo, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf .223 Ammo-62 gr. FMJ

Date:November 21, 2006
Inspite of all the negative press Wolf ammo recieves; I must admit for an economical and consistant practice use, Wolf takes a bite out of the compitition! This reviewer must admit with out a doubt, Wolf offers a shootable product which many would try to disclaim. If you shoot a single shot .223; with a perfectly tuned barrel for that one in a LIFETIME 1000 meter shot, then you might want to hand load your own ammo. But with all asides given; If your lookin to just go to the range and blast away your troubles of the day or week, and have fun doing it, (with minimal expense) Wolf ammo in bulk provides.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mulino, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf 62 gr .223

Date:November 23, 2006
The wolf 62 gr .223 ammo is consistent and dead on accurate.
never a problem with misfires, or bad primers, the new polymer coatings make it even easier on your rifle. Where I live, 62gr .223 gets real scarce and overpriced. never a problem when ordering from Cabelas. I prefer the FMJ and count on it for plinking, competition and personal defense. I can tell you the coyotes dont like it either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RetiredinTn.

Date:January 12, 2007
Simple economics; This ammunition is as accurate as any nonpremium ammo out there. I have a savage 110 with
a 1 in 9 twist and with the 62gr. fmj I can consistantly shoot
sub 1inch 3shot groups @ 100yds. and 2-2 1/2 @ 200. I can't
do that with the Lake City green tips. The Wolf is 1/2 the
price and actually is more accurate. I would give it a 5 star
rating but it sure leaves the barrel dirty. If you have one of the 1 in 12 twist barrels stay with the 55gr. or lighter bullets.
as this 62gr. doesn't shoot nearly as well in my remington
but the 55s are dead on. No problems with misfires or
chambering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: albuquerque, nm
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

could it be the steel casings?

Date:April 30, 2007
I recently bought some 223 wolf ammo for my bushmaster M4 and was not happy with this ammo at all. I could not fire two consecutive rounds without some malfunction. i tried 100 rounds one day and when i couldn't get it to fire i took my rifle home, cleaned it, then went and fired 100 more rounds with the same results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lafayette, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

does not function properly

Date:April 30, 2007
I purchased 500 rounds of the wolf 62 grn FMJ for plinking in my bushmaster predator. It will not cycle through my gun. I have tried other higher quality ammo and it cycles fine. I might be able to get it to work once I break the gun in. Overall I am not satisfied with the ammo but I guess you get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You can't beat the price & quality is just fine.

Date:May 11, 2007
The Wolf bulk .223 ammunition is a little bit on the dirty side - but over many thousands of rounds the cartridges have never failed to function flawlessly and with consistent accuracy. I have used both the FMJ (various weights) and hollow point ammunition and can recommend them all. There is maybe a little more powder based fouling that requires a bit more cleaning than some, but especially when considering the price I'd recommend this ammunition to anyone -- ClydeO
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: The CH, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf .223 62 gr.

Date:May 15, 2007
This ammo is an excellent value for the money. It is nicely packaged and the ammo cans (plastic) provide secure storage for your ammo. I highly recommend this item and will purchase it again myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kenosha, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Close to being excellent

Date:May 15, 2007
I used this ammo in my FNH FS2000. It's a bullpup with forward ejection. That means it's a bit, not much, but a bit finicky what type of ammo you use. I found that after about 30 rounds, I started to experience partial feeds every 4 to 5 rounds. I switched my gas piston control to "extreme" allowing more hot gas to hit the piston and I never had a problem with feeding again. Total rounds fired after the change were about 100. Upon cleaning the gun, I found no unexpected deposits or fouling. Most of the shooting was done by my 14 year son with groups around 1in at 100 yards. I plan on buying more as soon as I'm down to my last 100 rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: upstate ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

steel case 5.56

Date:May 30, 2007
ammo shoots ok . a little on the slow side. groups are nothing to brag about. surplus 5.56 is getting hard to find, so this is the cheapest option. the only problem is the steel cases are a little hard on extractors (keep a spare, they are cheap).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Richmond Va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fast good price

Date:June 4, 2007
At the time I purcased this it was one of the better prices for the buck.
No hassles , quick and I'm satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good plinker ammo

Date:July 2, 2007
It's not match grade stuff, but for its intended purpose (budget-minded plinking) it fits the bill. Have not had a problem yet with the steel cases in my AR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Orlando Florida / South Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf .223 62 Grain FMJ

Date:July 2, 2007
These rounds performed as well as can be expected for a Russian round. I fired a total of 600 rounds at all ranges plinking turtles and otters off the pond. Never had a single misfire or malfunction, but as anyone who's ever shot this ammo will tell you, there was plenty of cleaning to do on my rifle. I shoot a Colt HBar Competition .223 and this ammo performed just fine. I did a quick group check using stock sites at just over 100 yards and the shot group was about 4 inches with 30 rounds spent. Not bad for unassisted shots.
Overall I would recomend this ammo for small shoots, like when you have friends drop by to burn up your ammo. You will need to clean your gun before storage after just a few boxes, but the buildup doesnt impede clean shell ejections and chambering.
**Note: I ALWAYS flush the gas veins of my AR-15 after every shoot, and certainly wouldnt skip it with this ammo. If you are lazy about maintaining your rifle this ammo is NOT for you.**
Happy shooting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Knoxville, Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantity and Price

Date:July 16, 2007
This item is reasonably priced since the ammunition price increase a few years ago. Compared to other web sites and mail order companies this is not a bad deal. The supply seems to be good through Cabelas unlike other suppliers and the item shipped is exactly as it is spelled out. I have used Wolf Performance Ammunition for years in my law enforcement carbine AR-15 rifle with no problems and find the ammunition to be extremely reliable and accurate for the money spent on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: U.S.A.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf 223

Date:July 17, 2007
shot this ammo thur my colt hbar no ftfs or ftes i'm waiting for more to come in. shooting at 100 yards accuracy o.k.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Drew Albuquerque, NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the price!

Date:July 30, 2007
You get what you pay for. It is inexpensive but worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Inaccurate

Date:July 31, 2007
I was not impressed with the quality of the ammo. I shoot a very accurate ar-15 and group 1/2" at 100 yds. This ammo was all over the paper. I was also disappointed with how dirty it left my rifle vs. other brands. I would not buy this product again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DOoNOToUSE

Date:October 4, 2007
the ammo will ruin any barrels/chambers the steel case is stronger than the barrels/chambers use in guns these days when the round is shot it expands and makes a wider chamber i have got this info from 2 certified gunsmiths, do not use this ammo!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tucson, Az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun to shoot

Date:October 23, 2007
My Mini 14 eats this ammo up, 1.25" at 50 yards, 3 @ 100, it is not a bench rest rifle but it has taken coyotes at 250 yards. No jams or mis fires for the price it is a value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Miami, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste you money

Date:December 26, 2007
I bought a 1,000 rounds of these and it would not feed properly into my new S&W M&P15. When it did fire it would not eject. I had several rounds stuck in the chamber. This might be attributed to my new magazines and a new rifle, but I had a friend shoot some rounds on his AR-15 and it also jammed up. Don't waste you money on these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 46