Customer Reviews for Wolf Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wolf Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ

Match-quality ammo at plinking-ammo prices. Consistent loads with bi-metal (part copper & part steel) bullets ensure tight-grouping accuracy at higher velocities. The 62-gr. full-metal jacket ammo is perfect for target or plinking use. With every 500-round lot, you'll receive a NEW Dry-Storage Box, a $14.99 value. Available: 500-1 Dry box 1,000-2 Dry boxes
Overall Customer Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
37 out of 46(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Review 1 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: FL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DoNotBuy

Date:January 19, 2009
I purchased this ammo thinking it would be fun to waist at the range for my M4. Over the few rounds (60-80) fired of the 62grain fmj about 10 rounds would not eject causing me to break out the cleaning rod forcing them out. From now on im spending a few more $$ to gain better ammo. For the other 900+ rounds that came with the purchase they are long gone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

wolf .223

Date:May 18, 2008
I had jam after jam, For what I here they work on some rifles. I have a (smith & wesson M & P 15) and would jam every so many shots. No fun:( I would try a small count. Try 20 or 40 before you buy bulk!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: baton rouge, la
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

great for the price if you dont mind a few jams

Date:January 31, 2008
I bought this ammo thinking it was cheap and was not concerned with accuracy, I shoot a DPMS ar 15 and atleast one in every mag. would shear the rim off the case while extracting. I would then have to shove my cleaning rod down the barrel to push it out (wasnt even stuck really just would break the rim). I have shot numerous brass cases through my gun without a single problem. It is a great buy and did not see where it was that dirty, just wont purchase anymore. Best of luck to you, and happy shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wolf 62 Grain FMJ ammo review

Date:January 10, 2008
I got a big box of 500 rounds to test em out, and both of my AR-15s a Bushmaster 20" rifle and an Armalite 16" carbine would not cycle with them, they were very underpowered, and after chronographing from the 20" barrel, MOST of the 62 Grain bullets were berely pushing 2,650 fps, and were erratic, one of them was almost 2,875 but most were 2,600 - 2,700 and about 1 in every 20th round would cycle normally, but about 1 in every 75th would stick in the chamber, and I had to use a rubber mallet and stick @ the range to pound the charging handle open for one, maybe I got 2 bad ARs??? NO!!! both of them have NEVER jammed, and always cycle with any other brass cased ammo, (haven't tried with other steel cased brands) and when they misfire from the wolf ammo, theres either an empty chamber, or the bolt is stuck closed, never a FTF or FTE (which would indicate a malfunction on the rifle's part), so is the price worth it??? maybe my 2 ARs are just freaks, but thats just my experience with this ammo..............
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Miami, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste you money

Date:December 26, 2007
I bought a 1,000 rounds of these and it would not feed properly into my new S&W M&P15. When it did fire it would not eject. I had several rounds stuck in the chamber. This might be attributed to my new magazines and a new rifle, but I had a friend shoot some rounds on his AR-15 and it also jammed up. Don't waste you money on these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Inaccurate

Date:July 31, 2007
I was not impressed with the quality of the ammo. I shoot a very accurate ar-15 and group 1/2" at 100 yds. This ammo was all over the paper. I was also disappointed with how dirty it left my rifle vs. other brands. I would not buy this product again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: albuquerque, nm
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

could it be the steel casings?

Date:April 30, 2007
I recently bought some 223 wolf ammo for my bushmaster M4 and was not happy with this ammo at all. I could not fire two consecutive rounds without some malfunction. i tried 100 rounds one day and when i couldn't get it to fire i took my rifle home, cleaned it, then went and fired 100 more rounds with the same results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf 223 Order

Date:February 11, 2008
I ordered 1000 rds of Wolf 62 Gn .223. Half of the order that arrived was Wolf 55 Gn .223. Obviously it's too expensive to send
back so I'm stuck with it. The 62 Gn round shoots fairly accurately with a 1/7 twist and it's reliable.
Robt
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lafayette, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

does not function properly

Date:April 30, 2007
I purchased 500 rounds of the wolf 62 grn FMJ for plinking in my bushmaster predator. It will not cycle through my gun. I have tried other higher quality ammo and it cycles fine. I might be able to get it to work once I break the gun in. Overall I am not satisfied with the ammo but I guess you get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bulk Wolf Ammo

Date:April 29, 2008
I used 500 rounds of this now in my AR15 to target shoot, I've only had one round not feed correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Florence, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ok for slow plinking

Date:April 29, 2008
Works great for running through just a few rounds in my AR15. If I shoot enough to heat the barrel up the steel case causes ejection failure. Brass cased ammo works fine with the heated barrel but the Wolf steel cased ammo seems to expand when it gets into a hot chamber. Other than that it's great ammo and i've yet to have a round that wouldn't fire. Only ejection issues on the AR-15.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: upstate ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

steel case 5.56

Date:May 30, 2007
ammo shoots ok . a little on the slow side. groups are nothing to brag about. surplus 5.56 is getting hard to find, so this is the cheapest option. the only problem is the steel cases are a little hard on extractors (keep a spare, they are cheap).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo for the $$$$$$$$

Date:February 3, 2009
200 rds thru my AR15 one jam so far. Not bad for the price. Will buy more.... too bad the price has gone up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Beaufort, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad

Date:February 3, 2009
Wolf has improved their product! While it still leaves some residue on the bolt and extractor I've gone through all 500 rounds that I bought without one malfunction or feed problem. Accuracy isn't bad for bulk ammo - <1" groups at 100 yards with an 18" bbl. I would recommend this and will be buying more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Casa Grande Az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

62 Wolf FMJ

Date:November 3, 2008
For price excellent. Shot it mainly in AR platofrms. Does leave residue in chamber more so than other American Ammo, however a quick cleaning with a bore cleaner and even carb cleaner will blast it out. Used 62 grain wolf to pass a 500 round qualification course. If you can get it cheap buy it and stock up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:October 7, 2008
I read all the reviews and finally took the chance and bought 500 rounds to try it out. The ammo cycled well and had no misfires like i saw in the other reviews. Great ammo for a cheap day at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Know your weapon and ask questions...

Date:August 25, 2008
Most semi autos will not like this ammo. Make sure you check with your dealer and gun maker before purchasing the weapon or the ammo and see what seems to work in the real world...
I bought an AR expecting it to shoot like a MINI 14. No way, so when I got a Volquartsen Evolution .223 I called the factory and asked. They said no problem. When I got the gun no dice...
Mini 14 is the only semi auto that it has been trouble free.
Remington M700 bolt action- Perfect.
Cooper Model 22 bolt action - Perfect.
Accuracy is fine for plugging away, but if you're worried about accuracy you shouldn't shoot an AR anyway :-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap plinking ammo

Date:July 25, 2008
Good ammo for the price. Run's fine in my m4. The dry boxes are always a bonus. Not one misfire or feed problem. It will however dirty your gun fast...so be sure to clean it after shooting or you will have problems!
Good for stash, or plinking ammo.
My only concern is that Russian ammo may only work on Russian zombies!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Feeds fine in my Bushmaster Carbine

Date:May 16, 2008
I have shot a few thousand rounds of this ammo--hollow points and FMJs out of my Colt Target H Match and my Bushmaster 16 inch carbine. This ammo has fed flawlessly and shoots nice groups. I have experienced some duds out of the 2000 rounds I have fired of this ammo. Some of the primers are damaged in the ammo. I have only experienced about 4 or 5 damaged primers out of the 2000 rounds I have cycled. For the price, this ammo cannot be matched. The steel cases are laquered so that they do not corrode and feed better. Ammo prices continue to increase several times per year so I contine to stockpile my surplus of these rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bulk Wolf .223 Remington Ammunition - 62-Grain FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho LOVE FISHING SND HUNTING
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD AMMO FOR PLINKING

Date:March 27, 2008
PRICE IS WRITE HAVE HAD NO OPERATIOAL PROBLEMS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 46