Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™

BARNES Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™

All-copper Triple-Shock™ X-Bullets™ are top-rated by PHs, guides and experienced hunters. Multiple rings cut into the bullet's shank reduce pressure, minimize fouling and significantly improve accuracy. Very user friendly.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.729 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(321 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 321 reviews
5 Stars
279
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
10
305 out of 321(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Review 1 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elmira, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Bullet

Date:January 27, 2011
Very accurate great penetration & expansion. Probably the best hunting bullet on the planet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullet

Date:January 24, 2011
Love this bullet . I purchased the 150gr 30 cal for a cali bear hunt. (no lead) 50 where loaded with 48.5 gr of IMR 4895. At the range they shot very good groups and where very consistent. On the hunt it only took one shot with great penetration and a huge wound channel. With the TSX bullet I got the speed of the 150gr with the knockdown power of a 180gr.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:March 6, 2014
I switched to Barnes bullets a few years ago for hunting.
Have taken several animals with them.
I won't use anything else.
Performance is amazing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No substitute!

Date:February 13, 2014
Barnes X...There is no substitute!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good performance

Date:February 1, 2014
So far I must have been lucky. I shot one buck and a doe two years ago. The buck with a TSX and the doe with another solid copper bullet. The TSX went right through at 100 yards, the buck was driven backwards into the woods about 15 feet. He never got up. Probably had a five degree splatter out the exit side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bullet

Date:November 12, 2013
these bullets do the job they were made for extremely well. they are a little expensive for target but they shot great groups, all three shots touching at 100yards, less than 2" at 200y. where they excell is in clean kills. Out of my Ruger77 and my sons Win model 70 these bullets have stopped every deer within 8' of we're it was shot.Add to that the comfort of knowing that no lead was used in the kill . To me that is reson enough to use these bullets. I load these in many calibers and have never had a flyer. Thanks Cabela's for carrying a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullets

Date:November 5, 2013
Shot 1.2 inch group at 100 yds on outdoor range. Dropped doe in her tracks from 120 yds with my .243. Didn't recover the bullet but did recover a Barnes TSX 7mm bullet from mule deer buck several years ago. It had busted much bone and stopped just under skin. It had retained all it's weight and looked just like the 4 petal picture in the adds. Love Barnes bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome

Date:October 15, 2013
I have for 30 years been a Nosler partition man. But... In the last year or 2 I have seen that the Barnes TSX is a killing machine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Performance You Can Count On

Date:August 13, 2013
The .277 110gr TSX is a bullet designed for the velocities achieved by the 6.8mm. May favorite load is 28.6gr AA2200 in Hornady brass - 2725 fps from a 16" ARP barrel and 1/2 MOA. Barnes advertizes it needs 2100 fps to expand. This is a generalization of TSX bullets. My testing has revealed that kinetic energy determines bullet expansion. The 110gr TSX bullet, shot from a 6.8mm SPC II, will fully mushroom to the bottom of its expansion cavity at 100 yards and still opens to 0.45" at 300 yards and approx 1900 fps. The 110gr TSX beats all other copper bullets in expansion inside 200 yards and rivals the 115gr Fusion MSR. The TSX expands consistently every time. It is my go to 6.8 bullet for deer and hogs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance every time

Date:July 30, 2013
If you have been using conventional lead core bullets for hunting and had to track some animals, try these. The terminal performance on coyote up to and including elk is the same, if you have relatively good shot placement the animal is down in its tracks. These bullets are turned in CNC machines from pure copper alloy, so they are consistent in weight and base to ogive length which makes loading them a breeze.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent bullet

Date:July 2, 2013
I have used this bullet for two African Safaris as well as local deer hunting in Georgia. On this past safari I shot 20 different animals and the Barnes X bullet never failed me. It is the preferred bullet of my African Professional Hunter and I have to say I understand why. I used both the 270 grain in 375 H&H as well as the 180 grain in 30 cal. Of the bullets we recovered, the Barnes always opened and performed as advertised. I will only shoot Barnes bullets when I go hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for big game

Date:June 29, 2013
These give great accuracy, deep and sometimes complete penetration, and retain most of the bullet mass intact even after expanding 1 to 1 and a half times their original diameter. In my opinion, they are NOT necessary for common game like white tail deer but really shine on harder targets like hogs, elk, moose and bear where weight retention and deep penetration are required and where the premium price of these bullets can be justified.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent bullet

Date:May 29, 2013
This bullet performs just as Barnes say it will. Bullet shoots very and mushrooms as it is suppose to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent bullets

Date:May 29, 2013
I have used these for years and they have never failed me. I use them for hunting because they damage less with more penetration and great performance. I wouldn't use any other bullet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: England
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

.277 150gr Not for 1:10 Twist Barrels

Date:May 24, 2013
The bullets look just fine but are no use to me as it states on the box they're for 1:9.5 twist & faster barrels.
I'll be sending them back in exchange for the same bullet in 140gr.
Please Cabela's; put a note with these particular bullets saying they're not suitable for standard .270 1:10 twist barrels.
Barnes code: 27746
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent big game bullet!

Date:May 7, 2013
This bullet holds together very well. I haven't had a chance to reload these but if my reloads are as accurate as the factory shells I will be very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2013 New Zealand

Date:April 24, 2013
Performance was as advertized. Textbook mushroom. Accurate. Great product that I strongly recommend.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:April 23, 2013
Hunting whitetails in Northern Minnesota sometimes means a person might only get one shot. This was the case last November when sitting in my tree stand my opportunity arose. I have been using Weatherby ammo loaded with Barnes bullets for a couple years, with results that are very predictable. But this time the results were even more amazing. With snow on the ground I was able to spot a very nice buck moving west to east just over 100 yards out. Given a shot through the trees my round grazed a Ironwood tree, went through the front shoulder of the buck and into the base of an Oak tree. The buck ran some 30 yards and fell, the round, a 130 grain Barnes X retained 98% of its weigh after being removed from the tree. If you want bullets that do the deed I highly recommend Barnes X, either handloaded or in factory loaded ammo.......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Bullets

Date:April 23, 2013
I have used Barnes Triple Shock X Bullets for several years, and they are the most accurate, game killing bullets I have ever used. The last eight deer I have shot have dropped within 35 yds of impact, all with complete pass throughs and good expansion. This has been with 3 different calibers. I do not shoot any other bullet now, and can not say enough good things about Barnes bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes Triple-Shock X-Bullets™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best Bullet

Date:April 16, 2013
The Barnes TSX and TTSX are quite simply the best bullet made for hunting. They are also very expensive compared to other bullets that will probably kill just as dead if shot placement is proper. However, I have 100% confidence in TSX performance, and when you consider that the difference in cost per bullet is only about 30 cents, that's a pretty cheap price for confidence.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 321