Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case

WINCHESTER Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case

Winchester has combined their proprietary corrosion-resistant steel shot manufacturing process with superior Winchester components to create a true high-performance, value-priced steel shot load. With velocities of up to 1,625 feet per second, these shells will meet all your waterfowl needs without putting a crimp on your budget. Per 10 boxes, 25 shells per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.069 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(259 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 259 reviews
5 Stars
148
4 Stars
55
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
16
1 Star
29
212 out of 259(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Review 1 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

winchester xpert hi-velocity steel shot

Date:January 24, 2011
saver your money and get better ammo such as black cloud the winchester ammo just bounced off the ducks i put black cloud in my gun and it was dripping trhem i shoot both over open water an the winchester didnt have much shoot in it i shoot both out of a berreta extrema 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: west tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

dont buy

Date:January 11, 2010
when im low on money i grab these. sad i know. these things are terrible. ive never had a dud but ive never killed a duck with them before. ive had feathers fly everywhere and duck not fall. one of my buddys shot one and it defeatherd the chest and it not fall. in our blind we give these away. we all use kents fast steel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Cojon, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap and low quality.

Date:November 27, 2009
I used this ammo last year and noticed I was getting a high number of cripples compared to others brands that I've used and this was before I patterned it. So last week I decided to pattern the few shells that I had left and there were gaps in the pattern that a duck could easily fit through and only 53% of the shot hit a 30" circle at 30 yards. I then opened up a shell to see what what inside and cheap isn't the word to describe these shells. The inside was were all different sizes and NONE were round. Over half of them had dimples in it and over 75% of them were egg shaped and to top it off, the wad doesn't even have slits in it. So do yourself a favor and go with another brand and make sure to pattern your gun with anything you use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Upper MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad Ammo

Date:September 4, 2009
I have hunted waterfowl for many year's and I have been
a guide for the last two. The other day a stumbled upon a crippled goose it had a broken wing. I shot it 3 times from 20 yards. The pattern was the worst I have ever seen I had to finish the poor bird off with a black cloud shell it was like I hit it with a sledge hammer. These Winchester shells need to be taken off the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst Ammo on the Market

Date:September 2, 2009
This ammo is awful. I hunt the butte sink and this ammo is the worst i have ever shot. After a hunt where i was crippling every duck i shot while using it, until i brought out a box of KENT FASTEEL. i opened one of my winchester xpert 3inch "1 1/8" 2 shot load and found that the pellets were mishaped and poorly made. I opened another one because I thaught maybe it was a reject shell but it was exactly the same. The pellets were not round or any shape really. They were just chipped and jagged all over which will lead to an unconcistent pattern. When i opened a Kent Fasteel shotgun shell, i found the bb's to be perfectly round and all the same. If you want some grubb on the table shoot Kent Fasteel. But if you want two empty boxes of shells and nothing to show, go ahead and shoot winchester xpert load. For a few exta bucks shoot a quality load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You don't even get what you pay for.

Date:April 29, 2009
They are cheap and for a reason. They aren't even worth the discounted price. My entire hunting group has seen a dramatic drop in our effectiveness over the previous years. We then switched back to our old brand of shells and our percentages went back up to where they used to be. They are inconsistent at best and wasteful of waterfowl. You shoot twice as many shells to get the same amount of ducks. Save your money and shoot better shells, even if they are more expensive. You'll still be money ahead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap price, cheap shells

Date:January 26, 2009
These are the worst shells I've ever used!!! I went to a refuge on opening day with birds flying everywhere and when I finally limited out on ducks and got 4 geese my legs were sore and I was exhuasted. The limit of ducks is 7. I could hit one of the ducks with all three shots with #2's and they would fall at least 200 yards away and the geese the same way. I had 4 boxes of 20ga. #2's and I used all of them. I had to walk back and forth to my truck to get more shells because of the 25 shell limit. Then when shoot time ran out and I was at my truck I decided to open a shell up and when I did the pellet size was inconsistent and some were deformed. So from now on I try to stick with different brands that have same sized bb's and shape. (Like kent)
Thanks but NO thanks!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Northern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Quality

Date:January 3, 2009
I was getting poor patterns from these shells past 15 yards. I discovered that the BB's had flat sides. There wasn't one round BB in the shell I inspected. Spend the extra couple of dollars and buy Kent FastSteel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Portola, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't Do It

Date:December 22, 2008
I am a bugget hunter. I hunt alot at a lake with big open water with hardle any cover so when ducks come in close I need an ammo that will knockdown the birds and keep them down. I would not recommend these shells to anyone. No knock down power at all my friend shot two green heads from about 15 yards away and both hit the water and jumped back up and flew away. Terrible shell spend the money and buy atleast kent or remmington because you cant afford to shoot three times at one duck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: md
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ko knock down power after 30 yards

Date:December 20, 2008
If that birds are working close they are great if not you might as well throw the shells at the bird. There is now power past 25-30 yards. I would go with kent or black cloud. some people say that black cloud jams or is dirty. I tell you what black cloud is great in my guns and my buddies. guns from Franchi I-12, 2-mossberg 500, 3-mossberg 535, mossberg 835,winchester 1400, winchester 1300, 2-rem 1100, rem 11-87, 2-rem 870, and a breatta x-trema. We have never had problems with them. Last week my buddy shot a goose at 45 yard from right to left with black cloud and took the gooses head clean off, with a mod choke. Crazy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fox Lake, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

affordable but cant kill ducks

Date:December 19, 2008
i had a goose fly over my blind at 20 yds and i was using the 3 1/2 inch bbb shot. i hit it twice and it still flew away after about 250 yards it finaly crashed i went up to it with the boat shot it 3 more times and i still had to break its neck. very disapointed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Get something else.

Date:November 24, 2008
I bought these because they were on sale. They load and cycle fine in my Mossberg 935 and my Benelli. But they pattern inconsistantly. Every shot groups poorly and goes high or low. I also noticed alot of unburnt powder left in the barrel. I won't even take the rest of the box into the blind with me. They are going into the clay shooting bag and I will only use them to get used to 3" shells just before duck season. Get something, anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rockford,Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sucky

Date:November 23, 2008
I was sitting in my blind 5 yards away was the biggest mallard i ever saw opened up on it with my benelli super black eagle and never saw it again i was 5 feet away from a chipmunk shot it and it started to crawl away so i made a shotshell with ners inside it and had better results and i actualy killed a chipmunk i will never use these again i got so many cripples and had to shoot a diving duck atleast 13 times horible shells always fail in the unpredictable weather of michigan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: water mill,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:October 5, 2008
these shells have no knockdown power past 20 yards.. just cut one of the shells open and you'll see why they are junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad AMMUNITION allaround

Date:September 14, 2008
I have many years of experience in the field and especially duck hunting and I pattern my gun before I hunt. I took apart a shell and the shot shape was very inconsistant. One pellet I found in the shell was oblong and 10 of them were about the size of 5 or 6 shot. Buy Kent faststeel. You have much more consistant pattern at 60 yards. Winchester Xpert is horrible . Oh yeah by the way only nine pellets were in the pattern circle at 60 yards with a modified choke. The kent had about 70 percent of the shot in a 30 inch circle at 60 yards also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Expert shells

Date:March 5, 2008
After shooting three shells; the inside of my barrel looked like I shot mud down it. It is Very dirty ammo. The pattern is all over the place at 20 yards. I was using a 835 Waterfowl with a ported Mod choke and a ported full choke. I cut four shells open and saw pellets from a #8 shot to #2 shot [ the box I had was #2 shot] some of the pellets had holes in them and was No Where Near Round. All four shells where different shot size and shapes inside. I will not shoot any of this AGAIN no matter how cheap or free it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

THE WORST!

Date:December 20, 2007
Horrible! That is all I can say about this stuff. This ammo has no knockdown power and doesnt kill birds. It patterns all over the board and differs from shot to shot. I bought this because I ran out of Kent Faststeel and it was cheap. I got what I paid for 100%. This stuff is garbage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Shooting NERDS

Date:November 26, 2007
I have read many reviews and didnt heed the advice given by anyone and the money I spent on these shells was money down the tube. Got them because of the price and let me tell you they are terrible. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!! I cut one open and the quality is terrible actually i cant use the word quality when describing this shell because there is none. Looks like nerd candy inside not one single uniform pellet all are lop sided or have extra things coming off the side. Just Ugly! Also pellets were all different sizes I bought #2's but I bet there were 8's 5's 6's you name it the size was in there prob. Dont waste the time and money get something else with proven results and do your research.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Longmont, CO.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Xpert HI Velocity

Date:November 25, 2007
I used 3-1/2" BB's to hunt geese and can report that they had little to no effect. Other than an occasional flinch and some feathers drifting down not one goose fell to this ammunition. It left my 870 Super Mag filthy. After much frustration and disappointment I ended my hunt. At shorter distances they may be effective but, for high overhead shots they were useless. Spend a little more money on truly effective ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Xpert Hi-Velocity Steel Shotshells – Per 10-Box Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Delaware
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

horible

Date:November 18, 2007
I shot theas shells last season and shot at meany duck within 30yd only took one down and had to chase it all over the pond for a 1/2 hr. I shot it atleast 6 times. 4 were within 20yd before I killed it. theas shells were the worst shells I have ever shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 259