Customer Reviews for BALLISTIC PRODUCTS Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls

BALLISTIC PRODUCTS Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls

Stock up with these primed shotshell hulls. Each comes primed and ready for reloading.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
16 out of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Review 1 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best, most durable hulls available

Date:September 21, 2014
I've reloaded these BPI hulls for years--in 12, 16, 20, and 28 gauges. They all hold up very well, as I've got some hulls that I have reloaded 7-9 times that are still serviceable. You should know in advance that brand-new hulls are harder to crimp for the first time than used hulls. There are ways to work through this fact, the easiest being to buy the brass, professional-grade star crimper tool that's sold separately. One individual rated these hulls poorly because he/she said his primers wouldn't fit...be aware that there are many brands of primers, and not all fit every brand of hull. You must match the correct primer with the correct hull when you reload. So, in short, if you reload a lot and want really durable hulls, you can buy these with confidence.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple Fix

Date:March 18, 2013
i reload these in my mec 600jr and the first ones i used an 8 point crimp and those came out so bad i re-opened them, i switched to a 6 point crimp and i haven't had any further problems, i suggest to everyone who experiences these problems to do the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NE PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for Tri-Ball

Date:January 11, 2012
I found these to be excellent hulls. I load .58 cal. Tri-Ball in them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3" BP Hulls

Date:April 10, 2011
Highly recommend! Have been reloading with BPs hulls for years and I have had great success. A little tough to crimp when new but awesome hulls overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hulls

Date:December 15, 2009
Hulls are well built and have lasted 3 reloads just fine. Make sure you have or get a metal crimp starter for your press to start the crimps on these fresh hulls. It took a little adjusting my press before I got a good crimp. The 3" hulls are a pretty easy to find color, so I end up coming home with a decent portion of the hulls I've shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: western WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ballistic primed hulls

Date:July 15, 2009
I was a bit frustrated at first when I tried loading these hulls. the crimp just didn't want to start w/ my MEC 600. What I did was adjust the pre-crimping die and then everything went great! Shell turned out looking like a new, never fired round. Since I've only been through the hulls once I may change my opinion if I can't get 4 or 5 cycles of re-loading out of them but for now I'd buy them again without question.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baltimoe- Annapolis area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HARD to FIND

Date:April 1, 2009
Primed EMPTY shotgun shells
These are handy if you want to make your own specialty ammo, like flare shells and such.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane,WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Years of reloading

Date:January 9, 2009
These shells crimp great and easily with small changes in the crimping mech. I wont reload anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff

Date:May 30, 2012
These shells are pretty good. They are a little hard to crimp the first time but once you break them in, they're good to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Aurora Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

another dead bird

Date:March 22, 2011
its tough to find a 3" hull that is in good shade since most are steel shot once fired. I havent gotten to load any up yet and pattern it but I'm not worried. good strong hull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Elizabeth, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looks Cool!

Date:December 30, 2009
Primer: Fio616
Powder: Herco 27 Grains
Wad: Downrange DRXL 1 1/8
Reloader: MEC 600 JR - 6 pt crimp
They crimped easy but do not look right the first time. The outer wall forms a ridge on the crease where the points fold. The crimp looks and performs better each time its reloaded. By the 5 load the clear plastic looks terrible but still functions. If you're introducing someone to shotshell reloading buy a bag of these so they can see the components and how everything seats.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As advertised

Date:August 4, 2009
Primed, Skived, ready to load. They were even a bit cheaper then getting them from Ballistic Produts directly! Came with some reloading recipies as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Roseville, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad for the price!!!!

Date:August 6, 2007
Loaded real easy... Seem to hold a good crimp. Will be interesting to see how may times you can reload them. I've done a handful 4 times now just to test and they seem okay.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Saint Louis
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I am not alone!

Date:January 9, 2012
I read the other reviews and was glad to see that I am not the only person who has a tough time with these hulls. I can not get them to crimp properly. They turn out so bad that I am not willing to try them in any of my shotguns. I have tried to adjust the reloader, but I still can't make a decent shell. I have no desire to go through all the extra steps that others have taken to make these work. I'll just keep on using the once fired hulls and have to replace the primers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Toledo, OH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Was a great product

Date:December 4, 2011
First couple of bags I bought of these hulls were Cheddite 1 piece hulls. This recent bag was Rio 2 piece hull and I did not know that until I started to load them. They loaded fine but I am sure they will not load as many times as their predecessors.
Hopefully they get the 1 piece hulls back in stock, until then I am searching for once fired STS and AA hulls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: colorado springs
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bpi shotshells

Date:December 21, 2008
i cant get the crimp right. i dont know if it is because they are new or what. i reloaded some once fired shells and got great crimps, but theses wouldnt do it with my load all 2. i put a pice of card board on top of the shot and the crimp were great. may need an over shot card to get good crimps.
depending on how these reload is weather or not i will buy more.
im just doing a basic 1 oz of #8.5 shot and green dot poweder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: n.c.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reloading

Date:June 26, 2007
It was great to have the hulls already primed, but there are many other parts that i had to order from ballistic products in order to reload these shell properly.. You will need gas checks,there shot wads, and over shotcards so that you can get the shells to crimp properly. I am hoping to load some of these shells soon and see how they perform.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Go

Date:December 12, 2013
These hulls will only load once as the primer pocket is to big to hold reload primers. I also found that the crimp likes to unfold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

junk pure junk

Date:May 11, 2013
got 2 reloads out of them then they wouldn't crimp right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ballistic Products Primed Shotshell Hulls
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Glennsferry Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not what I like

Date:January 6, 2011
These hulls are very hard to get the right crimp on. feed very rough in all firearms tried. I use them only when I do not have access to AA Winchester hulls. I would use them again but only in a pinch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.