Customer Reviews for Remington Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Remington Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs

This shotgun slug combines devastating knockdown power and outstanding accuracy. With a fully rifled barrel it delivers 3" or better groups at 100 yards with 13% more energy than other slugs on the market. Remington's® patented stabilized slug system with the unique lead slug delivers outstanding accuracy, near 100% weight retention and controlled expansion to nearly 1" in diameter. Per 5 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
63 out of 69(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Review 1 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hartland, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the reliable remington buckhammer

Date:October 28, 2006
I've hunted for whitetail deer for the past 5 years, to no success. I always had trouble with my slug gun losing accuracy when it was extremely cold (below 15 degrees). I tried Remington's buckhammer slug and was quite pleased. I could literally put all five rounds into a 2.5" circle at 50 yd.s w/ open sights. I bagged two deer in as many days, one at 50 yds, the other at about 20 feet. Both dropped instantly. The cold had no effect on accuracy, and the knockdown power was phenomenal. This is an extremely effective close range deer round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hammer 'em

Date:November 8, 2006
This is by far the most accurate and devestating slug I have ever used. I have tried many brands over the years and have not found a slug that is this accurate and has this much knockdown power.
With a Rem 11-87 it held groups < 2" at 75 yarda and 4" @ 100 yards. I have shot four deer with this slug, three have gone down instantly, one went 10 yards. Of the 30+ I have taken, these are the only four to do this. The damage the slug did internally and exit wounds were bordering on grotesque!
You will not be dissapointed usung this slug!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Melvin, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buckhammer sabot slugs

Date:November 13, 2006
My husband bought me a 20 guage shotgun, and we were pricing shells for it. We found the best deal through Cabelas. I got the Remington Buckhammer slugs. I just started hunting and I don't know much about shells, but my husband tells me that Remington is the best. I know this is not a typical review, but I'm just beginning my hunting experiences. Hopefully I will have many stories to tell in the futrue about Remington Buckhammer slugs, and the one that didn't get away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"Yes" BuckHammer slugs hit hard and score !!

Date:January 12, 2007
I have been an avid deer hunter for 30 plus years and have hunted mainly with a rifle and have never relied much on shotgun hunting. Using a 870 12 ga I paired up the Remington combo rifled slug barrel and scope with the Remington BuckHammer Slug. I took my first two shotgun deer of my life with just two rounds. Both deer were offhand shots at approximately 50 yards. These slugs are acurate and hit hard with both deer expiring within a short leap away. I will use them again without hesitation.
Enjoy your next hunt !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reese Mich
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Maximum knock down power

Date:February 19, 2007
I have hunted Whitetails with these slugs for three years now and have taken three Bucks with them. This slug is a bad to the bone in accuracy and knock down power. All three deer were down with one shot. The first at 125 yards the other two at 75 yards. The Buckhammers are a little hard on the shoulder when fired from a pump gun-I shoot a Wingmaster 12 Ga with a rifled barrel, but in the field the recoil is a small price to pay for the results you will get from these great slugs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albion, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Insanely Accurate

Date:March 10, 2007
The 20 gauge 2 3/4's are deadly. I took 1 doe in the head at 85 yards with a H&R Ultra Slug Hunter, and another doe at over 130 right in the chest. It ran 40 yards and fell over. What more can you ask for from a sabot. Remington really hit the nail on the head with these loads there unbelieveable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CANTON, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HARD HITTER!

Date:August 16, 2007
I HAVE SHOT A NUMER OF SLUGS THROUGH MY 12GA H&R ULTRA SLUGGER, AND NOTHING HAS HIT HARDER AND HAS BEEN MORE ACCURATE THAN THE BUCKHAMMER!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Middletown, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The only slug out there!

Date:October 27, 2007
This slug paired with a Remington 1100 21" rifled barrel and a scope is a cannon. If you can handle the recoil...a small price to pay for excellent results. In NJ we cannot hunt with rifles so a slug gun is the only weapon of choice for firearm season. At 50 yds I had 7 shots within 5" free hand!!! Performs well out to 125yds too! These slugs don't make field dressing any easier either. Pure destruction...it was like all the guts were put in a blender!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: dfw,tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington buckhammer

Date:November 5, 2007
The Buckhammers pattern very nicely from my Mossberg 835 slug barrel. I sighted them in at 1" high at 50 yards and they seem to be about 2.5 to 3.5" low at 100. They hit deer like a ton of bricks and they hit you about the same. So if you are a little timid about recoil, you might try the Buckhammer low recoil loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

buckhammers

Date:November 26, 2007
I shot them out of a mossberg 12 gauge and a beretta 12 gauge. They were both way off. I wouldn't trust them while hunting, even on a drive. The stores around me put them on clearance to get rid of them all, probably because they got so many complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'm Impressed

Date:January 9, 2008
I recently purchased a rifled slug barrel for my Mossberg 500 20 ga. The Remington Buckhammer was the first sabot that I tried, and I am thoroughly impressed. I shot 2 bucks with it in NY. I hit the first one a little low, and the slug did enough damage at 60 yards that the buck only went 100 yards before dropping. The second buck was 75 yards away, and dropped where he stood. I shot a hog with it in FL a few days ago, and was able to retrieve my slug. I hit the hog right behind the left ear. The slug was found on the hogs rights side, just under the skin. It had mushroomed to 1"! The hog dropped in it's tracks, about a 25 yard shot. I have tried 2 3/4" and 3", and prefer the 2 3/4". There seems to be less recoil, and there is little loss of velocity. The deer were shot with the smaller size, and I shot the hog with the larger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dubuque, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smokin' slugs

Date:June 13, 2008
I've been shooting slugs for years. Never before was I able to hit more deer on the run and drop them in their tracks until I started using Buck Hammer slugs. I shoot open sighted with a Mossberg 500 and I won't use anything but these. I've been able to take deer at 100 yards without any problems. Knockdown power unlike any other.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: east china, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointment

Date:October 12, 2008
i was very disappointed with these slugs. i shot them out of my 20ga. 870 i could not get a group at any distance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chesapeake VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buckhammer slugs

Date:November 4, 2008
I purchased these slugs based on a review in a magazine. I sighted in with a fully rifled barrel and open sights at 100 yards, best group being 2 1/2". I feel with a scope I would have done better. I shot a doe at about 50 yards on a local farm, using crop damage tags. and she dropped on the spot.
I am pleased with the results, and highly recommend them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tampa, Fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BuckHammer Slugs reach out and get em

Date:November 5, 2008
I shot three wild hogs in FL with these on my Benelli slug gun. It had open sights at the time. Two of the three hogs were running and i hit all three. Two of them dropped and one ran about 30 yds. I put a scope on my gun and shot a 4 pt buck walking away from me at 120 yds and dropped him in his tracks. I really like these slugs and will contiue to use them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: columbus,OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

kick like a mule

Date:November 27, 2008
This slugs hit very hard but they kick very bad in my 870 slug gun. I havent use these slugs on a deer yet but when i was sighting them in i was using a 2 foot thick log as a back stop and it almost went all the way through it. I don't even want to know what the three inch buckhammers will do to a deer and to your shoulder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia mountains
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hammer Down

Date:November 29, 2008
I don't actually own a slug gun, but my father does. And I borrow it from time to time. He shoots the Remington Buckhammers in it so when I use it I do too. He has killed a doe with them and she dropped in her tracks. I have killed a nice 8 point and real nice 9 point with them and they both dropped in their tracks as well. I didn't mention it is a 20 gauge. They shoot great, recoil is very manageable out of the 20ga 3in mag, and they are accurate enough to get the job done. I don't think I would try them much past 100 yards though, but anything that walks between me and that 100 yard mark I would feel very confident in pulling the trigger on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable accuracy

Date:December 8, 2008
I was on range 12/01/08. Shoot Remington BuckHammer 2 3/4" - 1 1/4 oz - 1,550 fps 3 shots 50 yards. 0.95" groups. Outstanding accuracy with serious knockdown energy. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baltimore MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Buckhammer 20ga

Date:December 16, 2008
These slugs are amazing. Hit a doe in the chest at 75 yards and she went down after running less than 20 yards. The blood trail was a three foot wide spray and was impossible to miss. Since then i have stocked up on them. Try them and you will not be dissappointed. price could be a bit lower but they produce the desired results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: paradise (Montana)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing results!

Date:January 21, 2009
I bought a 20 gauge slug gun this year, and the buckhammer slugs performed better than I could have imagined. We took the gun out four times, and got an animal each day...pronghorn buck, whitetail buck, mule deer buck, and bull elk. 4 days, 4 shots, 4 clean kills. Great accuracy too, every animal was hit exactly where we aimed. First a neck shot on a pronghorn after sneaking to within 40 yards, then a 90-yard lung shot on a whitetail buck, then a 30 yard shot in the back of the head on a bedded mule deer buck, and finally a 60-yard lung shot on an elk. Great penetration too for a 20 gauge. The only slug I recovered was one that barely clipped the back edge of both shoulders of the elk, and caught under the hide on the far side. Total pass-through on the whitetail, even at 90 yards. Very low recoil (but I have a ported barrel). What a maiden season for my new gun! I just ordered 4 more boxes, they're great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 69