Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs

REMINGTON Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs

This shotgun slug combines devastating knockdown power and outstanding accuracy. With a fully rifled barrel it delivers 3" or better groups at 100 yards with 13% more energy than other slugs on the market. Remington's® patented stabilized slug system with the unique lead slug delivers outstanding accuracy, near 100% weight retention and controlled expansion to nearly 1" in diameter. Per 5 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
63 out of 69(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Review 41 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2009

REMINGTON BUCKHAMMER SLUGS

By
Location: TENN
I have a new Remington 11-87 with a scope and I went through probably $125.00 worth of other brands of high-dollar sabots trying to zero it with very poor results.
A friend recommended the Buckhammers. I looked several places locally and could not find any of them so I ordered them from Cabelas.
BAM!!! Long story short, I have not shot at a deer with them as of yet but I do believe that I could drive a nail with them at 60 yards. Case closed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2009

5+ stars!

By
Location: northeast ohio
i made the switch to these slugs in 20 ga. from copper solids. not only are they less than half the price, but they have very very similar ballistics w/in 100 yards and they fly just as accurate and leave bigger holes!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2009

remington hammer all

By
Location: Fl
Very good product. I am able to keep 2.75" groups at 100 yrds. Firearm used, 2008 Remington 870 express slug gun
with 3x9x40 scope supported on a bench. Product works well in the field. Has incredible knock down power at 130 to 150 yards. I Have not been in the position to try the product on game over that distance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2009

Excellent

By
Location: California
Nice tight groups out to 100 yrds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2009

Remington Buckhamer 3" 12 Ga. Slugs

By
Location: Kennesaw, GA.
Easily holds 3" to 4" groups out to 100 meters from my Winchester 1300 Camp Defender with rifled choke tube and factory iron sights. Would probably improve with advanced optics and fully rifled barrel.
Hard to believe it's sending a 600 grain plus chunk of lead down range a 1500 fps. muzzle velocity until you pull the trigger. Recoil is brutal, but expected with those ballistics. Would probably not be that noticeable when shooting at live game or dangerous adversary.
I would have no reserve in using this load against any game on the North American Continent within the 100 meter limit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2009

good bang for the buck

By
Location: South Jersey
Pleased with the accuracy and naturally Remington comes through again. I'm not an expert marksman so I can't profess to exact pattern but I will buy more
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2009

good for the price

By
is ok
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2009

buck hammers hammer your nose with a scope

By
Location: iowa
My dad bought some 2 3/4 in. buck hammers to sight in a scope. One of them clicked when he pulled the trigger, two others made the scope hit his nose from the recoil. He had to move his head back so far that he couldn't get a full sight picture in the scope. He switched to an other kind and never had a problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2009

Knock down power!

By
I use these slugs in my grandfathers 40 year old 12ga. wingmaster with a new remington 20 inch factory slug barrel on it. I have tried several rounds at the range and got the best grouping with these at 50 yards. My best group was aboout 1.5 inches which isnt bad when using iron sights. To date i have shot and killed 3 deer with this slug and only one has managed to not to drop. These slugs tear deer up. The last one i shot was quartering away at about 7 yards and the bullet literally gutted the deer for me. The entrance hole was about 6 inches across and the deer dropped. These bullets are kind of exspensive but worth it. P.S. these slugs kick like a mule on steriods so just beware
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2009

Amazing results!

By
Location: paradise (Montana)
I bought a 20 gauge slug gun this year, and the buckhammer slugs performed better than I could have imagined. We took the gun out four times, and got an animal each day...pronghorn buck, whitetail buck, mule deer buck, and bull elk. 4 days, 4 shots, 4 clean kills. Great accuracy too, every animal was hit exactly where we aimed. First a neck shot on a pronghorn after sneaking to within 40 yards, then a 90-yard lung shot on a whitetail buck, then a 30 yard shot in the back of the head on a bedded mule deer buck, and finally a 60-yard lung shot on an elk. Great penetration too for a 20 gauge. The only slug I recovered was one that barely clipped the back edge of both shoulders of the elk, and caught under the hide on the far side. Total pass-through on the whitetail, even at 90 yards. Very low recoil (but I have a ported barrel). What a maiden season for my new gun! I just ordered 4 more boxes, they're great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2008

Remington Buckhammer 20ga

By
Location: Baltimore MD
These slugs are amazing. Hit a doe in the chest at 75 yards and she went down after running less than 20 yards. The blood trail was a three foot wide spray and was impossible to miss. Since then i have stocked up on them. Try them and you will not be dissappointed. price could be a bit lower but they produce the desired results
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2008

Unbelievable accuracy

By
Location: New Jersey
I was on range 12/01/08. Shoot Remington BuckHammer 2 3/4" - 1 1/4 oz - 1,550 fps 3 shots 50 yards. 0.95" groups. Outstanding accuracy with serious knockdown energy. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2008

Hammer Down

By
Location: Virginia mountains
I don't actually own a slug gun, but my father does. And I borrow it from time to time. He shoots the Remington Buckhammers in it so when I use it I do too. He has killed a doe with them and she dropped in her tracks. I have killed a nice 8 point and real nice 9 point with them and they both dropped in their tracks as well. I didn't mention it is a 20 gauge. They shoot great, recoil is very manageable out of the 20ga 3in mag, and they are accurate enough to get the job done. I don't think I would try them much past 100 yards though, but anything that walks between me and that 100 yard mark I would feel very confident in pulling the trigger on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2008

kick like a mule

By
Location: columbus,OH
This slugs hit very hard but they kick very bad in my 870 slug gun. I havent use these slugs on a deer yet but when i was sighting them in i was using a 2 foot thick log as a back stop and it almost went all the way through it. I don't even want to know what the three inch buckhammers will do to a deer and to your shoulder.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2008

BuckHammer Slugs reach out and get em

By
Location: Tampa, Fl
I shot three wild hogs in FL with these on my Benelli slug gun. It had open sights at the time. Two of the three hogs were running and i hit all three. Two of them dropped and one ran about 30 yds. I put a scope on my gun and shot a 4 pt buck walking away from me at 120 yds and dropped him in his tracks. I really like these slugs and will contiue to use them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2008

Buckhammer slugs

By
Location: Chesapeake VA
I purchased these slugs based on a review in a magazine. I sighted in with a fully rifled barrel and open sights at 100 yards, best group being 2 1/2". I feel with a scope I would have done better. I shot a doe at about 50 yards on a local farm, using crop damage tags. and she dropped on the spot.
I am pleased with the results, and highly recommend them
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2008

disappointment

By
Location: east china, MI
i was very disappointed with these slugs. i shot them out of my 20ga. 870 i could not get a group at any distance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2008

Smokin' slugs

By
Location: Dubuque, IA
I've been shooting slugs for years. Never before was I able to hit more deer on the run and drop them in their tracks until I started using Buck Hammer slugs. I shoot open sighted with a Mossberg 500 and I won't use anything but these. I've been able to take deer at 100 yards without any problems. Knockdown power unlike any other.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2008

I'm Impressed

By
Location: Southwest Florida
I recently purchased a rifled slug barrel for my Mossberg 500 20 ga. The Remington Buckhammer was the first sabot that I tried, and I am thoroughly impressed. I shot 2 bucks with it in NY. I hit the first one a little low, and the slug did enough damage at 60 yards that the buck only went 100 yards before dropping. The second buck was 75 yards away, and dropped where he stood. I shot a hog with it in FL a few days ago, and was able to retrieve my slug. I hit the hog right behind the left ear. The slug was found on the hogs rights side, just under the skin. It had mushroomed to 1"! The hog dropped in it's tracks, about a 25 yard shot. I have tried 2 3/4" and 3", and prefer the 2 3/4". There seems to be less recoil, and there is little loss of velocity. The deer were shot with the smaller size, and I shot the hog with the larger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Remington® BuckHammer™ Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2007

buckhammers

By
I shot them out of a mossberg 12 gauge and a beretta 12 gauge. They were both way off. I wouldn't trust them while hunting, even on a drive. The stores around me put them on clearance to get rid of them all, probably because they got so many complaints.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 69