Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30

Manufactured with precision to exacting tolerances using state-of-the-art materials, these T/C projectiles deliver unrivaled performance on game. Polymer tip sustains velocity and increases ballistic coefficient for flatter long-range trajectory. Expands rapidly on impact.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.372 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(137 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
13
115 out of 137(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Review 81 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

250gr Shockwave Sabots

Date:December 10, 2009
Awesome Sabots shooting 2 inch groups at 200 yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bucks County, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pa Hunter

Date:December 13, 2009
I have a CVA Optima pro 45 cal. and i am getting 3/4" groups at a hundred yards using, winchester triple seven powder(150 grains) and triple seven primers with these 200 grain bullets.
I shoot a doe at 80 yards she ran fifty yards and there was a 2 foot wide blood trail.
Shoot a buck a week ago dropped him in his tracks(high lungs)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shock Wave bullets

Date:December 15, 2009
A buddy and I use the 250 shock waves in several rifles. One Omega and three different Triumph's with 100 grains of Blackhorn powder. We get 1 to 1-1/4" groups a 100 yards consistently and have not lost a deer yet. We have take 9 deer in the 08 09 seasons. They pass through the deer and leave a golf ball size or larger exit. More then 1/2 of the deer have been taken beyond 100 yards. Last doe shot was ranged at 160 yards and drooped in her tracks with 2" exit hole. We have been very satisfied with the shock wave performance on deer and accuracy has been excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lower Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shockwave Bullets

Date:December 16, 2009
These bullets are extremely accurate in my Thompson Center Omega. I shoot 100 grains of Triple Seven powder. Opening day this year I killed an Eleven point 160 lb buck at 132 yards. I enjoy hunting with the Omega so much I use it most of the time during the hunting season here in Alabama.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst ever

Date:December 19, 2009
I thought power belts were the worst but shockwaves have taken that spot.Shot 2 doe with them at no more then 60 yeards both deer went right down but got up and ran off I could see that the shoulder was broke on both deer as they ran off.When I tried to track them I found no hair or blood.Never found either deer.That has never happened before and wont again as I will not use these worthless hunks of junk again. The only up side to shockwaves is that are very accurate and easy to load but that is of no use if they cant kill anything except a piece of paper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

great on paper but TERRIBLE ON DEER

Date:December 21, 2009
Great accuracy, I agree with others on that, but terrible performace on deer. These punch clean holes in deer but do not seem to expand at all, period.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

GUN or Bullets?

Date:December 22, 2009
I am one of those people buy the best equipment and expect the best performance. I recently purchased two Thompson Center Triumph Bone Collector Edition muzzeloaders, 3X9 leopold scopes, TC shockwave sabots and 777 Magnum powder. I have a range at the house and shoot off a bench with a very solid rest. I can not get these guns to shoot better than a 6-8" group at 100 yards. I am very disappointed....is it the gun...the bullets....the load....I don't know but I can tell you it isn't the shooter or the scope. Overall I am extremely disappointed in the gun bullet "package"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albion, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

250 Shockwave Bullets

Date:December 25, 2009
Shot a 250 lb wild boar with 150 grs of 777 and a 250 gr Shockwave bullet...knocked it flat where it stood!! The shot was about 75 yds. Pig never took another step! Great expansion...great performance! A friend of mine shot a 120 lb Whitetail Doe at about 30 yds with 100 gr of 777 and this same bullet...again, perfect performance and and expansion. Deer never knew what hit it! I won't use any other bullet in my Encore!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thompson Center Shockwave Sabots 250gr Spire Point

Date:January 4, 2010
Finally got my muzzleloader permit this year to extend my deer hunting opportunities. Purchase 50 cal TC Triumph and experimented a bit between PowerBelt and Shockwave. I was attracted to the Powerbelts because of the one piece design but couldn't get the accuracy I wanted. Tried the Shockwaves in 250gr w/ 150 gr of Pyrodex and had very tight 3-4" groups at 100yds as long as you swiped the barrel every two shots. I spent alot of time in stand looking for mature buck to shoot and tagged one on New Year's day at last light. I hit him broadside through both lungs at about 50 yards and he ran only 60 yds before a spectacular crash. I was extremely happy with the performance of this sabot. The exit wound was AWESOME. The bullet mushroomed as promised and produced a huge golf ball size hole at the exit point. I would definately recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: copperas cove, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thompson Center Shockwave Sabots

Date:January 26, 2010
great for the beginner, load easy due to not haveing to lube since they are self lubing, will load easy every time, sure set every time, as for hunting you cannot beat the price, they are true flight sabots and expand on contact. would recommend to all blackpowder shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good shooting

Date:February 1, 2010
I have used these on 2 different muzzleloaders and both have shot well with them. I have taken 2 deer with the bullets and they work well, neither deer traveled over 20 yrds after being shot, and a good blood trail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Shock Waves 250 gr.

Date:February 13, 2010
I started using the sabot type bullets two years ago after shooting 385 gr. Buffalo Bullets through my first year mfg'ed
Remington 700 ML. For the 2009 season, I also replaced my old scope with a 4X14X44 Mil Dot scope. I sighted in using the first dot high at 100 meters which placed the crosshairs dead on at 165 meters while using the 250 gr Shock Wave & 3
pydrodex 50 gr. pellets, detonated by an RWS muscket cap. I
killed 5 whitetail deer during the 2008/09 seasons using the 700, every one taken with one shot, @ distances running from
67 yards to 273 yards; ranged using a Bushnell Lazer Range Finder. Distances traveled ran from DRT on deer #1, 4 & 5, while the other two went about 50 yards each. #1 was a head shot @ 67 yds, #2 was a heart shot @ 170 yds which left a blood trail blowing out both sides from where she was at the hit, #3 was shot at about 100 yds, standing broadside, just above center taking both lungs; & while I was able to watch her run till she dropped, there wasn't as much blood trail due to the high hit. #4, a large 10 pointer which field dressed 187 lbs, was taken at a measured 243 yards straight on & I hit him about 2" above my hold, striking him through the neck, penetrating through the lower side of the spine. #5, the largest doe the farmer had ever seen on his property in over 20 years, about 170 lbs dressed, was taken at 273 yards, struck just under the spine & dropped at the shot. As my 700ml was stolen during the final season, I will have to see if the T/C's shoot as well in my new weapon as the old one. But that aside, YES, I will recommend them to other ML shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.45 shockwave

Date:February 15, 2010
By far the most accurate bullet from my .45 Encore, but the way it performs on game is excellent as well. I shot a 9 point whitetail in Nebraska at a ranged 220 yds, and hit right where it should have.Absolutely the best bullet I have tried in many years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accuracy defined

Date:March 22, 2010
After shooting many different bullets, this was the most accurate bullet tested. It also brought down several animals with one shot kills lsat year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no punch or exit hole

Date:April 28, 2010
While this product is very accurate out of my .50 Encore I find it to lack the punch and exit wound necessary to please. I have taken deer with this and there is rarely an exit wound. I will be switching to TC's other style sabot slugs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works like they should

Date:November 7, 2010
If your looking for an exit wound your shooting arrows not bullets. Bullets kill by shock. Destroying tissue and organs rendering a fast kill; assuming you know where to shoot. That's exactly what these sabots do for you. Nuff said.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stokes, NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate

Date:November 9, 2010
Very accurate, massive knock down power!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: frederick maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"killer performance"

Date:November 21, 2010
I am shooting the 200grain/50cal shockwave out of a tc encore with a swarovski ml scope, 120volume grains of blackhorn 209 powder, winchester 209 shotgun shell primer. anyone doubting this little 200 grain"40cal" bullet in a 50 cal sabot need doubt no more. i tested this load this fall at the target range out to 310 yards, accuracy is incredible. i didnt know if the little guy would have enough power to cleanly harvest a deer at 300 yds since the ballistic coefficent is not available for this bullet, and i didnt want to risk putting a hole through my chrono by setting it up at 300yds infront of my target, so i set up a 5gallon bucket of water with a 1inch piece of wood board behind it to try to capture the bullet to see if it expanded at that range. The bucket and board looked like they had been hit by a truck moving at 100mph when that bullet struck, and were knocked well away from their original location. the bullet definately expanded, did not fragment and passed cleanly through without recovery. my father and i harvested a buck apiece last week in north carolina, dads buck dropped in its tracks at 70 yards with a quartering to frontal shoulder entry shot, i recovered the perfectly mushroomed, non fragmented bullet in the opposing rear shoulder hide. My buck dropped in its tracks with a broadside double lung high shoulder shot with full expansion and passthrough at 100 yards. keep in mind this bullet leaves the muzzle at 2200 fps on my chronograph set 8 feet from muzzle. i do not know how they would perform at a lower velocity and have no intention to find out. this is an awesome bullet and has a permanent home in mine and my dads blackpowder rifles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dependable and Accurate

Date:December 20, 2010
Since these bullets came on the market I have been shooting several deer each year with them. The Barnes bullet has better terminal performance (expansion) but they have always been too tight to load in my Thompson Centers. This bullet is my first choice in a TC product. They always seem to shoot 1.5" or better behind two pellets at 100 yards. I have probably taken 40-50 deer with this bullet (6 this year already) and have only lost one doe that I believe should have died. My only knock is that I have never recovered a single bullet so I would argue that they don't seem to expand much, even with deer clearly shot through a shoulder. A lot of this is probably due to the fact that I place my shots extremely carefully and no bullet will expand much going through the rib cage. The other benefit to this bullet is that if you purchase the SST version it's often cheaper than other bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Thompson/Center Shockwave Bullets in Mag Express Sabots – Per 30
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cashiers, NC
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great muzzle rifle round

Date:January 6, 2011
I've been using Thompson Center Shockwave Sabots the last few years. Harvested a 11 point buck at 150 yards. No black powder round has the energy to immediately knock down such a large buck at that distance with a lung shot, but he was easy to track. I get less than 1 inch group at 100 yards with this Sabot, which is a combination of a quality rifle and this Sabot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 81-100 of 137