Customer Reviews for Winchester Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Winchester Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle

Winchester combined their new quick-loading easy-cleaning Swing-Action design with a hot 209 ignition system for the utmost in convenience and reliability. Swing down the trigger assembly and breech block using a forward motion on the trigger-guard lever - this exposes the primer port for convenient loading and eliminates the need for disassembly of the action when cleaning. When the lever is closed, your breech and primer are completely sealed from moisture and debris. The 28" MonoBlock fluted barrel ensures complete powder burn for maximum velocity, and has a 1-in-28" twist for consistency with modern projectiles. It has DuraBright fiber-optic sights, along with a bullet-guiding muzzle for ease of loading. This rifle has a composite stock in Mossy Oak? Break-Up? with sling and a stainless steel barrel, along with a ventilated recoil pad and aluminum ramrod. Overall Length: 44". Weight: 8.25 pounds. ATTENTION:Residents of HI, IL, MA, MI, NJ, and NY please check your local laws for restrictionsbefore ordering any black-powder firearm. WARNING: Black powder, Pyrodex, Triple Se7en? or American Pioneer black-powder substitutes are the only safely suitable propellants ever to be used in any muzzleloading firearm.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Review 1 for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Johnson city, ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

apex muzzleloader

Date:December 7, 2007
great easy to sight in easy to load with triple 7 and power belt bullets you can shot 10 shots before having to clean 100gran pellets and .225 bullet hollow points work fine 2 inch or less groups at 100 yards buying another one for my wife to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Apex rifle

Date:November 19, 2007
Overall nice rifle, shoots great and easy to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Apex Rocks !

Date:December 19, 2006
After using a first generation inline with a #11 cap and spring powered bolt that takes a half second to ignite the charge .....( Maybe ) this rifle is light years ahead !
I live in Ohio where you may choose between a slug gun, pistol, or muzzle loader for deer gun season. The slug gun, until very recently, used to dominate the field. With the advent of the 209 primed falling actions, you now have a 200 yard weapon with this rifle! I have shot mine at 100 yards with a red dot scope that covers 2 and a half inches at that distance. All my shots were within the " dot " . This was using 245 Gr Powerbelts with 100 gr of Pyrodex . The rifle is very easy to clean ( note ... buy pipe cleaners to clean the breech block for the 209 primers ) The fiber optic sights are still easy to see at dusk and dawn. You can't go wrong with this gun...if you are looking at one in the bargain cave like I did...grab it !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Choice

Date:December 6, 2006
I recently purchased the Winchester Apex 209 and could not be happier. This M/L was extremely accurate straight out of the box and was extremely easy to clean. I am looking foward to using this gun for many seasons. This is a great price for a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwestern Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bang for the buck

Date:December 4, 2006
My recent purchace of the Winchester APEX Magnum 209 Rifle - Stainless/Camo muzzel loader made a completely satisfied customer out of me!
I bought this gun the week of muzzel loader season and shot some ball and patch in my back yard a few times to break it in, then headed to up north Wisconsin to meet the guys at deer camp. These guys are deer hunting fanatics with a competitive nature, and the last few years they let me borrow one of their muzzel loaders for the special season. The morning before the big hunt we headed to the rifle range to have some fun. I was using triple 7 pellets and 245 grain powerbelts. It was truly gratifying when I not only out shot them at 50 yds and 100yds, dropping bullet holes within 2 inches of the bullseye. They both accussed me of setting them up by spending all week sighting my gun in. And this is how it shot right out of the box! I could have spent twice as much for a stainless break action, but couldn't be more happy with the performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Apex 209 Magnum

Date:November 28, 2006
I purchased this M/L from Cabela's last year and hunted with it
during M/L season last year and again this year. Thus far I
have killed 7 deer without missing a shot. Most have come in the 50-100yd range. I have a Redfield 3X9 and shoot 90gr
triple seven and the Hornady 250. This rifle is extremely
accurate and reliable. My only complaint is that most of the
time the spent primer will fall down in the receiver mechanism
and sometimes is difficult to find. Overall a very good product
at an afordable price. Very easy to clean but you must remove the stock in order to clean the trigger mechanism.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

apex

Date:November 21, 2006
no complaints sweet deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester Apex Magnum 209 Stainless/Mossy Oak® Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Value for a beginner muzzleloader

Date:November 20, 2006
The Apex 209 was an excellent purchase as a first time muzzleloader. It was extremely accurate out of the box with the open sights alone. I hunted in all weather conditions and did not experience any malfunctions. The stopping power of this muzzleloader was impressive on the first deer that I shot with it. I highly recommend this as a very good weapon for beginner muzzleloaders. Easy to use while providing all of the quality features in more expensive muzzleloaders. I am impressed with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.