Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck

A reliable break-open action teamed with an interchangeable, 29" fluted high-velocity barrel. The break-action design makes cleaning quick and easy. The barrel's 1-in-28"-twist stabilizes modern bullets for tack-driving accuracy, and the all-metal DuraBright fiber-optic sights glow in low-light conditions. Blued barrel and solid black synthetic stock with ventilated recoil pad. Aluminum ramrod. Total length: 44.5". Weight: 8.75 lbs. Available: .45 or .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Review 1 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Athens, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Optima Pro 45 Cal.

Date:July 28, 2008
I am very happy with my latest purchase, the rifle is awesome. I would highly recommend this rifle to anyone looking to buy. A great shooting gun. Can't wait til deer season!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Edward, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Optima Pro 209 Magnum .50 cal

Date:July 6, 2008
I bought a Cva Optima pro magnum .50 cal from Cabelas and I love it. I wanted a Thompson Center Omega but I did not feel like spending the money so I researched a lot and found the Optima pro Magnum. The reviews said that people were getting consistint 1" groups at 100 yards with 100 grains of pyrodex and a 245 grain powerbelt bullet. I tried that recipe and found it to be okay but nothing special. I switched to 100 grains of triple seven and a 250 grain Shockwave and had my bullets touching at 100 yards and 1" groups at 200 yards! I mounted a Nikon Pro Staff 3-9x40 I had Laying around and I was using one patch with bore butter and one dry patch between shots just to keep everything the same and to season my barrel. I was shooting with a friend who has an omega and I was grouping the same as he was. We were both amazed. I would tell everyone to get this gun. It feels solid, balanced and shoots like a dream.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fernley, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great muzzel loader

Date:June 1, 2008
The first Optima Pro 209 I bought was pretty disappointing. The front sight (which is not adjustable) was not centered, which made zeroing the rifle impossible. I called the retail store in Reno where I bought it, and they told me they would exchange it for a new one, no questions asked. Awesome customer service. The new CVA works like a charm. Great balance and overall feel. I would definately recommend this muzzel loader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pretty good

Date:April 3, 2008
i am thirteen and i shot a deer useing iron sights at 125 yards and cleans good fast sighting in but rusts esay
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Gun

Date:February 16, 2008
This is a very nice rifle, I put a 3x9x50 scope on it and it was very easy to zero at 100 yards with 100 grains of powder and a 250 grain bullet, the buttstock pad is amazing you almost don't feel the kick, I could shoot it all day. The bullet ramrod that comes with the rifle is very convenient but it should only be used when hunting not at the range because the tip could break after repeated use. Overall I love this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Louisa, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Questionable

Date:November 7, 2007
This gun is very hard to sight in. I had a optima 209, but decided to let it go and get the pro. I thought I sighted it in good at 50 yards.....nope. Yesterday, November 6 I went hunting and shot at a doe at 20 yards broad side. Didnt touch her. So I thought I might of pulled or just didnt take my time.
That same evening I went hunting, a 6 point buck walked up to 15 yards broadside, I lined up my sights, squezzed of the shot, I hit the deer, but I aimed the heart, hit the deer in the neck. All it comes down to is this gun is very unpredictable. I dosent hold a good pattern. Shoots all over the place.
(used same powder, weight, and brand bullets)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shooting!!

Date:September 6, 2007
Before purchasing this particular rile, I looked at the reveiws. To my surprise there were a few "bad" ones. I have allways been "hard headed", so I got this rifle.
I just got home from the shooting range, and I love this gun! I topped it off with a Cabelas Red Dot scope, and it is a "tack driver". I got the .45 cal. and I am using bulk sbots and a 200gr. xtp bullet, with 100 gr. charge of Pioneer Powder "Gold"
After getting the sites on target, I fired five rounds from 100 yards. I had a 2 inch group with the five shots. If you want a accurate rifle, this is the one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mason City, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

no no no NO

Date:January 8, 2007
far from the most accurate muzzleloader I've shot, probably at the bottom of my list, difficuilt to get fully cleaned, to make sure all residue removed for no rusting, no real wood stocks available, grip fairly uncomfortable to shoot with, cheesy looking, and what it all comes down to is that in my opinion it is just CVA's attempt to copycat one of their competitors top of the line muzzleloading rifle, but they failed miserably. The optima is both a disappointtment from CVA and a insult to the muzzleloading community.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Seattle WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Would not buy again

Date:December 9, 2006
My Optima Pro is not the gun I would carry on a hunt. It has several problems. The firing pin pierces primers, this results in clogging the firing pin and spring. When shooting 100 grain loads the rifle doesn't want to open and requires forceful pounding on the receiver to break open the breech. This gun is not accurate. The best it will manage is 6 in groups at 50 yds. I've tried sabots and conicals, 3 different bullet sabot combinations. I had high hopes for this rifle but it is the worst shooter of the four .50 cal rifles that I own. The gun is awkward to handle and feels like it weighs 14 lbs carrying it in the field, and be careful because the lever that opens the breech will injure a couple fingers the first time you use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle - Blue/Black Fleck
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pace, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Optima Pro 209 Magnum Rifle

Date:November 28, 2006
This is the black powder rifle you have been waiting for! I have shot 2.5 inch groups (5 shots) at 100 yards. I was using a simmons prosport 3X9X50 riflescope. I also used CVA powerbelts 195 grain .45 cal. Recoil is very manageable, even with magnum loads. This is the only black powder rifle you will ever need to quickly dispatch white tails. This gun performed so well I have actually purchased 2 from Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.