Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HORNADY Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology

Penetrates deeper, retains more weight and expands more aggressively than any other bullet in its class. Flex-Tip® technology dramatically improves its ballistic coefficient, resulting in flatter trajectory and longer range. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
57 out of 62(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Review 21 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009

Hornady SST 250 Gr. Bullets

By
Location: Cape Coral , Florida
I have tried more BB bullets then I care to count , this Hornady SST 250 Gr. Bullet with 110 Gr. of the new Buckhorn 209 Powder I got groups of 1/2 in. or less at 100 yards with my Knight Elite 50 cal. this will be the only BB bullet that is used in my BB gun . There are a lot of center fire rifles that won't get that kind of group , case closed . I would recommend every one try this bullet first , you just might save your self a lot of time and money . Shoot straight and good hunting .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2009

hornady sst

By
Location: brewer maine
great shooting bullet. shoots paper very accurately. Haven't had a chance to hunt with them yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2009

sst bullets

By
this sst shoot will on my encore prohunter ml rifle
and did good job on deer last deer season
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2009

Hornady SST Bullets

By
Location: Rising Sun, In
What an awesome bullet! Great accuracy in my Thompson Center Endeavor and will I never switch to another bullet. Big holes in all the deer with no problem following blood trails. Have tried other bullets but nothing compares to this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2008

Awesome Knockdown power

By
Location: Murphysboro, IL
Just finished up Muzzleloader season here in Illinois. I was using powerbelts before but could not get an consistency out of them. Switched to these 300 gr. Hornaday SST's and was shooting 3" groups at 150 yards off of the Lead Sled. Shot two does one at 80 yards and one at around 100 yds. Neither one of them took another step. These bullets will flat out drop them in their tracks. No reason to buy the more expensive sabots out there. The Hornaday SST's will exceed any expectations you may have.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2008

terrible in all my rifles heres my take on it.

By
Location: New Mexico
I have had outstanding luck with ALL other Hornady products. These fail miserably though. I caution anyone against purchasing these especially if you dont spend alot of time with shooting.
I shot MANY boxes of these through 3 different muzzleloaders with the same results. The first two shots will be reliable the rest creep steadily down the paper and finally settle in. I missed a shot on an animal last year and I DON'T MISS 50 yard shots. So I set out to determine what happened.
AS best I can tell, The tolerance difference they allow for between the sabot and the bullet is all wrong and behaves wrong in every gun I tried these in (all .50 cal). As the barrel fouls, the accuracy will improve some. but even then, the best group I have every been able to get from these is inside 3 inches.
Again, I may not be a swat sniper but I regularly shoot elk at + 150 yards offhand SUCCESSFULLY and I am fairly knowledgeable about general ballistics... SO... IF I sight in a "dirty" gun 7 inches high at 100 yards, two shots will be at 7 inches and the rest will settle in somewhere near 3 high. WHat this means is that if you sight in with a slightly fouled barrel (I do NOT clean between shots because I do not have TIME to clean between shots IN THE FIELD- DO YOU ASK THE ELK TO SIT AND WAIT WHILE YOU CLEAN?? )SO if you sight these in with a slightly fouled barrel they will shoot differently with a clean barrel... my results who they will shoot HIGHER (can you say SPINE SHOT?) when clean...Hornady; fix either the OD of the bullet or the sabot.... or both. ..The difference of a few .001 is clearly causing accuracy problems.
I used to like the XTP bullets but they DESTROY my meat. Way too mean. I am going to Knight poly tip. . SST = FAIL.XTP=meat destroyer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008

Perform better than expected

By
Location: Indiana
I finally got a chance to use these bullets for the first time on live game this weekend. I shot a nice doe at 75 yds and I was pleased beyond my expectations. Shot placement is the key in my mind and they shot accurately (heart shot).The wound channel they left was devastating. Both entry and exit holes were large showing to me that they expanded as they were expected to. I would comment on the excellent blood trail but I only had to track the deer about 30 yds. Up to that point, tracking it was a piece of cake.
I was a bit skeptical because of the lower price than most of the similar muzzleloader bullets but now I'm a convert. I see no reason to pay nearly double for something that works as well, or better, than the more expensive bullets (that look identical except for the color of the plastice balistic tip) marketed by the muzzleloader manufacturers,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2008

bullets

By
Location: The Peoples Republic of Maryland
I used the 250 gr. sabot to take my first two deer last Thursday; both with the same bullet! It went through the doe and dropped her where she stood then took out the button buck behind her @ 67 yds. I'm looking forward to opening day of gunnin' season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2008

Hornady SST .45

By
Location: Southeast PA
Very accurate. Have'nt hunted with them yet so I don't know how they will perform on deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2008

300 grains

By
Location: California
great bullet for the money. They grouped great and my remington genesis really likes them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2008

Hornady bullets

By
Location: Martin county,FL.
I put the smack down on a doe last season with this sabot. 85 yd neck shot, she was done before she hit the ground. Great groups on the range with 150 gr of powder at 100 yds, less than 2.25".
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2008

Sabot

By
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
There fantastic
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2008

Great bullets!

By
Location: New Mexico
I shoot these bullets in a few of my muzzleloaders. I have pushed the 200 gr SST over 2600 fps and it shoots superbly. I shoot the 250 gr as my deer load in my Savage ML at 2450 fps and the 300 gr Bonded SST at 2000 fps in my Omega for elk. I like these bullets! Great accuracy, high BC to retain downrange velocity and energy, and very good performance on game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2008

Awesome Bullets

By
Location: Millersburg,Ohio
These bullets are amazing! My boy and i went hunting and I let my boy shoot his black diomand tc muzzaloader. So a doe walks in early morning and he shoots it right through the stomach we went down to see if we could find it all of a sudden i see a white thing about thirty yards away from where he shot it. Sure enough its his doe bullet hole right through its guts and it went no more then thirty yards. That just proves how strong the Hornady SST bullets are. Will never go in the woods without them. WOW!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2008

Good bullet

By
Location: Va
They shot very accurate every bit as good as powerbelt as far as being accurate but they performed a lot better than powerbelt in the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2008

rhe4x4

By
Location: WV
Good bullets. No problem taking down my doe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

Horandy SST Bulltets

By
Location: Washington, Illinois
Very accurate and consistent in grouping. Used with Tripple Seven 100 grains. Got 7/8ths " Gp (3) at 100 yds. It took only 7 shots to be sighted in. Very pleased with performance on the target range.
Sorry to say, got sidelined with an injury and not able to give results on actual harvest made with it. Next yr is looking better all the time and then, maybe will be able to give some helpful results there, too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

200 grain, hornady sst, .45 cal

By
Location: Southern Michigan
These bullets performed satisfactory in my cva kodiak. I was able to get about a 3-inch group at 100 yards. I shot two does with them this year. The first was a double lung shot at about 70 yards. The bullet passed through leaving an exit wound slightly larger than a quarter. There was a good blood trail, and the deer ran about 100 yards. The second doe was about a 110 yard shot, the bullet hit a little low and back, damaging part of the lungs and liver. The exit hole and blood trail was as described before, but the deer ran about a 1/2 mile. This was likely because of the shot placement. Overall I would say these bullets are good but not excellent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2007

Great bullets

By
Location: North Carolina
I love the 250 SST. I shoot the Savage muzzleloader with smokeless powder. This rifle is finicky and will just not shoot some loads.
With the 250 SST I get 1 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards.
The results on deer are magnificent. I have shot two bucks with these bullets and both dropped on the spot. I could not imagine a better inline muzzleloader bullet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hornady® .45 Caliber SST Sabots with Flex Tip Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2007

hornady sst bullets

By
Location: alabama
I tried many combinations in my t/c encore pro hunter but i finally went to three triple 7 pellets and the hornady sst 250 grain bullet with the mmp ez-glide sabot out of arkanasas and what a combination for accuracy out to 150 yards. shot does that never made another step and a 250 lb. buck in iowa which went about 40 yards and dropped with great entry/exit wounds.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 62