Customer Reviews for LYMAN Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler

LYMAN Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler

The world’s most popular brass cleaning and polishing systems. Nearly twice as fast as old-style rotating-barrel tumblers, their unique design allows media to constantly swirl around fully immersed cases. High-speed, agitated motion cleans and polishes every case. Inspect cases without stopping the cleaning operation. The 1200 Pro Turbo Tumbler is Lyman’s best selling tumbler. The extra-large bowl has a built-in sifter lid for fast, easy separating of brass and media when tumbling is finished. Holds 2 lbs. of media and will clean up to 350 cases per cycle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 109 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
101 out of 109(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Review 1 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works wonders

Date:January 13, 2014
was skeptical that a vibratory cleaner could clean as good as it does but it handled my dirty lake city brass and one fired range brass. the corncob lyman media is well priced works great. was also concerned that it wouldn't stay put but is doesn't move at all and is a lot quieter than I thought it would be. very pleased with the capacity and performance plus its upgradable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Australia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nothing is perfect

Date:November 14, 2013
I have been using the 1200 AutoFlo for about 13 years now and about to buy my third base. The last base was purchased in 2007. It gets used almost weekly for about 3 hours at a time (on a timer). It doesn't have an ON/OFF switch, so I bought a cheap one for it. I live in Australia so I made sure I purchased a 240 Volt one. The plug for the autoflo outlet wore out so I replaced that but now I just leave it plugged in. I just pick out the cleaned cases by hand now. If I want I can tip it all out into a sieve. I wouldn't purchase this model because of the integrated sieve in the lid which will allow debris in and dust out. Some people might prefer this option but I know how dusty the red cleaning media is. These work great, at least the one I have does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good tumbler for a great price!

Date:October 20, 2013
This unit does clean your brass in an appropriate time frame. The only real issue I have had, is the noise is very loud. Other than this minor annoyance I recommend this product to anyone who reloads, especially beginners.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:September 11, 2013
Product does what it says it does. For the price this definitely worth the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Buy

Date:May 21, 2013
You can spend more, but really, a vibrator tumbler is a vibrator tumbler. This low cost unit does as well as any of the other five tumblers I have had, or do have now. My first tumbler, 40 years ago, was a rubber drum that "slowly" turned, and took forever to get my brass polished even with new media. The Lyman 1200 PRO with some new corn cob media took some old 5.56 military brass I picked up off the ground at the base range several years ago that was thoroughly filthy. In a couple of hours its was nearly as shiny as new. Standard delivery was only a few days, and I could track the package throughout it's trip to my loading bench. You won't be disappointed with this tumbler if you want a good work horse for a reasonable amount of money. JP, MSgt., USAF (Ret.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

like the everyready bunny just keeps on running

Date:May 7, 2013
I had one for over 15 years and it ran thousands and thousand rounds before it finally quit and I bought
this one i have no reason to believe that this one will not do the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:February 12, 2013
I was able to run about 2000 casings in a day without a problem. works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get your shine on

Date:January 15, 2013
This tumbler easily does 100+ .223 cases and 100+ .44 MAG cases I use walnut media and I left it on for 30 to 45 min and they looked good as new. When its done leave the top on, turn it upside down and shake the media out into a bowl. Take the top off and grab your brass to reload easy as that
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2-hour Tumbler...

Date:January 7, 2013
Hi all, this Lyman Model 1200 Pro Turbo Tumbler works great, as advertized, with Corn Cob media. If you use it with brass polish it comes out very shiny! I usually run anywhere between 80-120 cases of 7.62x54R from 2-3 hours.
Seems like the more cases you put in it, the longer she has to go. Do expect some cob dust to come out the tumbler cover, as it is grilled and therefore open to the air. Some folks cover up the grill to keep the dust from coming out.
I don't recommend running this inside a room while people are in it as it can be a bit noisy (rattling brass & vibrating motor). I just plug it in my garage and forget about it for 2 hours or so.
Overall a very happy customer with this great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money

Date:January 3, 2013
Does the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Absolutely Love It

Date:December 27, 2012
Shoulda bought this years ago. Was making due with a factory syntron bowl, worked but not great. This beauty polishes cases up in a 1/4 of the time. Quiet running and very efficient. Love it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shaker

Date:November 27, 2012
Great media shaker. A little small but very aggressive It works great for reloading pistol and small batches of cases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tumbler

Date:November 27, 2012
So far mine has been a workhorse. Tumbled at least 2000 rounds in the last month with no problems. Use a outside light timer to control the on/off switch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Off/On Switch Solved

Date:September 30, 2012
Just get a lamp off/on timer. Plug the unit in to the timer. Remove the "on' tab from the timer cycle. Turn the timer on and set the amount of time you want the tumbler to run. It will shut it off at the time interval you select. You can trun it off or on at any time by using the on/off switch on the timer.
"Set it and forget it"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:August 16, 2012
I bought this a few months ago and have probably cleaned a few thousand pieces of brass in differing sizes. The strainer on the top works great and I just leave it outside for 2 hours and let it go. It isn't horribly noisy either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman 1200 turbo tumbler

Date:August 7, 2012
I found 75 .223 shells someone left after shooting and they were a little tarnished. I ran them in the tumbler for about two hours with walnut shells and was very impressed as to how much they cleaned up. I had 20 of my own shells and they were had to pick out the difference from the tarnished ones. This unit works better than I expected. I probably would not do more than 100 shells at a time, but it could fit more. Works great for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Value, A++

Date:August 7, 2012
This is my first tumbler but I did do some homework before purchasing. Read plenty of good reviews and a few not so good. Sure, it is a little noisey but it is a vibratory tumbler and to be expected. It gets the job done in half the time listed using Lymans "Tuffnut" media... 1.5 to 2 hours and my brass is clean and bright. And the sale price sealed the deal for me. One note, I don't use the slotted lid as a sifter, I just bought a slotted cooking spoon to retrieve cases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:July 24, 2012
Great product easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great, not loud

Date:July 23, 2012
This is my first brass tumbler so I don't really have a point of reference. However, I do know that when I use corn cob media with the Cabela's polish it gets my .223 and 9mm cases sparkling clean in about 2 hours.
It's not very loud either so no complaints from my wife on the noise.
Reasonable price and good performance so what not to like?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCLENT PRICE

Date:July 23, 2012
LYMAN MAKES A GOOD TUMBLER & THE 1200 IS A QUALITY PRODUCT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 109