Customer Reviews for LYMAN Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler

LYMAN Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler

The world’s most popular brass cleaning and polishing systems. Nearly twice as fast as old-style rotating-barrel tumblers, their unique design allows media to constantly swirl around fully immersed cases. High-speed, agitated motion cleans and polishes every case. Inspect cases without stopping the cleaning operation. The 1200 Pro Turbo Tumbler is Lyman’s best selling tumbler. The extra-large bowl has a built-in sifter lid for fast, easy separating of brass and media when tumbling is finished. Holds 2 lbs. of media and will clean up to 350 cases per cycle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
117 out of 126(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Review 1 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2016

OOPS

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
In a review posted just a few days ago I stated that this tumbler has no on/off switch. That is not true. It has a red on/off button on the base just below the reservoir. Overall, a really good tumbler for the money if you are not in a high-volume situation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2016

very nice

By
I cleaned brass that had been shot 6 times.I was impressed how clean and shiny they came out
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Nice Piece of Equipment

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Wow, what a machine, feel like a fool doing this by hand for 44 years. Did my homework, read all reviews on Cabelas and other sites selling tumblers, this Lyman is the best for the money! Cabelas the best deal! Have only fed it straight cases so far, did not run max, 250 or so with tub filled 2/3 rds with Lyman media, 1 hr 15 mins later beautiful cases especially the nickels. So in about 4 hrs I had 750 clean cases. Tumbler stays put "does not walk away" as other reviews I read and was fascinated by the quickness of case rotation. Will run shoulder cases next, see how they do.
Very pleased
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2015

Lyman 1200 pro turbo tumbler

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Wanted an intermediate sized tumbler. Have a larger one (other brand) that was too big for some case cleaning batches, and other tumblers seemed a bit small. Have used it twice, now, with fine grit walnut media - no grit clogged flash holes. Cases clean after only about an hour. Tumble action seems more effective than my larger unit. Runs relatively quietly. Sifter top is a convenient plus, and lets me observe the tumble action.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2015

Good deal

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is a good cheap tumbler, I set mine up with a electrical outlet timer so you don't forget to turn it off and burn the motor up!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2015

Lyman Tumbler

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great value for the money! I am very pleased with this
product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015

Perfect for the job

By
Bought this for my dad for Christmas the year before last, and we haven't regretted it once. Between our empty 9mm, .223, and 5.56, we've cleaned at least 2,500 rounds, and the 1200 Turbo has functioned flawlessly. It's not as loud as we originally thought it would be, either. No matter if you're just getting started reloading or if you've been doing it for years, this is a great tumbler.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2015

The Pumpkin Purchase 1 & 2...

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought my original Lyman 1200 Turbo Tumbler in 1983. That's 32 years ago...man I'm getting old! After countless thousands of hours of operation, the motor finally took a permanent vacation. I didn't even hesitate to head down to Cabela's and buy another Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler as a replacement, especially since they were on sale. It worked as well as the original. The cases come out nice and shiny after 6 or so hours using treated corn cob tumbling media.
I did run into a slight issue however, I had upgraded my case trimming process (100 cases trimmed in 10 minutes now) and found my case trimming efforts being limited by how many cases I could tumble-clean after resizing, so I went down and bought a 2nd Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler to eliminate that bottleneck. Now I have dual pumpkins on the bench!
Both units now have approximately 80 (#2) and 200 (#1) hours on them (2,500 cases total) and seem to work fine on 22-250 (100-150 cases per load) and 204 Ruger cases (150-200 cases per load). You can't go wrong with the Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015

Great Tumbler

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
While it may not have the capacity for a high volume brass polishing, this tumbler definitely does the job on lesser quantities. I found it worked best with a 50/50 mix of corncob media and Lyman's Tufnut.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Excellent Product

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased this product for the price and after using it, I am recommending it on performance. I could run approximately 400 rounds of 45 ACP in the hopper at a time. May be able to place more but that seemed like a good load. Brass came out looking like new. Unit is quiet as vibrating tumblers go and is well build. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Lyman 1200 Tumbler

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The tumbler worked exceptionally well. Directions indicated it would take up to four hours to clean the brass but it was cleaned in 1/2 hr. No problems with getting the brass separated and the medium out of the casing if the directions are followed. Very pleased with the performance of the tumbler.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

great tumbler

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
I am new to reloading and purchased this tumbler mainly because it was on sale. Turns out it's a really nice tumbler. I especially like the top because I can turn the tumbler over while it's running and let the grit vibrate out. It is meant for sifting by hand but it works great while still attached to the running tumbler. Also recommend the cabelas brand corn cob/polish combo. Works great and is priced right.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2014

Nice

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Tumbler works great. I've used it a few times now and no problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014

Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler

By
Country: United States
State: California
Gender: Male
Mounted the tumbler base to a 3/4" T.V. tray top. No chance of walking and reduced vibration noise by half. Use Lyman Tufnut case cleaning media for clean shinny brass. A very good tumbler at a fair price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014

works wonders

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
was skeptical that a vibratory cleaner could clean as good as it does but it handled my dirty lake city brass and one fired range brass. the corncob lyman media is well priced works great. was also concerned that it wouldn't stay put but is doesn't move at all and is a lot quieter than I thought it would be. very pleased with the capacity and performance plus its upgradable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2013

Nothing is perfect

By
Country: Australia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been using the 1200 AutoFlo for about 13 years now and about to buy my third base. The last base was purchased in 2007. It gets used almost weekly for about 3 hours at a time (on a timer). It doesn't have an ON/OFF switch, so I bought a cheap one for it. I live in Australia so I made sure I purchased a 240 Volt one. The plug for the autoflo outlet wore out so I replaced that but now I just leave it plugged in. I just pick out the cleaned cases by hand now. If I want I can tip it all out into a sieve. I wouldn't purchase this model because of the integrated sieve in the lid which will allow debris in and dust out. Some people might prefer this option but I know how dusty the red cleaning media is. These work great, at least the one I have does.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2013

Good tumbler for a great price!

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This unit does clean your brass in an appropriate time frame. The only real issue I have had, is the noise is very loud. Other than this minor annoyance I recommend this product to anyone who reloads, especially beginners.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2013

Good Product

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Product does what it says it does. For the price this definitely worth the purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013

Excellent Buy

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
You can spend more, but really, a vibrator tumbler is a vibrator tumbler. This low cost unit does as well as any of the other five tumblers I have had, or do have now. My first tumbler, 40 years ago, was a rubber drum that "slowly" turned, and took forever to get my brass polished even with new media. The Lyman 1200 PRO with some new corn cob media took some old 5.56 military brass I picked up off the ground at the base range several years ago that was thoroughly filthy. In a couple of hours its was nearly as shiny as new. Standard delivery was only a few days, and I could track the package throughout it's trip to my loading bench. You won't be disappointed with this tumbler if you want a good work horse for a reasonable amount of money. JP, MSgt., USAF (Ret.)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyman 1200 PRO Turbo Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2013

like the everyready bunny just keeps on running

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I had one for over 15 years and it ran thousands and thousand rounds before it finally quit and I bought
this one i have no reason to believe that this one will not do the same.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 126