Customer Reviews for JASON MITCHELL Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

JASON MITCHELL Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System

Combines a precision electronic powder scale and an automatic powder dispenser into one easy-to-use design. The DPS III is more than twice as fast as the original DPS. It features a new automatic-repeat setting, enabling you to throw a precise charge each time the pan is put in place. Internal memory stores up to 100 of your favorite loads. Best of all, you can easily recall them by cartridge, specific powder and weight. No powder calibration (flow rate) is required; just select the load you want and start dispensing. It dispenses powder quickly and is accurate to ±1/10 of a grain. Components can be used as a complete dispensing system, scale or a scale and powder trickler. For use with smokeless powder only, do not use with black powder.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
12
70 out of 82(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Review 1 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westchester, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best digital scale

Date:August 1, 2011
I am amazed at how fast this works. I used the scale to load 24 grains of powder to 223 reloads, and timed it at less than 20 seconds. That's counting the time to zero the scale, and pour it into the shell casing. 48 grains for 308 takes less than 30 seconds. It is always within 0.1 grains. By the time you put the full shell into the case holder, the next charge has been weighed. Terrific scale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a difference automation makes!

Date:November 19, 2012
I had gone through two cheaper digital scales trying to "perfect a hunting load with consistancy" and found that the weight was too erratic to rely on without weighting it several times with them. The DPS1200 intially was rock solid on repeatability but perfection was not 100% as periodically it would be off by .1 to .3 grains and that was not exceptable. The problem deals with position senitivity of the unit itself and the powder tube leaking out grains of power on the tray when the pan wes removed to pour changing the calibration tare weight. As well as constant cleaning, I now use the RCBS cantilever scale to check all critical loads as a safety back up and have velosities within 80 f/ps or less of each other. Highly recommend this over everything else I've used so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a great product for reloaders

Date:November 5, 2012
I really like this powder measure and sale. It's very accurate - to within .1 of a grain of powder and I love the automatic setting that reloads a new charge every time you put the pan back on the scale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:February 7, 2012
A+++ works great easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cottonwood AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW what a setup

Date:January 11, 2012
WOW what a setup after many years of dealing with all the cheaper and less accurate way of measuring powder this product is awesome it is much faster and drops the right amount every time no over charge or trickling needed I load for my self as do costume reloading for others so it has to be right the first time
and the Lyman 1200 DPS III Digital Powder System will do just that
R, Leete A,C,C,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Should have done this sooner

Date:January 9, 2012
After almost 50 years of reloading, my children purchased the Lyman 1200 for my birthday. What a pleasure to not have to trickle each rifle round. In addition, I found the loads to be very reliable and, naturally, accurate as well. The 1200 has performed flawlessly. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Perfectly!!!

Date:November 29, 2011
Looked at the other brands and came to the conclusion that they all had their faults. Choose this one as I had been able to play with a 1200 at a buddies house. Love it, accurate to +/- .01 grn every time. Auto-Repeat feature is great, makes large amounts of reloading fun, clean-up is fast after you get the hang of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kearney, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice piece of equipment

Date:July 18, 2011
The most expensive piece of equipment I have in my reloading room. However, the most trouble saving and precise piece of equipment as well. Double checked throws with an RCBS balance scale. Perfect. Only complaint I would have is that the powder tube has to be removed to use the cover. I might just cut an X in it to solve that problem. It is a nice cover though. Works as expected. Again, just a nice piece of equipment all in all. Lyman has been in this business for a long, long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it a lot

Date:January 29, 2011
I really like this Lyman 1200 DPS III. I was considering the RCBS and the Hornady units, but settled on this one when I was in the Cabela's store, and I'm not regretting it. I sometimes load a lot of mild "cowboy" loads for .38, 38-55 and 45-70 and this thing measures powder a little faster than I can seat the bullets, so I can't complain. It throws 12.5 grains of TrailBoss powder in about 20 seconds, and does it very accurately. About 2 out of 50 will be 12.6 grains, and I just toss it back in the hopper, although an extra .1 grain would never be significant anyway for these guns. I love the auto mode, where it begins throwing another charge the second I return the pan to the scale. I don't really use the "save" feature, since it only takes one second to punch in the desired weight and hit Enter. Emptying the unit afterwards is easy enough, once you've done it once. I do wish the powder hopper was more secure - - there's nothing to secure it to the unit, and if it were accidently bumped, it would fall off and powder would go everywhere. I think this scale might actually be a little more stable than my RCBS 750 digital. I was having to recalibrate it often during loading, and I've never had to recalibrate this one, but I always give it at least the full 30 minutes "warm up" time. All in all, I'm very impressed with it, and it makes reloading even more enjoyable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why was I waiting?

Date:June 14, 2010
I don't know why I waited so long before buying the Lyman 1200 DPS III.
I've hand loading rifle and now pistol cartridges for nye on thirty years. It was a labour of love to say the least, to work up loads. Now it is quick easy and painless. No more bending over the balance scale, squinting at the indicator and trickeling in just the right amount of powder...oops too much, take some out.
Now I set the weight of powder I want, check the first few throws and off I go.
The Digital Powder scale came quickly with easy to understand instructions and set up was a breeze.
Why did I wait so long?
Richard M.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Quite Well

Date:May 7, 2010
I was skeptical about buying one of these at first, but after using it for a couple weeks, it works just as advertised and produces consistent and accurate powder charges.
I checked my first 100 or so loads on another electronic scale just for peace of mind, and they were all consistent, with about four out of 100 being off by 0.1 grain.
It works quickly and produces little overall noise.
Cleaning it is a little difficult the first time or two, but once you figure it out it is a piece of cake.
Would recommend to a friend and would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a time saver!

Date:April 19, 2010
This unit isn't cheap, but it is DEFINITELY worth the money, at least for loading rifle rounds. It's fast, easy, and goes up and down in charge weights with a couple of touches of a button. What the scale shows is exactly what's going into the case. Dead nuts. For pistols I still use a volume measure, but for bench rest, this is the only way to go. No more scoops and powder tricklers. Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dexter. Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman 1200 DPS3

Date:February 28, 2010
Great product. Dispenses charges easily and reliably, makes reloading a heck of a lot easier. Have double checked the dispensed powder loads (initial and repeated) with a separate balance, and they're right where they're supposed to be. If you can afford it, it's a must-have accessory. Hardest part was letting the thing sit unused for 24 hours to "adjust" per the manufacturer's recommendations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: west virgina hillbilly
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a great scale

Date:February 27, 2010
best scale that I ever used and owned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a precision reloading must have

Date:February 16, 2010
This product quickly and precisely dispenses all powders (except black powder). The unit stabilizes quickly and is as precise as any digital balance that I have used in the past. I can use any powder for a load (spherical, extruded rod, or flake) and my charges are all measured quickly and accurately. For a heavy load in the .338 Winchester Magnum it takes maybe 10 seconds to throw the charge. I funnel the powder into the case and relace the pan on the balance and the Lyman immediately begings to throw the next charge. This device makes precision reloading fun again. It can also be used as a stand alone balance for measuring bullets or cases, etc. The Lyman is easy to clean and changeover to different powders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Powder Dispenser

Date:February 8, 2010
Great product I'm a Gunsmith and reload a lot of shells. I've checked the scale using a beam type scale and it's right on very happy with the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SURPRISE,AZ.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE PIECE

Date:February 1, 2010
AS USUAL I RECIEVED THE UNIT FROM CABELAS VERY QUICKLY AND IN GOOD SHAPE. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS AND IT SEEMED PRETTY STRAIGHT FOWARD. THE ONLY THING THAT WAS MENTIONED TO BE HARD WAS THE CLEANING OF THE POWDER BEFORE STORING AND CHANGING. THIS WAS FAR FROM BEING ACCURATE. IT WAS 100 TIMES EASIER THAN THE INSTRUCTIONS LET ON. I WOULD SUGGEST THAT BEFORE YOU RELOAD THE FIRST TIME BE SURE THAT THE POWDER EMPTY GATE AND THE OPENING GATE ON THEM ARE BOTH CLOSED. I DIDN'T AND I LOST SOME POWDER OUT THE BACK.
GREAT UNIT! HOPE IT LAST A WHILE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SPOKANR VALLEY, WASHINGTON
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome scale

Date:November 28, 2009
I had to buy one since my friends who already owned them cut me off of using theirs all the time,every week-end! The scale is acturate and fast! You can't go wrong on this purchase!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fast and accurate

Date:November 26, 2009
I would recomend this to anyone wanting to reload accurate rounds in a fraction of the time. when i recieved mine i set it up and threw charges and weighed them on my old scale. dead on accurate.. when loading for my rifle i wait 7 seconds between charge and seating my last bullet. i dont know how i got along without this scale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sim;le

Date:May 4, 2009
works great simple to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 82