Customer Reviews for LYMAN Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System

LYMAN Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System

Combines a precision electronic powder scale and an automatic powder dispenser into one easy-to-use design. The DPS III is more than twice as fast as the original DPS. It features a new automatic-repeat setting, enabling you to throw a precise charge each time the pan is put in place. Internal memory stores up to 100 of your favorite loads. Best of all, you can easily recall them by cartridge, specific powder and weight. No powder calibration (flow rate) is required; just select the load you want and start dispensing. It dispenses powder quickly and is accurate to ±1/10 of a grain. Components can be used as a complete dispensing system, scale or a scale and powder trickler. For use with smokeless powder only, do not use with black powder.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
12
70 out of 82(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Review 21 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2010

What a time saver!

By
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This unit isn't cheap, but it is DEFINITELY worth the money, at least for loading rifle rounds. It's fast, easy, and goes up and down in charge weights with a couple of touches of a button. What the scale shows is exactly what's going into the case. Dead nuts. For pistols I still use a volume measure, but for bench rest, this is the only way to go. No more scoops and powder tricklers. Highly recommended!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2010

junk

By
Location: az
Product was defective right out of the box. The scale was extremely inaccurate and inconsistent. It also could not be properly be calibrated (the measurements would constantly change). UPS just came today to pick it up. Im trading it in for the RCBS ChargeMaster Powder 1500 Scale/Dispenser Combo. It costs a little bit more, but I dont think ill have any problems with it, like I did with this thing. Stay away from this thing; notice how many bad reviews there are for this, theres a reason for that.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2010

Lyman 1200 DPS3

By
Location: Dexter. Michigan
Great product. Dispenses charges easily and reliably, makes reloading a heck of a lot easier. Have double checked the dispensed powder loads (initial and repeated) with a separate balance, and they're right where they're supposed to be. If you can afford it, it's a must-have accessory. Hardest part was letting the thing sit unused for 24 hours to "adjust" per the manufacturer's recommendations.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2010

a great scale

By
Location: west virgina hillbilly
best scale that I ever used and owned.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2010

Bad Choice

By
I bought the Lyaman DPSIII after reading the reviews and I thought the problems people have had were isolated instances. I used the scale for two days and unfortunately I had some of the same problems others were having with it. I started off letting the scale warm up as it says in the manual. I calibrated the scale and had it throw a few loads which I checked with a Pact DPPS electronic scale, at first the two scales agreed within 0.1 grains. After a little while the Lyman scale started to throw charges that were off 0.2 to 0.5 grains. I then recalibrated the Lyman scale and it agreed with the Pact scale again. I also checked both scales with the check weights before and after calibrating, sometimes the Lyman scale didn't show the correct weight of the check weight so I recalibrated until it did. After a few more tries the Lyman scale continued to have problems throwing accurate charges. Just to make sure the Pact scale didn't have a problem I then got out a RCBS balance beam scale and it agreed with the Pact scale. I checked to see if the table was level, I used a anti static dust cloth to remove any static on the scale, I let the scale sit and adjust to the room temperature for 24 hrs like the manual said. On the second day of use it threw as much as a full grain off. I gave this scale a chance and used up a lot of my time in the process. This is a scale that you cannot trust, don't use it without checking it with another scale. I would definitely not recommend the Lyaman DPSIII to anyone. As usual Cabelas excellent customer service is making it right and I am sending the unit back for a refund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2010

a precision reloading must have

By
Location: Northern Nevada
This product quickly and precisely dispenses all powders (except black powder). The unit stabilizes quickly and is as precise as any digital balance that I have used in the past. I can use any powder for a load (spherical, extruded rod, or flake) and my charges are all measured quickly and accurately. For a heavy load in the .338 Winchester Magnum it takes maybe 10 seconds to throw the charge. I funnel the powder into the case and relace the pan on the balance and the Lyman immediately begings to throw the next charge. This device makes precision reloading fun again. It can also be used as a stand alone balance for measuring bullets or cases, etc. The Lyman is easy to clean and changeover to different powders.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010

Powder Dispenser

By
Great product I'm a Gunsmith and reload a lot of shells. I've checked the scale using a beam type scale and it's right on very happy with the product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2010

NICE PIECE

By
Location: SURPRISE,AZ.
AS USUAL I RECIEVED THE UNIT FROM CABELAS VERY QUICKLY AND IN GOOD SHAPE. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS AND IT SEEMED PRETTY STRAIGHT FOWARD. THE ONLY THING THAT WAS MENTIONED TO BE HARD WAS THE CLEANING OF THE POWDER BEFORE STORING AND CHANGING. THIS WAS FAR FROM BEING ACCURATE. IT WAS 100 TIMES EASIER THAN THE INSTRUCTIONS LET ON. I WOULD SUGGEST THAT BEFORE YOU RELOAD THE FIRST TIME BE SURE THAT THE POWDER EMPTY GATE AND THE OPENING GATE ON THEM ARE BOTH CLOSED. I DIDN'T AND I LOST SOME POWDER OUT THE BACK.
GREAT UNIT! HOPE IT LAST A WHILE.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2010

Was happy at first

By
Location: Chicago
As with most of reviews I was very happy at the way the 1200 DPS worked at first. Bought the unit in 2008, it worked fine and was put away for almost a year. Took it out to load 45/70's and the nightmare started.
I calibrated the scale, and then the problems started. The load was 46 grs of 3031. The scale showed 46 grs, but the load almost filled the case.
I stopped auto repeat and took the already filled cases and dumped one at a time into the scale. The reading came back 71 grs. for all of the filled cases.
I then loaded five more cases and they showed 46 grs,
I then pored these loads one at a time back on the scale and you guessed it 71 grs.
Gentlmen be very careful with this machine and check your loads very often with a regular scale.
Company advised me to send it back, don't know what it is going to cost, shipping and repairs.
Kind of sick about it tho, only loaded about 500 rounds with it so far. 66 years old and very unhappy
Yes I recalibrated and cleaned and did the staic thing....to no avail
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2010

not good

By
Location: college station texas
went to buda to get one from college station. I had it for 4 days and took it back it was AT min .5 grn off . the lowest rating that thay will let you put is 1 but I would like to put it about 0
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010

Works Great

By
Location: Washington.
I got the DPS III it was through a to heavy of a charge until I put the rubber cap on the end. They recommend it with some powders it helped out a lot slowed down the powder until the scale could read it. The complaints about it not being accurate never had a problem with it so far. Just follow the directions and let it warm up. This does take a while. Does a great job for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009

VERY INACCURATE

By
Location: Arizona Buisness owner
I have been reloading using a balance beam scale for over 30 years and now I know why I stuck with the old way. This Lyman digital 1200dpsIII scale will show 59. on the digital scale but reweighing the loads on another known scale shows any where from 58.6 to 59.6 as actual weights. Weight a charge of 59 grains then return it to the scale and it will NEVER read the same as when you took it off. This one is going back and I don't think I would trust another one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009

awesome scale

By
Location: SPOKANR VALLEY, WASHINGTON
I had to buy one since my friends who already owned them cut me off of using theirs all the time,every week-end! The scale is acturate and fast! You can't go wrong on this purchase!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2009

fast and accurate

By
Location: missouri
I would recomend this to anyone wanting to reload accurate rounds in a fraction of the time. when i recieved mine i set it up and threw charges and weighed them on my old scale. dead on accurate.. when loading for my rifle i wait 7 seconds between charge and seating my last bullet. i dont know how i got along without this scale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

sim;le

By
Location: colorado
works great simple to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2009

Good scale

By
Been using this scale for about a month now. It was very easy to set up and use. I really like the auto repeat function for loading multi rounds. The memory function is very nice. The best scale I have every used.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2009

Scared at first but EXTREMELY satisfied

By
Location: New Castle, PA
I drove to cabelas to compare this unit to the RCBS ( which I thought I wanted). After checking both out The Lyman took up far less working space on my bench, has more functions than I'll ever use and was on sale for $90 less than the RCBS. Some of the negative reviews I read about this unit scared me but after 1000 rounds of various powders and loads it works great. The time savings on reloading is unbelievable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2009

Lyman 1200 DPS III

By
Location: Pueblo, Colorado
The powder system does overshoot a grain or two sometimes but if you watch the scale it warns you to recalibrate when this happens. I found if you take the pan off immediately after it finishes it tends to overshoot less often. All in all this is a great system just keep your eye on the scale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2009

Not too bad, I like it.

By
Location: Wyoming Wilderness
I have had mine for a little over a year and it works rather well! As others have stated in a years time it wants to recalibrate too often at times. But as also stated do not recharge a cell phone near it when in use. It's recently thrown a charge to what I input then give the final weight 0.1 grains heavier but I learned to trust the number it stops trickling on and not the final weight #, however I solved this problem by putting shems under my reloading bench's front legs because it tilts forwards on the carpet when I sit up to it. When level it works like a dandy, no more final weights reading 1/10th grain heavier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2009

loved it

By
Location: Rock Springs, Wy
It makes reloading a breeze. The Best scale that I have ever use .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 82