Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs

REMINGTON Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs

Remington's® Premier® Core-Lokt® Ultra Shotgun Slugs will quickly become one of your favorites. This bonded, sleek flat-shooting sabot slug generates high downrange velocities. They retain energy achievable in fully rifled barrels and provide flat trajectories. Sleek ogive design and spiral nose cuts ensure high-energy retention and consistent 2X expansion over a wide range of velocities. Per 5 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
40 out of 47(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Review 1 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Slug Performance on Deer

Date:November 6, 2006
Last year I used Core-Lokt Ultra Bonded Sabot Slug when I took a young buck from 30-40 yards. I cannot complain about the bullet flight or point of impact, however the performance of the slug was a problem.
The slug entered the right side of the deer behind the leg and exited out its groin. The clear assumption was it bounced around inside the deer before exiting. The deer was mortally wounded but took far too long to die.
I have taken a lot of deer with a variety of slugs, I still use Remington almost exclusively but have returned to the copper solids or the buckhammers. All three perform pretty much the same in my gun at the range. The later two have provided much more efficient kills in my experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great!!

Date:November 20, 2006
works great got a nuce 120lbs doe this weekend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Otsego, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Core-lokt sabots

Date:November 21, 2006
I shot a 140 class 10pt at 50 yds., right thru the front shoulder, the bullet fragmented and I only got one lung. At this range and angle, both lungs and heart should have blown up. Thanks to my brother-in-law and the neighbors, I was able to recover this buck. Will never shoot this sabot again, I will use the Hornaday SST, which my brother prooved it to hold up to the shoulder shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dead eye dicks

Date:December 6, 2006
i dont know what those other guys are complaining about "bullets bouncing around inside of deer" etc.. isnt that the point??!! these are the most accurate sabots i have shot, period. any good hunter will tell you that shot placement is first and formost and these are right on - all the deer i have shot with these look like a beer can came out the other side and, trust me, none of them made it very far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ/NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long range takedowns....

Date:December 19, 2006
Being a diehard Lightfield slug guy for years, I was hesitant to switch to the lighter 385gr bullet. With the heavier Lightfield slug, put it on the shoulder and most deer never made it more than falling over. Hunting in congested areas, a knock down slug is what I normally would perfer. Enter the new bonded sabot at 1900fps. My 1187 w/ full rifled barrel and 2x7 simmoms scope is in the 3-4" range at 100yds. In the past 2 years I have shot 2 different bucks at 113 and 133 yards, both single shots. First at 113, entered front shoulder, deer jumped up and fell to the ground. Second, at 133 yards, entered low shoulder and blew out other shoulder shattering it, deer ran 40 yds. Both these shots would have been impossible with other heavier slugs. You can change the way you hunt with these slugs, while still hunting I have jumped many deer that ran and stopped still within range, 150+yds. Most places I hunt in NJ and NY you are unable to see more than 100-150yds at the best. Now any deer I see is realistically in my range. Awaiting American Barrel to fine tune my 870 into a tack driver with these slugs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Southampton, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This slug is very inconsistent out of an 870...

Date:January 4, 2007
I'm shooting a Remington 870 20ga Express Deer Gun with a Leupold 2x7 scope and I find this slug's performance to be very disappointing. I need a long range slug, I hunt a shotgun only area but most shots would be better suited for my .270; I know I'll never get the same performance from a shotgun but this slug won't even group on the paper at 100yds from a bench and sandbags. The Cooper Solid is a better round at 100yds. I asked some competitive shooters / professionals and they told me Remington slugs don't perform well when shot from Remington Guns. I'm switching to Winchester Partition Gold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Core-Lokt Slugs

Date:April 2, 2007
I took a nice 8 pointer this past deer season in Massachusetts. It was my first deer with my new 870 Express Magnum with fully rifled barrel. It wasn't my proudest shot to date, but at a little over 60 yards, I hit him quartering away. The 385 grain Core-Lokt Ultra Bonded Slug went through the paunch and made it to the vitals, and exited the other side.
The combination of these slugs and the fully rifled barrel gives me sub-2" groups at 100 yards consistently and I can definitely attest to their terminal ability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rem 12Ga Core-Lokt Ultra Sabot Slugs

Date:September 6, 2007
Shot a nice 6 pt in NYS with these last year about 10 mins after the season opened. 35 yd. shot, slug went exactly where aimed, thru the lungs & out the other side. Deer ran 40 yds, done. These slugs combined with a red-dot optic are an unbeatable combination where you can't use a rifle!! It completely changes the way you hunt deer in farm country. You go from ~50yd range w/ pumpkin balls to a 120-150 yard set up with very little sweat (other than the cost of ammo). But then you have the capability to reliably take things at double or triple the distance you could before...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: INDIANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

REMINGTON CORE-LOKT ULTRA BONDED SLUGS

Date:September 18, 2007
I DO A LOT OF SHOOTING AND CONSIDER MY SELF SOMEWHERE BETWEEN AVERAGE AND ABOVE AVERAGE SHOT.
WHILE SHOOTING MY 1187 CANTILEVER SCOPE MOUNT DEER GUN,I COULD NOT GET THESE SLUGS TO GROUP VERY WELL AT ALL.
THE BEST WAS 6"AT 50 YDS AND THE RECOIL WAS BRUTAL. I WILL NOT PURCHASE THESE AGAIN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent slugs

Date:October 17, 2007
I shoot a single shot H&R deer slug gun and I only shoot the core-lokt slugs. They are by far the most flat shooting slugs out there. I have tried alot of slugs and I have no problem pulling the trigger at a deer at 200 yards with these slugs. They are alittle bit pricey, but well worth it. I have shot the slugs and others into a 55 gallon drum of water at 60 yard to test expansion and knock down power and other slugs dropped and only penatrated the front of the barrel. I shot the core-lokt at the barrel and it did not drop and penatrated both sides. I had to move back to 100 yards to trap the slug inside the barrel to examine the expansion . They are very powerful and good expansion for the velocity they have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE SABOT

Date:October 19, 2007
I used these slugs in my Mossberg 695 and they grouped very well, sub 4" groups @ 100 yds. I recently bought a H&R ultra slug hunter and tried them and did not get the same result. The group was between 6-8" @ 100 yds. I tried Hornady SST slugs and they grouped very well around 3" @ 100 yds. So depending on your gun they may work great. They do have awesome knock down power, I took a good size doe last year with these and it never took another step after impact.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Slug

Date:October 25, 2007
I used the Remington Core-Lokt slugs last year and shot 4 deer at distances ranging from 50-175 yards with one shot kills. These slugs are super acurate, super powerful, and super fast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 5, 2007
Purchased this ammo for the upcoming deer season. Shot one box at the range with a 2" group at 100 yards with my Remington 870 pump. I am positive it will do just as well on deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: delaware
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wow

Date:November 6, 2007
I took a 120# buck with the copper solid and tracked it for about 80 yards. double lung shot. The buckhammers shoot great, but I havnt killed anything with them. However, I have taken 3 deer wiith the 385 grain slugs (160# buck, 2 80#does) and dropped them all on the spot. WOW. GREAT SLUGS. It looked like Elmer Fudd killed them.....They looked like they had been blasted by him. Looking for a better slug is over for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elk Killer

Date:November 10, 2007
I took a 5 x 5 Elk with the Core Lokt 385 gr Sabot Slug at about 90 yards. The Sabot went through lungs/heart on the broadside shot. The bull took 3 steps and fell. There was plenty of blood flow from both entrance and exit wounds. However, with 3 steps and drop performance on elk, who cares about tracking;)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greensburg, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Slugs

Date:November 25, 2007
These are some of the best slugs that I have ever used, just not for the money. (Winchester Super X are the best for the money but not very good for long range, and they are not sabots.) I have shot 2 deer so far this year and both were between 75 and 100 yards. The bullets passed all the way through and completely destroy the vitals without destroying any meat. They also have one of the flattest trajectories to make 200 yard shots possible. Excellent Slugs!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Marathon, Ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Core Loc Slug

Date:December 1, 2007
I have a Remington 870 20 gauge, I have tried the Remington Core loct Ultra, I have gone through 3 boxes and these things fly all over the place. I used Winchester Super X and can group 3 on top of each other at 75 yards. So I wouldn't spend the extra money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bloomfield, ia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

core-lokt

Date:December 8, 2007
i bought a new remington 870 express mag. this year for deer hunting. when i sited the gun in we used all kinds of ammo, and the cor-lokt shot the best but not perfect. opening day we headed out into cold rainy day. a buddy of mine wounded a nice buck and tracked it for a couple of miles. i drve around to pick them up, and there the buck was heading for a big timber. my buddy that was with me took a shot and missed, he was quessing the buck was 200yds or so. i held around 2 feet high and dropped him. we range found the shot and it was 307yds no joke! so i think i found my ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome slugs

Date:December 30, 2007
I bought these slugs after nothing else would work in my mossberg 500 A. I tried every slug that I could and nothing gave me the grouping that these slug have. I shot two boxes when I sighted the gun in. When I finished the whole last box was in the bulls eye of the target,at 100 yards. I think there might have been a half an inch between bullet holes. These slugs are the real thing. I killed my deer this year at 70 yards that deer did'nt even flinch he just droped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® Core-Lokt® Ultra Bonded Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wood county ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great sabot slugs

Date:January 4, 2008
I've been using these since they came out over four yrs ago and they've got great knock down power. They also do have some kick back but from my experience in southern ohio deer huntinhg I wouldn't use anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 47