Customer Reviews for PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle

PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle

The renowned Kentucky rifle was a direct descendant of early, expertly crafted German hunting weapons. It became one of the most common weapons used in the American colonies. Since it was lightweight and extremely accurate, it developed into the most popular American rifle of its day. This detailed, authentic reproduction of the Flintlock rifle sports a deep-blued, 1-in 48" twist rifled barrel, polished brass fittings and a fine, oil-finished walnut stock. Right-hand only. .50 caliber. Overall length: 51". Weight: 7 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Review 1 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2015

Quality Weapon

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I got this beautiful rifle as a gift. I was looking for a more challenging hunting weapon and a flintlock is just that. Every bad habit you have shooting a modern gun will be amplified holding this gun. However once you get it to shoot and have mastered getting it to shoot every time, it is the greatest feeling of accomplishment.
The specific problem with the gun is in its sites. This is why I gave it 4 stars. It shoots very low from the factory. The problem is easily corrected with a tall buckhorn site in the rear and a low profile site at the muzzle. (Purchased at a builder; have a gunsmith fit and install them), add triple7 for powder and the gun is spot on. The type and brand of powder does make a huge difference in shot placement. One other note: only 4F in the pan, 3F goes in the barrel. Also get a bag of flints and a piece of leather to replace the lead. Buy the accessories! You will need these items.
There is lots of reading material and videos on this gun. This would be a five page review if I covered every fickle detail of a flintlock rifle. My first shot went off at waist level. SAFETY SAFETY SAFETY
This is an exceptional high quality weapon. I like shooting mine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015

Nice rifle,

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Since I bought this rifle it was on sale. Still it's worth it in today's market. Fit and finish is very good, wood nicely shaped and marbled. Not presentation grade, but very handsome. The furniture seems to be of quality items, brass looks nicely finished. Haven't had much chance to shoot, but it fires fine and accuracy is well within hunting needs. I take this to the range, not in the woods as this is a more a look what I got gun than a utilitarian tool. I have others for that, and if they get scratched up, I won't cry as much, a little but not as much. Sights are minimal, but I'm not in a big yank to swap them out. If I was to hunt with it, I might swap them out for quicker acquisition. Lock and frizzen spark more than enough to set of the charge, mines a flintlock, if problems arise I'll deal then. The ramrod is just long enough, I bought another one for the range. Can't speak to longevity, but I think it will hold up well, if I use sensible caution.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2012

very nice rifle

By
Location: Quakertown, Pa.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Fires off quick, holds nice, very well balanced. Very glad I made this purchase
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2012

Kentucky Flintlock Rifle ! ! !

By
Location: Powell, Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I'm an old Black Powder shooter, but this is my first flintlock. The accuracy of this rifle, combined with the ease that I adapted to it my first time out with it surprised me. This flintlock rifle has been nothing but a great experience. As always , CABELAS has sent me a TOP SHELF ITEM.......................
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

VERY NICE RIFLE

By
Location: milton vt.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Looks and shoots great 3 inch group at 100 yards perfect for me and these old eyes. Very fast lock time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2011

Great rifle

By
Location: Hunlock Creek, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought mine about ten years ago; had it out last week to get practice for next week's hunt.
Accurate, quick lock, fun to shoot.
Still like to pull it out just to look at it too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2010

excellent!!!

By
Location: monterey, ca
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
this is my first bp rifle, and it's absolutely perfect. it shoots 1/4" groups at 50 yards and 1/2" groups at 100 yards. i have also hit a 2 foot target, two out of three times at 300 yards. my gunsmith says it is a very well made rifle and says that the stock is very consistent with that of the originals, whose stocks had a downward curve, just like the ones cabela's sells, which is made by davide-pedersoli from italy. i prefer a 60 grain charge, but have taken it up to 90 grains, but it doesn't need that big of a charge, 60-80 grains is perfect, depending on your need. i can't wait to take this hunting. i love this rifle and you will too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2009

Great Rifle

By
Location: Berwick, Pa
I've had this gun for 4 years. It is very accurate and well balanced. The trigger is very light. The workmanship is great. Great rifle!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Nice Kentucky Rifle

By
Location: Elk Point, SD
Have not fired the rifle as we got it for a gift. However, based on the workmanship and quality of the components, along with my own experience with black powder rifles, this rifle is well worth the price. It is well balanced and feels good. I'd take it to a shoot anywhere.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2009

An accuarate fun rifle

By
Location: Hogeye arkansas
Although I have experience with muzzle loaders this is my first flintlock.
The gun is well made and looks great. At a range of about 70 yards I was able to place a 3" shot group using round balls. Pretty good for me. I reason that it has to do with the longer barrel length. Much longer than Cabela's Hawkin that I am familiar with.
Although it gives a good shot group it is a bear to get a bullet out if you have to. Length is one thing in that regard but the bore size seems to be just a tad smaller than other 50 calibers I am familiar with. Makes it tougher to push the ball in.
Another minor problem is that the longer barrel means that standard cleaning kits have ramrods too short so you have to either modify them or use the guns own ramrod.
Still it is a lot of fun and it's taken me awhile to get used to the delay from the primer igniting to the discharge of the weapon.
It is easy to to adjust to the flintlock from the percussion and for a plinker like me, more fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2009

kentuck rifle

By
I LOVE IT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008

Awesome black powder kentucky rifle

By
Location: Montana
Beautiful..everything I hoped for...I am hanging/displaying this with my "Gary Carter" mountain man prints...Looks GREAT !!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2007

Cabela's Kentucky Flintlock Rifle

By
Location: CA>
This order was recieved on time.
The rifle shot great right out of the box and is a beauty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2007

Kentucky Riffle (flintlock)

By
Location: McDonald, Tn
Ever since I was a liffle kid I wanted a riffle like Daniel Boone used in Colonial America--well, this is it! The gun shoulders and sights easily, thanks to the curved buttplate. The lock time is between 1 and 3 seconds and consistant so long as some flintlock basics are observed. The gun shoots hard--which is the beauty of black powder--but a hunting jacket or strong shoulders (like mine) will have no problem handling the recoil. The combination of set-trigers and front-heavy barrel keep the muzzle pointed at the target no matter how excited the shooter. All in all, a fine weapon! My only regret: Cabela's does not sell 4Fg black powder (pan primer), but it is available elsewhere--Cabela's Cusromer Service Dept. told me where to find some--they are so helpful. Thank you for reading.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2007

mbw/south carolina

By
Location: south carolina
very nice, well made gun for the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2007

Nice Rifle

By
Location: South East PA and Maryland
I've had this rifle for about 2 years now and I really enjoy. I'll admit that I have not mastered it as of yet but i'm still working. I really need to hit the range. I marked down to 4 stars because the directions for barrel removal are terrible. I beleive this may have been stated already but the is no wedge on this weapon. You must remove the screw from the breech and bang out the pin about half way down the stock. I found that a finshing nail with the point removed work the best for this. Watch that you do not damage the wood. I have found it much easier to remove the barrel if the brass on the end of the stock is also removed. this also afford the chance to put a nice polish on the brass without messing up the wood. I'm hoping to take my first deer with this rifle this winter, time will tell with that one...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2007

Excellent Rifle, especially with 44 cal sabots

By
Location: Lords valley, PA
This is a very nice Kentucky Rifle for the money, with a nice black blue and real European walnut stock. The full stock takes a real nice tung oil finish. The rifle has nice precision on the range with saboted 44 caliber bullets.
I would recommend it provided that you are fairly handy with drilling and high speed hobby tools to get the lock time down to a fraction of a second.
It comes with a typical modern undersized touch hole that most be drilled out to 0.69" to 0.075" and then cone shaped to get the powder in the barrel close to the pan.
The pan is way too shallow and the touch hole is half way down instead being at the top of the pan. Grinding the pan down an additional 1/8" allows the flames to shoot up and be directed into the touch hole.
The spark was weak and my particular frizzen was soft, so I hardened the frizzen with a torch and charcoal. Caution, file the rough casting imperfections off the bottom of the frizzen, the pan cover, to get a tight fit BEFORE hardening the frizzen. Your file won't be able to touch the imperfections afterwards and you will need to use a stone and a lot of time to grind the pan cover flat! I am loathe to use any type of power grinder on this critical rain cover for fear of making it other than perfectly flat.
By now the lock time was down to a fraction of a second.
I also inlaid a brass patch box, but that is not necessary. The stock IS WALNUT! Be forewarned that that walnut is nearly as hard as oak to work with if you do decide to perform this work. Get a nice 11" or 12" "Possibles" bag with dual flaps and a lot of pockets to carry the extra stuff you need for a flinter vs a percussion lock.
Next, the shooting! The front sight was too high and the rear sight too low to hit the paper at 50 yards, even after filing the front sight all the way down. I recommend immediately replacing the rear sight with with an adjustable 0.350" to 0.650" blade. Get one that is 2 3/4" long to extend the sight plane. Or you can use a rear receiver "peep" sight if allowed by your state's game laws (PA only allows the blade sights even though my grandfather's original 1860's "Kentucky Rifle" came standard with the rear peep).
Back to the range. I was using 250 grain 44 cal (0.429") nosler point/boat tail bullets I cast myself from my own design mold for optimum sectional density and lowest drag coefficient) in 44/50 cal sabots. I would try 41 cal except 44 is the minimum caliber allowed by the PA Game Commission.
I shot 5 rounds last night with 50 grains to 75 grains of powder and 4 were within 2 MOA vertically as you would expect with varying powder charges and 1/2 MOA horizontally and the 5th went 3" left when I flinched on a "hang fire" instead of holding on target. This load with 100 grains of powder should be set at 2.39" high at 100 yards and yields a 166 yard "point blank" range for whitetail deer with a 140 yard zero.
Round balls have not shot as consistently, but the variation is strictly vertical to the bullseye, so I have to consider my patches to be inferior and allowing variable blowby around the 0.490" ball thus variable velocity with a given powder charge. I need to purchase some superior quality patches or may need to move up to 0.495" lead balls.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2007

Amazing Value

By
Location: SE Pennsylvania
To get a rifle of this quality for this price is unbelievable. I've become the envy of the ole boys who usually spend a couple thousand on their smoke poles. Yes, in all probability, the rear sight will have to be replaced for accuracy but it's a standard 3/8" dovetail .. easy to find replacement primative sights. But the real beauty is the set trigger! Final stage let-off on mine is about 5oz. BTW .. the directions are nonesense relative to barrel removal. It only requires that you drift out two pins and remove the tang screw.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2006

most excellent

By
Location: Kemmerer, Wyoming
This rifle is most excellent. put together excellent. Shoots very accurate. I highy recommend this rifle to everyone. Made alot better than most other rifles of a higher price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2006

awesome

By
Location: Tropic, Utah
this flint lock is amazing ive killed over 5 deer with it and two elk the time ive had it its amazing! This is much better than the new versions of the muzeloder these kentuckys are the best muskets in the world!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.