Customer Reviews for PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle

PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle

The renowned Kentucky rifle was a direct descendant of early, expertly crafted German hunting weapons. It became one of the most common weapons used in the American colonies. Since it was lightweight and extremely accurate, it developed into the most popular American rifle of its day. This detailed, authentic reproduction of the Flintlock rifle sports a deep-blued, 1-in 48" twist rifled barrel, polished brass fittings and a fine, oil-finished walnut stock. Right-hand only. .50 caliber. Overall length: 51". Weight: 7 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Review 1 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Quakertown, Pa.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice rifle

Date:March 5, 2012
Fires off quick, holds nice, very well balanced. Very glad I made this purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Powell, Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kentucky Flintlock Rifle ! ! !

Date:January 22, 2012
I'm an old Black Powder shooter, but this is my first flintlock. The accuracy of this rifle, combined with the ease that I adapted to it my first time out with it surprised me. This flintlock rifle has been nothing but a great experience. As always , CABELAS has sent me a TOP SHELF ITEM.......................
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: milton vt.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VERY NICE RIFLE

Date:January 9, 2012
Looks and shoots great 3 inch group at 100 yards perfect for me and these old eyes. Very fast lock time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hunlock Creek, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:October 10, 2011
Bought mine about ten years ago; had it out last week to get practice for next week's hunt.
Accurate, quick lock, fun to shoot.
Still like to pull it out just to look at it too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: monterey, ca
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent!!!

Date:October 25, 2010
this is my first bp rifle, and it's absolutely perfect. it shoots 1/4" groups at 50 yards and 1/2" groups at 100 yards. i have also hit a 2 foot target, two out of three times at 300 yards. my gunsmith says it is a very well made rifle and says that the stock is very consistent with that of the originals, whose stocks had a downward curve, just like the ones cabela's sells, which is made by davide-pedersoli from italy. i prefer a 60 grain charge, but have taken it up to 90 grains, but it doesn't need that big of a charge, 60-80 grains is perfect, depending on your need. i can't wait to take this hunting. i love this rifle and you will too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Berwick, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:December 13, 2009
I've had this gun for 4 years. It is very accurate and well balanced. The trigger is very light. The workmanship is great. Great rifle!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elk Point, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Kentucky Rifle

Date:May 4, 2009
Have not fired the rifle as we got it for a gift. However, based on the workmanship and quality of the components, along with my own experience with black powder rifles, this rifle is well worth the price. It is well balanced and feels good. I'd take it to a shoot anywhere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hogeye arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An accuarate fun rifle

Date:April 22, 2009
Although I have experience with muzzle loaders this is my first flintlock.
The gun is well made and looks great. At a range of about 70 yards I was able to place a 3" shot group using round balls. Pretty good for me. I reason that it has to do with the longer barrel length. Much longer than Cabela's Hawkin that I am familiar with.
Although it gives a good shot group it is a bear to get a bullet out if you have to. Length is one thing in that regard but the bore size seems to be just a tad smaller than other 50 calibers I am familiar with. Makes it tougher to push the ball in.
Another minor problem is that the longer barrel means that standard cleaning kits have ramrods too short so you have to either modify them or use the guns own ramrod.
Still it is a lot of fun and it's taken me awhile to get used to the delay from the primer igniting to the discharge of the weapon.
It is easy to to adjust to the flintlock from the percussion and for a plinker like me, more fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

kentuck rifle

Date:January 11, 2009
I LOVE IT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome black powder kentucky rifle

Date:December 30, 2008
Beautiful..everything I hoped for...I am hanging/displaying this with my "Gary Carter" mountain man prints...Looks GREAT !!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CA>
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Kentucky Flintlock Rifle

Date:October 30, 2007
This order was recieved on time.
The rifle shot great right out of the box and is a beauty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: McDonald, Tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kentucky Riffle (flintlock)

Date:August 17, 2007
Ever since I was a liffle kid I wanted a riffle like Daniel Boone used in Colonial America--well, this is it! The gun shoulders and sights easily, thanks to the curved buttplate. The lock time is between 1 and 3 seconds and consistant so long as some flintlock basics are observed. The gun shoots hard--which is the beauty of black powder--but a hunting jacket or strong shoulders (like mine) will have no problem handling the recoil. The combination of set-trigers and front-heavy barrel keep the muzzle pointed at the target no matter how excited the shooter. All in all, a fine weapon! My only regret: Cabela's does not sell 4Fg black powder (pan primer), but it is available elsewhere--Cabela's Cusromer Service Dept. told me where to find some--they are so helpful. Thank you for reading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: south carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mbw/south carolina

Date:August 3, 2007
very nice, well made gun for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: South East PA and Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rifle

Date:June 29, 2007
I've had this rifle for about 2 years now and I really enjoy. I'll admit that I have not mastered it as of yet but i'm still working. I really need to hit the range. I marked down to 4 stars because the directions for barrel removal are terrible. I beleive this may have been stated already but the is no wedge on this weapon. You must remove the screw from the breech and bang out the pin about half way down the stock. I found that a finshing nail with the point removed work the best for this. Watch that you do not damage the wood. I have found it much easier to remove the barrel if the brass on the end of the stock is also removed. this also afford the chance to put a nice polish on the brass without messing up the wood. I'm hoping to take my first deer with this rifle this winter, time will tell with that one...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lords valley, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Rifle, especially with 44 cal sabots

Date:June 16, 2007
This is a very nice Kentucky Rifle for the money, with a nice black blue and real European walnut stock. The full stock takes a real nice tung oil finish. The rifle has nice precision on the range with saboted 44 caliber bullets.
I would recommend it provided that you are fairly handy with drilling and high speed hobby tools to get the lock time down to a fraction of a second.
It comes with a typical modern undersized touch hole that most be drilled out to 0.69" to 0.075" and then cone shaped to get the powder in the barrel close to the pan.
The pan is way too shallow and the touch hole is half way down instead being at the top of the pan. Grinding the pan down an additional 1/8" allows the flames to shoot up and be directed into the touch hole.
The spark was weak and my particular frizzen was soft, so I hardened the frizzen with a torch and charcoal. Caution, file the rough casting imperfections off the bottom of the frizzen, the pan cover, to get a tight fit BEFORE hardening the frizzen. Your file won't be able to touch the imperfections afterwards and you will need to use a stone and a lot of time to grind the pan cover flat! I am loathe to use any type of power grinder on this critical rain cover for fear of making it other than perfectly flat.
By now the lock time was down to a fraction of a second.
I also inlaid a brass patch box, but that is not necessary. The stock IS WALNUT! Be forewarned that that walnut is nearly as hard as oak to work with if you do decide to perform this work. Get a nice 11" or 12" "Possibles" bag with dual flaps and a lot of pockets to carry the extra stuff you need for a flinter vs a percussion lock.
Next, the shooting! The front sight was too high and the rear sight too low to hit the paper at 50 yards, even after filing the front sight all the way down. I recommend immediately replacing the rear sight with with an adjustable 0.350" to 0.650" blade. Get one that is 2 3/4" long to extend the sight plane. Or you can use a rear receiver "peep" sight if allowed by your state's game laws (PA only allows the blade sights even though my grandfather's original 1860's "Kentucky Rifle" came standard with the rear peep).
Back to the range. I was using 250 grain 44 cal (0.429") nosler point/boat tail bullets I cast myself from my own design mold for optimum sectional density and lowest drag coefficient) in 44/50 cal sabots. I would try 41 cal except 44 is the minimum caliber allowed by the PA Game Commission.
I shot 5 rounds last night with 50 grains to 75 grains of powder and 4 were within 2 MOA vertically as you would expect with varying powder charges and 1/2 MOA horizontally and the 5th went 3" left when I flinched on a "hang fire" instead of holding on target. This load with 100 grains of powder should be set at 2.39" high at 100 yards and yields a 166 yard "point blank" range for whitetail deer with a 140 yard zero.
Round balls have not shot as consistently, but the variation is strictly vertical to the bullseye, so I have to consider my patches to be inferior and allowing variable blowby around the 0.490" ball thus variable velocity with a given powder charge. I need to purchase some superior quality patches or may need to move up to 0.495" lead balls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Value

Date:January 3, 2007
To get a rifle of this quality for this price is unbelievable. I've become the envy of the ole boys who usually spend a couple thousand on their smoke poles. Yes, in all probability, the rear sight will have to be replaced for accuracy but it's a standard 3/8" dovetail .. easy to find replacement primative sights. But the real beauty is the set trigger! Final stage let-off on mine is about 5oz. BTW .. the directions are nonesense relative to barrel removal. It only requires that you drift out two pins and remove the tang screw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kemmerer, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

most excellent

Date:October 27, 2006
This rifle is most excellent. put together excellent. Shoots very accurate. I highy recommend this rifle to everyone. Made alot better than most other rifles of a higher price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pedersoli Kentucky Flintlock Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tropic, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:October 20, 2006
this flint lock is amazing ive killed over 5 deer with it and two elk the time ive had it its amazing! This is much better than the new versions of the muzeloder these kentuckys are the best muskets in the world!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.