Customer Reviews for WILLIAMS GUN SIGHT Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles

WILLIAMS GUN SIGHT Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles

Outfit your muzzleloader with these extreme high-visibility fiber optic sights. The front and rear Firesights® are different colors to precisely line up and stay on target.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.524 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
14 out of 21(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Review 1 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2007

Williams Firesights

By
Location: Western Michigan
Excellent fit, very easy installation. the Williams Firesight is the only sight for my muzzleloader.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2007

Williams Fire Sights

By
Location: Wilder Idaho
These sights are very well made of metal, not plastic.Easily seen at dawn or dusk. UNFORTUNATELY they do not fit the Cabelas HAWKIN HUNTER black powder rifle as advertised.The base of the front sight was too small for the sight slot and the rear sight mounting holes did not match the holes on the barrel. These sights may fit the Cabelas Hawkin rifle but not the Hawkin Hunter.
A call to the mfg. revealed that they were given the wrong specs. I had to return them for a refund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2007

WILLIAMS FIRESITE FOR CABELAS HAWKIN

By
Location: D. PARSONS- NEW JERSEY
I HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE SIGHT IN MY CABELAS HAWKIN KIT. I WAS INSTANTLY OFFERED A REPLACEMENT PART. I INQUIRED ABOUT AN UPGRADE TO FIBER OPTIC SINCE MY EYES ARE NOT WHAT THEY USED TO BE. THEY HAD THE WILLIAMS FIRESIGHT .ONE MODEL IS MADE FOR THE HAWKIN KIT AND COMPLETE RIFLES. IT MATCHED UP WITH THE DRILLED AND TAPPED HOLES IN THE BARREL PERFECTLY. I HAD TO USE A PUNCH AND DIMPLE THE BASE OF THE DOVETAIL SLIGHTLY TO GET A GOOD BITE ON THE FRONT SITE BUT THAT WAS A PIECE OF CAKE ANYWAY. ALL IN ALL-JUST WHAT I WANTED AND AN EASY INSTALLATION. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS SIGHT TO ANYONE WITH THIS TYPE OF RIFLE. AA++
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

Firesights for hawken

By
Location: Long Island, New York
These sights fit the cabelas hawken rifle correctly with the exception of having to shim the front dovetail. They make it much easier for older eyes to pick up the sights.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2008

Willaims Firesights

By
Location: McCall, ID
Last year in Idaho they changed the muzzleloading regulations and I had to purchase a Traditional muzzleloader, it happened to be the Cabela's Traditional Hawken Percussion Rifle. I am very pleased with it and would recommend this muzzleloader to anyone getting into traditional muzzleload hunting. The only thing was that the iron sights are not that great for dusk and dawn hunting, so I ordered the Williams Firesights and they are great for hunting at dusk and dawn. They gather the light real good which makes it easy to geat a bead on the Elk. The ease of installation was great and I had no problems with it and look foreward to using it this muzzleload hunting season. I would recommend the Willams Firesight to anyone getting a Cabela's Traditional Hawken Rifle or anyother muzzleloading rifle so you will have a good advantage at dusk and dawn hunting of elk and deer!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2008

Sights

By
Location: Chili WI
These sights help my old eyes see the target with my
Hawkins Muzzleloader.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

firesight positive

By
Location: northeast, PA
Nice hardware for your traditional smokepole. Made of a quality metal not plastic. Easy file to fit required. Bright fiber optic inserts. NO complaints. Fair price!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2008

williams FIresights

By
Location: Curtis Nebraska
I received the sights in good time.
The packing said a gunsmith might be required, but I an not one of these and the sights went on the cabelas, hawkins very well, took only a few miuntes to take the old sights off and put these on, Have not sighted these in yet but it lookls like it will be easy to do. Thanks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2008

sights for hawken mussel loaders

By
Location: seattle, wa
the front sight does not fit the cabelos hawken hunter 54 cal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2008

Don't fit

By
The sites themselves are really good quality. To bad that Cabela's has changed the width of the front dovetail and did not tell Williams. The new Cabelas Hakins has a 9mm dovetail. That is .354~. The front sight sent with this kit for the Cabelas Hakins is only .340. It just falls through the dovetail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Fire Sights

By
Location: Wisconsin
I recently put together a cabelas hawken percusion kit and instaled these sights as an extra. They went on easy, fit right, and are super bright. Perfect for this gun, I would definatly recomend this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2009

Does not fit

By
Location: PA
The quality of the sights themselves is fine. However, the front sight does not fit the dovetail in the Cabela's Hawken barrel. The male dovetail on the sight is too small. Either Wiilliams or Investarm (the manufacturer of the rifle) changed the dimensions of their dovertail. It might fit an older rifle, but current production (2009) rifles are not compatible with this set.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2009

Does not fit

By
Several of the ratings say it does not fit newer Hawkens. Mine is about 8 years old. It appears there is a real problem here as the front site simply falls right through. I had a time getting the original front sight off so am pretty frustrated. While the sights are nice, it doesn't really matter if they don't fit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2009

DONT FIT

By
Location: cumberland city tn
THe sights are very well made but do not fit the new hawken carbine rifle.The dovetail is to big for the sight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010

Williams Firesights

By
Location: WS Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have a Cabela's (Investarm) Hawken made in Italy. The back sight fit, but I had to use one of the screws from the old sight because the holes weren't tapped deep enough. I never have liked the original sight and am happy with this one. The front sight doesn't fit, it slides right through. I have read that it can be shimmed, but I haven't tried. I am going to use some of the "fiber optic" paint Cabela's sells and put that on the original front sight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011

Williams Firesights

By
Location: Salisbury,Ma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
These sights are so much better for my old eyes. Very easy to in stall, Have not had a chance to sight in yet i dont see a problem. Best up grade i have done. Very fine product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2011

Waste of money

By
Location: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This product is complete junk. I purchased it to replace the standard sights on my Cabela's Traditional Hawken Rifle. It was not at all what I expected. They are made of plastic and the front sight is too small to fit in the rifles wedge without having to glue it in place. I would rated them as zero stars if that was an option.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

Does it job

By
Location: Ortonville, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Its like night and day compared to the sights that came on my gun. Literally
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2012

Some Fitting Required

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great upgrade to factory sights, there was some fitting required, you need a punch and some needle files for the front sight install.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Williams Firesights for Cabela's Hawken Black Powder Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2012

Decent product for the price on sale.

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Picked this sight up on sale to replace the factory sights on older Cabela's sporterized hawken. The replacement was very simple & easy. As others have stated, the front sight wedge is significantly undersized for the opening and will fall out on its own. I used the red locktite on it and is very secure even after firing several times. The sights are not the brightest I've ever used, but they are a significant improvement over the factory ones that came with the rifle and MUCH more reliable. Would recommend but be aware that the reviews that the front doesn't fit/is to small is spot-on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 21