Customer Reviews for POWERBELT PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets

POWERBELT PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets

Enjoy all the benefits of sabot-like performance without any of the drawbacks of using sabots. A patented snap-on base creates a perfect gas seal, resulting in consistent pressures and accuracy. Gas blow-by is eliminated, creating consistently higher velocities. Unlike sabot rounds, these projectiles are full-caliber size, are easy to load and don’t require cleaning after each shot. No plastic residue is left behind, so you can shoot up to eight shots between recommended barrel swabs. The three PowerBelt configurations are tailored to specific applications. The AeroTip’s superior flight performance results in longer, flatter trajectories and controlled expansion. They’re ideal for deer, elk and black bear. Hollow-Point PowerBelts deliver maximum expansion on thin-skinned game such as deer and varmints. Use Flat-Point PowerBelts for hard-hitting punches on heavy-skinned game such as bear and moose. For clean, accurate, game-dropping muzzleloader ammunition, there’s a PowerBelt bullet that meats your needs. Per 15. Available: Copper – PowerBelt copper-plated bullets are the most popular muzzleloading projectiles since the lead round ball. They’re the bullets that made sabots obsolete and offer the widest variety of bullets and weights in the PowerBelt line. PowerBelt’s pure-lead bullets are perfect for economy-minded shooters and for use in states where copper-plated bullets are not allowed. ATTENTION: Residents of DC and MA please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any shot or bullet products.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.891 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 202 reviews
5 Stars
121
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
15
1 Star
35
149 out of 202(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Review 21 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Power Belt Bullets 223 Gr

Date:December 13, 2006
I shot my first deer with blackpowder this year using 223 Gr Aero Tip bullets using 150 Gr Pyrodex Pellets at approx. 25 yards broadside. The shot was a bit high but not in the back straps. No meat damage. The bullet passed thru both sides leaving an excellent blood trail. The 8 point buck traveled 30 yards before expiring in the creek. These bullets group 2 inches at 75 yards with open sites from a sitting position thru my T/C Omega. Great Bullets,Great Weapon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: central Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

no blood trail

Date:December 13, 2006
This is my second season and 4th deer shot with power belts. Extremely accurate and easy to load and use...the problem, they fragment so much on impact they do not pass through. Penetration is poor. Last year I shot a buck quartering away. It dropped in it's tracks. Small hole in skin, almost 3 inch hole in ENTRANCE rib side. Nothing but very small lead and copper pieces in chest. No exit wound. Later in season, doe quartering toward me and same result. Dropped in it's tracks. I thought the bullet must have caught a bone the wrong way and fragmented too much. But with two deer in my freezer I put the anomaly out of my mind. This year, buck quartering toward me. Perfect bullet placement. I watched it run about 50 yards and fall. Fragmentation. No deep penetration. No exit wound. No blood trail. I thought it just fraged from big body mass. Later a doe broadside, perfect bullet placement behind shoulder. No blood trail. Late afternoon and searched for hours into night with flashlights. Found next day by search pattern. Bullet only touched ribs and fragmented. No exit wound. I was in tree stand so entrance was higher on chest with no way for reliable blood trail. I will not hunt with these again. Most of these positive reviews are range experience not hunting experience. They do not hold together enough. To hunt with them you better hope you see the animal drop because you will not have a blood trail to follow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

195gr .45

Date:December 13, 2006
Like a few of the other reviews I too had problems with these bullets coming apart on impact. However I had no problems with not having a blood trail. One deer was a facing chest shot with a slight quarter angle, 50 yds. The bullet took out both lungs, the heart and also hit the liver before lodging under the skin on the rear quarter. Blood was found each time her front legs hit when she was running. I found her piled up 60 yds from where she was shot. The second deer was a broadside with both lungs hit at 30 yds. She only ran 30 yds with another good blood trail. While field dressing each animal bullet fragments were found in the chest cavity. On the downside neither bullet passed through and through. The broadside shot did have a massive exit on the opposite ribcage, but failed to puncture the hide. In each case only pieces of the bullet were located and I'm a little concerned about that, but it's awfully hard to argue with the success I've had. In my experience it is a rarity when a deer drops dead in its tracks and what I have seen from these PowerBelts is definitely acceptable. For those complaining of extended tracking after a shot with these bullets I have to say practice some more. No deer shot through the "vitals" will run 400 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Albany, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Power belt 233 gr. 50 cal.

Date:December 15, 2006
I shot 2 deer this week, both deer went a long way before they dropped. The power belts blew apart on impact.
First one hit rib and came apart before entering vitals no weight rentention at all just small peices of copper.
Second deer hit shoulder and came apart before hitting vitals, again just small bits of copper.
The furthest shot was 25 yards other one was 15 yards from a tree no exit wound on either deer.
I will not hunt with this bullet again after the results I have had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Omaha, Ne
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

.50, 245 grain aerotips just don't cut it

Date:January 2, 2007
I used the .50 caliber aerotips in 245 grain on a whitetail deer. At 20 yards, mid body shot through the lungs the animal, a 100 pound doe, ran almost 200 yards and didn't even start a blood trail until it was 70 yards away from point of impact. The only way I found it was that it was in flat forest and I could see it run all the way from my tree stand. Otherwise I would surely have lost the animal. I don't expect that from a large caliber with a 100 grain charge at such close range. The animal was unalerted and not wary, and still had time to run that far. I'll go with a hollow point or a cheaper sabot type for more expansion and hitting force. No need to pay premium prices for a bullet with no stopping power on even a small deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullets

Date:January 4, 2007
I have a CVA firebolt. I use 90 grains of triple 7 FFFG and a 195 grain Aerotip powerbelt. Ihave had no trouble knocking deer down. Last year I shot a doe at just over a 150 yards. Practicing before season I could cover 3 holes with a half dollar. I was shooting 2 inches high at 50 yards. Great bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

aerotip bullets

Date:January 8, 2007
I thought I found the answer to a great bullet for muzzleloading when I tried the 245 grain aerotip bullet. It shoots great, loads great but it don't kill very well. Just watch my daughter shoot a nice buck, it hit the shoulder the reason I know it hit the shoulder is that the deer was 50 yds. away when she shot and when it was hit it jump 15 ft. closer and stood there while she was reloading the gun with an other bullet. I could see the red spot on the shoulder where the bullet hit, the deer ran off leaving a small blood trail. The aerotip must have blown up on impact and not going into the body. The deer ran up on hill down another then up another hill with very little damage to the deer. I wish I would have read the other reviews on this bullet before I bought them. Like the ad say cost of the gun $600, bullets $13.00 watching your daughter shoot a deer priceless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alexandria Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing

Date:February 8, 2007
I recenly went on a Hog hunt in December 06
I shot two hogs. The first was from 25 yards it went about 20 feet and dropped dead it weighed 110 lbs when we cleaned it it had a massive hole of about three inches broad side and the heart and lungs were desimated.
The second hog was from 75 yards and it went about four feet before dropping it weighed 210 lbs. the lungs were also desimated. The shield on the second hog was pretty thick.
I am using the 245 grain ballistic tip with 150 grains in an Knight Vision .50 cal which is just awsome. the bullets shattered and destroyed everything it was supposed to.
Like any gun shot placement is critical!
I had a friend on the hunt using the same round and had the same results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: South Central Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not the most accurate?

Date:February 10, 2007
Last fall a co-worker and myself spent a long Saturday looking for the best down range accuracy from a muzzleloader. We tested various versions of the powerbelts and a number of different sabots from a large spectrum of manufacturers. We ran controled tests at 100 and 200 yards, using both .45 and .50 caliber thompson Omega's. Each different load was tested with a clean barrel for the first round, then 3 more round through a dirty barrel. For accuracy sake we mounted each gun with a Leupold Varmiter scope, something not practical for hunting but necessary for an accuray test. All test were done with 100gr of 777 power, not pellet.
We found that the powerbelts had the worst overall accuracy, holding a 3.5inch group at 100 yards, 5+ at 200 yards. These numbers are still very good and would easily find the average 8 inch vital area of a whitetail. The only area that the powerbelts were the best was in they're extreme easy of loading.
It's a tough call, the powerbelt brand is not the most accurate, dispite what they say and what every salesman will tell you. But they are accurate enough and nothing loads easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MT VERNON OHIO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT KNOCK DOWN POWER

Date:March 29, 2007
I WAS STUND WHEN I READ ALL THE BAD REVIEWS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT. I SHOT A 223GR AERO TIP 50 CAL. WITH 150GR OF POWDER. I SHOT A ENCORE AND HAVE SHOT 2 INCH GROUPS AT 100 YDS AND DROPPED DEER IN THEIR TRACKS AT 150 YDS. VERY PLEASED WITH THIS PRODUCT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gladys VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dead buck

Date:April 14, 2007
I used these last season and am very pleased. They were accurate and easy to load. Every deer that I shot died within 10 yards of where they were hit. One last thing these are probably the best muzzleloading bullets ever made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cochecton NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate And east to load

Date:April 15, 2007
I fired 20 rounds without cleaning shooting a 1" group. They all loaded easy even after 19 + shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PowerBelt AeroTip Bullets

Date:April 16, 2007
I own 3 CVA's a Stag Horn a Optma Pro and a Wolf and I now shoot Power Belts in all three. They have improved the accuracy of all the guns. The groups from 80 out to about 125 yards are much tighter than with the other bullets that I have shot in the past. I have shot PowerBelts for about 4 years and 6 deers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PowerBelts

Date:May 24, 2007
Out of curiosity, I read all the reviews listed. Some seem right on with what I have experienced with these bullets and some seem way out there. I shoot a ruger 77/50 which was designed for the 338 grain powerbelt loaded with 100 grains of pyrodex select. This gun with mentioned load was like shooting a centerfire rifle out to 100 yards, 1 1/2 " groups. I will say that the first shot in my gun with a clean barrel is always a few inches high so I never go hunting with a clean barrel; I always fire 1 round beforehand since these bullets are actually .499 and not a true .50. I shot 4 deer and 2 hogs with this load at max distance of 100 yards and the results were devasting. Wanting to extend effective range, I downsized to 295 grains. A small amount of accuracy was sacraficed, but effective range went up 50 yards. I have never shot at an animal with these bullets that was not killed. As for blood trails, it is no different than any other projectile. High entrance and or exit does not lend itself to blood trails until the chest cavity is completey full of blood.
I have never seen a lung shot animal run further than 100 yards in my life. My best deer was a 155 lb. 165" 5 yr old. Light was almost gone and I misjudged the distance and held over the sweet spot 3 inches thinking he was 150 yards. He was at 100 so I hit exactly where I was aiming, right at the top of the lungs. After a 30 minute wait it was dark so when I got down and looked, of course no blood trail. The deer went 45 yards and piled up. Know your gun and it's repeatability tendencies with these bullets with the optimum powder for the load, make the shot and you will be more than satisfied. One shot is all you need if you do it right. Also ask yourself if your cleaning and maintenance regimine is satisfactory or not.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas Delta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

powerbelt bullets

Date:June 4, 2007
" I agree with everyone on these bullets. I used these for the first time walking out thickets for deer last year, and they are the best.. both for accuracy and simplicity. They also do away with the need for a starter - you can push them down the barrel with your thumb! This is the ultimate muzzeloading bullet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Leesburg, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PowerBelt AeroTip Bullets

Date:June 12, 2007
The very best blackpowder bullet you can buy. Loads extremely easy, super accurate. Will continue to only use PowerBelt Bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: southern middle Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

unstable bullet design

Date:July 9, 2007
The PowerBelt, Aertotip, 275 grain, .45 cal. bullet will not stabelize in my rifle at magnum velocities. The rifle is not at fault. It is built by one of the leading makers of muzzle-loading rifles. It will shoot lighter weight bullets without problems of stability. I have to drop the load of black powder substitute down to 70-75 grains before the bullet starts to show some sign of stability. This will not produce enough hydrostatic shock to cleanly kill larger game.
I feel that the .45 cal. Aerotip PowerBelt needs to be redesigned for better magnum accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: forked river,nj
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

powerbelt aerotip bullets

Date:July 28, 2007
a friend of mine told me i should try these,so i bought some
tried them and was really impressed with the bullets performance,especially with long distance accuracy,powerbelt bullets group very well .thou i haven't personally tried them on deer,yet, i have seen some of my hunting buddies use them on deer and watched as the deer
just drop once hit.one deer in particular dropped as if hit by a
mack truck at @ 140 yards.can't wait to try these powerbelt bullets this deer season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: white lake mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best sabots

Date:July 31, 2007
i like how they shoot through my rifle. i have seen a deer shot and drop in its tracks with a hallow point .50cal. they group very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for PowerBelt™ AeroTip™ Copper Plated Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly Accurate

Date:August 13, 2007
Been shooting the 245gr 50cal PowerBelt AeroTip for 2 seasons_ and still get excited to get out 'n practice... not to mention hunt. These bullets in my Optima Pro have made for an amazingly accurate and deadly combination. I'm able to shoot tighter patterns & accurate further-away shots. Confidence in shooting has dramatically increased due to use of these PowerBelts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 202