Customer Reviews for SPEER Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition

SPEER Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition

Speer Gold Dot® ammunition continues to dominate the law enforcement market. It's the first high-performance handgun ammunition to be loaded with true, bonded-core bullets. Speer Gold Dot uses an exclusive Uni-Cor® process where they bond the jacket to the core one molecule at a time. This virtually eliminates core-jacket separation, the leading cause of handgun bullet failures. Only the highest quality, nickel-plated brass cases are used for smooth feeding and corrosion-resistance. Famous CCI® primers and low-flash propellants are used for the best ballistic performance. Made in USA. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
102 out of 105(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Review 1 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Houston
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Speer gold dot ammo

Date:November 16, 2010
Ammo does not feed well, hollow point is to big.
Not a good ammo for reliability when you need it in a automatic pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointing

Date:September 11, 2012
Previously, I had good results with Speer Gold Dot 9mm +P ammunition. I recently tested .380 Speer Gold Dot ammo in a Bersa Thunder pistol. Out of 17 Gold Dot rounds tested (using a seven round magazine and an eight round magazine, plus one round in the chamber with each magazine), one round jammed on chambering (rim was not caught by extractor). I experienced a similar failure of the extractor to catch the case rim when testing Cor Bon 90 GR JHPs. Another .380 Gold Dot round took four hammer strikes to fire. Nevertheless, the .380 Gold Dot ammo was accurate. By comparison, Hornady Critical Defense and Remington Ultimate Home Defense worked flawlessly in the same gun.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Phoenix AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

32ACP feeding problems in Tomcat

Date:June 22, 2011
Occasionally jams in my Beretta Tomcat. so I'll be
staying with 100% reliable (so far) and better value
PMC Bronze FMJs or Fiocchi HPs. I prefer big bore
revolvers, but the ultra reliable Tomcat (with the
right ammo) is my favorite pocket pistol (can shoot
eight rounds and be reloaded in three seconds)
and since the 32ACP is really too low in velocity
or energy for HPs to fully expand or FMJs to over-
penetrate, might as well have as much penetration
on the target as possible with the FMJs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One bad round

Date:February 28, 2011
the box of hollow points i received had one round that the casing was bent and unusable. I love and have always used speed gold dot hollow points, but this one bad round had me soured.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Queen Creek, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.40SW works great, .45ACP not so great!

Date:January 3, 2010
I tried these on a few guns and in 2 different calibers. The .40SW worked flawlessly through a Springfield XDM and a Sig P229R Elite. No FTF, no stovepipes, etc.
The .45ACP did not work well in my Springfield 1911A1 Trophy Match. These cartridges seem shorter than other .45ACP cartridges. I usually use Winchester Bonded Rangers and other brandes of JHP for CCW and NEVER had issues chambering rounds. The Speer Gold Dots jammed 4 times on the first clip and 3 times on the second clip. I then tried these on a Kimber Pro-Carry and had similar issues. Both of these 1911's are modern guns with chamfered chambers and smooth feed ramps. This type of failure is unacceptable in a CCW.
For the .40SW these work great and I have currently changed to these for CCW. Their accuracy is great and from what I see, their expansion is perfect. The .45ACP jams in both of my modern 1911's. The accuracy is great, but they need to re-engineer them. If a Trophy Match and a Pro-Carry can't load these, I'm not sure ANY GI or standard 1911 will. In .45ACP, these may only be appropriate for double-stacked 1911's, although I haven't tried them yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD PURCHASE

Date:February 26, 2013
GOOD BUY FOR THE MONEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gold Dot Pistol Ammo

Date:January 22, 2013
Tried it in my DB 380 and Glo0ck 9mm Mod. 26. 20 rounds each and did not have any feed issues. It also grouped well at 10 yards standing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Personal Protection Ammo

Date:June 5, 2012
No Jams, No Misfires . That's what I like.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9mm good performance

Date:March 11, 2012
Cycle fine thru Springfield XDM
Shot these into a 5 gallon bucket of water with good performance. Great expansion and core/jacket remained bonded. The bullet went completely thru the bucket.
The expanded bullet was not very sharp. I would rank the Winchester PDX a little better as the expanded bullet had sharp edges.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lander,Wy
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but expensive

Date:July 25, 2011
These bullets shoot well in my xd-40 sc. I havnt had a jam yet and fired 3 boxes. I'm pleased with these bullets but they are pricey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well in my Sig Sauer P232

Date:May 31, 2011
This is one of the few home defense options that will work in a Sig Sauer P232.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: dallas, tx
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition

Date:August 26, 2010
Great ammo for self defenese
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Port, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

home defense

Date:May 24, 2010
It's hard to give a review of a product you hope to NEVER have to use. This ammo is for personal and home defense. I shot a few of these rounds at the gun range and they fired fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fredericksburg, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Speer GD .38 Spl Short Barrel and .380 ACP

Date:May 17, 2010
I can speak only to the functioning of these rounds in my handguns, not to their terminal effects. The .38 Spl has noticeable, but manageable, recoil and excellent accuracy. The accuracy of the .380 ACP is also excellent and it functions without problem in my Ruger LCP--no failures to feed or eject. Our local LEOs use GD, so if it's good enough for them, it's good enough for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:May 10, 2010
Great ammo for a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Olympia, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plinking

Date:January 26, 2010
Shot very well. In the past my pistol would jam but while using this ammo I had no jamming problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Compton,Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Speer Gold Dot

Date:January 18, 2010
This ammo is great! Cycled great through my Ruger P89 with no FTF or jams.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullet, but not +P

Date:December 3, 2009
I use this in 147g 9mm for my subcompact. I wish Speer would offer a +P+ or even +p. The bullets expand, penetrate, and are as accurate as any standard velocity round ever made. The "Short Barrel" loads are specifically effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: philadelphia. pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent alternative

Date:September 2, 2009
Great alternative to federal hydrashok. Good expansion. Defintely wouldn't mind substituting for this brand great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Louisville, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Speer Gold Dot® Pistol Ammunition

Date:August 4, 2009
Good clean ammo. It was nice with the ammo shortage currently to find such good quality ammo still available in 45 ACP. Thanks Cabelas as always quality merchandise, prompt shipping, great overall service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 105