Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

WINCHESTER Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition

Supreme - Choose from either the 30gr. v-max or the 30gr. JHP bullet. Both provide a muzzle velocity of 2,250 fps that's perfect for small game and varmints. Flat shooting for long range performance. Per 50. Super-X - Choose from either the 40gr. JHP for small game and varmints or the 40gr. FMJ for practice. Both leave the muzzle at 1,910 fps. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.044 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 113 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
17
90 out of 113(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Review 1 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very accurate in my Savage 93 .22 mag

Date:April 12, 2014
I purchased the .22 WMR 40 grain hunting hollow point for my Savage 93 FV SR with 16.5" barrel. They shoot really great and consistent. I smoked a ground hog at 80 yards with instant death with a shoulder shot - no quivering or kicking - just dead. I compared with CCI Maxi-Mag and they are very very close at 100 yards with both producing 1" groups. I was glad to just be able to get some ammo, but to have it be good ammo is a real blessing. In my little sniper rig, they do just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the recoil sensitive

Date:April 11, 2014
We have people in our family who have arthritis and are unable to practice enough, even with .380s, to be proficient. As a result, I decided to try these 22 mag PDX1 rounds.
The ammo is advertised for short barrels and listed at 1295 fps. Well, I shot it through 3 different 1.8" to 2" barrel revolvers. The best average velocity was 1213 fps from a Taurus 941. The Ruger and S&W were both about 1200 fps. So, in essence, I was getting 22lr rifle ballistics from a snub nose revolver. I was pleased, since I personally believe a person can defend himself/herself with a 22lr rifle.
I did the whole 4 layers of denim and gel test and all bullets expanded nicely and traveled 12" to 13.5". I then added a cow shoulder blade to see what the results would be. Not bad. Expansion was not as pretty due to the dense bone, but they still expanded and penetrated 10" to 12.25".
In the end, even those family members with weaker grips were able to fire the weapons and consistently dump 6-8 rounds, in 4-7 seconds, into the center 4"-4.5" of 5.5" Shoot and See targets at 12 paces. Would a 9mm or larger be better for self defense? Probably. But I believe this ammo is as effective as a .380 and absolutely better than any .25acp or 32acp I've ever tried.
We fired 150 rounds total without any problems. The only reason I gave this 4 stars was that I couldn't get close to the 1295 fps advertised velocity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rounds

Date:April 10, 2014
These seem to be accurate and cycle great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:April 9, 2014
Shoots accurately from my rifle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bullets

Date:April 8, 2014
it was as stated 22 mag rimfire bullets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammo

Date:April 8, 2014
Fast & easy transaction as always with Cabela's. Been buying from them for quite a few years now. Always a pleasure. Just wish I could buy more then 1 box of ammo at a time. Other then that FANTASTIC !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice ammo

Date:April 8, 2014
I like to use this ammo when I run a cross snakes. This way I don't have to worry if I can hit it, I'm sure I can this way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Ammo

Date:April 8, 2014
Good, clean shooting ammo, no failure to feed or eject. I would recommend this ammo to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

order

Date:April 8, 2014
thay were easy to order, and just my size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:April 8, 2014
Accurate in my rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester 555, 333 22LR

Date:April 5, 2014
Obviously if you can get it you buy it in today's world. But this ammo has dropped in consistency compared to 5 years ago. Powder charges are not uniform and projectiles are so loose in case that they sometimes are very crooked and cause jams. Every 22 semi-auto is different as far as what works and what doesn't. But this ammo is so inconsistent that some lots work well and others are very bad for stovepipes and failure to feed. Plus the point of the projectile is very flat and sometimes catches even on a very clean feeding ramp (especially if the projectile is misaligned with the case)
Many thanks to Cabelas for not price gouging.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good .22 MAG ammo!

Date:March 14, 2014
I am reading a lot of the reviews, and people are saying how bad it is. But what they don't understand is this is .22 MAGNUM ammo! I use this for my kel tec PMR-30 30 rd pistol. This ammo is very good quality! No mis-fires, no jamming, it just works! and yes it is very hard to get .22 WMR ammo so I have to use my ammo sparingly. It is easier to get .22 lr.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor ammo

Date:March 2, 2014
this ammo is not verry good. it will not feed verry good. some might like it do not.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Terrible 22LR

Date:November 27, 2013
I bought 100 rounds from Cabelas and two boxes of 555 from a different vendor. Worst mistake ever. This ammo does not work well with S&W M&P 22. Tons of FTEs (stove pipes and all that fun stuff). I try shooting 50 rounds or so every time I go to the range just to get rid of the stock I have, it is very frustrating ammo and would not buy it again event at low cost. I can't vouch for accuracy as I am busy cleaning FTEs to really notice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester 22 lr

Date:October 29, 2013
Works fine and no miss fires.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22 LR

Date:October 29, 2013
Good target ammo at a reasonable price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

beware

Date:October 29, 2013
description of the item is not very clear as far as what you're ordering here. This is 50 ROUND CASE OF RATSHOT. Another reviewer on here wrote that it's 500, that's FALSE. That being said, the ratshots are good quality bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo at good price - IF you can find it

Date:October 22, 2013
Shot this out of both a Buckmark Camper .22 and a S&W M&P 15-22.
No failures of any type. as accurate as I needed for my training purposes. (I wasn't shooting for bulls-eye type practice).
If you can find it I say go for it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:October 22, 2013
Works well and goes Bang!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® .22 Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Expect what you pay for

Date:October 22, 2013
In ammunition as in nearly everything you get what you pay for. These are an inexpensive round and it shows. I have experienced four failure to feed issues from the roughly 100 rounds I have used to date. These are fine for plinking but I would not want to rely on them in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 113