Customer Reviews for AGUILA Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

AGUILA Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri

The Super Colibri fires without a powder charge. It pushes a light 20-grain bullet at 500 fps with little noise. Will not cycle in most semi-automatic firearms. Great for young shooters and for use in revolvers. For use with handguns only. Per 500 rounds. Available: .22 Super Colibri.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 117 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
110 out of 117(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Review 1 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for plinking

Date:March 12, 2013
With muzzle velocity about that of a good air-rifle, you might think this isn't very accurate ammo. But for short distances, about 50 feet or so, I fired as accurately with this in my H&R revolver as I can with mini-mags in my P22.
It is amazingly quiet - you almost don't even need ear protection (but wear it anyway).
It could be a good ammo to use for tactical training with revolvers, but due to its low power there's no way I'd try it in a semi-auto.
The downside is that right now it cost me more than regular ammo - if you could find it - but I was anxious to do some plinking and for a while there was nothing to be found locally. When things return to normal, probably the only reason I'd buy this again if it were on sale, less than standard rimfire ammo, or if I had an indoor shooting range at home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for close range pistol target or plinking

Date:February 12, 2013
Finding standard .22LR ammo in short supply for my 2 to 4 times a week shooting at my local indoor range with friends, running into a couple of bricks of the Aguila .22LR Super Colibri at Cabela's was basically a good find.
Since it does not have any powder in it, there isn't enough power to cycle the bolt on my Ruger Mark III pistol. And, the short pellet-like bullet will not feed from the magazine. So, I shoot my pistol as a single shot, which does two things: 1) slows me down; 2) waste less ammo. I tried shooting it in my old Stevens 84C bolt action rifle, and while it functioned, at 75 feet there was a 6 inch drop and was all over the place for a gun that normally would shoot 1/4" groups at that distance.
My buddies tell me that the stuff wouldn't normally need hearing protection, and that I should shout "BANG" each time. It sounds like a pellet gun when fired.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

back yard ammo

Date:December 11, 2012
works good with little noise. shoot out of a longer barrel (21in) or very inaccurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great on the trap line

Date:October 28, 2012
These bullets are perfect for shooting raccoons and beaver on my trap line. Plenty of punch. No report. Always have one shot kills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quiet

Date:October 2, 2012
nice and quite ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A little quieter bullet

Date:September 27, 2012
This is not as quiet as I had thought, it's not much quieter than .22 CB caps. These would be okay for shooting in a garage or basement but would attract attention outdoors. No need to get arrested this week. Keep them indoors and you'll probably be okay and use a good backstop for your target, they do have a small punch. I wanted them for the low sound quality, otherwise they are fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

these are NOT 22LR

Date:September 12, 2012
these are 1/8 inch short of 22lr specs. they spray lead from 22lr pistols out of the chamber and do not load from a 22lr clip foul out the chamber of a 22lr rifle with lead build up where the void is because of being 1/8 in. short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The quietest .22 LR ammo you can buy

Date:September 4, 2012
All the reviews I read about this product were true. It is the quietest .22 long rifle ammo, period. The perfect cartridge for backyard safaris.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good value

Date:August 6, 2012
These are the quietest ammo around. The action of the riffle is louder than the report.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Quiet

Date:August 6, 2012
I use these almost exclusively for short range 22 shooting. I live on the outside edge of a small town and have various pest invaders from the outlying farm land. I shoot judiciously and discreetly and have never had a neighbor even suspect that I've fired a gun in town. I do shoot them in a rifle and have never had one stick in the barrel. I DO check my barrel after each shot if I happen to miss my intended target. I have occasional rounds that do not fire as the priming compound does not ignite. I like these rounds so much that a misfire once in a while doesn't bother me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Accurate

Date:July 24, 2012
Not accurate past 10 yards, bought these hoping to replace pellet gun for starlings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than BBs

Date:July 2, 2012
Very quite and great for chip monks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for backyard!

Date:May 31, 2012
This ammo is super accurate and quiet, so you can target shoot in your backyard! Excellent for revolvers but will not cycle auto actions. Haven't tried it in my rifle. Recommended for handguns only, but others have said they use it in a rifle, so I will try that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good quiet ammo

Date:May 30, 2012
.Very good ammo at a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri

Date:May 30, 2012
The Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri Shoot very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ammo for the backyard

Date:May 17, 2012
We had some friends over who had never fired a pistol. We loaded our heritage revolver up and let them try their luck shooting a handgun for the first time. Were they excited. Their was no recoil or lound noise to turn off a novice and they loved it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not what expected

Date:May 16, 2012
With nothing on the box in English telling of the lack of being able to shoot out of a rifle. I was discouraged when I got home from the store and read this on the internet. They should have something telling the customers this at the Stores. They work great out of my friends pistol, but I purchased for my Savage Semi- Auto Rifle.
I will recommend this item for those looking for pistol rounds, but not for rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Talk about subsonic!

Date:May 1, 2012
Perfect ammo for the GSG 1911 ad ops with fake suppressor. Sounds like a cap gun! Won't cycle an automatic of course. Only cooler gun would be a revolver with fake suppressor to cycle the action. Super Colibri at 500 fps, will show tears in a phone book up to about 800 pages. Colibri at 375 fps, will show tears up to about 500 pages.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome purchase!

Date:April 2, 2012
Great product. Works well for small pest in areas where you wouldn't want to use long rifle ammo. Very low noise. Almost like shooting a pellet gun. I highly reccomend. As always reliable and speedy service from cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aguila .22 LR Super Colibri
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome

Date:March 30, 2012
I love these I can take my boys plinking and not bother the neighbors in the city. alot quieter than their .177 air rifles. Alot quieter!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 117