Customer Reviews for FEDERAL American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition

American Eagle® Tactical® Ammunition is loaded to military specifications for reliable functioning and consistent accuracy. You’ll find this ammunition is very suitable for precision practice and an affordable option for the target board. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(228 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 228 reviews
5 Stars
157
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
205 out of 228(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer Reviews for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo, but have a good backstop

Date:April 19, 2014
Using a Savage Bolt action rifle, I was sighting this round in at 350 yards and did not realize the actual performance of this round. I have a metal target that is 3/8 inch thick and these just punch holes through the spinning target. Never thought that they would do that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ammo

Date:April 9, 2014
hard two get on the paper when you are shooting moore thain 150 yards with this ammo. at least i have trouble doing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo!

Date:April 1, 2014
Very impressed with the ammunition.
No problems with any of the rounds.
All fired well. Will be purchasing more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable Ammunition

Date:March 31, 2014
I have never had any problems with this ammunition in my Stag-15. Shoots to Mil-Spec standards with iron sights, and I am sure it would be better with a scope! I shot a nutria from about 10 yards, and completely wrecked it! Good ammo, especially when on sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal out performs others

Date:March 25, 2014
Recently purchased the Federal 5.56 ammo and put it up against some other brands I felt the Federal out performed them out of my AR. Keep them coming.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American eagle 223

Date:March 18, 2014
Good quality ammo. Good price and fairly fast shipping. Would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great quality

Date:March 18, 2014
Feeds and fires perfectly, accuracy is great!
I get several reloads out of these as well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:March 12, 2014
This ammo was cheap in price but super duper to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Eagle Rifle Ammunition

Date:March 12, 2014
GOOD PRODUCT AND PRICING NEED GOOD AMMO TO MAINTAIN YOUR MARKSMANSHIP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good ammo

Date:March 12, 2014
This is very good, quality ammunition, at a very reasonable price. I will purchase this every time I find it in stock. I prefer this over PMC for range time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

62 Grain BT Steel penetrator green tip

Date:March 6, 2014
OK Let's get some things straight. The discoloration on the outside of this ammo is NOT corrosion. It is where the cases have been annealed and then not polished. ALL ammo has had this done to it. EVERY ROUND OF AMMO! the only difference between this ammo and the stuff in commercial boxes is that the other stuff is that the rest of the ammo has been polished after it has been annealed. The military REQUIRES that the annealing marks be left on there so they can tell that that step has been DONE.
Federal manufactures MILLIONS of rounds of LAKE CITY ammo in 5.56 for the US Government and this stuff is contract overrun. Same stuff that the military uses.
The dings ,dents and scratches? NO BIG DEAL! The scratches will polish out and the dents will be gone after the first time you fire it .
Anything marked 5.56 should NOT be fired in a gun chambered .223 though. The chambers are NOT THE SAME!! You can fire .223 ammo in a 5.56 chamber but not the other way around. 5.56 ammo is loaded to higher pressures and the throat on a 5.56 chamber is longer than the chamber on a .223 so if you fire a 5.56 round in a .223 chamber you could potentially create a dangerous high pressure situation and blow up your gun. DON"T DO IT!!
All this having been said. I have shot several thousand rounds of this ammo thru my custom AR with a 1 in 8 polygonal twist barrel and this ammo will shoot sub MOA groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:February 4, 2014
I purchased the 55gr American Eagle ammo for use in my AR15 and it did not disappoint. My range was limited to 100 yards but it was very accurate, cycled well, and didn't leave my rifle any dirtier than any other ammo. I have since been purchasing the XM193 rounds that have been on sale at my local Cabela's and that has performed excellently also. Ammo shoots true and I hit what I was trying to hit! No complaints!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good decision

Date:January 14, 2014
After looking at many AR 15 I choose the Windham to be best quality for the price point. Have shot 200 rounds no problems. Easy to break down and clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Price/ Reliable Ammo

Date:January 7, 2014
American Eagle 5.56 ammo is great range fodder for sighting and practice. Price is good and better on sale. Cycles well in my weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy

Date:January 7, 2014
Good ammo at a good price could not pass it up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:January 7, 2014
This is good range ammo but one could use it for hunting also !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:January 7, 2014
Was a little skepticle of this ammo at first but my buddy convinced me to try it. I couldn't be happier with this ammo. It's accurate and relatively clean, compared to other ammo in this price range anyway. The brass is reloadable as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Egle Rifle Ammo

Date:January 7, 2014
I buy the M1 American Eagle ammo for my M1 Garand and the Springfield 30-06 American Eagle ammo for my 1903A3 Springfield. I shoot a lot at the range with this ammo and have NEVER had a problem. Good ammo but a little pricy unless you watch the sales or Cabela's coupon offers. Lesson #1; - When you have prized rifles you don't shoot junk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Eagle .5.56

Date:December 31, 2013
I have been using this ammo for many years. It works well in my Ruger Ranch rifle .223 cal. I have never had a misfire or a jam using it. Accuracy is good enough for the Ruger out to 300 yds. I haven't shot past that distance with it due to our range limitations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for American Eagle® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

can't go wrong with American Eagle

Date:December 31, 2013
It is hard to beat this ammo whether you use it for hunting or target practice. Go get some!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 228