Customer Reviews for Tubb's Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Tubb's Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System

From David Tubb, one of the most renowned rifle shooters in history, comes the Final Finish bore polishing system. By firing abrasive-coated bullets that you reload yourself through your firearm, you smooth and polish the throat and bore. This removes the rough spots and imperfections found in all firearms to greater increase accuracy and velocity and reduce fouling. The kit includes bullets coated in five different abrasive compounds and instructions. Please be aware that you must handload these bullets yourself to use this system.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
38 out of 40(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Review 21 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

from 4 to 2 inch groups

Date:September 11, 2008
I used this system on my new Ruger M77 Hawkeye in .308 cal. I had only shot 20 rounds through the rifle before using the Tubbs rounds and the best group I could get at 100 yards was about 4 inch spread. I was not very happy with that. After running all 50 Tubbs rounds through, besides my shoulder being blissfully sore, I was able to get my 3-shoot groups into a 2 inch spread. I’ll take that and consider the Tubbs system a success. Be prepared to spend several hours at the range to allow cooling and cleaning between the Tubbs grits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really Works

Date:August 25, 2008
Shrunk my .300wsm groups to under 1" at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

David Tubb's Final Finish System

Date:August 11, 2008
I have shot a Glock 19 for over 12 years and have had reasonable accuracy. After bore lapping my Glock with Tubb's final finish I had a tighter grouping and the barrell was polished to a mirror finish. I had cleaned my barrel of course prior to starting but the difference was dramatic. The lands and grooves were clean and mirrored but the result of my tighter grouping was what I was looking for and I am very pleased. Since bore lapping my Glock I have told numerous others about this product and they are eager to try it themselves. I would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Birmingham, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Product!

Date:July 3, 2008
I used this product recently on my Winchester Model 70 Featherweight 30-06 and it really did a great job on my gun. I choose the bullets only option as I handload my ammunition.
Before the Final Finish bullets were used I was having a lot of trouble with copper fouling. I used Sweets 7.62, Butch's Bore Shine, and Montana Exteme to clean the barrel. After following the steps as instructed with the kit, my rifle now has minimal copper fouling and the cleaning is 10 times easier as well. The rifling really shines and the barrel just looks better overall.
I would highly recommend this product!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: York, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Final Finish

Date:April 29, 2008
I feel this is a must try for any one who enjoys shooting. At first I was a little nervous about useing it. But I am glad I did. My 5 shot groups shrunk about 1/2 of what they were. I shot my first perfect group today, all five shots through the same hole. Give it a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bore polishing

Date:March 8, 2008
great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tubbs bullets

Date:February 12, 2008
I just bought a new Savage 7MM-08 and desided to try the Tubbs system for lapping the barrel. Wow! I shot my first group of ten rounds and it was about 1.5 inches, by the last group of ten rounds I was shooting less than .75 inch group. I cover the holes with a dime and none of it showed. I will be using the Tubbs bullets on every gun I buy from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jaffrey, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wasnt sure at first..

Date:January 27, 2008
I have a .308 win. savage model 10FP, that had a terrible copper fouling problem, But shot well (less than 1 MOA), but to clean it properly took over 3 days of scrubbing, saturating, and sitting, even with the most vicious copper solvents (hoppes benchrest, Butch's bore shine, tetra copper solvent...), and i even tryed some of those slightly abrasive bore compounds (JB), and didnt have any luck solving my problem. Even with a load half-way between min and max loads, I would have cratered primers. I was starting to hate shooting my favorite gun. After I got the Tubb kit, i fired 10 rounds the first night, then let the cleaning solvets sit overnight, then the next Morning i scrubbed for a while, and noticed the fouling was easier to remove, but didnt notice the bore looking any different. So i shot the next 10. Same thing, easier to clean, bore looked the same. let sit another night. After the 3rd string i thought the barrel was starting to show less factory machine marks, and was definately getting easier to clean. after the 5th set all i had to do was let the copper solvent sit for 30 mins, and no Brushing was needed. Im still working up new loads (more powder, less pressure) but accuracy seems to be better already. Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tubbs Final Finish

Date:December 3, 2007
I shoot high-power competition. Noticed a dramatic improvement in grouping. Now shooting dime-size groups at 100 yds sitting/prone with iron sights on AR-15. I followed instructions explicitly, beginning with aggressive cleaning before, during and after. I have just finished running the Final Finish rounds through my M1A and am interested in seeing the results at 600 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product, bought one for all my rifles

Date:October 23, 2007
Excellent product! They made a good shooting 270 shoot great. My first three shots in succession after completing the process cut the same hole. I bought a package for each of my rifles. The barrel was not as dirty and the patches moved through the barrel with ease. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Templeton, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tubbs Final Finish

Date:October 16, 2007
Instead of Final Finish it should be called Fast Forward.
You don't have to use the first 50 rounds you shoot through a new barrel to break it in, just use numbers 3 & 4 of the bullets supplied by Tubbs.
Have done this with two .223s, one .243, two .308s, one 30-06, one .300Weatherby and one .375H&H. The barrels clean easier & you have to clean less often since there is less copper fouling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:July 31, 2007
I used the Tubb final finish bore polishing system on an Interarms mark X in 7mm. Rem. mag. The rifle always had a fouling problem, and would show signs of excessive pressure with handloads that were only half way between min. and max.
After using the system I noticed a smoother bore when cleaning. also the bore would clean very quickly. On top of all that the rounds no longer showed high pressure signs. I was able to (CAREFULLY) work up to full max loads and now get 5 shot groups that run right at an inch (1-7/8" before) For sure a better barrel in a box!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22-250

Date:July 9, 2007
I own a 22-250 that would not shoot a consistent group of 1/2 inch at a hundred yards, which is not a lot to ask of a rifle that supposedly is good out to three hundred yards. I tried everything with the rifle, including bedding the stock, changing reload components, and had just about given up when I tried the Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System. It works. The rifle settled down and will consistently group at half inch and I can now use different loads and still get a good group. Prior to using this product, I was ready to trade the rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tubbs 22 cal bore finish system

Date:May 7, 2007
I have used Tubbs Final Finish Bore Polishing System on 4 rifles now, each one with excellent results! Recommend if you don't have Match grade dies that you turn the case half way thru the bullet seating process to insure the bullet is aligned straight to the case. Follow the directions to the letter, and see how easily the bore cleans and how well it will group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eielson AFB Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System

Date:November 30, 2006
Love it. Smothed out the bore and improved accuracy by .60 @ 100 yds. Weakness, was the packing for each bullet. The bullets were shipped, so a lot of the finish came off in the mail due to the bullets rubbing together. But other than that I love it. In the process of ordering more for all of my other rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sterling, Ak
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smaller groups Thank's to Tubb's final finish!

Date:November 29, 2006
I had been having a difficult time getting my son's Ruger .338 Win Magnum to group under 3.5 to 4.0 inches at 100 yds . After quite a bit of research on the internet I decided fire lapping the barrel might help. Tubb's final finish came up several times at different web sites, so I searched the net to see who carried this product. When Cabelas came I was very pleased as I already had several Items I needed to order from them. The directions were easy to understand and were followed to a " T ". After I finished shooting all the abrasive bullets and cleaning the rifles as prescribed in the instructions I was very pleased with results. The barrel was very smooth, with little resistance running a patch through it. I was even more pleased with 1.25 groups it now shot at 100 yds . Cleaning was also much easier. I plan on using Tubb's final finish on two other firearms I own to improve their accuracy groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tigard, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tubb Final Finish

Date:November 21, 2006
I have use used this system on 2 of my bolt action rifles - a .308 Win and a 30-06. Both rifles are factory off-the-rack with stainless barrels. I used the Tubb system as per the supplied reloading instructions for each gun. The results were the same for both. Group sizes were reduced an average of about 25-35%. Loads that were very inaccurate before seemed to improve the most (some by 50%). Loads that were the most accurate before had less dramatic improvement (10-20%). Both guns are much easier to clean. Patches glide through and copper fouling is very minimal. Now I don't have to brush at all. To clean I just run some solvent through to get most of the powder fouling out - dry patch - then hit it with a good copper solvent - let it sit for the "recommended time" and dry patch it out. I've tested (several times) by running the copper solvent through a second time and it showed no trace of copper left from the first cleaning. I plan on using the Tubb system on all of my off-the-rack guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Floyd, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bore polishing

Date:November 21, 2006
Bullets came with easy instructions to follow and bore looked very good after process. Fired through new gun, so really don't know about before accuracy, but gun was very accurate after process. Do note that there is a lot of cleaning involved with this process, after every 5 shots you have to clean your rifle before shooting 5 more time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Final Finish

Date:November 20, 2006
I have used this product on three different rifles, A 223 a 243 and
a 7mm STW.In all three cases , accuracy was improved, and , more importantly, it became much easier to remove the fouling.I could actually feel the difference just pushing the rod through the bore.Cleaning takes about half the time and effort. That alone is worth the cost of admission, if you detest that task as much as I do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Tubb Final Finish Bore Polishing System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Asheboro, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tubb rocks!

Date:November 2, 2006
I've now used this system on 2 guns that I was ready to sell or turn into tomato stakes. The first was a Rem 700 in 280, which now shoots Swift Scirrocos into 10 shot 0.5" groups at 100 yrds. The other gun was a T/C Encore Pro-hunter with a 270 barrel that shot 3-4" groups before the Tubbs product. Now shoots 0.3" groups with Sierra 130gr Gamekings. Give this product a try! Yeah, it does elongate the throat, but the next option is replacing the barrel on a poor shooting rifle, or selling it. You'll be pleased!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 40