Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition

FEDERAL Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition

Consistent performance at hunter-friendly prices. Power-Shok bullets deliver the penetration, expansion and weight retention needed for deadly results on deer-sized game. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.603 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(199 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 199 reviews
5 Stars
140
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
193 out of 199(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Review 21 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lake Havasu City, Az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ammo

Date:February 12, 2009
This is some good ammo at a cheap price. No need to buy ammo with designer bullets and take a hit in the wallet. My Weatherby 7MM Mag shoots groups less than .750".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PANAMA CITY, FLORIDA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

POWER- SHOK REVIEW

Date:February 14, 2009
I HAVE BEEN FIRING FEDERAL 150 GRAIN SPRN IN .270 FOR 2 YEARS NOW IN MY SAVAGE MODEL 116. I HAVE CONSISTANTLY SHOT 1 - 1 1/2 INCH GROUPS AT 100 YARDS. ON JANUARY 16TH 2009, I HARVESTED A 296 LB RAZOR BACK BOAR AT 87 YARDS WITH ONE SHOT BEHIND THE LEFT EAR. INSTANT, CLEAN KILL . I HAVE JUST FINISHED SIGHTING IN MY RUGER MODEL 77 WITH FEDERAL 180 GRAIN POWER SHOK WITH THE SAME IMPRESSIVE BALISTICS. I KNOW THERE IS MORE EXPENSIVE AMMUNITION OUT THERE, BUT UNTIL PROVEN OTHERWISE, FEDERAL POWER SHOK WILL ALWAYS BE THE CHOICE FOR ME!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Power-Shok™ 30-06 Ammunition

Date:February 16, 2009
I ordered enough to last several years. The one shot kill power will bringing home venison for years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Performance

Date:March 2, 2009
Federal 308 powershok 150 gr performed great on my OSW 11" FAL. Very accurate at sub 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:May 25, 2009
i shoot this out of a .300 winchester magnum remington model 700 sps buckmasters edition...great killing powerr and great groups at 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: SumWhere DownIn, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do not use in a Remington R25

Date:July 6, 2009
I purchased these bullets thinking Federal is a reliable brand of ammunition (Cabelas was out of Remington bullets) but I was very disapointed. I used the 80 gr. 243 win in my R25 and the primer on every came out and caused the bolt to get stuck. I have tried many brands of bullets in my 243 and have come to realize the gun is very picky. Remington and Hornady have worked best for me so far. Since I got 5 boxes of the Federal ammunition I guess I will give them to my girlfriend to shoot in her gun. My guess is they will work well in a bolt action rifle, but keep them away from AR style guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:July 14, 2009
Love this ammo for my 270. Accurate and light recoil, the only ammo ill shoot is Federal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prescott, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Long Distance Shots

Date:August 7, 2009
I recently switched over to this ammo because last hunting season I had a Winchester misfire on me while taking a shot at a bull in Colorado. I have been taking 400 to 500 yard shots and right now I am hitting 10 out of 10 on a 6 inch plate. Love this stuff and would recommend it for anyone shooting a 300 Winchester mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Al
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding

Date:August 10, 2009
Great reliable, dependable Ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lafayete,LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stocking up

Date:August 10, 2009
Haven't even fired it yet. Just stocking up before the government bands the sale or taxes us to death on ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo, great price.

Date:August 18, 2009
I buy these because they are the cheapest American made ammo you can buy. However, their performance is as good or better than the more expensive stuff.
I use them in .308, 30-06, and 30-30. I wish Federal would make these in 7mm-08.
I recently tried some of these 150gr in my Winchester 94 30-30 trapper. I reload for my rifles, but usually get the best acuracy from my slightly reduced loads. However, with the 16" barreled trapper, the velocity is already mediocre so I decided I would use it with full power loads to get the most out of it. I had a box or ten of these in the basement and headed to the range. The recoil was a bit stiffer than I expected, but not too bad. They shot very well at 50yds and shot just over 1 1/2" at 100 yds. The accuracy was probably limited by me, not the ammo. 1 1/2" at 100yds is phenominal accuracy for my 40 year old eyes and a 16" barreled rifle with open sights. When I hunt with the trapper this will be my load. At the price, I need not bother trying to develop handloads to match these. Not sure if I even could to be honest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redmond, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

270

Date:September 30, 2009
I use this in my Remington 270 semi. I've been through a bit over 100 rounds of the 130 and 150 gr ammo. Never had an issue with it firing. The accuracy is good enough too. I've used it for target shooting between 100-500 yards and it's fairly consistent. It also works just fine on coyote, hog and bear. This is the only manufacturer loaded ammo I buy for my 270 due to price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Power-Shok

Date:October 6, 2009
Excellent Ammunition. Federal has done a superb job. This ammunition was very consistent. I will defiantly purchase this brand again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saginaw, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo for the money

Date:October 7, 2009
I have used the Federal 270 Ammo for many years. I have taken large bucks and doe at distances from 100 yards to 200 yards with one shot accuracy. I'm sure there are those of you that spend a lot more money for your ammo, but I can't understand why...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phila, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Ammo at Cabelas

Date:October 9, 2009
I own rifles from Remington, Ruger and Savage. Federal ammo always worked best in all of them. Better yet, with today's ammo prices, Cabelas sells the Federal Power Shok ammo at a very reasonable price. For this Cabelas customer- a Win Win situation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fantastic factory "shooting" loads

Date:October 12, 2009
Federal's Classic/Power-Shok loads have been the most consistent "non-premium" loads I have shot over the last 15 years. I have found no other standard box ammunition that can touch them on paper. This holds true for all my rifles. I did have a core completely separate from the jacket on an entry-only mid air shot on a deer at 5 yards with a Power-Shok .30-.30 170g, but have have experienced consistently lethal results on both deer and elk with that same load (Classic/Hi-Shok) over the years. I use Federal's Premium loads in my faster calibers for hunting, but still practice with the Hi-Shoks and they often out perform the hi-dollar stuff at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

airbum

Date:October 13, 2009
I have found that using Federal Power-Shok™ Ammunition my accuracy is consistant for distance shooting. The projectile drop ratio is minimal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Power-Shok 270 caliber

Date:October 13, 2009
I have purchased about 6 boxes of this ammo in 270 caliber. I gave it 5 stars for its performance compared to its price. I can keep 15 shots in a 3 inch circle at 100 meters and most of that movement is probably caused by me not the bullet.
I will keep buying this product as long as they make it. I cant justify spending 2-4 times as much on a round that does the exact same thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rifle ammo

Date:October 19, 2009
good stuff,very consistent,keep them in a dime at 100yds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal® Power-Shok™ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great price.

Date:October 26, 2009
I got a couple of boxes of the 180 grain .30-06 loads. The shoot really accurate out of a bolt action Mossberg. I haven't gotten to shoot any game with them yet. The price was lower than anything else I could find and these loads are a great source of brass to handload.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 199