Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit

PIETTA Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit

The Replacement Pistol Parts Kit contains color case-hardened hammer and trigger, main spring, hand with hand spring, cylinder stop and trigger/bolt stop spring. Kit fits the 1851, 1860 and 1861 Colt (1/2 frame) pattern pistols in .36 or .44 caliber. Will not fit Walker model pistols.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.423 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
49 out of 52(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Review 1 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington new Army black powder pistol

Date:March 10, 2009
My gunsmith has advised me that the parts are well made but won't work in my pistol. I have a Euroarms of America Remington New Model Army that has a strong spring which makes it very hard to pull the hammer to half cock and full cock, also it has a hair trigger.
I ordered the parts from Cabelas in hope they would enable me to improve my Euroarms pistol. The Cabelas parts were made by F.LLI PIETTA and are not interchangeable with my Euroarms of America pistol. My review therefore cannot recommend the parts for use in Euroarms pistols. I suspect they would work just fine in a gun manufactured by F.LLI PIETTA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fairplay, Co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

user

Date:February 11, 2008
This was not worth the money. Not all the parts fit and when you used them the gun would not work. It was the worst item I have ordered from Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Returned

Date:February 5, 2013
Would have been nice, but package was opened and bent parts were marked with tape....obvious a returned item. If not good enough for the original purchaser, why would it be good enough for me? Item is being returned. Perhaps the next one will be better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Rocky Mtns
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 remington pistol parts

Date:October 13, 2009
Parts are of seemingly good quality,only the trigger spring fit my particular Italian made pistol, only use in the makers brand, no matter what others reviews claim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lapeer, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

nothing fit!

Date:March 3, 2009
The trigger and the hammer combination in the parts kit didnt work together, they cycled the barrel 1.5 chambers every time. It took 4 times of rebuilding with a combination of old and new parts to get it to work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Natchez, Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta pistol parts

Date:February 3, 2011
The parts I ordered were for an original 1860 Colt Army revolver. The pin holes were too small and had to be reamed out. And the cylinder stop had to be bent to engage sooner to get the proper timing. With a bit of modification you can make these parts work. After about two hours of filing and reaming and bending my old Colt is back in action.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice parts

Date:June 4, 2013
Nice parts, fit well with a little work. I'm impressed with Pietta quality!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good to have.

Date:May 31, 2012
I always try to have backup parts for my guns and this set makes it easy for my 1860 revolvers. The pieces I've used have needed some minor fitting but it's good to have them on hand. I'll definitely pick up another one sooner or later. I would give the set five stars if it came with a barrel wedge, the most commonly misplaced piece of all my stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta Replacement Parts Kits

Date:May 17, 2012
The hand with spring and the bolt might require some hand fitting to get the timing just right and its hard to find a gunsmith who works on black powder firearms so make any adjustments in small increments to avoid a re-order.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Newaygo, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good quality parts

Date:February 23, 2012
Bought these parts after i broke my 1851 navy from pietta. Had to do some filing and fitting but it worked out good and functions as smooth as ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wichita, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good - Requires some fitting...

Date:September 29, 2009
As others have already stated, you may have to do some fitting on these parts. I really only needed the hammer, trigger, and hand/hand spring parts, the hand/hand spring had been rigged up by the former owner and was shoddy. The trigger pull was extremely light due to someone filing on the trigger and hammer. I changed out those parts plus the mainspring so it would be new. I would have changed the cylinder stop also, but it would have required a lot of filing/dremeling. I did have to dremel and file on the hand (cylinder advancement piece). I just matched it up with the old one and removed metal until it looked the same. It finally all worked out and the timing was perfect. Definitely a valuable product to restore/repair anyone's Pietta 1851 or 1858 revolver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 parts kit

Date:September 10, 2009
THe parts were OK They have to be hand fitted with a small file other than that OK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Replacement Parts

Date:March 12, 2009
Replacement Parts were a perfect match and work very good. They did what I wanted them to do for my gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what we needed!

Date:January 6, 2009
The parts kit was just what we needed and looks like they are quality parts! Thanks Again Cabela's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

might need some fitting

Date:August 11, 2008
I purchased the repair parts kit to replace parts on my repro colt that had either worn out or broken. when i first installed the parts, the gun would not lock up correctly or fire consistently. i removed the replacement parts and did some fine tuning with the help of a file, reinstalled the parts, and they worked fine. i would reccomend this kit for anyone who owns one of these pistols and shoots it often, and this is the only place that i could find which carried them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MO, and shooting black powder arms since 1985.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Replacement revolver parts kit.

Date:June 20, 2007
I have used these parts kits for both a couple of 1858 Remingtons, and a couple of 1851 Colts Navy reproductions. For the Colts, the parts I used pretty much dropped right in. The parts for one 1858 Remingtons did not all drop in. The main spring, trigger and stop spring, and trigger all dropped right in on it. The hammer, hand and cylinder stop all required fitting. To be fair though, this Remington, although Italian made, was not a Pietta for which the parts are made. For another Remington, a .36 caliber reproduction, the main spring had to be shortened.
The parts were well made and the finish was OK, although the spring on one of the hands came lose. One of the kits I bought at a local Cabelas Retail store, had some Remington parts in it, and it was marked for an 1851 Colt. At the time though, I needed some of those particular Remington parts, and actually chose that package. The one kit I mail ordered for a Remington, had the proper parts in it. In short, these kits are a great buy and very useful in repairing or upgrading worn black powder firearms.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

C&B Revolver parts kit

Date:November 22, 2006
This kit is an excellent buy for the money.
However, the part numbering system is confusing. Cabela's uses the same basic part number for both their "Army" and "Navy" model revolver kits. Catalog makes no mention of Remington or Colt, but shows photos of .44 Remington and Colt Army revolvers and likewise .36 cal. Remingtons and Colts.
But in the final ordering you are given a choice of either "Remington" or "Navy" (not Colt).
In the field, .44 cal. revolvers are referred to as "Army" calibers and .36 cal. referred to as "Navy" calibers.
I wanted a kit for the Remington .36 cal and checked off the "Navy" not realizing the Colt kits on the other page had the same part no. I received a Colt parts kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great parts at a super great price

Date:August 7, 2014
first off, check the packaging- i got a set that was slightly opened w/ some parts missing. Cabelas promptly reshipped them.
the parts are made to fit the newer Pietta revolvers w/ little or no modification, however, with alot of time and some elbow grease they can be hand fitted to work in other brands or original guns. (i fit a set to work in a real Remington 1858 frame f/ some light filing & dremeling)
these parts are a super value- some of the individual parts cost as much elsewhere as this whole set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent parts esp for the price

Date:March 21, 2014
these are drop in replacements for newer Pietta made guns.
HOWEVER, they WILL require alot of filing dremeling and fitting to fit older "Armi" repros, but for the price of these vs the limited availability of those, still well worth it.
when on sale, this whole kit sells for the price of a new hammer alone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Replacement Pistol Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pietta parts kit

Date:June 18, 2013
Big thumbs up. I have eight revolvers so I've used a couple of parts already and they need little or no fitting.
Great to have around.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 52