Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit

PIETTA Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit

The Replacement Revolver Parts Kit contains color case-hardened hammer and trigger, main spring, hand with hand spring, cylinder stop and trigger/bolt stop spring. Kits fit the 1851 Navy/1860 Army and 1858 Army black powder revolvers.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.411 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
53 out of 56(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Review 1 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2009

Remington new Army black powder pistol

By
Location: Northern California
My gunsmith has advised me that the parts are well made but won't work in my pistol. I have a Euroarms of America Remington New Model Army that has a strong spring which makes it very hard to pull the hammer to half cock and full cock, also it has a hair trigger.
I ordered the parts from Cabelas in hope they would enable me to improve my Euroarms pistol. The Cabelas parts were made by F.LLI PIETTA and are not interchangeable with my Euroarms of America pistol. My review therefore cannot recommend the parts for use in Euroarms pistols. I suspect they would work just fine in a gun manufactured by F.LLI PIETTA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2008

user

By
Location: Fairplay, Co
This was not worth the money. Not all the parts fit and when you used them the gun would not work. It was the worst item I have ordered from Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013

Returned

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would have been nice, but package was opened and bent parts were marked with tape....obvious a returned item. If not good enough for the original purchaser, why would it be good enough for me? Item is being returned. Perhaps the next one will be better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009

1858 remington pistol parts

By
Location: Rocky Mtns
Parts are of seemingly good quality,only the trigger spring fit my particular Italian made pistol, only use in the makers brand, no matter what others reviews claim
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2009

nothing fit!

By
Location: Lapeer, MI
The trigger and the hammer combination in the parts kit didnt work together, they cycled the barrel 1.5 chambers every time. It took 4 times of rebuilding with a combination of old and new parts to get it to work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015

A Lot of Work

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Had to do a lot of filing, stoning and polishing, as the parts came from Italy and the guns I was installing the parts in were made in the USA, in the end they worked just great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011

Pietta pistol parts

By
Location: Natchez, Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The parts I ordered were for an original 1860 Colt Army revolver. The pin holes were too small and had to be reamed out. And the cylinder stop had to be bent to engage sooner to get the proper timing. With a bit of modification you can make these parts work. After about two hours of filing and reaming and bending my old Colt is back in action.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2015

Worth the price

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
As some other reviewers said, I had to do some hand work on most of the parts to remove burrs to get the parts to fit and function properly. These were not an automatic "drop in and go shooting" kit for my Pietta 1858.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2013

Nice parts

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Nice parts, fit well with a little work. I'm impressed with Pietta quality!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012

Good to have.

By
I always try to have backup parts for my guns and this set makes it easy for my 1860 revolvers. The pieces I've used have needed some minor fitting but it's good to have them on hand. I'll definitely pick up another one sooner or later. I would give the set five stars if it came with a barrel wedge, the most commonly misplaced piece of all my stuff.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

Pietta Replacement Parts Kits

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The hand with spring and the bolt might require some hand fitting to get the timing just right and its hard to find a gunsmith who works on black powder firearms so make any adjustments in small increments to avoid a re-order.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2012

Good quality parts

By
Location: Newaygo, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Bought these parts after i broke my 1851 navy from pietta. Had to do some filing and fitting but it worked out good and functions as smooth as ever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2009

Good - Requires some fitting...

By
Location: Wichita, KS
As others have already stated, you may have to do some fitting on these parts. I really only needed the hammer, trigger, and hand/hand spring parts, the hand/hand spring had been rigged up by the former owner and was shoddy. The trigger pull was extremely light due to someone filing on the trigger and hammer. I changed out those parts plus the mainspring so it would be new. I would have changed the cylinder stop also, but it would have required a lot of filing/dremeling. I did have to dremel and file on the hand (cylinder advancement piece). I just matched it up with the old one and removed metal until it looked the same. It finally all worked out and the timing was perfect. Definitely a valuable product to restore/repair anyone's Pietta 1851 or 1858 revolver.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2009

1851 parts kit

By
Location: West virginia
THe parts were OK They have to be hand fitted with a small file other than that OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2009

Replacement Parts

By
Location: Oklahoma
Replacement Parts were a perfect match and work very good. They did what I wanted them to do for my gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2009

Just what we needed!

By
Location: Western NC
The parts kit was just what we needed and looks like they are quality parts! Thanks Again Cabela's!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2008

might need some fitting

By
Location: Mississippi
I purchased the repair parts kit to replace parts on my repro colt that had either worn out or broken. when i first installed the parts, the gun would not lock up correctly or fire consistently. i removed the replacement parts and did some fine tuning with the help of a file, reinstalled the parts, and they worked fine. i would reccomend this kit for anyone who owns one of these pistols and shoots it often, and this is the only place that i could find which carried them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2007

Replacement revolver parts kit.

By
Location: MO, and shooting black powder arms since 1985.
I have used these parts kits for both a couple of 1858 Remingtons, and a couple of 1851 Colts Navy reproductions. For the Colts, the parts I used pretty much dropped right in. The parts for one 1858 Remingtons did not all drop in. The main spring, trigger and stop spring, and trigger all dropped right in on it. The hammer, hand and cylinder stop all required fitting. To be fair though, this Remington, although Italian made, was not a Pietta for which the parts are made. For another Remington, a .36 caliber reproduction, the main spring had to be shortened.
The parts were well made and the finish was OK, although the spring on one of the hands came lose. One of the kits I bought at a local Cabelas Retail store, had some Remington parts in it, and it was marked for an 1851 Colt. At the time though, I needed some of those particular Remington parts, and actually chose that package. The one kit I mail ordered for a Remington, had the proper parts in it. In short, these kits are a great buy and very useful in repairing or upgrading worn black powder firearms.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2006

C&B Revolver parts kit

By
This kit is an excellent buy for the money.
However, the part numbering system is confusing. Cabela's uses the same basic part number for both their "Army" and "Navy" model revolver kits. Catalog makes no mention of Remington or Colt, but shows photos of .44 Remington and Colt Army revolvers and likewise .36 cal. Remingtons and Colts.
But in the final ordering you are given a choice of either "Remington" or "Navy" (not Colt).
In the field, .44 cal. revolvers are referred to as "Army" calibers and .36 cal. referred to as "Navy" calibers.
I wanted a kit for the Remington .36 cal and checked off the "Navy" not realizing the Colt kits on the other page had the same part no. I received a Colt parts kit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Replacement Black Powder Revolver Parts Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2015

great replacement part

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought Pietra black powder pistol, so bought replacement parts to repair when broken
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 56