Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper

CABELA'S Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper

This caliper uses a precise electronic digital readout to provide the exact measurements in inches or millimeters. Provides unerring accuracy for inside, outside and depth measurements. Measures to 6" or 150mm. Includes a protective storage case.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.719 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
22 out of 32(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Review 1 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2011

A Great measurer

By
Location: Mobile Al.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
If you need something to measure very fine or close tolerences,then this is the device for you. The small ruler on the oposite end of the caliper is especially handy in measureing depths in small screw holes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2016

Good Caliper

By
Country: United States
Worth the price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016

Great buy

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Gender: Male
Works great so far. Wish the battery cover was more secure, slides off easy during use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2016

Very good unless very cold

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I find this to be a great measuring device. I do my loading in an unheated garage and when the battery gets a little low it gets sluggish. It will warm up and work inside, but will need another battery to work again in the cold weather.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2016

Not usable

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought this caliper and discovered upon opening the package that the battery was dead. Later I found out that if you jiggle the package, and therefore the caliper, it will power on and drain the battery. Although the package includes an extra battery simply handling the caliper will cause it to power-up and shorten battery life. The bigger issue I have with this product is that it will constantly lose zero. If you're making multiple measurements you find the measurements way off and that forced me to constantly zero the instrument with every measurement. Also, measurements were not consistent. If I did a measurement repeatedly I was getting more variance than I found acceptable. Not reliable therefore not usable. I returned it for a refund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Great tool for reloading

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The original battery was dead but they do send a spare just in case! Using it for pistol rounds now and with the digital output it makes it easier and quick to determine where i am at!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2016

Do not Buy!!!!!!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this caliper from the Delaware Store. When I got home I put the battery in it(both ways to make sure it was not user error and it did not turn on. I went out to buy another battery and it still did not work. I will be returning this caliper and I already bought the similar hornady caliper which turned on. I am very disappointed and have a sour taste left in my mouth because I have to drive 40 mins to return it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2016

Flawed

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Works ok. Need to watch out for it adding .200 to zero and switching from metric to standard.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2015

Worked well ... for a while

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This machine worked great, until it didn't. After about a year the display acts like the battery is dying. After relplacing the battery, it works well for a few minutes then the display starts flashing as if the battery is dead again. It switches between millimeters and inches and loses zero.
Before these problems, it was a very reliable caliper. It is very useful in reloading since it can be "re-zeroed" for certain reloading operations (bullet seating).
I gave it two stars as others may not be having this problem and it may work well for them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2015

Good caliper for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Works well. Could be a little smoother to operate, but a good value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015

works great, very accurate

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
i have been using this caliper for abut a month and it has worked as advertised. I have checked it with my non-digital caliper and it is just as accurate. I recommend this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2015

afforgable

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
For the price, hard to beat the accuracy and convenience and repeatability. Nice to have switchable metric too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2014

A little frustrating

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
It works well. However, the location of the battery is a problem for me. And, the battery cover is difficult to secure. Each time I would open the caliper my thumb would release the battery cover, battery would fall out, I'd have to stop, reinsert the battery, etc. Over and over. Finally I wrapped it up as tight as possible with some duct tape and it's worked OK—but I still must be very careful about the whole process. Other than that, I like the LED readout, it's clear, and you have a choice of mm or inches. The storage case is nice too. If it weren't for the battery issue I'd recommend it. But if I were in the market for a new caliper, I would not buy another one of these.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Good item

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I was a bit skeptical of this but it's a qualify item and works well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2014

Reset to Zero

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The digital caliper that I received as a gift will not hold zero. It needs to be reset to zero nearly every measurement. Inconsistent thumb pressure on the adjusting wheel results in measurement differences of +/-.0015. This the second Cabela's branded item that I have found to be of poor quality. Strike 2! You know what happens with the next strike.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Top notch!

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This caliper is very high quality! I would be surprised if I ever need another, but if I do I won't hesitate to buy this one again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2011

Waste of Money

By
Location: Hortense, Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Will not hold ZERO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

Great Quality

By
Location: York, SC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is yet another great product by Cabelas, for a reasonable price. I have not had any calibration issues or loss of zero. Easy to use and very accurate with smooth operation. I have had much more expensive calipers in the past and these are as good if not better than them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2011

It's good for one thing - frustration.

By
Location: San Marcos CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Doesn't hold zero-
When measuring overall length while reloading the devise can very easily be thrown off calibration which is not only frustrating but could prove very dangerous when reloading. About every 3rd measurement comes up way off and when I close the calipers it shows that it is no longer zeroed. It's very obnoxious and I'm tempted not to buy a digital version in the future. I think I'll stick with the old fashioned dial version without all the glitches. For a time I thought it might be the battery but have since changed it on a number of occasions to fix the problem but no luck. It's junk.
I didn't bother buying the more expensive cabelas or RCBS version because they all look identical. It would seem that all the versions are made by the same company in china and just sold under different logos. They look way too much alike, even the buttons are the same color. I don't recommend this or the cabelas digital scale, it's all over the place too. I love cabelas to death but these two item don't live up to the name.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Electronic Digital Caliper
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010

Good but need improvement +

By
Location: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Cabalas caliper are good but not great. The RCBS calipers have much tighter feel in your hand. The Cabala’s caliper +- 0.002 difference in measurements to the RCBS caliper. I would bet the RCBS caliper is right. Spend the extra $10 bucks and get the RCBS caliper instead. I have both and I think the RCBS calipers are better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 32