Customer Reviews for PYRODEX Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box

PYRODEX Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box

Cap and Ball revolvers just entered the modern age. No flask or spout, no loose powder mess: loading has never been cleaner or easier. These 30 grain volume pellets are intended for use in 44 or 45 caliber cap and ball revolvers. Simply drop the pellets down the bore (ignition strip towards the bottom) seat the bullet and you're ready to shoot. 100 pellets per package. Available: 30-grain pellets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.378 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
31 out of 37(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Review 1 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Makes loading the revolver easy

Date:November 6, 2014
No measuring out grains, then pouring them in the cylinder, then not spilling any before adding the wadding and balls - just drop in the pellet, insert the wadding and ball, and tamp them down.
I just wish my local Cabela's carried them instore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No mess, loads quicker, hits hard!

Date:February 7, 2014
I have a Brass Frame Pietta 1858 that is about 3 years old now, with about 300 rounds down the tube. I've gone from mild loads of loose Pyrodex P to these pellets. I know it is not recommended to fire 30gr charges from a brass frame revolver, but since having worked with this gun extensively with loose powder charges up to 28gr and meticulously measuring cylinder gap after every session I decided to grab a canister of the pellets and try a few shots. I'm very impressed at the ease of loading and consistency I get from these and I have not experienced any frame stretching- my cylinder gap is just the same as it was when the gun was new. I don't shoot my 1858 a lot and when I do it's usually "slow fire" at the range. I'm using the pellet, a felt wad, .454 round ball and remington #10 caps. I do occaisionally get misfires, and the odd hang fire now and then... but that's normal when you're shooting black powder revolvers! Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good clean shooting:

Date:November 5, 2013
This is my first use of Pyrodex and I really like it. It left my 1860 Army much cleaner than black powder ever has. I'll continue shooting it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not worth the cost and to strong

Date:July 17, 2013
In the Pietta Pistols such as the 1858 New Army 30grains is a max load. Why add the stress to the gun I normally shoot 25grains and that is more than enough. In a brass frame gun I would not even try this. Besides the normal Pyrodex P 1 lbs container will give you about 233 shots at 30gr and cost less than the 100 shots you get with the pellets. Yes much easyier to load but just not worth it for me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast loading, reliable ignitions, fit pietta 1858

Date:May 1, 2013
seen a review about failure to fires.. I did also have one on the first time ever using them.. it was removed and noted the pellet had some moisture on it and just like every other power if wet won't work.. a little oil or cleaning solution must have been left in the nipple and i'll be its the reason the other reviewers didn't fire also.
they work just like they should, used in 2 different Remington 1858 replicas the pellet/lubed pad/round ball all fit with room for a grease wad if you still wanted..
if these don't work for you, you are doing something wrong.. its a simple product and design, if used properly just like powder it will work 100% like mine has for many range sessions now
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant choice

Date:January 3, 2013
Make using a black powder gun much easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product, but to high of grains for some items

Date:December 27, 2012
A good quick product but be careful that you are not overloading certain products. According to the "Cabela's Experts" this items is is 5 grains over the suggested max load for the Brass Frame Revolvers. Pietta 1851 Navy, 44 cal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Cap and Ball Performer

Date:December 11, 2012
This babies shoot nice in my Pietta Navy revolver. They make loading quicker and easier and even improve the accuracy a bit! I will definitely be buying more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent product

Date:September 26, 2012
I've been shooting black powder since 1970, using both factory made weapons and those I built from kits, so you might take that into consideration when evaluating my comments. Pyrodex pellets are one of the most reliable, consistant products on the market, in my opinion. While I too cannot find any ignition strip on them, and have therefore probably loaded many a round both ways, they seem to fire reliably and with consistant accuracy 99.9% of the time, which brings me to my point: you guys getting misfires and delayed ignition are probably just not cleaning your nipples like you should... I recommend you buy a packet of the thinnest size little between the teeth toothbrushes to ream the nipples after soaking them for a few minutes in a tin can filled with boiling water while you clean the barrel and action, then let them dry thoroughly. Use your nipple pick and/or the toothbrushes dry, when out on the range after every few shots, and you'll see a big improvement in performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good

Date:June 21, 2012
I have shot thease out of my Traditions 1858 Brass 44 cal. They make loading very convient. I wish they would make a 25 grain for the 1851 bras Pietta because it dosen't recomend shooting more than 28 grains.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

trouble at the range

Date:May 17, 2012
bought these to use in my 1858 Army revolver that I've had for thirty five years. Went to the range and tried to load a chamber. I put in a powder pellet, a lubricated felt pad and a round lead ball. When I went to seat the ball it wouldn't go flush with the cylinder. the pellet made the load too tall. I guess I'll have to use a powder pellet, ball and grease to get the clearance.
only rated a 2 because I haven't had a chance to fire the revolver with the pellets yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy n Fast Loading

Date:May 9, 2012
Remington 1858, Remington #10 caps, Hornady Swaged Balls
Was happy using Triple Se7en FFFG powder and then tried these. OMG plop plop fizz fizz oh what a relief it is. Easy loading, hot shots. I love these Pyrodex Pellets. :-)
Reading the other reviews about having problems igniting these pellets makes me wonder what they were doing wrong? The Pellets ignite better, faster, and kick harder than 30 grains of Triple Se7en FFFG. I still like Triple Se7en powder just as much as I ever did. The pellets are just a bit better and make loading faster and easier. No need to bother opening the powder, filling the powder flask, measuring. Just plop plop bang bang. The next best thing to metal cartridges.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vicksburg, MS
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Black Powder Pellets

Date:April 16, 2012
These black powder pellest produce consistant powder charges and as a relsult safer consistant loads. From now on after trying the pelleted charges. I got to experiance the safety of and cleanlest of the pelleted charged I will henceforward use pellet charges in pistol and rifle charges. The safety and consistancey of the pellet charges gives me greater security when my daughter and I just target practice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Folsom,CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work excellent!

Date:April 2, 2012
I had heard or lets say was warned not to use these pellet style powder due to misfires and slow reaction. I went ahead the next time I visited Cabelas and purchase a can anyway to try with my 44 caliber black powder pistol 6 shooters. Very easy to load a lot faster then measuring the powder. The pellets fire very fast and every single time without fail. I am very pleased with them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoot em up !

Date:March 28, 2012
Easy , convenient , and no mess . Want some for the 36 caliber too .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

about a 50% ftf rate

Date:January 26, 2012
I bought these to try in my 1858 remmie. I loaded all six and had three ftf. I re-capped and had two ftf and one hang fire. It took so long to fire in fact that I had moved the gun and it fired into the air.(in my opinion, worse than the ftf, who knows were it landed) I re-capped again and the last two fired. I'll stick to good ole goex fffg from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice but

Date:November 4, 2011
Used these pellets in my new 1858 new army. While loading was quick and easy, which is nice for someone who is new to cap and ball revolvers. They need to have more charge selections instead of just 30 grains. They fired every time, but the accurasy could have been better. Would be nice if they came in 20 and 25 grain charges so you could figure out which charge works best in your gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Phoenix
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for first time black powder shooters

Date:September 12, 2011
Well maybe not a Must Have, but very nice to have. Makes learning to load / shoot black power revolvers a piece of cake. They are more expensive per shot but hassle free and safer as its almost impossible to over/under charge a cylinder. Not really any dirtier than any other powders I've ever used. Work great in my Remington 1858 New Army. 4 out of 5 because of the $$ cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

consistant

Date:June 13, 2011
Takes the guess work out of it, cleans easy ..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Under performing convenience

Date:April 18, 2011
I recently purchased a new 1858 New Army from Cabela's. The sales staff was great. I also purchased CCI #10 caps, .454 balls, Wonder Wads, and a canister of these pellets. It sounded too good to be true, drop a pellet, wad, ball, cap, shoot!
I do not believe I will get through this cannister of pellets as I have experienced nearly a 10% failure to fire of the pellets. Everything else works. The FTF isn't tied to a certain chamber. Changed caps and saw no improvement. The pellets just seem to be inconsistent performers. Other folks may find these things great, but after having to pull over half a dozen balls over loaded chambers, I am not one of them.
The "click to bang" time was long. It was actually "click-fffffttt-boom". It was nearly as long as a flintlock ingniting the frizzen. Then when the first chamber FTF'ed I just stood there, waiting. You have to wait. Recap, retry, recap, retry, pull the ball. Sound like fun?
The clean up isn't bad at all, but 8.4% failure rate is too high in my book. The closest Cabela's is nearly 2 hours away and shipping powder is expensive. So to get some Triple Se7en means "ROAD TRIP"!
I'm not upset about the pellets really, it is just a learning experience. If something sounds too good to be true, it usually is. It may work for others, but I wouldn't recommend these pellets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 37