Customer Reviews for PYRODEX Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box

PYRODEX Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box

Cap and Ball revolvers just entered the modern age. No flask or spout, no loose powder mess: loading has never been cleaner or easier. These 30 grain volume pellets are intended for use in 44 or 45 caliber cap and ball revolvers. Simply drop the pellets down the bore (ignition strip towards the bottom) seat the bullet and you're ready to shoot. 100 pellets per package. Available: 30-grain pellets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
35 out of 42(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Review 1 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2016

No ignition strip on either end

By
Country: United States
State: California
I noticed that mine do not have an ignition strip on either end and both ends are identical. Are these supposed to have an ignition strip? Haven't fired any rounds yet and don't know if they are defective or what.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2016

Great Value

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Works just fine in my 1858 and 1860 44 Colts. THis makes reloading my Black Powder pistols so much easier, quicker, and safer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2015

Expensive But Quick & Easy

By
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I've used over half of the bucket and yet to have ignition failure. Don't think I'd need any more power. Perhaps the one and two star posters were not putting the fire starter end next to the nipple port.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2015

Quick and easy

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The title says it all. Cleaning isn't a chore, and they
go BOOM every time. Thank you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2015

simple

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
These pellets make loading my revolver so much easier and quicker ! NO messing with loose powder , just drop it in and go. I also ordered an extra cylinder and the loading/ display stand. This works so well when loading in the field. A must have if you do a lot of shooting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2014

Makes loading the revolver easy

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
No measuring out grains, then pouring them in the cylinder, then not spilling any before adding the wadding and balls - just drop in the pellet, insert the wadding and ball, and tamp them down.
I just wish my local Cabela's carried them instore.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2014

No mess, loads quicker, hits hard!

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have a Brass Frame Pietta 1858 that is about 3 years old now, with about 300 rounds down the tube. I've gone from mild loads of loose Pyrodex P to these pellets. I know it is not recommended to fire 30gr charges from a brass frame revolver, but since having worked with this gun extensively with loose powder charges up to 28gr and meticulously measuring cylinder gap after every session I decided to grab a canister of the pellets and try a few shots. I'm very impressed at the ease of loading and consistency I get from these and I have not experienced any frame stretching- my cylinder gap is just the same as it was when the gun was new. I don't shoot my 1858 a lot and when I do it's usually "slow fire" at the range. I'm using the pellet, a felt wad, .454 round ball and remington #10 caps. I do occaisionally get misfires, and the odd hang fire now and then... but that's normal when you're shooting black powder revolvers! Great product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013

Good clean shooting:

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is my first use of Pyrodex and I really like it. It left my 1860 Army much cleaner than black powder ever has. I'll continue shooting it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2013

not worth the cost and to strong

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
In the Pietta Pistols such as the 1858 New Army 30grains is a max load. Why add the stress to the gun I normally shoot 25grains and that is more than enough. In a brass frame gun I would not even try this. Besides the normal Pyrodex P 1 lbs container will give you about 233 shots at 30gr and cost less than the 100 shots you get with the pellets. Yes much easyier to load but just not worth it for me
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2013

Fast loading, reliable ignitions, fit pietta 1858

By
seen a review about failure to fires.. I did also have one on the first time ever using them.. it was removed and noted the pellet had some moisture on it and just like every other power if wet won't work.. a little oil or cleaning solution must have been left in the nipple and i'll be its the reason the other reviewers didn't fire also.
they work just like they should, used in 2 different Remington 1858 replicas the pellet/lubed pad/round ball all fit with room for a grease wad if you still wanted..
if these don't work for you, you are doing something wrong.. its a simple product and design, if used properly just like powder it will work 100% like mine has for many range sessions now
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2013

Excellant choice

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Make using a black powder gun much easier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2012

Good Product, but to high of grains for some items

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
A good quick product but be careful that you are not overloading certain products. According to the "Cabela's Experts" this items is is 5 grains over the suggested max load for the Brass Frame Revolvers. Pietta 1851 Navy, 44 cal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

Excellent Cap and Ball Performer

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This babies shoot nice in my Pietta Navy revolver. They make loading quicker and easier and even improve the accuracy a bit! I will definitely be buying more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2012

excellent product

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I've been shooting black powder since 1970, using both factory made weapons and those I built from kits, so you might take that into consideration when evaluating my comments. Pyrodex pellets are one of the most reliable, consistant products on the market, in my opinion. While I too cannot find any ignition strip on them, and have therefore probably loaded many a round both ways, they seem to fire reliably and with consistant accuracy 99.9% of the time, which brings me to my point: you guys getting misfires and delayed ignition are probably just not cleaning your nipples like you should... I recommend you buy a packet of the thinnest size little between the teeth toothbrushes to ream the nipples after soaking them for a few minutes in a tin can filled with boiling water while you clean the barrel and action, then let them dry thoroughly. Use your nipple pick and/or the toothbrushes dry, when out on the range after every few shots, and you'll see a big improvement in performance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2012

Good

By
I have shot thease out of my Traditions 1858 Brass 44 cal. They make loading very convient. I wish they would make a 25 grain for the 1851 bras Pietta because it dosen't recomend shooting more than 28 grains.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

trouble at the range

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
bought these to use in my 1858 Army revolver that I've had for thirty five years. Went to the range and tried to load a chamber. I put in a powder pellet, a lubricated felt pad and a round lead ball. When I went to seat the ball it wouldn't go flush with the cylinder. the pellet made the load too tall. I guess I'll have to use a powder pellet, ball and grease to get the clearance.
only rated a 2 because I haven't had a chance to fire the revolver with the pellets yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2012

Easy n Fast Loading

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Remington 1858, Remington #10 caps, Hornady Swaged Balls
Was happy using Triple Se7en FFFG powder and then tried these. OMG plop plop fizz fizz oh what a relief it is. Easy loading, hot shots. I love these Pyrodex Pellets. :-)
Reading the other reviews about having problems igniting these pellets makes me wonder what they were doing wrong? The Pellets ignite better, faster, and kick harder than 30 grains of Triple Se7en FFFG. I still like Triple Se7en powder just as much as I ever did. The pellets are just a bit better and make loading faster and easier. No need to bother opening the powder, filling the powder flask, measuring. Just plop plop bang bang. The next best thing to metal cartridges.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

Black Powder Pellets

By
Location: Vicksburg, MS
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
These black powder pellest produce consistant powder charges and as a relsult safer consistant loads. From now on after trying the pelleted charges. I got to experiance the safety of and cleanlest of the pelleted charged I will henceforward use pellet charges in pistol and rifle charges. The safety and consistancey of the pellet charges gives me greater security when my daughter and I just target practice
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012

Work excellent!

By
Location: Folsom,CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I had heard or lets say was warned not to use these pellet style powder due to misfires and slow reaction. I went ahead the next time I visited Cabelas and purchase a can anyway to try with my 44 caliber black powder pistol 6 shooters. Very easy to load a lot faster then measuring the powder. The pellets fire very fast and every single time without fail. I am very pleased with them
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pyrodex® .44/.45 Caliber 30-Grain Pellets – 100 Pellets Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Shoot em up !

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Easy , convenient , and no mess . Want some for the 36 caliber too .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 42