Customer Reviews for LEE Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles

LEE Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles

Save money by molding your own round balls. The Lee round ball molds have a double cavity for volume casting. Mold body is crafted from aluminum with steel sprue cutters and wooden handles. Instruction sheet is included. Made in USA. Available: .311"; .375"; .440"; .451"; .454"; .457"; .490"; .495"; .530"; .535" diameter. WARNING: This product contains lead, a chemical known to the state of California to cause cancer and birth defects and other reproductive harm.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.528 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
67 out of 72(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Review 1 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Used!!!!!!!!!!

Date:January 8, 2013
My Lee Double cavity rb mould arrived today and it looked like it had been used! It was all beat up and the bullet cavity had stuff in it! Will be exchanging it, hope the next one is actually New!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Orange County, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Lee failed to deliver a good mold, twice, 454 RB

Date:May 17, 2010
I own MANY Lee molds and most all are within spec. Those that aren't, I can lap out to a diameter that works. Remove a burr, etc. I ordered a 454 RB mold, it came with the block attachment pin peened in so tight that the mold block warped at the handle. So that means the block wont freely move when opened and closed on one half of the mold. If the mold halves don't float, they don't line up and if if they don't align then the mold won't cat properly nor will the bullets drop.
So I called Cabelas, they without a return of the old one, sent another. Great!
The new one is exactly the same, but worse. I couldn't bare to call them again. So I get to fix this one too. I have a 530 RB mold, it's is perfect, from Cabelas. I just think that Lee put out a REAL bad batch of 454RB molds and Cabelas will have to cull thru them to get the bad ones gone. It's not Cabelas fault!! Lee quality took a dump.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Brookings, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inferior bullet mold

Date:February 7, 2008
Works nice with soft lead, but when used to mold lead from wheel weights, or lead that is hardened with tin, silver, or antimony, then the mold block wears very quickly where the sprue plate cuts the sprue. Bullets are a nice shape and are easy to make. They come out of the mold easily. The double molds in the block cut your time in half by making two bullets at once. The aluminum mold blocks heat up nicely. The main problem I see with this mold is how quickly it wears. Wear can be minimized by striking the sprue plate just before the lead is completely hard, but I have found this leaves a disformed bullet because it has not yet hardened either. I will quote the Guarantee that comes with the mold.
"Lee Products are guaranteed not to wear out of break from normal use for two full years or they will be repaired or replaced at no charge if returned to the factory. Any Lee product of current manufacture regardless of age or condition will be reconditioned to new, including a new guarantee, if returned to the factory with payment equal to half the current factory list price."
Seems like a fair guarantee...just make sure you wear it out and send it back before it's second birthday. The price is nice, but you get what you pay for. I will send my mold back to Lee to have it replaced or repaired, but I will probably not buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ball Maker

Date:April 30, 2013
this is a good product,but should be able to make at least 6 balls not 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

.453

Date:November 7, 2012
bought a mold for balls at.451 that does not happen have to put in tumbler to get .451 balls ? it turns out good after with no cast flat spot not for the beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Baytown, Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Makin ammo!

Date:April 6, 2010
This mold make some REALLY smooth balls, but one of the pins keeps falling out. After a while I just left it out and it still makes good balls. Once it gets hot enough I can kick out 2 balls every 45 seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee round ball mould

Date:October 1, 2009
It is about what I expected, as far as quality is concerned. Nice cheap way to get started casting. Moulds do not fit tight and it produces inconsistat balls. Not unhappy with it though as I said a good cheap way to get started.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Laurinburg, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Durability Questionable

Date:May 5, 2008
The price is definitely right, compared to the offerings by Lyman, and Saeco. But this mold is likely not going to last very long given it is made out of aluminum. Wish Lee would offer a steel version that will withstand higher production.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: coos bay,or
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy to use

Date:August 30, 2011
this is the first time that I have ever cast my own balls it was very easy to do
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bakersfield CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

round ball molds

Date:April 26, 2011
they work great but they need to be warmed up a little before they are used . once you get going you need to make sure they are closed every time and then the balls all turn out good. great for making you own and saves lots of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Aurora Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good lead makes good bullets

Date:March 22, 2011
I got this mold to cast 50cal RB. I dont shoot em much but it is nice to know I can always make some balls when I need them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice mold

Date:April 24, 2010
I am just a beginner, and it works great for me. It takes a little practice to get the perfect ball, but once you figure it out, its a breeze! I would reccommend this highly to anyone who wants a cheap mold. I will have to say that the instructions on how to use this are a little confusing at first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great tool for muzzleloaders!

Date:October 26, 2009
I use the .451 molds to give me a bit of extra room for papers (paper cartridges for my 1851 Navy, .44 caliber). If you want to use bare lead balls, .454 is better. Also casts great balls for your .45 rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.451 pistol

Date:October 7, 2009
I bought the .451 for my new .44 cal BP pistols one a Colt style one a Remington style. I gave 4 stars because it drops my .451 balls at .453-.454. It still works fine in my pistols but makes loading a little harder. I will say that the balls dropped are very uniform vs. anything store bought that I have used previously.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not as goos as lyman, but

Date:September 21, 2009
these molds are very good for the money. they are not as precise as Lyman molds, but well worth the money. i have several lee molds and have not had any problems with them. i do know avid black powder shooters who have told me they wore out lee round ball molds, but not the lyman molds. i have not encountered this (maybe i just found an excuse to shoot more often) but the sources are reliable. i would recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lead molds

Date:March 30, 2009
The only draw back is that the mold needs to be hot to make good balls. These molds are an important addition to my shooting equipment. The cost to make balls is so much cheaper this way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: yukon OK.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.490 mold LEE double cavity

Date:February 23, 2009
I had fun with this one, i used a birthday candle the cheap ones , to smoke the mold,,,That made about 30 balls then i smoked it again , never stuck a ball..
I measured my hornady .490 round balls they are old and witish grey and they are .006" within being round and consistant..
the lee balls were measured and were.0035" not counting the sprue...sprue up i was told..
Well i shot them today with my cva bobcat. they out group the hornadys with a 15thousandths patch,,, best group with hornadys was with 70 grains pyrodex rs .2.25" at 30 yards
My loads were wheel weights and are much harder, and they flew the best with 90 gr of pyrodex rs and a homemade wad .125" leather and homemade .010" patch soaked in coconut oil..1-7/8" at 30 yards I was experimenting with everything..i shot over 120 rounds today .. bucking some wind.
cant wait till mornin to make some more.
I give it 4 stars because i want exactly .490" or zero runout.. with lead balls you will never get it , even store bought.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tuscumbia Al
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long use product

Date:February 3, 2009
The Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles is the quality I expected from Lee. I have used Lee products before and I would recommend this product to anyone lookiing for a good solid mold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Carlsbad,New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy Use

Date:August 11, 2008
This product from cabela's works wunderfully.It's made family time with my 3 boys fun and intertaining.We made several round balls for our sidelock rifles,we may never shoot them all.Thank you cabela's for haveing such great products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lee Double Cavity Round Ball Molds with Handles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gilbertsville,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good molds

Date:March 10, 2008
I have alot of Lee molds and the product is very good but not excellent. They turn out a good ball but you must check the pins regularly for backing out and you must finagle with them a little to line the mold up right to assure good closure. Other then that they are great for hobby casting and saving a few pennies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 72