Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition

REMINGTON Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition

For more than six decades, Remington’s Core-Lokt ammo has remained the industry leader in centerfire deer ammunition. This timeless bullet design is the original controlled-expansion bullet and one of the most effective. The progressively tapered copper jacket is locked to a solid lead core resulting in deep penetration, perfectly controlled expansion and high weight retention. The Spitzer-shape profile improves velocity and provides a flatter trajectory.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(678 Reviews) 678
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 678 reviews
5 Stars
530
4 Stars
98
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
12
1 Star
16
643 out of 678(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Review 41 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knock down power

Date:October 18, 2014
Took a beautiful Oregon blacktail today, across a canyon, 350 yds downhill, put the crosshairs on his neck, and dropped him where he stood. Skinned and cleaned him, and a beautiful entry and exit without any fragmentation. Amazing ammo. I will probably never change it up after this one! Great product Remington!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Grouped well, when they fired.

Date:October 14, 2014
I bought 2 boxes of .270 ammo. So far I have shot through one of them. 7/20 rounds failed to fire. The primers all had good dimples and I have never had problems with the rifle and any other ammo. The 13 that did fire grouped well. I had several rounds touching holes when shot through my Savage. I know that they are going to shoot well but with the failed to fire rate I would not trust them for hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Ireland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best 4 us

Date:October 2, 2014
I am writing from Europe, Ireland. This years rut for fallow-deer started.
Even young fallow-deer can be extremely tough and are not easily dropped. Bullet
performance is as vital as placement. Over the last few years we had too many
problems with 2 other major brands. A 140 grain high-speed bullet was simply too
hard or may not expanded quick enough leaving too small an exitwound, the other
130 grain soft point bullet seemed at times to fragment on bone without stopping
the animal or mushed up the inside of the target often without exiting. We use a
Remington 700 ADL in .270 Winchester with a 3x12 by 52 scope. Hunting area is mostly
brush with loads of cover and meadows up to 200 yards, never really long distance.
Aiming point is always top of the heart. Shot animals that got away were almost always
impossible to find without dogs. With Remington Core Lokt 130 grain Pointed Soft Point
or 150 grain Soft Point it`s a different story. Exitwounds are large enough so one can
follow easily with plenty of red on either side of the trail. Deer did not go
much further than about 30 yards, if they did. Fantastic bullet performance.....
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Ireland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best 4 us

Date:September 30, 2014
I am writing from Europe, Ireland. This years rut for fallow-deer has started.
Even young fallow-deer can be extremely tough and are not easily dropped. Bullet
performance is as vital as placement. We had too many problems with Hornady`s
Superformance SST 140 grain high-speed cartridge. Its bullet was simply too hard or may not
expanded quick enough leaving too small an exitwound, while Federal`s Powershok
130 grain soft point bullet seemed at times to fragment on bone without stopping
the animal or mushed up the inside of the target often without exiting. We use a
Remington 700 ADL in .270 Winchester with a 3x12 by 52 scope. Hunting area is mostly
brush with loads of cover and meadows up to 200 yards, never really long distance.
Aiming point is always top of the heart. Shot animals that got away were almost always
impossible to find without dogs. With Remington Core Lokt 130 grain Pointed Soft Point
or 150 grain Soft Point it`s a different story. Exitwounds are large enough and one can
follow easily....Plenty of red each side of the trail. Deer did not go
much further than about 30 yards when they did. Fantastic bullet performance.....
We absolutely recommend these for similar hunting conditions....
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My 30-06 likes it best

Date:September 27, 2014
I was having trouble grouping with another major brand of ammo so i tried Remington core-lokt and the problem was solved. My rifle just likes it better for whatever reason. Also my rifle doesnt seem to require as much cleaning after shooting now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:September 9, 2014
Puts down game for good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best rounds ever made

Date:July 30, 2014
i have shot a lot of brands of shells but these are the best i have ever used . they shot the best grops in all my guns . have more stopping power than any thing i have used . thay have never failed to shot .i will all was use thae shells
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Core-Lokt Ammunition

Date:May 14, 2014
Good consistent performance every time. For factory loads you can't go wrong with core-lokt's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor workmanship

Date:April 19, 2014
Had one misfire. The brass on five of the 20 cartridges were bent, the brass was dull looking. this was the same on three boxes.Should have looked at it in the store. Live and learn. Won't buy any more Remington amo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:February 20, 2014
The Expess Core-Lokt PSP is a great value, accurate and inexpensive. I bought a Savage 11/111 .308 Win in 2012. I spent many hours on the range with different ammunition (you shot what you could find). The Remington round was, by far, the most consistent and most accurate. With the 150-grain PSP I was able to shoot a consistent group of three smaller than a quarter at 100 yards. That was better than some other ammo that was twice as expensive. You can believe that I set some of the Express ammo aside for hunting.
I have found the PSP's performance on the range to carry over to the woods. I haven't done any long range shooting with it, but it is great at my normal hunting distances. Last year, I shot a couple of wild pigs at about 75 yards. Both times the round was directly on target, just below the pigs ear. For both shots, the pigs dropped where they stood. Bullet expansion was good, as evidenced by the size of the exit wound.
Performance at slightly longer ranges is also excellent. I shot a large doe on opening day at 160 yards. As with the pigs, the ammo did its job well. I missed the heart, but a lung shot knocked the deer over. She jumped up and ran about 10 yards before she fell for good.
There may be better ammunition, and I know there is more expensive ammunition. For my dollar and for the best experience at the range and in the woods, I will use Remington Express Core-lokt PSP 150 grain in my .308. You can bet that I will be sure I always have a box saved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD AMMO.

Date:January 26, 2014
THIS REMINGTON AMMO IS GOOD STUFF. I HAVE NEVER HADE A PROBLEM WITH IT. BUT IF YOU DO NOT LIKE IT GO GET SOME FROM KOREA TURKEY USSR OR WHAT EVER TURNS YOU ON. ME IM USA ALL THE WAY. USA-USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

misfires

Date:January 23, 2014
Have been buying this Core-Lokt ammo for a while in 308, 180 grain, but out of last 10 boxes, each had 1-3 misfires. The quality of the product I received is certainly not as good as previous purchases. I have changed my brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gift

Date:December 31, 2013
Purchased as a gift so this is no really a review other than the person that wanted them really likes them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gets-er done

Date:December 29, 2013
I've shot this bullet for a long time out of my .270 win. I've used the 150 grain bullets to take 3 moose and I've killed more deer than I can remember with both the 130 and 150 grain bullets. On my mantle I have two 150 grain Corelokt bullets that made it through both shoulder blades of two different moose, they look pretty good considering. The 130 grain Corelokt is a nearly perfect deer bullet, it opens fast for quick kills but holds together and penetrates well when it needs to.
The only reason I don't give them 5 stars is that for some reason Remington only loads a round nose 150 grain bullet for the .270. For the life of me I cant understand why you would want a round nose bullet for a .270 but that's just me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:December 10, 2013
For the price Remington ammo is Great and you can find all the Ballistic Specs you'll need on their web site
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Wollip

Date:November 29, 2013
I shoot a 270 win Remington pump. I shot a doe right through a rib and both lungs when she started to run I shot her in the head..... Neither bullet expanded pencil size holes in and out. Then a Buck came running out, I unloaded the clip. It ran by two other standers and they said it was bleeding by the front shoulders and I never found it!!!!!!! I threw out all me core-lokts and refuse to shoot them. Other people in the group don't seem to be have any problems but they are shooting 30. cal guns IDK??????
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 26, 2013
I bought a box of this ammo this year to try. I have used others but none have compared to Remington's Core Lokt Ammunition. Fired one shot out of my .300 Win Mag at three hundred yards on a doe, and dropped her were she stood. Overall awesome ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it....

Date:November 25, 2013
i have used this for the last 10 years or so....never has failed to fire. Never has failed to bring home the deer. I started out using the 180 grains in my 30.06 (not even a high dollar rifle), every deer i have ever shot has been in the should and has dropped every single one of them in their tracks. Last couple years i have switched to the 150 grains, most of the deer i have shot with this have never gone more than 5 yards before falling over dead. It does what it is intended to do.....it kills things (very well in my opinion). I always aim dead center of the shoulder because I don't like to have to track things.....the shoulder shot works great for me along with this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:November 17, 2013
I have shot many deer with rem core lokt over the years,however this year I purchased a new box of 150 grain psp in .308.
I thought I made a good shot on a mule deer
at about 75 yards he fell like a stone,and then stood up and started to trot away. I shot again he fell again. I then walked walked about 20 yards to the pick up, and drove over to him only to see him turning the corner into some brush on a creek bottom.We tracked him over a mile and just got lucky to find him. Post mortem revealed two holes in each lung and just pin hole exit wounds. something has gone very wrong at Remington.
I will never buy core lokt again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammunition

Date:November 6, 2013
I was having issues sighting in my Remington 700 with other brands of ammo. I was looking for a good round that would shoot true and not break the bank. After switching to the Core-Lokt ammo, I wont be buying anything else! My first round of groupings made one large hole out of 3 shots! Very pleased!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 678