Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition

REMINGTON Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition

For more than six decades, Remington’s Core-Lokt ammo has remained the industry leader in centerfire deer ammunition. This timeless bullet design is the original controlled-expansion bullet and one of the most effective. The progressively tapered copper jacket is locked to a solid lead core resulting in deep penetration, perfectly controlled expansion and high weight retention. The Spitzer-shape profile improves velocity and provides a flatter trajectory.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(685 Reviews) 685
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 685 reviews
5 Stars
536
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
12
1 Star
16
650 out of 685(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Review 41 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple

Date:November 26, 2014
One shot one deer, I use Remington core lock ammo in all my rifles, no problems!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:November 25, 2014
I used the Remington 30/06 Core-Lokt for a recent Elk Hunt. It worked great and was a reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo for the price.

Date:November 18, 2014
Very consistent performance, but the deer here in Vermont aren't crazy about Remington for some reason.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good for the price

Date:November 18, 2014
For the price...a good deal and they shoot straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 16, 2014
I've been using this ammo for years and it has never failed me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo for price

Date:November 11, 2014
I always used this ammo because of it dependability and price. It has excellent stopping power at short and long range and gives consistent groups. Lower cost than most other ammo and still gives quality shooting. Overall a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good hunting ammunition

Date:November 11, 2014
I've used this ammo for hunting for 50 years. It has given good performance in hunting situations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Every year

Date:November 11, 2014
Every year I buy a box for deer season. Every year I site it in. Every year it holds true. Great consistency.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knock down power

Date:October 18, 2014
Took a beautiful Oregon blacktail today, across a canyon, 350 yds downhill, put the crosshairs on his neck, and dropped him where he stood. Skinned and cleaned him, and a beautiful entry and exit without any fragmentation. Amazing ammo. I will probably never change it up after this one! Great product Remington!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Grouped well, when they fired.

Date:October 14, 2014
I bought 2 boxes of .270 ammo. So far I have shot through one of them. 7/20 rounds failed to fire. The primers all had good dimples and I have never had problems with the rifle and any other ammo. The 13 that did fire grouped well. I had several rounds touching holes when shot through my Savage. I know that they are going to shoot well but with the failed to fire rate I would not trust them for hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Ireland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best 4 us

Date:October 2, 2014
I am writing from Europe, Ireland. This years rut for fallow-deer started.
Even young fallow-deer can be extremely tough and are not easily dropped. Bullet
performance is as vital as placement. Over the last few years we had too many
problems with 2 other major brands. A 140 grain high-speed bullet was simply too
hard or may not expanded quick enough leaving too small an exitwound, the other
130 grain soft point bullet seemed at times to fragment on bone without stopping
the animal or mushed up the inside of the target often without exiting. We use a
Remington 700 ADL in .270 Winchester with a 3x12 by 52 scope. Hunting area is mostly
brush with loads of cover and meadows up to 200 yards, never really long distance.
Aiming point is always top of the heart. Shot animals that got away were almost always
impossible to find without dogs. With Remington Core Lokt 130 grain Pointed Soft Point
or 150 grain Soft Point it`s a different story. Exitwounds are large enough so one can
follow easily with plenty of red on either side of the trail. Deer did not go
much further than about 30 yards, if they did. Fantastic bullet performance.....
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My 30-06 likes it best

Date:September 27, 2014
I was having trouble grouping with another major brand of ammo so i tried Remington core-lokt and the problem was solved. My rifle just likes it better for whatever reason. Also my rifle doesnt seem to require as much cleaning after shooting now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:September 9, 2014
Puts down game for good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best rounds ever made

Date:July 30, 2014
i have shot a lot of brands of shells but these are the best i have ever used . they shot the best grops in all my guns . have more stopping power than any thing i have used . thay have never failed to shot .i will all was use thae shells
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Core-Lokt Ammunition

Date:May 14, 2014
Good consistent performance every time. For factory loads you can't go wrong with core-lokt's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor workmanship

Date:April 19, 2014
Had one misfire. The brass on five of the 20 cartridges were bent, the brass was dull looking. this was the same on three boxes.Should have looked at it in the store. Live and learn. Won't buy any more Remington amo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:February 20, 2014
The Expess Core-Lokt PSP is a great value, accurate and inexpensive. I bought a Savage 11/111 .308 Win in 2012. I spent many hours on the range with different ammunition (you shot what you could find). The Remington round was, by far, the most consistent and most accurate. With the 150-grain PSP I was able to shoot a consistent group of three smaller than a quarter at 100 yards. That was better than some other ammo that was twice as expensive. You can believe that I set some of the Express ammo aside for hunting.
I have found the PSP's performance on the range to carry over to the woods. I haven't done any long range shooting with it, but it is great at my normal hunting distances. Last year, I shot a couple of wild pigs at about 75 yards. Both times the round was directly on target, just below the pigs ear. For both shots, the pigs dropped where they stood. Bullet expansion was good, as evidenced by the size of the exit wound.
Performance at slightly longer ranges is also excellent. I shot a large doe on opening day at 160 yards. As with the pigs, the ammo did its job well. I missed the heart, but a lung shot knocked the deer over. She jumped up and ran about 10 yards before she fell for good.
There may be better ammunition, and I know there is more expensive ammunition. For my dollar and for the best experience at the range and in the woods, I will use Remington Express Core-lokt PSP 150 grain in my .308. You can bet that I will be sure I always have a box saved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD AMMO.

Date:January 26, 2014
THIS REMINGTON AMMO IS GOOD STUFF. I HAVE NEVER HADE A PROBLEM WITH IT. BUT IF YOU DO NOT LIKE IT GO GET SOME FROM KOREA TURKEY USSR OR WHAT EVER TURNS YOU ON. ME IM USA ALL THE WAY. USA-USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

misfires

Date:January 23, 2014
Have been buying this Core-Lokt ammo for a while in 308, 180 grain, but out of last 10 boxes, each had 1-3 misfires. The quality of the product I received is certainly not as good as previous purchases. I have changed my brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gift

Date:December 31, 2013
Purchased as a gift so this is no really a review other than the person that wanted them really likes them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 685