Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition

REMINGTON Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition

For more than six decades, Remington’s Core-Lokt ammo has remained the industry leader in centerfire deer ammunition. This timeless bullet design is the original controlled-expansion bullet and one of the most effective. The progressively tapered copper jacket is locked to a solid lead core resulting in deep penetration, perfectly controlled expansion and high weight retention. The Spitzer-shape profile improves velocity and provides a flatter trajectory.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(656 Reviews) 656
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 656 reviews
5 Stars
514
4 Stars
93
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
12
1 Star
16
622 out of 656(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Review 41 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lokt Cocked and Rocked

Date:October 29, 2013
Before I left for Deer Camp I stopped in at Cabelas and picked up some Core-Lokt for my backup riffle. On my first hunt I discovered that my primary riffles scope had been adjusted during transport, leaving me with little confidence that it was still zeroed in. After we got back I switched to my backup and hunted the rest of the week with it. On the last morning hunt my backup riffle and my Core-Lokt performed great. One shot, one kill! It wasn't the largest deer I've ever harvested but it was my first whitetail. Thank you Cabelas and Core-Lokt for shooting true.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

core-lokt standby ammo

Date:October 22, 2013
This ammo shoots well in older rifles that will not shoot newer style ammo and also is perfect ammo for new brownings and savage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable "Ammo

Date:October 22, 2013
Experience has taught that this load works best in grandpa's Browning 308 lever action. No bound up cycling of shells or locked action. Effective! What can I say. Daughter used it on her first deer, One shot, One deer. ooorah.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Use to be my favorite

Date:October 20, 2013
I've been shooting Core-Lokts for the last 10 yrs in 30-06. It performed excellent in my Marlin XL7 shooting sub-quarter size groups at 100yds. In the last 3 yrs I've had several misfires including one that should have taken down a very nice buck.. I returned my Marlin to the factory to have the firing pin and spring checked. The factory replaced the firing pin and spring at no charge, checked the head space and returned my rifle. Took the rifle to the range to sight it back in and the very first shot out of a brand new box misfired. The rest of the box fired no problem though my group size was slightly bigger than in previous years. All the firing pin marks on the spent casings were identical including on the misfire. Guess it's time to find a more reliable brand of ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington core-lokt sps 30-06 ammo

Date:October 8, 2013
Dependable, reliable, accurate, and a good price, I have tried a cheaper brand made overseas and had nothing but trouble.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Old Faithful

Date:October 8, 2013
Don't need to spend a bundle on big game ammo with the Rem Exp Core Lokt. Knocks'em dead every time.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Core-Lokt Ammo

Date:September 13, 2013
This ammo performs very well in my Ruger 25/06. Shoots and cycles well and performed well on several whitetail deer. This ammo did NOT perform well in my .243 or my 30/06 though. The .243 would not cycle the ammo reliably and both of those guns struggled to hit 2.5" groups at 100 yards. I guess like any rifle, they each like a certain ammo best, so you need to test a few different onces with any new gun purchase. As I mentioned earlier, it did a good job on the deer. For the price it's a good hunting round, if it shoots well for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too Many Problems

Date:September 8, 2013
Over the past couple years my dad and I have been using the 180's for elk and deer, and the 150's for pronghorn(both in 30.06). At first we loved this loads knocked animals down with no problems. My dad had 2 miss fires in one magazine, he the sent the rounds back to Remington, and they said that his firing pin did not fully strike to their standard, but the rounds should have gone off. Next year I have a miss fire. Last year I shot a mulie at 200 yds, it hit him perfectly. He bounced around for a few seconds then ran away. I go up to look around, not one drop of blood or any sign of him. the next day my dad shoots a 330 in bull. at 250 yds it knocked him down and he got back up, the next 6 shots are at 300 yds. My dad hits him every time he gets up. After shooting him 7 times he finally stops moving, we start to clean him and find that 3+ of the bullets did not even penetrate the rib cage. This was the final straw, we only shoot our extra rounds for practice. DO NOT GET!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good factory ammo

Date:September 4, 2013
Good performance for factory ammunition stright out of the box. Good accuracy and very dependable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good enough ammo!

Date:September 4, 2013
I bought this in 308, 150 grain to sight-in the scope and break in the barrel on my new Tikka T3 Hunter. After the first couple of rounds the groups started tightening up. I am very pleased with the groups I got and I am sure this will work for white tail deer and maybe a hog or two.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:August 20, 2013
Remington makes some of the best ammo available
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best hunting cartridge ever

Date:August 5, 2013
I have been using Remington Core Lokt ammunition for years to drop whittail deer. It shoots great out of my Browning BLR .308.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just plain reliable

Date:July 30, 2013
Have used Remington Express Core-Lokt for years with confidence.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

17 cal fireball brass

Date:July 24, 2013
I know if I waited long enough I will receive my 17 cal fireball unfired brass , that I ordered 10 month ago. Cabelas I thank you alot. No one had any unfired brass and I finally I reveived my order. Thanks again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It Works

Date:July 22, 2013
Not a flashy box. but fires every time. good brand, good ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:July 9, 2013
Fair price, delivered when promised! Would by ammo again from cabelas! A++++++++
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:July 9, 2013
the best ammo out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:July 9, 2013
Cant beat the Core-Lokt rifle ammo. Great performance for the price. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality service and ammo

Date:June 25, 2013
There is nothing wrong with Remington ammo. The name stands on its own. The quality of service was excellent, even though it took months to get the order, understandable, they keep me informed and shipped it all in different shipments as it came available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Remington® Express Core-Lokt Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quality going downhill

Date:June 24, 2013
I have used the core-lokt ammo in the 70's thru 80's and had good accuracy and good performance on deer. Over the years I switched to other bands of ammo. In the last few years I have tried going back to the express core-lokt. I tried 7mm-08 and 270 wsm. They did not hold as tight a group as the ones I used many years ago.That isn't the real problem I see with the current remington express ammo. I purchased a few boxes of ammo in the last couple of years and noticed 6 to 10 bullets per box which had dents in the brass case, most at the shoulder. Also I noticed a few bullets not seated the same depth into the case. I just bought a box of 7mm-08 and noticed one bullet which had no lead at the tip. The lead started 3/16" down in the bullet. I went to a couple stores and opened up other boxes of express core-lokt and noticed brass cases with dents. Is it that remington doesn't have the same quality control on the express ammo as they do on their premium ammo line? Or is it that the components are inspected then seperated into different quality clasification to be used either for express or premium grade ammo. Next time check out the express ammo on the shelf, you will see what I see.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 656