Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

With a great combination of velocity, energy and inherent accuracy, this .308 Winchester ammunition is deadly on big game throughout North America. 20 per box. v
Overall Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 121 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
116 out of 119(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2015

Winchester Model 100

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have found the federal premium ammo in the 165 gr. Gameking BTSP is the most accurate round I have found to shoot out of my old 308 cal. Winchester Model 100 semi auto. Have never needed a follow up shot yet hunting whitetails here in the north woods of Minnesota.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2015

Good Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have a 308 Weatherby. 308 is the only caliber that Weatherby does not make ammo for. Wetherby recommends 150 grain Federal ammo for this rifle. I use the vital shock to maintain the Weatherby's sub moa accuracy. Nothing more to say.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2013

Great ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Excellent ammo the right ammo for accuracy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2013

Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Great product. Very accurate in my Savage Axis produced quarter sized groups at 100 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

Accurate and Great Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This ammo is very accurate. Did what it was supposed too. Love the Nosler Ballistic Tip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2012

The Best There Is

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
As always, these are great rounds -- particularly when you need a non-lead bullet. I've used them in many calibers and they are my hunting standard.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012

Quality merchandise at Cabelas

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have used Federal Premium ammo for many years,
I hav never had a problem with this ammo while hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

Always prchase this prodluct

By
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
One of the finest prodlucts I have ever used. Sighting in is a breeze and I have taken deer and moose with this particular bullet in 308 caliber. I have never had a problem with this brand or caliber.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

GREAT AMMO, HAVE USED IT ALL OVER THE WORLD

By
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Barnes TSX teamed with Federal Premium. Unstoppable. this purchase will be used by my wife in Zimbabwe taking Leopard and various plains game
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2012

Excellent Ammo

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Federal Premium Ammo is the best on the market from my perspective. It's dependable, accurate, has the speed and knockdown power needed to harvest big game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2011

One and Done

By
Location: Canaan, ME
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Though designed and created for Elk, the Federal Premium 180 Gr/NP .308 Winchester does its work well even on Moose. My 14 year old son, with one well placed shot, was able to drop a 700+ lb. bull. The bull fell about 50 feet from where it was hit. There was no need for a follow up shot. I certainly would recommend this ammunition to anyone shooting any caliber and hunting for one of Maine's Big Game animals.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2011

Federal Premium .308 150gr Nosler (BT)

By
Location: Northern, VA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This ammo is extremely accurate and devistating
on white tail deer, using the Nosler 150gr (BT) on
small to medium size game is the perfect ticket
for taking game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2011

Federal Premium .308 with 165gr. Barnes TSX bullet

By
Location: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Used this Boar hunting and dropped a huge male at about 80 plus yards. It literally knocked him over. A great marriage of the 2 brands.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Forced Into It

By
Location: Central California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
If you live in those portions of CA where (condors haven't been officially sighted in 500-100 years and (2) where the state forces you to use lead-free ammo anyway (in order to "save the condors) this is THE ammo for you. We can get busted here for even CARRYING leaded ammo along during deer season.
The ballistic performance of this ammunition is as good as I could ask of any ammunition and any misses will be my fault, not Federal's. I would recommend this ammo to anyone else who wants to take larger game in the face of CA law.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

great performance

By
Location: upstate new york
More expensive than the standard stuff, but the terminal performance and accuracy is well worth the extra $$$
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2011

GREAT AMMO!!! TRIPPLE SHOCK!!

By
Location: memphis, Tn
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
shoots great out of my tc icon .308, shoots less than 1/2 groups at 100 yrds, the tripple shock bullet is awesome, only bullets i use in any big game rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2010

Federal 308 Win Ammunication

By
Location: Central IL
Federal Ammunition will be making the 2nd trip to Africa with my son and I in August of this year. We will be hunting serveral speicies of Plains game on this trip. My son will be putting 10 shells a week through his 308 hunting rifle to confirm his gun and ammunition are working well together before we leave.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010

Federal .308 Barnes TSX 150 gr.

By
Location: San Diego, California
Excellent performance; highly recommended. I recently took a 250 lb. feral hog that was quartering away from me at 120 yards with this round fired from a Browning BLR. The bullet entered at the rear of the rib cage, passed clean through and exited her neck on the other side. Because it struck a rib going in, there was a massive dump of bullet energy at the point of entry, but the bullet stayed intact, on a straight-line course, and left a clean exit wound. The only meat lost was around two of the ribs. When she was hit, the hog instantly reared up on her hind legs and cartwheeled over backwards, stone dead--a very dramatic example of what this round is capable of.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2009

Very dependable for deer

By
Location: San Antonio, TX
We have taken several deer with this ammo and have had very good results with quick, humane kills. The only tracking was one poorly shot animal. It is very accurate in my Remington 700 in .308. I highly recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2008

Great Lead-Free Elk round

By
Location: Wyoming
I just took my first elk, a pretty little cow, with this ammo in a Tikka T3 (.308) yesterday. Keep in mind the conditions were optimal (~400lbs cow, ~100 yards, side on) but after the shot she made only one bound before dropping completely dead. The bullet passed all the way through, hitting the lungs, clipped the liver, and straight through a rib on the exit side. The exit wound was just big enough to put my forefinger into.
The ballistics very closely match Winchester 180gr Super X out to around 200yds, so I zeroed in with the cheaper Super X at 200, then confirmed with three rounds of Vital shock. Those last three grouped dead center at a smidge over 1.5 inches at 200yds.
Though this hunt may not have been an extremely rigorous test, I feel confident using this round for any elk at closer range, but I would still hesitate taking a shot over 200yds long at a big bull with it. I highly recommend this round for stalking elk with non-magnum rifles.
DRS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 32