Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

With a great combination of velocity, energy and inherent accuracy, this .308 Winchester ammunition is deadly on big game throughout North America. 20 per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:April 2, 2013
Excellent ammo the right ammo for accuracy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

Date:March 26, 2013
Great product. Very accurate in my Savage Axis produced quarter sized groups at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and Great Ammo

Date:December 11, 2012
This ammo is very accurate. Did what it was supposed too. Love the Nosler Ballistic Tip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best There Is

Date:September 30, 2012
As always, these are great rounds -- particularly when you need a non-lead bullet. I've used them in many calibers and they are my hunting standard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality merchandise at Cabelas

Date:May 30, 2012
I have used Federal Premium ammo for many years,
I hav never had a problem with this ammo while hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always prchase this prodluct

Date:May 16, 2012
One of the finest prodlucts I have ever used. Sighting in is a breeze and I have taken deer and moose with this particular bullet in 308 caliber. I have never had a problem with this brand or caliber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMO, HAVE USED IT ALL OVER THE WORLD

Date:April 10, 2012
Barnes TSX teamed with Federal Premium. Unstoppable. this purchase will be used by my wife in Zimbabwe taking Leopard and various plains game
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:March 29, 2012
Federal Premium Ammo is the best on the market from my perspective. It's dependable, accurate, has the speed and knockdown power needed to harvest big game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canaan, ME
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One and Done

Date:October 18, 2011
Though designed and created for Elk, the Federal Premium 180 Gr/NP .308 Winchester does its work well even on Moose. My 14 year old son, with one well placed shot, was able to drop a 700+ lb. bull. The bull fell about 50 feet from where it was hit. There was no need for a follow up shot. I certainly would recommend this ammunition to anyone shooting any caliber and hunting for one of Maine's Big Game animals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern, VA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium .308 150gr Nosler (BT)

Date:July 6, 2011
This ammo is extremely accurate and devistating
on white tail deer, using the Nosler 150gr (BT) on
small to medium size game is the perfect ticket
for taking game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium .308 with 165gr. Barnes TSX bullet

Date:March 1, 2011
Used this Boar hunting and dropped a huge male at about 80 plus yards. It literally knocked him over. A great marriage of the 2 brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Forced Into It

Date:February 23, 2011
If you live in those portions of CA where (condors haven't been officially sighted in 500-100 years and (2) where the state forces you to use lead-free ammo anyway (in order to "save the condors) this is THE ammo for you. We can get busted here for even CARRYING leaded ammo along during deer season.
The ballistic performance of this ammunition is as good as I could ask of any ammunition and any misses will be my fault, not Federal's. I would recommend this ammo to anyone else who wants to take larger game in the face of CA law.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: upstate new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great performance

Date:February 8, 2011
More expensive than the standard stuff, but the terminal performance and accuracy is well worth the extra $$$
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: memphis, Tn
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMO!!! TRIPPLE SHOCK!!

Date:February 1, 2011
shoots great out of my tc icon .308, shoots less than 1/2 groups at 100 yrds, the tripple shock bullet is awesome, only bullets i use in any big game rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal 308 Win Ammunication

Date:April 12, 2010
Federal Ammunition will be making the 2nd trip to Africa with my son and I in August of this year. We will be hunting serveral speicies of Plains game on this trip. My son will be putting 10 shells a week through his 308 hunting rifle to confirm his gun and ammunition are working well together before we leave.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal .308 Barnes TSX 150 gr.

Date:March 25, 2010
Excellent performance; highly recommended. I recently took a 250 lb. feral hog that was quartering away from me at 120 yards with this round fired from a Browning BLR. The bullet entered at the rear of the rib cage, passed clean through and exited her neck on the other side. Because it struck a rib going in, there was a massive dump of bullet energy at the point of entry, but the bullet stayed intact, on a straight-line course, and left a clean exit wound. The only meat lost was around two of the ribs. When she was hit, the hog instantly reared up on her hind legs and cartwheeled over backwards, stone dead--a very dramatic example of what this round is capable of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very dependable for deer

Date:December 31, 2009
We have taken several deer with this ammo and have had very good results with quick, humane kills. The only tracking was one poorly shot animal. It is very accurate in my Remington 700 in .308. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Lead-Free Elk round

Date:November 2, 2008
I just took my first elk, a pretty little cow, with this ammo in a Tikka T3 (.308) yesterday. Keep in mind the conditions were optimal (~400lbs cow, ~100 yards, side on) but after the shot she made only one bound before dropping completely dead. The bullet passed all the way through, hitting the lungs, clipped the liver, and straight through a rib on the exit side. The exit wound was just big enough to put my forefinger into.
The ballistics very closely match Winchester 180gr Super X out to around 200yds, so I zeroed in with the cheaper Super X at 200, then confirmed with three rounds of Vital shock. Those last three grouped dead center at a smidge over 1.5 inches at 200yds.
Though this hunt may not have been an extremely rigorous test, I feel confident using this round for any elk at closer range, but I would still hesitate taking a shot over 200yds long at a big bull with it. I highly recommend this round for stalking elk with non-magnum rifles.
DRS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Miami, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gets the job done

Date:October 27, 2008
I purchased this ammo to compliment a Kimber Montana .308 rifle. I put this rifle together for stalk hunting Elk. Most of my hunting buddies carry the newer magnum calibers and warn me this might be to light a caliber for big game. I have shot very good groups sighting the rifle in and taken two very nice bull elk with one shot each. I feel this particular cartriage works very well and highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® .308 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federalammo

Date:October 23, 2008
I was impressed with this ammo my wife killed here first elk (6x6) at a 170 yard with one shot and he was down and did not get up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29