Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

This .270 Winchester ammo offers complete versatility for all kinds of animals, from small-framed antelope to heavy-boned elk. 20 per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.717 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 113 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
108 out of 112(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2012

Old reliable!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've been hunting with Federal Premium ammo for over 25 years and it continues to be the most reliable ammo I've hunted with. I took the biggest muley buck ever this year with my Dad's pre-64 Winchester Model 70 chambered in .270 caliber. I had a complete pass-through shot on a 300 lb. muley buck and he only ran about 40 yards. I will only shoot Nosler Partition bullets for big game from now on...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2012

Federal Premium .270 Winchester Rifle Ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
After planning a moose hunt to Newfoundland I had to make a last minute change from my 30-06 Remington to my .270 Winchester. I was skeptical of the energy and dropping power of the .270 for such large game. It was recommended that I use the Federal Premium 150 gr, Nosler Partitioned bullet. That bullet dropped my 700 lb bull on the spot.! Great hunt-great ammunition !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012

new factory load user

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I usually reload my own ammo but my brass was getting old and weak.
I was shocked at the price.
They shot well on the range. Try them on antelope next week,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

Great Ammo

By
Location: Annandale, NJ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've been using Federal Premium ammo for an number of years. I love this stuff. High quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

Another satisfied customer

By
Location: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
While I had shopped at other retail outlets for this product, and found none; I knew I could count on Cabela's and made a phone call. To my surprize; there was plenty of this product, and I placed my order on the phone. I have always found the customer service top notch, and friendly, and by the way; I had my product within 3 days.
Thanks, and keep up the great work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2012

Tighter groups

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This premium ammo performs. My groups have gone from 8" to 3". I even get a few bull's eyes now. No question it was the ammo not the the guy pulling the trigger!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Federal Premium - 270 ammo.

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Flat shooting, 1 shot kills!
I only buy Federal Premium ammo for my Big game Hunting Rifle's, .30-06, .270, .243
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2012

One shot, one kill

By
Location: Ingleside, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have utilized a lot of different 270 ammo over the years. The Federal Premium Nossler Partition is by far the most consistant ammo. It doesn't come apart on impact, it mushrooms & retains most of its weight causing massive damage. I think I'm going to stay with this one for a while. Please note that they are expensive.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2012

Reliable Ammo

By
Location: MS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have taken dozens of animals including whitetails, mule deer, pronghorn, wild hogs and coyotes with this ammo. It shoots very well in my rifle and has always performed flawlessly. Excellent penetration and expansion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Federal Premium

By
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is good ammo. I have been using federal premium for many years and it has always served me well. This year I downed a nice whitetail with a single shot and the bullet performed flawlessly. Top quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Great Ammo

By
This brand is all we use when we have hunted big game and it's always performed well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Great Ammo

By
Location: wilmington, nc
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have shot several types of ammo out of my rifle. The federal premium .130 grain ammo is the most accurate at the range and in the field. Round has plenty of knock down power on whitetails.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Federal preminum ammunition

By
Location: Saluda SC
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Solid, dependable ammunition with knock down power
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011

Federal Premium .270 Win. 130gr NBT

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Our Texas lease is a MLDP Type 2, so we can rifle hunt for does starting Oct. 1, with bag limit set by game manager of the lease owner. Varmints and hogs have no season or limit.
So far this season, fired 7 shots at ranges of 50 to 125 yards. Got 3 does, 2 coyotes, and 2 feral hogs.
The deer and coyotes literally fell over in their tracks, and the hogs made about a 10 foot run, then dropped.
All behind the shoulder shots.
Have used the .270 Win. for 35 years, and the Federal Premium 130gr Nosler Ballistic Tip since they first loaded it years ago.
Pricey, as all ammo has become in the last 3 years, but worth every penny. Accuracy in my old lightweight Ruger 77PL rifle with factory barrel and Brown Precision stock and Leupold 2.5x8 is 3 shots in 1 1/4 or less at 100 yds., routinely.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011

Best 270 bullet for deer size game

By
Location: Irving, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been shooting the Federal Premium 270 140 grain Nosler Accubond in my Model 70 for several years now. I have taken a couple of whitetail bucks, along with 2 mule deer bucks with it. All of the deer have dropped in their tracks with 1 shot.
The Nosler Accubond is an excellent bullet and extremely accurate. I will be going elk hunting in Colorado in October and will be using this same gun and cartridge combination. I highly recommend the 140 rain Nosler Accubond for deer/elk size game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011

Outstanding!

By
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
.270 Win 130gr. Ballistic Tip. Tikka T3 Hunter SS. These are awesome in my rifle, 3/4 groups on the bench. I used them to take two Colorado antelope last year, one nice buck at 100yds, and a doe at 250. The bullet performed perfectly. Totally satisfied, I gave away all the other ammo options I had in this caliber as I use 7mm with TSX for elk and larger game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

Gun loves this ammo

By
Location: Northern California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
My Remington Titanium .270 would not group with Hornady Light Mag ammo. Changed to Federal Premium loaded with Barnes Triple Shok problem over.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2011

Very Good Factory Ammo

By
Location: Northwest Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
For factory, out of a box ammo, the .270 caliber 130 grain Nozzler Ballistic Tip has been a very consistant reliable ammo for my whitetail hunting use. I've been shooting this ammo for at least the last 15 years with excellent results. I'm not big into reloading and for something you can buy off the shelf at a reasonable price this ammo is hard to beat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Antelope Hunt

By
Location: Colorado Elk hunter
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Worked for me! Took a 151/2 inch speed goat at 400yrds. Hit him a little too far foward in the shoulder and exited the rib cage . the animal didn"t take another step.Which is important for antelope!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

LEAD-FREE AMMO

By
Location: Livermore,ca
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have hunted Blacktail deer in ca.all my life,and think that they are the hardest deer to harvest due to the conditions for the hunting season ! Good old ca.decided that the area that I hunt, used to be in the Condor range,so all the shells I had reloaded over the years could no longer be used, we were now-LEAD FREE ! I decided to try the Barnes lead free bullets, they are Great, not only do they pattern great, they are also deadly, I've had 4 1 shot kills, never a problem as some people have said !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 80