Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

This .270 Winchester ammo offers complete versatility for all kinds of animals, from small-framed antelope to heavy-boned elk. 20 per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
70 out of 72(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ingleside, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One shot, one kill

Date:February 2, 2012
I have utilized a lot of different 270 ammo over the years. The Federal Premium Nossler Partition is by far the most consistant ammo. It doesn't come apart on impact, it mushrooms & retains most of its weight causing massive damage. I think I'm going to stay with this one for a while. Please note that they are expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable Ammo

Date:January 22, 2012
I have taken dozens of animals including whitetails, mule deer, pronghorn, wild hogs and coyotes with this ammo. It shoots very well in my rifle and has always performed flawlessly. Excellent penetration and expansion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium

Date:January 11, 2012
This is good ammo. I have been using federal premium for many years and it has always served me well. This year I downed a nice whitetail with a single shot and the bullet performed flawlessly. Top quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:January 11, 2012
This brand is all we use when we have hunted big game and it's always performed well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wilmington, nc
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:January 11, 2012
I have shot several types of ammo out of my rifle. The federal premium .130 grain ammo is the most accurate at the range and in the field. Round has plenty of knock down power on whitetails.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saluda SC
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal preminum ammunition

Date:January 9, 2012
Solid, dependable ammunition with knock down power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium .270 Win. 130gr NBT

Date:November 3, 2011
Our Texas lease is a MLDP Type 2, so we can rifle hunt for does starting Oct. 1, with bag limit set by game manager of the lease owner. Varmints and hogs have no season or limit.
So far this season, fired 7 shots at ranges of 50 to 125 yards. Got 3 does, 2 coyotes, and 2 feral hogs.
The deer and coyotes literally fell over in their tracks, and the hogs made about a 10 foot run, then dropped.
All behind the shoulder shots.
Have used the .270 Win. for 35 years, and the Federal Premium 130gr Nosler Ballistic Tip since they first loaded it years ago.
Pricey, as all ammo has become in the last 3 years, but worth every penny. Accuracy in my old lightweight Ruger 77PL rifle with factory barrel and Brown Precision stock and Leupold 2.5x8 is 3 shots in 1 1/4 or less at 100 yds., routinely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Irving, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best 270 bullet for deer size game

Date:September 20, 2011
I have been shooting the Federal Premium 270 140 grain Nosler Accubond in my Model 70 for several years now. I have taken a couple of whitetail bucks, along with 2 mule deer bucks with it. All of the deer have dropped in their tracks with 1 shot.
The Nosler Accubond is an excellent bullet and extremely accurate. I will be going elk hunting in Colorado in October and will be using this same gun and cartridge combination. I highly recommend the 140 rain Nosler Accubond for deer/elk size game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding!

Date:May 16, 2011
.270 Win 130gr. Ballistic Tip. Tikka T3 Hunter SS. These are awesome in my rifle, 3/4 groups on the bench. I used them to take two Colorado antelope last year, one nice buck at 100yds, and a doe at 250. The bullet performed perfectly. Totally satisfied, I gave away all the other ammo options I had in this caliber as I use 7mm with TSX for elk and larger game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gun loves this ammo

Date:March 2, 2011
My Remington Titanium .270 would not group with Hornady Light Mag ammo. Changed to Federal Premium loaded with Barnes Triple Shok problem over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Factory Ammo

Date:February 11, 2011
For factory, out of a box ammo, the .270 caliber 130 grain Nozzler Ballistic Tip has been a very consistant reliable ammo for my whitetail hunting use. I've been shooting this ammo for at least the last 15 years with excellent results. I'm not big into reloading and for something you can buy off the shelf at a reasonable price this ammo is hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado Elk hunter
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Antelope Hunt

Date:January 24, 2011
Worked for me! Took a 151/2 inch speed goat at 400yrds. Hit him a little too far foward in the shoulder and exited the rib cage . the animal didn"t take another step.Which is important for antelope!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Livermore,ca
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEAD-FREE AMMO

Date:January 18, 2011
I have hunted Blacktail deer in ca.all my life,and think that they are the hardest deer to harvest due to the conditions for the hunting season ! Good old ca.decided that the area that I hunt, used to be in the Condor range,so all the shells I had reloaded over the years could no longer be used, we were now-LEAD FREE ! I decided to try the Barnes lead free bullets, they are Great, not only do they pattern great, they are also deadly, I've had 4 1 shot kills, never a problem as some people have said !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: A western US seasoned hunter and fisherman
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A fine product

Date:January 6, 2011
I've used many different brands of .270 Winchester ammo over the years and the Federal Premium outshines them all. Their use of the Nosler bullets makes this ammo the finest money can buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Abita Springs, La.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 14, 2010
I purchased the Vital Shok in .270 150gr. partition because a friend recommended it to me. After some ballistics research I knew this ammo was for me. When I went to the range and shot some other brand first then this, WOW what a difference. It is expensive but worth it. This will be the ammo for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium .270 Win.

Date:September 19, 2010
This is some great ammunition for your .270. It shoots flat and delivers great down range energy. You owe it to your game to use the best ammunition you can afford and believe me, Federal Premium .270 with the Nosler partition is a great choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: northern calif
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

130gr, n/p .270 win.

Date:August 17, 2010
very accurate in my 60yr old win md. 70. however sure does a lot of damage, on entry site not so much on exit wound. I shot a 130lb. blacktail 4x4 here in northern calif. coastal season last week,one shot kill, lost both shoulders, heart and lots of lower ribs. THE bullet did more damage on a 240 lb. mule deer 4x4 I shot in nevada 2 yrs ago,almost 30 to 40 lbs of meat I wasn't able to salvage. however neither buck went more than 50 yards. I guess I will have to learn to shoot them in the neck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon -Namibia and South Africa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes bullets

Date:April 16, 2010
This is a outstanding store bought rifle shell and bullet .This shell ammo is very accurate shell w/the barnes bullet has GREAT knock down power for Africa plains game animals. All my shots had great knock down power from Springboks-Zebra-Gemsbucks
Africa game is famous for being tough to bring down and my animals were one shot kills w/with little or no tracking.
Bottom line.... These are the greatest shell/bullets on the market
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Burlington, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dolan

Date:April 12, 2010
Best ammo I ever shot. Expensive but worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal Premium® .270 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium .270 Win 130 Gr. TSX

Date:January 3, 2010
I bought these for my 2008 Winchester Model 70. Performance at the range was great (but a little expensive). Performance in the field this past season was even better. One well placed shot at a whitetail and it was game over. The Barnes TSX is a Grim Reaper.
I like the idea of a lead-free harvest. To me it's worth the extra cost of this ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 72