Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

Versatile .243 ammunition gives you the knockdown power for everything from prairie dogs to deer and all game in between. Barnes TSX ammo is lead-free and nontoxic. 20 per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
35 out of 38(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: st.louis mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very accurate ammo

Date:October 25, 2006
theas bullets are not cheep but they are worth every penny, you pay. i shot the 55 grain bullets out of my 243 and they are dead on. i cant wate to buy more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greenville, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes reliability

Date:November 20, 2006
The 85 grain Barnes Tripple Shock bullet that is loaded in this Federal Premium Ammunition allows me to shoot a very reliable bullet that won't fail on impact, without the heavy recoil! The deep penetration and energy transfer of this small bullet makes it as deadly as many heaver bullets of lesser quality. It has never let me down!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: repton, alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

8 point from repton, alabama

Date:June 13, 2007
i have put lots of rounds of different brands through my .243 win., but this ammo is by far the best i've ever used. the 85 grain b.t.h.p. sierra gameking is awesome on whitetail deer. it has good expansion and devistating energy transfer for such a small grain bullet. i would recommend this ammo to anyone that is serious about whitetail deer hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hackensack, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo

Date:October 16, 2007
This ammunition shoot consistently well in my Pre-64 Winchester Model 70. Our club has a Running Deer target which is electrically activated. The velocity of this ammo means short leads for me and a winning score at our Outings.
I expect it will perform excellently in the field on annimals like Springbok in Africa, or Pronghorn in Montana.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West coast of California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Federal .243 with Nosler Partition 100 g. bullet

Date:October 22, 2007
This has proven to be a great cartrige for my use on coastal deer and wild pig. I get excellent grouping regardless of the lot number on the box, each season shooting 1 1/2" groups or better from a Win model 88. The bullet ALWAYS stays together, going through bone makes this slug open to almost dime size in this caliber.
I don't hunt with other calibers, but punch paper with several, and Federal ammo has allowed me to retire my reloading equipment, and spend more time shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mt. Airy, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:December 6, 2007
I shot this out of my NEF Handy Rifle .243 and for the first shot it was great, dead accurate, which with a single shot is what I need; however, any shots afterward would be high and to the right (even with a shooting vise) and this is the only bullet to do that (with the dead accuracy of the first shot). I haven't taken any deer with it yet, but I'd only trust this bullet for the one shot one kill accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laredo, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate and Dependable

Date:January 7, 2008
My son (who is 8 yrs old) downed a Javelina in Laredo, Texas @ 179 yds. I shot another one the next day in the same blind. The week before, I used this ammo to sight the rifle in and had absolutely no problems. This ammo is great and dependable. Then again...Im shooting a custom made Mauser retro-fitted with a douglas 243 barrel. This barrel is a heavy barrel that has been crowned and free floated not to mention some glass bedding as well. The ammo will show its faults coming from an excellent shooting rifle. This ammo had no faults from my rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accuracy, Accuracy, Accuracy

Date:January 15, 2008
Highly recommended. Very accurate load. It does perform differently than the Nosler Partitions I usually use. I shot a deer in Southern Arizona this last season. The first bullet completely passed through the chest leaving a large exit wound that bled plenty. I like them to fall down, so I hit him again. This time in the neck. He dropped like a sack of sand. The second bullet passed completely through the spine. From talking to people at Barns, this is typical performance. Oh, 1/2 MOA at 200 yards isn't bad either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prunedale, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes TSX loaded by Federal

Date:March 7, 2008
Nice groups, clover leafs touching tightly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome!

Date:August 2, 2008
I shot a crow at 100 Yards and it blew it in half! I would highly recommend this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ALABAMA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

QUALITY

Date:October 14, 2008
SHOT 1" GROUP AT 100 YARDS. VERY GOOD PRODUCT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

243 tsx

Date:November 4, 2008
My 10 year old son shoots these in his 243. They are very accurate with no recoil. He shot 2 hogs on youth weekend. The first was a 220lb boar. One shot in the head knocked him down. We thought he was dead but he started getting up 5 mins later. Second shot to the head finished him off. The other was a 60lb sow, one shot in the head did the trick. Would recommend head shots only on hogs with this bullet. Should be fine on deer though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bismarck, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Performance and peace of mind all in one!!!

Date:November 20, 2008
These bullets are not cheap, but they are worth every penny. I switched to the all copper 85 gr. bullet this season. I have shot a pronghorn, three deer and a coyote so far this year. The bullets performed great at all distances for clean kills. The best part is that I don't have to worry about lead in the meat when I feed the wild game to my family. The only problem is that they are twice the price of the lead ammo I use to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brandon MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bullet

Date:December 16, 2008
My eleven year old shoots a .243 caliber with this ammunition. I am very impressed with the performance of the triple shock round. He has shot two bucks over 200 pounds with this round and neither have traveled over 40 yards. This is a great round for light caliber guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South-Central Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent Groups, Dead Pig

Date:September 26, 2009
Bought a Savage Model 11 Bolt Action .243 for the kids and thought I might feed it Federal Premium ammo with the 85gr Barnes TSX bullet. On sighting in, I managed to get a consistent 3090fps from the 22in barrel and 3/4in group at 100yds with the marginal Bushnell optics that came with the gun. Nice, light recoil suitable for 1st time deer hunters, too. I then adjusted the scope to shoot 2.25in high at 100yds for a 5.2in point blank range at almost 300yds.
A few days later, I went to my favorite deer stand to glass late evening deer movements and took the Savage with me should pest control opportunities arise. About sunset, I popped a 70-80lb feral sow at 230 yards, shoulder shot, and she dropped in her tracks. Not all that surprising, really. Barnes bullets have legendary penetration and at 230 yards, the flat-shooting TSX bullet was still one inch over line-of-sight and packing well over 1300 ft.lbs of energy on impact.
Come youth rifle season, this gun/bullet combo should wreak havoc on the 120lb whitetails we have here in south-central Oklahoma.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maywood, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Consistency

Date:October 1, 2009
I've used this ammo on targets for several years. It's consistently outstanding, giving me 3/4" to 1.25" groups rain or shine in any temperature. If it performs as well on game this year, I'll be a very happy hunter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Los Baos, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal STX all copper

Date:October 28, 2009
If you are wondering about changing over to an all copper bullet, don't worry about it any more. In Calif. we are required to use non-lead ammunition in our area. I was worried about the stopping power of the 85 gr. STX bullet since I had been using 100 gr. lead ever since I started with the .243. I am now changing all my ammunition to copper. I am sold on Federal ammunition and the STX bullet. My wife is the one who shoots this and every deer has gone right down with one shot. It takes a lot to impress me and I must say, "I'm impressed".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lawrence, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo

Date:November 3, 2009
Excellent ammo. Shot great out of my Rem 700. Sighted in on Friday - tight groups. Couldn't help but make make a bullseye every time from 100 yards. That saturday dropped a 6 pointer from 50 yards. Perfect shot. It ran about 20 yards before it dropped.
I was worried about the bullet being too light for deer hunting. But after seeing what it did to the heart and lungs, I'll be using this bullet from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Non-lead Triple Shock lacked knock down for me

Date:November 18, 2009
I wanted to go to non-lead ammo for environmental and health reasons, but I'm going back to lead after this year's experience. This .243 85 grain Barnes Triple Shock ammo patterned very well at the range. But after two 150 yard shots through the lungs, my Coues whitetail was still standing there broadside looking at me. He eventually went down, but these bullets had nowhere near the knock down power I expected. The bullets passed right through without expanding. Perhaps they would work better on thicker skinned animals, but this buck was only about 80 lbs field dressed and I expected a one shot quick kill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great performance

Date:November 24, 2009
After using several other brands for the past 20 years I have switched to the Federal premium with 100gr Sierra BT. My last antelope fell with one shot to the heart at 285 yards - that convinced me to stop looking. I use the NP version for deer. In my rifle the NP produces slightly tighter groups and a different point of impact.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 38