Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition

Versatile .243 ammunition gives you the knockdown power for everything from prairie dogs to deer and all game in between. Barnes TSX ammo is lead-free and nontoxic. 20 per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
35 out of 38(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.243 Win 85 Grain Sierra Game King BTHP

Date:December 7, 2009
After a long day at the range sighting in with the Barnes Triple shock version of the same ammo I was still not pleased with my results. For my first day in the field I decided to take the Sierra Game king BTHP 85 gr. I did not get a chance to see how this ammo shot at the range. Maybe next year because I filled my tag. The Sierra struck true at a 190 yards, exactly where i intended it to go. It expanded flawlessly and competely exited the deer, dropping it in it tracks. I used to hunt whitetail with my 300WSM and was not expecting anything near the same type of results. Comparing the two rifles to the deer I took with each, there will be no need to bring out the big guy anymore for deer season, just as long as federal keeps putting out such quality ammo. By the way, I was only able to find this exact ammuntion at Cabelas. Thanks again.
Tony
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: HARFORD COUNTY MARYLAND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FEDERAL FUSION AMMO

Date:January 4, 2010
100 GR. GREAT GROUPINGS @100 YDS VERY CLEAN BURNING GREAT SELECTION OF WEIGHTS AVAILABLE FOR VARIOUS ANIMALS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Wife's Preference

Date:March 22, 2010
My wife prefers to shoot this in her .243 when deer hunting. This bullet usually passes completely through the deer shot broadside and leaves a good blood trail. The deer don't usually go over 75 yards. She's killed approximately 10 mature bucks with this load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:January 6, 2011
Federal makes great ammo, Highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Peoria, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:January 13, 2011
I am looking for consistency and I found it with this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Miami, Fl
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:January 18, 2011
Been using the Federal 243 for the longest of time, great ammo for whitetail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brinson,Ga
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

243 ammo

Date:February 23, 2011
I am hooked, after only one hunting season, I know this the only ammo I will ever buy for my 243.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PASO ROBLES, CA.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Hunting Cartridge

Date:January 9, 2012
Federal's Premium vital shock 243 caliber 85 grain TSX bullet has proven to be a fantastic hunting round for my 12 year old son. This was his first year to hunt our local Blacktail Deer with his new 243. The bullet helped him to take his first Blacktail buck with a single well placed shot. I'm sure the accuracy and deadly nock down power of this round has been a real confidence booster to his shooting skills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

85 gr BTHP

Date:February 1, 2012
The "red mist" is evident using this round out of my pre '64 model 70. The heavier varmint round does better for me than the 70 gr BT. Prints all day long into sub moa at 200 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sierra 85gr, great bullet but not for deer

Date:March 6, 2012
I dropped a small doe in its tracks with this round, but it did kick around for a while, and almost got back up. After field dressing, it was clear that the bullet broke up too fast. The shot only being 30 yards may have something to do with that. If the deer were bigger and(or) the shot placement not as good, it may have gotten away. At the range, this round grouped under 3/4 inch at 100 yards. I was impressed. I will continue to use this round, but it will be for coyotes and woodchucks. I am currently considering the 85 grain barnes bullet for deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well worth the purchase.

Date:April 16, 2012
Had trouble shooting a good group at a 100 yards till I purchased the Federal Premium 243 ammunition and shot a quarter size group. I would recommend this ammo any time Littleebear
.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

love the tsx

Date:May 8, 2012
The 85 grain tsx proved very effective on my trip to africa last year on animals up to impala and had great knock down power on a 225 yd shot on a springbok.
I would gladly recommend this ammo for any deer size or smaller game
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer down

Date:December 5, 2012
Barnes TSX 85gr This is what I will use for some time to come. Deer went 30' and that was it. When sighting it was a tight group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

on target

Date:December 11, 2012
was all i expected. held very tight groups on paper, under 1/2" at 100 yds. took a 12 point buck with one shot. performed perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic ammunition

Date:May 7, 2013
I purchased a Winchester Featherweight in .243 for my daughter in law to hunt with this Fall. After bedding, trigger work and a Leupold scope were added/completed, I took it to the range and sighted in using this ammunition. After zero was achieved, I allowed the barrel to cool and then shot a 1/4 inch three shot group. I have taken whitetails up to 300 pounds using Barnes TSX bullets in 270 and 30 caliber. I cannot wait to see how this round performs this Fall!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:August 13, 2013
very reliable quality ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good cartridge

Date:October 29, 2013
Accurate and reasonably priced ammunition
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal Premium® .243 Winchester® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

X-Bolt - Barnes TSX Combo Not So Good

Date:November 3, 2013
At 100 yds.a 4" three shot group was the best I could get with a 243 Win. X-Bolt and Federal's load with the 85 gr. Barnes TSX bullet. For whatever reason the Micro Midas X-Bolt with a 20" barrel does not like the solid copper bullet. Rifle shoots other ammo just fine. And I use the TSX bullet with other rifles and it shoots great. Go figure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-38 of 38