Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets

HORNADY Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets

Hornady 7mm bullets come in a variety of models to meet your needs. Select models have Hornady's exclusive InterLock ring to ensure perfect expansion without jacket/core separation, making an excellent hunting bullet. The 139-grain Hornady SST (Super Shock Tipped) bullets are an exceptional bullet for deer-size game. The SST's sharp polymer tip was designed to shift the bullet's center of gravity, improving its ballistic coefficient for higher accuracy. The 162-grain A-MAX® boasts the Ultra-Low Drag™ tip for the ultimate match bullet. Interbond bullets are made with a proprietary bonding process and an expansion control ring that locl the jacket and core together into a single mass that retains 90% of its weight at impact. Per 100.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
55 out of 57(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Review 21 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009

Nosler ballistic bullets

By
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Exactly as advertised, can't ask for more than that.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2009

hornady bullets

By
Location: phoenix az.
The bullets load good and shot good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2009

Hornady: Top Shelf

By
Location: Greenville, SC
As usual Hornady has produced another great bullet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2009

Good for shooting bad for hunting

By
Location: Boise, Id
I bought and reloaded hornady SST 154 grains for my 7mm mag. Reloaded with federal 215m primers and 70 grains of retumbo. The bullets shoot excellent groups anywhere from 100 to 400 yards. However after shooting a black bear, 3 point white tail and huge 4 point, I stopped hunting with them simply because they were exploding on impact. I still use SST's for targets and varmints, but have switched to barnes tsx 150 grain for hunting. The price is very nice compared to barnes though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2010

Excellent Accuracy

By
Location: VT & MO
I've loaded Hornady 139gr. SST and BTSP as well as 175gr. RN bullets for my Browning A-Bolt .280 Rem.
Trying different powders, charges, primers and headspacing, I have worked out loads with these bullets that give me .3MOA groups or less.
That's great for a hunting load. I have gotten Similar and better results with Hornady bullets in other calibers as well.
I also load Sierra and Speer bullets and find them ALL to be exceptional with a little research and work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2010

139 gr sst

By
Gender: Male
i shoot the 139 gr sst out of my 7mm-08 in a savage i get great accuracy. i havent had a deer go more than 50 yds after being shot. i have killed 3 deer with them and one was a gut shot that only went 50 yds after being shot. this bullet causes lots of damage
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2011

Good purchase

By
Location: Kansas City
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Impressed, they shot out of the end of my rifle barrel as planned. Yes, I would buy them again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

Thumbs up to Hornady products

By
Location: York, SC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
These bullets are as good as they come. I took a box and weighed a handful on my digital scale to see how accurate there weight was, and yep you guessed it, they were right on the money, which is what you would expect from a match bullet and not necessarily a hunting bullet. But as always, Hornady products demand the best and that is exactly what you get.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011

7mm 162gr. SST Bullets

By
Location: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The 162gr. SST is my choice for all big game out here in the West - where everything is the BEST! I've taken Bulls & Bucks with this bullet. I have experienced great accuracy, penetration, and weight retention with this bullet. My shots tend to be in the 300 - 500 yard range. I find it amusing that the 7mm isn't even mentioned in any Elk hunting articles in hunting magazines. Especially since my Uncle has taken more 6 & 7 point Bull Elk in the Uinta Mountains, with a .243 no less, than anyone I know. Whether it's a .243 or .338 it's all about shot placement! This bullet is fantastic. I highly recommend it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2011

Hornady 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets

By
Location: Oak Park, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Good bullet for medium to large game
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2011

What's so plain about vanilla?

By
Location: Eckert, Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Yes, Hornady Interlock bullets are about as 'plain' as it gets (short of the cup-n-core from green, red, and blue box ammo from 40 years and more ago). But many is the time when you don't need anything but the standard. They are always tough in the pinch and if you put them where they belong, even 'bull-zilla isn't going far before he has X's for eyes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2011

I'm a fan!

By
Location: Portland OR
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Cabela's delivers quality at an unbeatable price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2011

Superb ammo

By
Location: Quartz Hill,CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Very good ballistics and well-made ammo for the Mauser.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2011

Hornady Ammo Best I have used

By
Location: Id
Gender: Male
"The best I have found period!!! I have used Hornady ammo for 9 years and 6 different calibers now and am more than satisfied.204, .223, 22-250, .243, 7mag and .308 and it has surpassed my initial expectation with accuracy and knock down. I use the Vmaxes for my varmint guns and they are awesome with DRT all the time and never had a run off on coyotes with them. The newest run has been with the 154 grain SST's it killed a 6 foot black bear this spring with no problems the kill shot being 300 yards away and it dropped like a ton off bricks and a nice 165 inch mule deer last fall at 225 DRT also. Great accurate bullet, load developement on all of them has been easy, for some reason they are more forgiving and accurate than all other brands I have tried. I don't even buy other bullets anymore it is Hornany only, on my reloading bench.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2011

Hornady 7mm 139gr Interlock

By
Location: Buford, Georgia
My 7mm-08 likes them, best groups have been: one ragged hole from the bench @ 100 yds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2011

Outstanding accuracy and consistency

By
Location: Boiling Springs, PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These are great bullets. I use them in 139 grain 7mm SST in my .280 Remington, and I also use them in 180 grain .30-06 SST, to duplicate the Hornady Superformance bullets I used to use before I started reloading.
They are true to form, give me great results, and are good looking, too! I load them with 53.5 grains of IMR 4350 in .280 (2900 fps), and 54.5 grains of IMR 4350 in .30-06 (2700 fps).
Watch out, deer!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

7 MM 162 grain A-Max Bullets

By
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
I use these bullets in my Ram Loads out to 500 meters. Out of my rifles they shoot more accurately than the other brands I have used. They have a higher B.C. which helps better overcome wind drift at long range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2012

7mm (.284) 162 grn SST

By
Location: longview,wa
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I loaded up 6 test loads for my 7mm rem mag and all groups held under 1 moa most groupings were between .600-.750 but I was able to get a .530 group with 58 grns of H4831
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

Amax bullets are great

By
Location: Santa Maria,CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very nice bullet for target and hunting thin skin deer. Hornady makes the amax very affordable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hornady® 7mm .284" Diameter Rifle Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Hornady Is the best bullets

By
These bullets are much better than Remington cheap bullets. They are made to exactly the right diameter. When I purchased remington bullets, they were a little too skinny (.282) I believe. They are very accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 57