Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

Ballistic Silvertip® rifle ammunition has proven Nosler Ballistic Tips for ultimate extreme-range performance. The solid base boattail design and special jacket contours team with the  polymer tip to maximize long-range accuracy with reduced cross-wind drift. A lead-alloy core aids penetration and weight retention. Expansion and penetration characteristics are either controlled or rapid, depending on the caliber. Patented Winchester Lubalox® coating reduces barrel fouling. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.601 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(441 Reviews) 441
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 441 reviews
5 Stars
353
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
15
1 Star
15
401 out of 441(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2006

deadly bullets

By
i have shot a lot of deer with these bullets in the 130gr weight class. they are very accurate and drop the deer in their tracks. even bad shots are good shots with these bullets. i shoot them through a 7600 rem. .270
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2006

Ballistic Silvertips for your 7600

By
Location: Mansfield,Ohio
Guys if you own a Remington 7600, 30-06 caliber , the Ballistic Silvertip 150 gr will have your gun shooting the best it ever has.
I've tryed many different brands and grain with my 7600,and nothing has come close to the consistantcy of the Winchester Ballistic Silvertip. This is the one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2006

Great Ammo

By
Location: Denver, Colorado
I use this ammo in my 300 wsm and it shoots very consistent and the expansion on impact is great. I would highly recommend this ammo especially to deer hunters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2006

Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertips

By
Location: Texas
I've used the WSBS in several different calibers and rifles and have never been disappointed with their performance! They are extremely accurate, expand very well on small to medium size game (varmints, hogs, deer etc...) and have always had terminal performance. I've used these bullets in the following calibers/grains: 25.06 - 115 Gr., .270 - 130 Gr,. 30.06 - 150 Gr., .308 - 150/168 Gr., .300 WSM - 150/168/180 Gr. (Browning Bar 25.06, Browning A-Bolt in .270/30.06/.300 WSM). My Browning rifles really like these bullets, both factory and reloads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2006

Balistic Silvertip

By
Location: Alvin, Texas
These bullets rock they are so accurate my .300 WSM puts 5 under an inch at 100 and thats with FACTORY AMMO. I shot a 160 lbs. hog with one and the bullet penetrated 24 inches lengthwise through the hog forming a perfect mushroom. I've also shot a deer with one at 100 yds. The bullet passed through hitting ribs on both sides. Both of these animals went down and never moved.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2006

Great Bullet

By
Location: Adams, NY
I shoot 180 grain in the 30.06 caliber and every deer that I hit with my Remington 7400 has dropped in it's tracks, whether it was 10 yards or 250 yards. Best bullet for deer period !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2006

Small Caliber, Great Results

By
Location: New Richmond, WI
I was recently on an Antelope/Mule Deer hunt in southeastern Wyoming, had 115 gr. Ballistic tip chambered in the .25 wssm. I was a bit skeptical with hunting Mule Deer with this caliber but when it came to crunch time this bullet did its job. I took a 28" wide 5x6 at 406 yards and he dropped in his tracks. I also took a 68" Antelope at 226 yards, he also fell in his tracks. I would strongly reccomend the silver tip in any caliber to anyone who is venturing out to the western states to take on some of the longer range shooting in the prairie lands.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2006

the best

By
Location: tooele, utah
I shoot 270 wsm at three hunder yard by useing my range finder with one shot went throught the deer and left a four inch exit hole.
most bulit would not have come out.
my partner now is going to by these bulit for him self
the point is grate bulit that dose the job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2006

Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertip

By
Location: Colorado
I sighted in my old pre '64 Winchester 30-06 with the 150 grain Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertip 3" high at 100 yards. I have not used this particular ammunition before but I painstakingly went over all the ammo options at Cabela's and picked out what I thought was the best overall choice because of its performance and price. I was looking forward to trying them on Colorado buck antelope. A couple friends and I scouted over 200 miles the day before the season opened and found some pretty nice bucks, although they were very, very spooky and nervous. Getting close appeared to be an impossible task. On opening day, I crept down a long ridge above 25 head of antelope with one herd buck and touched off a shot from a bipod rest 330 yards away (ranged with my rangefinder from Cabela's) and 200 yards below me. One shot aimed dead center, one center punched antelope taken with the best bullet I've ever put through my rifle and I've put a bunch through it over the years. We successfully harvested 3 antelope bucks - 13 1/2", 14 1/2" and 15 3/4" before dark, opening day. The Winchester ballistic Silvertip must have felt at home in the Pre '64 Winchester. They complemented each other and I don't think I'll ever shoot anything else again. Performance of the bullet was phenomenal. At 330 yards, the bullet went completely through the buck destroying both lungs. He ran his life out in about 100 yards. I highly recommend the Ballistic Silvertip for all hunting opportunities involving long range targets! I'll give the 165 grain Ballistic Silvertip a try on mulies and elk next year!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2006

Knock Down Power

By
Location: Lebanon, MO
This Bullet in has great knock down power. Within the past four years i have started using this ammunition, and i have shot 5 deer. All of the deer that i have shot have dropped or ran at the most 20 yards. That is not with shooting them twice either, one shot every time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2006

Deadly

By
This ammo has dropped numerous deer for me over the last 3 years (168gr in 30-06). It is accurate and deadly!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

These bullets really take them down.

By
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I have been using these shells for about 3 years and I have founf them to be consistantly accurate and dependable.
I have never had a misfire or dud and they really deliver a punch. I have dropeed everythin I have hit with these shells dead in their tracks.
I will continue to use these shells exclusively as long as they are around.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

worked great

By
Location: Southern Maryland
220 yards on a 300+ lbs mountain goat in Alaska and the goat went 20 yards.
The ammo didn't provide quite the groups I was looking for but all in all performs very well out of my rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Winchester Supreme? Ballistic Silvertip? Rifle Amm

By
Location: Meridian, ID
I have been using this ammo for 3 years now and have harvested several big game amimals (Elk, Caribou and Deer) with repeated success. Every shot taken had proved to be lethel. Additionally the accuracy competes with my own handloads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

.25 wsm Ballistic silver tip

By
Location: La.
This is an excellent round for white tail and varmits! It is fast with a flat tradjectory and has good stopping ability. I recommend it without reservation!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Wichester Supreme Ballistic Silvertips

By
Location: Moyock N.C.
I am very impressed with the consistant, shot after shot tight group placement that this bullet provides. I shoot this round both in .300 Win. Mag. and .243 WSSM and in both calibre's I receive the same consistant grouping. The silver tip bullet provides long range accuracy and great penatration.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Winchester Ballistic Silvertip 25/06 ammo

By
Location: Cheyenne,Wyoming
Excellent,awsome performance on a mule deer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

awesome

By
Location: Eureka, Ca.
the noseler tips hold form for accuracy and distance with plenty of impact, even after being reloaded into magazine and chamber many times.
Price is an affordable value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

150 Grain Winchester Balistic Silvertip

By
Location: I am primarily a western states mountain hunter.
I have shot one large 4 x 5 Rocky Mountain Mule Deer Buck and 3 good Coues Deer Bucks with this bullet at ranges from 140 yards to about 330 yards. In every case, the bullet penetrated completely and did extensive damage in the process. It is very accurate in my Winchester Model 70 Featherweight rifle. One thing that I really like about this ammunition is that it burns so clean. The combination of Winchester ball powder and the coated bullets makes the rifle really easy to clean after firing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Winchester .270 WSM BST

By
Location: Dallas Tx
I believe this load is overpriced for it's performance. Buy Remington and save the few extra bucks. Remingtons group just as good if not better in my gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 441