Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

Ballistic Silvertip® rifle ammunition has proven Nosler Ballistic Tips for ultimate extreme-range performance. The solid base boattail design and special jacket contours team with the  polymer tip to maximize long-range accuracy with reduced cross-wind drift. A lead-alloy core aids penetration and weight retention. Expansion and penetration characteristics are either controlled or rapid, depending on the caliber. Patented Winchester Lubalox® coating reduces barrel fouling. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.599 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(426 Reviews) 426
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 426 reviews
5 Stars
340
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
15
1 Star
14
387 out of 426(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Review 41 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cracked Case! Quality Control is Lacking!

Date:February 28, 2013
I have a Remington Model 700 chambered in 22-250. I have been trying to find the factory round that shoots the best through my rifle, and I have tried out 7 or 8 types of ammo. This was the worst ammunition I tried. It printed a 3", 5-shot group at 100 yards, shooting off of a sandbag. It might shoot better in your rifle, but the main problem I had was that one of the rounds would not chamber. I inspected it and found that THE CASE WAS CRACKED AROUND THE NECK! Quality control is clearly lacking. This is not a high quality product, and is not worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good all around cartridge

Date:January 27, 2013
I'm running these out of a Weatherby Vanguard varmit rifle chambered for .223. The rifle loves Hornady V-Max and regularly shoots 1/2 MOA. But I wanted a heavier bullet for an upcoming javelina hunt. The Nosler has a solid base and offers high BC with a little more punch due to the thicker base. These shoot MOA - not as good as the V-Max, but offer additional certainty should a tougher bullet be needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad batches

Date:January 24, 2013
I have shot several boxes in a 308 150 gr. Some boxes shoot sub 1" groups with no problems, but the occasional box will spread out over 12" at 100 yards. Not reliable at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hang fires .308 BST

Date:January 4, 2013
I usually hunt with the winchester's BST on all my other caliber rifles and have not have any problems. But the 308 BST would not go off in neither 2 of my bolt actions rifles. I switched back to the 308 Win Soft Point and both gun shoots under 1 MOA at 100 yard. May be just a bad batch. I will just stick to SP from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:December 27, 2012
Bullet is extremely accurate in my 700. I shot a whitetail this year with it and it did not run more than 40 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mediocre results for accuracy

Date:December 12, 2012
I was really excited to try these out for longer distance hunting, i was sadly disappointing by the accuracy of the rounds in my rifle. I spent several rounds at the range chasing my zero only to discover the bullets just dont group well compared to the cheap winchester Super X. Ive also read the nickel plated brass isnt the best for reloading
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

winchester ballistic silver tips

Date:November 26, 2012
I bought these after a buddy recommended them. I am very impressed! I killed 2 deer with 1 shot on the last day of the missouri Firearms season. The front deer dropped and the second deer went 30 yards and dropped! Now there is a button buck and small doe occupying my freezer! I will never shoot any other ammo. I shoot the 150 grain and my buddy shoots the 180 grain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad Brass??

Date:November 25, 2012
I have had bad experiences with this products brass. The rim was so thick that I was unable to get the bolt closed on my win model 70 30.06. A friend of mine bought several boxes for his .270 and several out of each box would not even chamber. His daughter fired her ruger m77 .270 and was unable to unchamber the round and after being sent off to ruger the verdict was that the brass ruptured and ruined the gun. Ruger replaced the gun for free. The only reason I gave 2 stars instead of one is because I have a savage model 12 .223 and with these WIN 50 gr. BST it will shoot a tiny ragged hole at 100 yards and no brass issues. If it was only my gun that had problems with brass I might overlook it but when my friends daughter ruined her gun due to this brass issue I believe that is more reason for concern. Don't ever like to give a bad review but this is an honest one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly Ammo

Date:November 23, 2012
The Ballistic Silvertip is the only ammo I use in my Browning A-bolt 300 WSM. Down range accuracy is awesome!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 19, 2012
These bullets are one of the best I have found. Great knock down power and perfect expansion for the deer I hunt here in California I tried others but come back to these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:November 19, 2012
I bought two boxes, they were a little pricey, but they are hard to find. I'm happy with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performance++

Date:November 19, 2012
Took a large Texas Mule Buck with 30-06 180 gr BST at 120 yards. Bullet went through & destroyed hard Ball & Socket of left leg, literally shredded soft lung & heart tissue and exited through right upper leg. Mulie collapsed immediately where he stood. More damage than I have seen from any other bullet in 35 years of hunting on 3 continents.
This is now my bullet of first choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works equal in all my guns

Date:October 31, 2012
no mater what caliber 7mm-08,300wsm,280remington they do the job wont shoot anything else
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best 25.06 deer load I have used.

Date:October 16, 2012
This load shoots consitent 1.25" groups at 100 yards from my rifle. I have used it on West Texas mule deer, MO whitetail and two feral hogs. All were one shot stops and none of the animals went more than 25 yards. It is a good overall deer load and worth consideration for your rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammo

Date:October 15, 2012
I ordered this ammunition,and four days later i had it.There's no need to go on about the ammunition.Winchester Ballistic Supreme is the best hunting ammo money can buy,maybe not the most expensive,but the best.Thanks Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:September 17, 2012
Great bullet, very accurate and dependable have been using them for years. Great all around all year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whitetail SLAYER!!!

Date:August 20, 2012
I use the 180gr 30-06 Silvertips, and I have NEVER had a deer die out of my sight. There is no other product besides my Remington rifle that I trust more than these bullets. And when you're confident in your shot you are much more calm and accurate when a big buck comes into your crosshairs. Best load I have ever shot without a doubt!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

silvertip

Date:August 16, 2012
Great bullet, very accurate and dependable have been using them for years. Great all around all year and any temperature!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:August 1, 2012
This stuff is accurate, easy to clean after shooting. Operates easily in action. I have enough to last a few seasons.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:June 26, 2012
I shoot it in my S&W M&P 223 AR-15. It doesn't jam at all and is very accurate with tight grouping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 426