Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

Ballistic Silvertip® rifle ammunition has proven Nosler Ballistic Tips for ultimate extreme-range performance. The solid base boattail design and special jacket contours team with the  polymer tip to maximize long-range accuracy with reduced cross-wind drift. A lead-alloy core aids penetration and weight retention. Expansion and penetration characteristics are either controlled or rapid, depending on the caliber. Patented Winchester Lubalox® coating reduces barrel fouling. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.608 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(439 Reviews) 439
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 439 reviews
5 Stars
352
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
15
1 Star
14
400 out of 439(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Review 41 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elk Rounds

Date:November 20, 2013
Coefficient performance and Accuracy of these rounds are outstanding in 30 Caliber 180 gr. rounds used in rifles like my 300 Win Mag.
Hit a 5x5 Elk at 300 yards, one shot, one kill.
The bullet was located inside to opposite side hide after passing through the animal. All energy stayed inside the animal, giving a clean kill.
I recommend these ballistic silver tips for Long Range shooting at medium to heavy game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DONE

Date:November 19, 2013
ANYTHING YOU HIT WITH A 30-06 150 GRAIN IS DONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:October 29, 2013
I haven't used them for hunting yet but they were very accurate when sighting in my new rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Would not shoot accurately out of my gun

Date:October 29, 2013
Purchased these for an upcoming hunt however I could not get them to group much better than 5" groups. Not all ammo shoots well out of all guns I guess... Went with Hornady with less than 1" groups...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:October 22, 2013
Best price hope you all will them always
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

270wsm Tikka T3

Date:September 4, 2013
My first choice for thin skinned game. I've killed mule deer, antelope and a dall sheep with this ammo. I'm shooting a Tikka T2 in 270wsm with a Leupold VX 2 3-9x40 scope. I shoot out to 500 yards with no problem hitting a 12" target and usually within a 8" group at that range. At 200 yards you can cover 3 shots with a quarter. I killed a dall sheep in Alaska at 404 yards in August 2013. Great ammo.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff!

Date:June 25, 2013
I went thru at least 5 different facrory loads searching for the tightest groups from my Savage 30-06. These Ballistic Tips proved to be the ones for my rifle.
I started reloading with a receipe as close to the factory spec on these as I could and got great results.
Now a couple years later, the supplies are harder to get than these factory loads. I was pleased to find I could go back to these and they still group great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

over priced bullets

Date:May 29, 2013
These are good bullets and will put a thump on a hog.
I have not had a chance to put one through an elk yet, but suspect it will git er done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works

Date:May 7, 2013
good shooting ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not in my 308

Date:April 9, 2013
Tried the 150 gr .308 BST's in my Remy 700. The rifle would not group these better than 4" at 100. Ultimately went with Hornady SST and got 0.6" group so that is my goto load in that rifle.
I will give it a second chance in my Sako 85 7mm Rem Mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Round

Date:March 26, 2013
I have used this ammo for years and have had great success. Knocks em down... Highly recommend..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deer and elk load

Date:March 26, 2013
Best ammo I've found for my browning 7mm mag. Without having to load my own, very accurate at distances out to 500 yards.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost!

Date:March 25, 2013
Almost everything about these rounds are perfect. I bought two boxes of them and sighted in one one box. the reason I am giving 4 stars is because out of the 40 rounds, one of them had a damaged neck on the casing. it would probably shoot fine, but frankly I'm not going to risk it. But I'm getting 1 inch groups out of the 95 gr .243's and that is resting on a gun case, and I'm not the best shot out there. I'd guesstimate around 3/4 to 1/2 inch groups with a more exact system. i'd pay double for this kind of accuracy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cracked Case! Quality Control is Lacking!

Date:February 28, 2013
I have a Remington Model 700 chambered in 22-250. I have been trying to find the factory round that shoots the best through my rifle, and I have tried out 7 or 8 types of ammo. This was the worst ammunition I tried. It printed a 3", 5-shot group at 100 yards, shooting off of a sandbag. It might shoot better in your rifle, but the main problem I had was that one of the rounds would not chamber. I inspected it and found that THE CASE WAS CRACKED AROUND THE NECK! Quality control is clearly lacking. This is not a high quality product, and is not worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good all around cartridge

Date:January 27, 2013
I'm running these out of a Weatherby Vanguard varmit rifle chambered for .223. The rifle loves Hornady V-Max and regularly shoots 1/2 MOA. But I wanted a heavier bullet for an upcoming javelina hunt. The Nosler has a solid base and offers high BC with a little more punch due to the thicker base. These shoot MOA - not as good as the V-Max, but offer additional certainty should a tougher bullet be needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad batches

Date:January 24, 2013
I have shot several boxes in a 308 150 gr. Some boxes shoot sub 1" groups with no problems, but the occasional box will spread out over 12" at 100 yards. Not reliable at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hang fires .308 BST

Date:January 4, 2013
I usually hunt with the winchester's BST on all my other caliber rifles and have not have any problems. But the 308 BST would not go off in neither 2 of my bolt actions rifles. I switched back to the 308 Win Soft Point and both gun shoots under 1 MOA at 100 yard. May be just a bad batch. I will just stick to SP from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:December 27, 2012
Bullet is extremely accurate in my 700. I shot a whitetail this year with it and it did not run more than 40 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mediocre results for accuracy

Date:December 12, 2012
I was really excited to try these out for longer distance hunting, i was sadly disappointing by the accuracy of the rounds in my rifle. I spent several rounds at the range chasing my zero only to discover the bullets just dont group well compared to the cheap winchester Super X. Ive also read the nickel plated brass isnt the best for reloading
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

winchester ballistic silver tips

Date:November 26, 2012
I bought these after a buddy recommended them. I am very impressed! I killed 2 deer with 1 shot on the last day of the missouri Firearms season. The front deer dropped and the second deer went 30 yards and dropped! Now there is a button buck and small doe occupying my freezer! I will never shoot any other ammo. I shoot the 150 grain and my buddy shoots the 180 grain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 439