Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

Ballistic Silvertip® rifle ammunition has proven Nosler Ballistic Tips for ultimate extreme-range performance. The solid base boattail design and special jacket contours team with the  polymer tip to maximize long-range accuracy with reduced cross-wind drift. A lead-alloy core aids penetration and weight retention. Expansion and penetration characteristics are either controlled or rapid, depending on the caliber. Patented Winchester Lubalox® coating reduces barrel fouling. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.598 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(406 Reviews) 406
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 406 reviews
5 Stars
324
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
13
1 Star
14
369 out of 406(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Review 41 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast

Date:May 18, 2012
Great round for this caliber, fast and flat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo!!!

Date:May 17, 2012
I shot a coyote with this ammo and it was very effective. The coyote dropped. Great exit hole. The best predator ammo I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:May 16, 2012
nice clean ammo / fed well with no issues - a little pricey but worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

you are looking at the best!

Date:May 16, 2012
a friend gave me a couple of his 243 winchester 95gr.
ballistic,silvertip, i hit a bad shot on deer at a 200
yards.droped it in it's tracks.exit hole huge!
i have used these for years.
sure you can buy cheper amo, but you want get
the results like this. i will be 60 this month
and i tried cheper amo.
thanks winchester & cabelas.
rick p.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal

Date:May 8, 2012
Service was fast, delivered in three days from the order date at a reasonable price. A real help for busy people.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

223-55 grain balistic silvertips

Date:May 3, 2012
I shot these religiously out of my Armalite 16 inch AR. Easily shooting 1/2-3/4 inch 100 yard groups, even with a hot barrel. I killed numerous groundhogs, a gobbler, and the biggest whitetail buck of my life with these. Unbelievable exit holes. The whitetail had no exit, but stumbled maybe 40 yards, this was a behind the shoulder shot. I was completely amazed at the internal damage, and this was from a lowly, little 55 grain bullet in 223 caliber. Absolutely love these rounds. Cant wait to get them for my 308 and my 7mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Abilene, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't go wrong

Date:April 16, 2012
Best all around ammo I have ever used. I have been shooting for 45 years and have used numerous different manufacturer's ammo, but I always come back to Winchester Ballistic Silvertip. It's clean burning, accurate and reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ammo for deer, antelope

Date:April 16, 2012
Have killed over 100 specimens up to 250 pounds and approx 75% dropped where shot, the remainder within 25-40 yards. only one deer had no exit wound and no bleeding but ran approx 30 yards.(bullet penetrated right shoulder but never exited). Earlier last season I ran out of this ammo and purchased another type of hunting ammo.and 4 of 8 deer ran approx 50 yards,2 approx 25 yards, and only 2 fell where shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: irwinville,georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

going out on a limb

Date:April 11, 2012
the reason i say i'm going out on a limb is because i am gonna go ahead and front these bullets,i say it because i have not yet fired one of these bullets through my rifle. but i will, i have yet to put one in a whitetail but hopefully i will. i guess what i'm trying to say is based on the reputation of winchester i am not afraid to say i believe i am confident this is a good bullet,because to date i have not shot a bad winchester bullet and i think i have shot all winchester has to offer.word of mouth also brought these bullets to my attention.i will be locked and loaded with these bullets opening morning of rifle season this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ammo !

Date:April 2, 2012
If you want tighter grouping and ammo that will put game down.....Then u have no choice but to shoot with this......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Performer

Date:April 2, 2012
I have used Winchester Ballistic Silvertip ammo in larger calibers for African plains game and been extremely impressed with their performance. We have recovered bullets from just under the hide on the opposite shoulder and find that they hold together very well. I am a believer. My most recent purchase was for a new 25-06 and I expect the same performance as I have seen in the past.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Buy

Date:March 29, 2012
With my 243 i was putting 1 inch groups in the bulleyes at 200 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bossier City, LA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo--hog and deer killers!

Date:March 20, 2012
I am a huge fan of ballistic-tip bullets. I love the .308 round, and shoot all the time. I generally use Federal Gold Medal Match to "practice" with my .308s when accuracy counts--168 grainers (M1A and Weatherby rifles). I came across the Winchester Ballistic Silvertips and found they fly just like the match ammo. They group superbly, and the ballistic tip bullet has no match as far as I'm concerned where terminal ballistics come into play. The last two deer I have killed on my south Texas ranch have been 250yds + (250 and 300) and dropped in their tracks. The same performance on 200+ yard hogs and javelinas, too. Drops them in their tracks. This IS my hunting ammo. I am a believer. I have even given boxes away to my friends so they can experience the same performance I have experienced. I pick up a box every time I walk by one. I want a healthy supply of these rounds--always.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: west virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worth it

Date:March 19, 2012
used the 150gr in 30-06 this past deer season and i couldnt be more satisfied. shot a doe at 50-60yds and lets just say tracking wasnt needed. hit a bit high on the shoulder and it passed through the deer and the tree behind it. entry hole was the size of a pencil and the exit hole was the size of my fist. simply put, this is one explosive round, just make sure of shot placement as to not destroy meat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester .270 Ballistic Silver Tip

Date:March 5, 2012
Outstanding product!! Accuracy is second to none. I killed my first deer with this ammo in .270 and I'll never shoot anything else!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy Winchester Ballistic Silvertip ammo!

Date:March 4, 2012
I ordered a box of Winchester Ballistic Silvertip 338 Win Mag rounds from Cabela's just to give them a try. When I opened the box and pulled out a round, it had had damaged brass on the collar that was actually torn and bent away from the bullet. I inspected every other round in the box, and many of them were contaminated with gunpowder and brass shavings. I will never buy another box of Winchester ammo! No reflection on Cabela's, but Winchester Ammunition should be embarrassed to sell junk like that. I'm going to stick with Federal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

inconsistent with my gun

Date:February 2, 2012
I know all guns like different ammo, but I had trouble getting my savage 116 300wm bear hunter with a zeiss conquest scope to be consistent with this 180gr ammo. They werent terible groups, but never got it sucked in tight. Tried PPU 180 gr and had better success...(who'd have thought it)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:February 1, 2012
I used these 150 grain bullets on my hunting trip to Canada. The guide told me to use 150 grains, not the 180. I killed four bears with this ammo in Northern Canada, two of them trophy blacks with one of them at 8 feet square. The largest bear I killed with these was with a lung shot through and through, and it was only one shot. He went about 50 yds and died. The experience I had was great with this ammo and it did the job and then some. I have also used this ammo exclusively in Wyoming on 4 large mule deer and 4 antelope. Needless to say one shot was all it took and it did great. I am sure other ammo is just good, but I did want to tell my experience with this ammo at 150 grains. Quality ammunition for hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Factory Ammo

Date:January 29, 2012
I have had good success with the .243 95 gr Ballistic Tip and the .270 140 gr Accubonds. Not so good with the .300 Win Mag 180 gr Ballistic Tip. Probably depends more on your gun. All of these are out of Savage 116, 111 and 11 rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance and product!

Date:January 28, 2012
I have been an avid shooter and hunter for a period of time. The Ballistic silvertip ammunition have demonstrated time and time again that it maintains consistent performance on paper and out in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 406