Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

Ballistic Silvertip® rifle ammunition has proven Nosler Ballistic Tips for ultimate extreme-range performance. The solid base boattail design and special jacket contours team with the  polymer tip to maximize long-range accuracy with reduced cross-wind drift. A lead-alloy core aids penetration and weight retention. Expansion and penetration characteristics are either controlled or rapid, depending on the caliber. Patented Winchester Lubalox® coating reduces barrel fouling. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(430 Reviews) 430
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 430 reviews
5 Stars
344
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
15
1 Star
14
391 out of 430(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Review 261 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great stuff

Date:May 15, 2008
i have shot these for two years now and had great success with them never lost a deer i use a 7mm my friend uses a 280 and i have watched him shoot a doe right behind the shoulder only to have it run off no blood nothing he was using remington core locks and i told him to try these he has shot one deer with these bullets it dropped in its tracks great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 262 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Currently living in Australia, from NZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Never lost a deer

Date:May 5, 2008
Awesome and devastating ammunition.
I have never had a deer (Red Deer) take more than one step after hitting them with using this ammunition.
I have always shot running deer (some from chopper) and cannot believe it's stopping power.
I shoot with a .308 Ruger with 180 grain in New Zealand. Highly recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 263 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hiawatha, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best bullet out

Date:April 22, 2008
This is the only bullet that shoots true out of my .270 everytime. When i target shoot, my shots are all touching from 100 yards out. I cant say that about the other brands of bullets. Although the price is high, the performance is shown in the field, or at the range. Every deer i have shot with this bullet have either dropped right in their tracks, or barely went anywhere. I have never had to track an animal since changing to this bullet. I suggest this bullet to anyone that hasnt tried it yet. You wont be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 264 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Amm

Date:April 10, 2008
I have used this ammunition in both .243 Winchester and .270 Winchester calibers since its release by Winchester/Nosler and every whitetail deer I have shot dropped in its tracks. Sniper type shooting, 1 shot - 1 kill with no tracking required. Extremely accurate. If a better round of ammunition is available it is kept a secret. I wouldn't consider hunting with any other ammunition period.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 265 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WINCHESTER SUPREME-243 WIN 95 GR.KNOCK ELK DEAD

Date:April 10, 2008
I WENT ELK HUNTING AND I WAS WONDERING WILL THIS AMMO TAKE ONE DOWN IN A SHOT?
ANSWER CAME WHEN A 10X8 BULL STEPED OUT AT 200 YARDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 266 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Del Rio, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE!!!!!

Date:March 28, 2008
I used to use another manufaturer's ammunition, but found the performance and ability to feed reliably average at best. I switched to the Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertip Ammunition after reading reviews posted here, and I must say that this bullet in .30-06 caliber, 180 grain weight, coupled with my Winchester Model 70 is more than enough for anything that I may encounter in Southwest Texas.
This is to include feral hog, of which 4 total have dropped after a single shot. Two at over a hundred yards and both weighing over 300 lbs and this was at night with just a spotlight. This ammunition is also extremely effective on native and non-native deer species.
An excellent product for any rifle hunting situation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 267 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Zebulon, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:March 25, 2008
This is what I use to hunt with. I wouldn't hunt with any other bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 268 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: White Lake, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance - worth the few extra dollars!

Date:March 17, 2008
Great rifle ammo. Shooting 55GR BST in 243 Winchester and 130GR BST in 270 Winchester (Both Weatherby Vanguard models) and the groups are tight and consistant and bullet performance on game is outstanding. Hard hitters to be certain!
The Supreme cartridges take thier place with the the best "all arounds" available from any manufacturer. Buy a box and try them at the range. If they group good in your gun they wont fail in performance on game. Good shooting. Wolf
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 269 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salem, Or
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Among most accurate I've tried

Date:February 29, 2008
I have a .243 WSSM and so ammo is limited. I have tried the 100 grain standard loads and then handloaded various bullet weights myself. I loaned the rifle to a friend who took a beautiful 4-point mule deer buck at 231 yards using this ammo and the 95 grain bullet. I was impressed with the clean kill and remarkable accuracy. He bought me a box as a thank you and I doubt I will shoot anything else. I fired 6 rounds through a chronograph . . . what is advertised as 3150 fps is actually 3148 -- 4 straight rounds with no variation! The other two were within 2 fps! I can't load that well. Buy these, you won't beat them for accuracy or performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 270 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison Heights, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.243 95 grain

Date:February 27, 2008
These are the only thing I use in my .243, and I'm still amazed at the amount of damage they do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 271 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvaina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammunition

Date:February 21, 2008
Very accurate and reliable. Definately would recommend for avid hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 272 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bay City,MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ammo

Date:February 20, 2008
Winchester has always made good ammo and this one is one of there best
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 273 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Acra, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:February 20, 2008
Accurate and dependable ammo. Hard to find at times so it was nice to see it available at cabelas. I use this for Coyote.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 274 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Medford, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22-250 to 338 Win Mag

Date:February 20, 2008
The ballistics and accuracy with the Winchester BST's are just second to none. It is a great varmit /coyote round in my 22-250. Flat shooting 7 mm rem mag for deer / antolope and 338 for elk. I use the Winchester BST's for them all and wouldnt change a thing. I consistanly put three round groups in 3/4 of an inch at 100 yards no matter what round or rifle I use. Very consistant factory round for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 275 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MASON, TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TEXAS HILLCOUNTRY

Date:February 8, 2008
I used the round on many Texas hill country whitetails. 9 times out of 10 they will drop in their tracks. Thats even shooting them in the shoulders. If they do run its only a short distance. I would recommend them to any Texas hunter. I wouldn't however, use them on Big Game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 276 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertip

Date:February 8, 2008
I have shot coyotes, crows, antelope with this ammo and would highly reccommend them. I use the 243 and 300 wsm and would not purchase any other after using these!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 277 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sydney australia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertip

Date:February 7, 2008
The Ballistic Silver Tip is the most accurate and deadly shell I have ever shot with my 30-06 rifle.
This season, every deer I have shot has fell in its tracks.
It is a great bullet. The only downside is if you're not careful about where you place your shot, you can damage some venison since the lead does fragment upon impact.
Overall it is an amazing bullet and very accurate for a factory load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 278 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As good as handloads!

Date:February 6, 2008
This is the only factory ammo I have shot for years. It is as good as any handloads I have every shot and is devasting on everything I have ever shot (1 shot kill on 900+ lb bull elk with 300 Win Mag 180 grain). I shoot this ammo in 22-250, 243, 25-06 & the 300 Win Mag- VERY accurate & very hot for factory ammo, yet consistent from box to box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 279 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arlington, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Ballistic Silvertip Ammo

Date:February 1, 2008
Approx 4 yrs ago I tried this ammo in my 270 WSM in 130 grain for Texas whitetail. I harvested a nice 150 lb buck. Just after xmas(2007) I hunted in Alabama and harvested a 13 pt 190 lb monster with the same ammo. This ammo is incredible when you put it in the boiler room!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 280 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roanoke, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional Ammo

Date:January 28, 2008
This ammo shoots less than 1" groups @100yds in my tikka T3. Its on game performance is also very good. I have taken several deer with this ammo including a doe at 309 yards (she dropped). I would highly recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 261-280 of 430