Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

WINCHESTER Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition

Ballistic Silvertip® rifle ammunition has proven Nosler Ballistic Tips for ultimate extreme-range performance. The solid base boattail design and special jacket contours team with the  polymer tip to maximize long-range accuracy with reduced cross-wind drift. A lead-alloy core aids penetration and weight retention. Expansion and penetration characteristics are either controlled or rapid, depending on the caliber. Patented Winchester Lubalox® coating reduces barrel fouling. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.598 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(406 Reviews) 406
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 406 reviews
5 Stars
324
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
13
1 Star
14
369 out of 406(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Review 261 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: York, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertips

Date:January 24, 2008
These bullets are the most accurate hunting bullets I've used since I started hunting (15 years). I bought my first box (7mm WSM) a few years ago before an antelope hunt in Wyoming. After practicing at home (100-200 yds.), I shot a few practice rounds when I arrived in Wyoming and had no problem hitting 12" metal gong targets at 500 yds (Browning A-bolt, Nikon Monarch scope). I shot an antelope doe at 440 yds. (dropped straight down at impact) and a buck at 210 yds. (also dropped at impact). Back in PA, I have now shot 3 deer over the last 3 seasons-all one shot kills at various distances (25-80 yds.). Only one of those deer even took a step after impact. One doe ran a few steps and dropped dead. I now also shoot the Ballistic Silvertips in my 22-250 and my son uses them in his .243 Winchester rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 262 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sabin, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 WSM 150 grain ballistic silvertip

Date:January 16, 2008
Shoots great in Browning BAR. Very accurate. Lots of knockdown power. I shot 4 deer this year with this ammo. 3 dropped in there tracks and the other one didn't run more than 20 yards. Great ammo!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 263 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: McMinnville, Tn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always dependable & accurate

Date:January 16, 2008
I have been shooting Winchester Supreme ammo for several years now and I shoot it in several different calibers. This product has always proven to be dependable, accurate, and very deadly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 264 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rifle shells

Date:January 16, 2008
Used this ammo for last 10 years and usually dropped a whitetail in its tracks with one shot, love the 338 winchester mag for here in Wisconsin...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 265 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona High Country
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Ballistic Silvertip 7mm-08

Date:January 7, 2008
After purchasing a new rifle, I wanted to find some ammo that would group well out of it.
The first brand I tried wouldn't group better than 2 inches at 100 yards. Not my idea of accurate!
Then I went back to my old faithful Winchester ammunition. I've found that the basic silver box Winchester is more accurate than some of the other brands "premium" lines.
There was no surprise when my groups shrunk to 3/4 of an inch with the Ballistic Silvertip ammo.
I've always been happy with Winchester ammunition and have learned that my rifles prefer the Winchester brand of ammunition.
I highly recommend this ammunition to anyone who is looking for both accurate as well as top of the line energy transfer in a premium ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 266 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: penna.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Windchester Supreme ballistic Silvertip Rifle Ammo

Date:November 27, 2007
i've been using this ammunition now for 2 yrs.it's the best that i've ever used the deer don't go far once they're hit i've had to track them for a long way's with another brand of ammo but this silvertip stopped them in their track's at 150 yards.i've told a lot of my friends about them but they said they'd stick to the type they were using.i think after they've had to track deer a few more time as far as they do they'll be changing their mine's real fast.other store's are asking more for these then cabela's are i've been a cabela's shopper for a few year's and i'll not shop anywhere else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 267 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pea Ridge, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

take em down

Date:November 25, 2007
I shoot this ammo out of my .270 and if you wana take a deer down even with a bad shot this is it. I hit a doe in the back of the lungs with it and she droped instantly. My bro shoots it outa his .30-06 and Hit an 8 point with it this year in the lungs and it ran bout 25 yards and droped. My uncle swears by it. Hes droped every deer hes shot since he started using them in his .308 including a massive south Texas 12 pointer. Alot of unwanted pain of tracking a blood trail deleted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 268 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida Panhandle (North Santa Rosa County)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cookin' up a success!

Date:November 18, 2007
How is this for a recipe? Take one Remington Model 700 SPS 7mm-08, one 3 x 9 x 50 Bushnell Dusk and Dawn Riflescope with the illuminated reticle, mix these together with a 140 GR Ballistic Silvertip shell and you just won't believe the results. Deer number one: Grazing from my right to left, the deer's head goes down to the grass, I aim at it's left shoulder joint. The entrance shot was, at first, a little difficult to find. The exit side, I, that means big-fisted me, could just about put my fist in the exit hole. The impact of the shot lifted the deer about three to four feet in the air, rolled it in the air one revolution, and needless to say, died before it hit the ground, about 15 feet away. I have never seen this type of result from a deer getting shot, not personally, when in the woods, or on any of the televised hunting programs that I view, almost constantly. Totally awesome power. When I went to extract the heart later on, there wasn't one. It literally exploded when the bullet traversed through the deer. The opposite (right side) shoulder was destroyed. The next day I shot another deer (about 25 pounds heavier than the first one), with basically, the same results, only this time, it was a right shoulder entrance shot and "not much" of a left shoulder remaining. The heart had also evaporated, "so to speak!" These Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertips are, in my opinion, really super cartridges. Two shots, in two days, = two nice deer that never left the zip code. Dropped, and stayed where they dropped, so I didn't have to go looking for them afterwards. Took them both in Peterman, Alabama on the first two days of the 2007 deer season. Thanx Winchester, Remington, and Bushnell. Five stars to all of you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 269 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sleepy Eye, Mn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

review of winchester ballistic silvertip ammo

Date:November 14, 2007
I can keep this brief, no long explanation is necessary for this ammunition from our friends at Winchester...the ballistic silvertips that I shoot in my 270 Winchester are quite simply the most reliable and accurate ammo ever. I shot alot trying to find a load that my Ruger liked the best, and far and away this ammo is simply awesome. I've shot deer from 80 yards to over 400 yards, and the results have landed on my table every time. Incredible results always. Thank you Winchester!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 270 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Leesburg, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

jowers

Date:November 13, 2007
Excellent quality ammo. Great knockdown power,feeds smoothly very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 271 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LINDSTROM, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VERY IMPRESSIVE

Date:November 12, 2007
VERY HIGH QUALITY, IT IS ALL I WILL SHOOT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 272 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cortez Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice looking ammo

Date:November 3, 2007
I brought down two public land bulls in Colorado with this ammo. Penetrates nicely and mushrooms just as well but would not say it worked anymore better than the regualr core lokt with lead tips, If you want ammo that looks impressive buy this, if you want performance without the extra cost, buy the regualr core lokt
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 273 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme® Ballistic Silvertip

Date:October 30, 2007
Nice accurate ammo. I have used Federal Trophy Bonded Bear Claw 160gr in my 7mm Rem Mag since day one it was the only ammo that my gun grouped well with, the down side was the price, so I opted to try these in 150. To my suprise they grouped very well and seemed to have less recoil than my Federal and in 7mag any recoil reduction is good.
I have found a substitute for my old ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 274 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Coastal NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Supreme Ballistic Silvertip Ammunition

Date:October 23, 2007
These bullets are excellent in both accuracy and knockdown power. I have made consistent 250+ yard shots on whitetail deer (that's a long way for me). I have been using this ammo for three years in a magnum caliber with no complaints.
Even with the price jump in bullets, I can order from Cabelas and have them shipped far cheaper than buying them locally.
Thanks Cabelas for offering a great selection of quality products at a great price.
Brad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 275 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic ammo

Date:October 23, 2007
Several years ago, I had bad luck with Winchester ammo and stopped using it. I recently bought a box of the 30-06 Supreme 150 grain ballistic ammo to try. I shot my first deer with it yesterday, a 200 pound pig of a whitetail. Dropped him in his tracks. When I opened up the deer I could not believe the devastation this bullet had done. It took out a six inch section of his backbone, three ribs and opened up about a six inch hole inside this deer. I found the bullet intact under the skin on the other side of the deer. Needless to say, I will be using this ammo full time from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 276 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prescott Az.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate! Accurate! Accurate!

Date:October 8, 2007
The first 5-shot group after sighting my new .243, was a dime size group which I repeated 4 times. Great out of the box accuratacy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 277 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rounds

Date:October 4, 2007
They shoot accurate and do alot of damage to the animal. In my 243 i'm making holes the size of cheap 270 shells
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 278 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: long island ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bullets

Date:October 1, 2007
i starting using ballistic silver tip bullets 2 years ago on a trip out west we were hunting deer and antlope the 140 grain bullets work great for both animals they were flat shooting with great knock down power i would recommend this product to all my freinds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 279 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammo

Date:October 1, 2007
Best Ammo Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 280 for Winchester® Ballistic Silvertip® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding group!

Date:September 17, 2007
Very accurate -- know it will do the job on game based on past experience with Winchester Supreme products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 261-280 of 406