Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver

This hefty and reliable revolver is tougher than ever, thanks to a stainless steel frame and barrel. Despite the use of modern-day materials, the 1858 Buffalo maintains the same feel, function and handling abilities of the originals. Barrel length: 12". Overall length: 18". Weight: 2 lbs. 10 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a Rare Beauty

Date:March 12, 2013
I am Really pleased with the Quality and performance of the Revolver.
The Funny thing is after i ordered the
Pietta 1858 Brass Revolver i had tried to order the Pietta 1858 in Stainless Steel but it was on Back order.
So i decided to get this Instead and pay a few more Dollars.
It is like having the Brass Buffalo and the Pietta 1858 Stainless Steel Revolver all in one.
One day id like to get the Umberti.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Olney, MD
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of the Finest Replica Revolvers Available

Date:January 10, 2012
In my experience, the fit & finish of this revolver is one of the best of the many replicas that I own. I first purchased & shot the brass frame bison 25 yrs ago, and still use it regularly, but the beauty and ease of cleaning of this SS model surpasses the brass frame model. It is equally accurate, but can tolerate substantially greater BP loads, if one wishes to use them (I do not suggest that greater loads are necessarily better - it is each user's job to determine which load & ball combination yield the best results in his/her firearm.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta 1858 .44 Rem. New Army Pistols

Date:February 12, 2011
I was shopping for a black powder pistol and always check what Cabela's has to offer. I went to their store in Post Falls Idaho and found what may be the last of the 5 1/2 barrel stainless 44 cal 1858 New Army pistols as they were discontined by Pietta. This pistol is one of the finest pistols I've ever bought. It's fit and finish is second to none. I like this pistol so much I went and bought the 8 inch barrel target model and shortly after that I ordered the Buffalo model with the 12 inch barrel. I'm totally impressed with these three models. Any one who reads the other reviews can see they shoot very well and cleaning is easy. I bought the extra cylinder for each. I consider these three pistols family heirlooms now. They will last several life times and look and fire as fine as they do today. I highly recommend these pistols to anyone looking for an excellent black powder pistol...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: susanville calif.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

straight shooter

Date:September 19, 2010
After buying all three of the 1858 remingtons,sherriffs model,standard and target models i just had to have this one.
My wife says it's a previous life thing and i also bought the 1863 pocket pistol which is the only one i have fired black powder. All the rest i have rolled in a 45 long colt conversion cyclinder and they all shoot excellent.The 1858 buffalo though is by far the best out there at 100 plus yards through a solid cedar fence post dead on six for six. best price in the country.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Twelve inch stainless 1858 .44

Date:June 30, 2008
Other than a Walker, this is one of the top dogs for black powder revolvers. Smooth action like a S&W model 66 and hits the target... thunk... hard and solid. Shines like a brand new silver doller! Nice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: corn field in Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

remington buffalo 44

Date:January 23, 2007
right out of the box I grouped all six in a silver dollar size circle. love this gun. little to no kick. very accurate at 50 to 75 yards. not bad at 100 either. has to be easiest cleaning gun I have. you won't be disapointed if you make this purchase.
plan to hand down to my grandson. will last a few life times.
hope you enjoy this gun as much as i do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fremont, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice and easy to clean

Date:November 27, 2006
The
1858 Buffalo is a nice black powder revolver. My only complaint would
be that I've had a problem with some of the percussion caps falling off
after I would fire my first shot in a cylinder. I've been using #11
caps, but I'll go back to the ol' manual to see if I should be using
something else for this gun. (I'm so used to using the #11 caps on my
other black powder revolvers, so I'll admit that this might be my
mistake.)
That aside, this is a light revolver for its size, which feels great
when you're trying to hold a steady aim from a standing position. The
handle might feel a little small if you have big hands. I have fired
several rounds through mine over the last two years or so and I have
yet to have anything break on/in it.
The photo on the web site doesn't do this gun justice; the stainless
steel is quite bright and beautiful. You'll especially be thankful for
the stainless steel frame/cylinder/barrel/hammer when you go to clean
the gun for the first time after firing it. The oily grime from Pyrodex
comes off quite easily with just hot water and a little rubbing. (A lot
easier to clean when compared to blued black powder revolvers.)
Because it's so easy to swap cylinders with an 1858, I went ahead and
bought a spare cylinder so I could enjoy 12 shots before having to go
through the long process of reloading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Buffalo .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

can be used for serious B.P. hand gun hunting

Date:October 26, 2006
I have taken a Sika doe from a groundblind (bowblind) with it, and found it to be an interesting historical handgun that is capable of accurate hunting/shooting. Although the trigger and action could use some custom attention: a trigger job and action smoothing would be recomended for serious hunting/shooting efforts.
This "Buffalo model", 1858 in Stainless Steel is nice when it comes to cleaning and resistance to the blackpowder, sulphur characteristics of corrosion and fouling.
I would recomend this particular gun for someone who is seriously interested in accuracy, quality and ease of cleaning especially with the new "Pioneer Powder" or Jim Shockey's "Gold" Powder.
Last note: I found the long barrel helpful while hunting from a ground blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.