Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

You'll enjoy shooting the Pietta 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver, a highly realistic reproduction of the Remington model that includes target sights for increased accuracy. Features stainless steel construction, a polished brass trigger guard, octagonal barrel and walnut grips. Rear sight adjusts for elevation and windage. Easily removable, replaceable cylinders make reloading extremely fast. Barrel length: 8”. OAL: 14.5”. Wt: 2.75 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2016

1858 stainless taget

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The 1858 Stainless Target is one beautiful gun. I received this one as a Christmas gift and I really love it. I havent gotten to shoot it yet but if it's like my other Pietta's it is a shooter. I have heard others complain on Pietta's quality..I dont understand this. For the money Cabela's charges for these guns, I dont see how you could expect anything better. I own three and have bought one as a gift for a friend..all made in 2015 and all are excellent guns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2015

some gun

By
great gun made fairly well but must deburr it for better action and theres a screw on the handle to pressure the hammer spring harder or lighter for your preference.I went to conicals and got the mold and pot and made 400 rounds and moved to 30 grain using a brass flask with spout and makes it easy to load with my loading stand and got an extra cylinder so am using for hunting right now and tagged a bear so far and going for hogs next!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015

Sweet Revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is a very accurate, well made firearm at any rate, the fact that it belches fire and blows billows of white smoke are merely added conditions that make this great fun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2014

Much better than expected!

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Just fired 100+ .454 round balls through my Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless .44 cal. target revolver. I have to admit it is one fine firearm with no complaints. The fit and finish is incredible and has a good trigger pull. The front sight was a little hard to see but in all honesty it’s my eyes and that was fixed with a little fingernail polish (The front sight not my eyes). Just might get the carbine next.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2014

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Just bought this piece, cleaned it up went to the range loaded it up and fired a 5" group at 25 yards. After some more shooting I need to fine tune the sights. Right out of the box this gun shoots great, has nice fit and finish and a great trigger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2014

Enticed to buy this based upon discount price.

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Based upon my experience with 3 Pietta revolvers, what you get is a dice toss as far as functional quality is concerned. This 1858 Target model is my 3rd of this brand and two out of three came with enough wrong to be rather disappointing. Like my Case Hardened frame model reviewed earlier, this stainless target model has a very poor trigger: Long with very gritty creep. Pietta would make a much more favorable impression if they would take a few more minutes to clean and mechanically finish these firearms better before shipping. I am going to have to work over this revo like I did the Case model. Beyond the trigger, it feels like polishing grit compound was left throughout the firearm. Also the front sight wobbles significantly in its groove even though the retaining screw is completely bottomed. I’m going to have to shorten the screw or remove the sight and add a filler under. Cosmetically, this piece looks fine, but functionally just poor workmanship. I’m done with Pietta. Hope Cabelas adds Uberti. I’m going elsewhere for C&B fun, until then.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2013

Truly Satisfied

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I ordered this revolver with a couple of things in mind 1) I enjoy single action revolvers. 2) I enjoy the look and functionality of stainless steel. I honestly took a chance with the target sights having never seen them in person, but they are truly excelent. My revolver came a day early, Cabelas outdid themselves there. the grips are beautiful, smooth and well fitted to the gun. there are some tooling marks around it but i have not encountered sharp edges anywhere, and the action is smooth crisp and the cylinder is perfectly timed. the only fault i found with this piece isnt a fault at all, and that is the hammer was very heavy to pull, and so i loosened the screw on the spring a bit, problem solved. lastly the image displayed fails to do the actual piece justice. A purchase truly worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

Looks good

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
very nice soild stainless gun. i have yet to shoot it. everyone i know that has one can hit some targets well with them. Nice groups also. I will be more than happy to give it stars after a few smokeclouds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2012

SS 1856

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Excellent. Well made & can't wait to try it. Wish the backorder was not so long, but at least I have it now. Much better than the Blued version. At least you can throw this one in the wash machine with the laundery (Dark stuff) to clean it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

Great Purchase

By
Location: Papillion, NE
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This gun is fun to shoot, easy to sight in, glad I bought it. Got an 1860 Army for christmas also both are a HOOT to SHOOT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2010

1858 New Army Stainless Steel .44 Cal.

By
Location: Coarsegold, California
A beautiful pistol and fun to shoot. I think stainless makes it a little easier to clean after target shooting. Cabelas service is excellent - my gun arrived missing the rear sight 'blade'. Phoned them and they mailed off a replacement which arrived before I even had a chance to shoot the gun. As another reviewer wrote it is 'a hoot to shoot'. Nice gun and great Cabelas service.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2010

Traditional Shooting

By
Location: Albany, New York
My 1858 Revolver is a great target pistol, and a lot of fun to shoot. It may take a bit of time in loading but well worth the time. I plan on also picking up an additional cylinder or two soon. If you like traditional shooting this is the gun to own.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2010

Real nice black powder revolver

By
Location: monroe michigan
I really like shooting mine the adjustable sights are nice I use buffalo bullets in mine and pyrodex 30grain handgun pellets in mine I carry it during muzzleloader season for a backup gun in the leather holster that is made for it works out great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2009

Bargain even for a perfectionist

By
What a beauty – too nice to shoot and too much fun not to shoot. One inch groups at 25 yards. OK I’m a perfectionist so here is what I did with mine:
Wood grips - 3 coats of Tung oil and 0000 steel wool rubs between coats.
Rear sight blade is set for min of 100 yards so aim point is 6” below a 50 yard target. I filed top of the blade down to the sighting slot and filed out a new slot. You shouldn’t file the bottom of the blade because there are off-set indentations for the windage adjustment set screws. Remember which side is the front of the blade.
Trigger sear was set behind the hammer sear. As trigger was pulled it stacked as the hammer started moving backward. A little sanding and polishing of sears made for a perfect 4lb. smooth break.
There are 2 errors in the manual. The powder charge should be 25 grains not 12 -15 as in the manual. (Got the correct numbers from Pietta factory in Italy.) The exploded view drawing shows the cylinder actuating arm attached to the right side of the hammer but it is attached to left side.
Takes 5 min. to “completely” disassemble or reassemble everything. Remove left grip and hammer spring first. Note the depth and slot positioning of the hammer tension screw to get factory setting. Then remove all screws on left side and bottom. Remove trigger guard. Remove trigger return spring, trigger and cylinder locking bolt through bottom. Push hammer group down through trigger hole to remove cylinder arm screw where it attaches to hammer. Remove cylinder arm through trigger hole. Hammer comes out easily from the top. That’s it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009

Bob

By
Location: California
This product is super! It was good to go right out of the box. At twenty-five yards it put eighteen out of eighteen shots on the target.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2009

Les

By
Location: Delaware
Good product to work with. Polished tooling marks from front sight, rear sight and trigger guard. Deburred hammer and trigger, then polished sear and hammer hook. Filed bottom of rear sight to get to point of aim. Replaced spring in loading lever for stronger tension. Polished tooling marks out of barrel's forcing cone, then crowned the muzzle. Deburred nipples and uniformed flash holes in them. It now is a beautiful thing to behold. The cylinder's timing was perfect right out of the box, and it will shoot 12 off hand shots into a half dollar size hole, at 10 yards. Glad I bought it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009

nice...

By
well made for the money. no complaints
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2009

best yet

By
Location: Balt. MD. blackpowder only retirement is great
I looked over my new purchase and found it had no problems on the outside as far as looks go. The hammer was slow to move and I needed to clean out the buffing compound from the screw slots as well as the insides of the gun. The buffing operation made the gun seem slippery in my hand. All the sharp edges have been buffed smooth, NICE. Only two burrs on this gun, one on the loading lever latch and one on the inside of the frame by the main spring adjustment screw. Not hard to remove with a little wet dry sand paper.
I agree with the other reviews, this gun is very easy to clean mostly due to the buffing. This gun is noticeably easer to seat balls in the chamber. The chamber bores have been counterbored just a touch. Nice!
The back target sight windage screws were drilled at differant levels holding the back sight shim at an angle and the main spring was weak. Cabela's replace both very fast, these people are easy to work with. After having the barrel coned to eleven degrees it was off to the range. My own shooting skills are lacking so I had a good shooter blast away for me. A two inch square coved all the holes at 25 yards so I'm happy. The cylinder alignment was dead on, a first for me.
This gun is flat out fun to shoot and take care of.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2009

Great cap and ball revolver

By
Location: Rural Iowa
I purchased one of these to take hunting this deer season. The fit and finish is excellent and the gun has a good feel in the hand. I have been shooting Goex FFFg under a felt wad and a 0.451 round ball. With very little practice, the grouping at 50 yards is good... definitely within the kill zone of a whitetail deer. The gun does shoot very high, even with the adjustable sight set at the lowest point. This is a beautiful gun that will hang on my wall at home, and in my holster during deer season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Stainless Steel Target .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2009

Real Happy Customer

By
Location: San Diego, CA
Received my revolver a couple of weeks ago, and shot it for the first time this past week. I'm now a black powder fan! This all started when I shot my friends black powder gun awhile back. This is really nicely made. Fit and finish are first class. When firing it at the gun range, it operated flawlessly. I really like the rear gun sight. It will take me a little time to fine tune it, but I was hitting the target 90% of the time at about 15 yards. I believe the stainless steel is a very big plus when it comes to cleaning it. One ironic twist of fate, I missed it going on sale on your web site about two weeks later, but I have no quarrel with the price difference. It is worth every dollar spent!
Thanks Cabela's for a great product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 23