Customer Reviews for PYRODEX Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100

PYRODEX Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100

At 50-grains a piece almost any load can be developed, from a low end load for target shooting and small game hunting to a maximum charge for big game. These pellets have a black powder ignition strip for easier ignition under the worst of conditions. Simply drop the pellets down the bore (ignition strip towards the bottom) seat the bullet and you are ready to fire. Burns consistently and thoroughly in in-line rifles but should not be used in side lock rifles (except the T/C firestorm). Per 100. Available: 50-grain pellets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
48 out of 49(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Review 1 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Gets the job done

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Specifically recommended to me by an old hand (as were the CVA Wolf and the 223 gr Aerotip Powerpoints),,,worked with no issues. Ignition every time. As a beginner I choose not to complicate with measuring, loading and using loose powder. There may be other combinations of propellant, projectile, ignition (I'm using the Winchester 209's.....only offering at Cabelas when I stopped in) that are more accurate but for a beginner, this works. I'm using two pellets, no need to load and shoot three at once.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2015

quick and easy

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This charge has worked very well on my tc pro hunter. Add 2 pellets for up to 200 yrds add 3 for long range. Simple and easy. Works great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

Simpe Man

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I Love the Competition, shooting with my Buddies They measure power, bullets, wind direction and barometric pressure, I found using 3 Pyrodex Pellets =150gr and 270 gr Power belt bullets I get quick, smooth reloading and the accuracy is unequaled. Works for me Simple to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2014

Good powder!

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This powder seems to be a lot better than the triple 7 I was using seems to ignite a lot quicker. With the triple 7 in my CVA Optima seems like I would always have split second delay between primer and load fire, however these seem to fire instantaneously. Like shooting a rifle now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2014

consistant

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
great bye for the money and availability is great you can find just about anywhere. consistent groups at 100 yds only down side very dirty I would push a few patches through every 3 to 4 shots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2013

Good performance but a bit fragile

By
Good performance but a little bit fragile. A few of the pellets in my box were cracked in half when I first opened the box at the range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2013

Ease of use

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My Black Powder experience is slim to none, having the pre measured pelletts is nice. Takes one very important step and simplifies it. Clean's up fairly easily, but I would recommend cleaning the bore after every other shot, if not every shot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2012

Powdwe

By
Shoot 150 grain. No problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Pyrodex .50 cal. pellets

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I loaded 3 pellets with a 300gr. copper jacketed bullet. Shot 6 rounds and never had a missfire. I thought that I was shooting blackpowder grains it shot that well.
Shoot straight and often
Sparky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Muzzleloader Dependability

By
Location: New Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have used the 50 cal. Pyrodex pellets for years. Sure beats powder, and they provide reliability in the field and support accuracy at the range. I have never had a problem and they always provide a successful hunt if the animal is within range of the pellet/sabot combination.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

big bang for your buck

By
Location: las vegas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been shooting black powder for several years and these pellets are easy to use and I cannot remember ever having a failed ignition. They go bang when they are suppose to. The easy to handle package and pipe cleaner make it quick for loading. They are great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2011

Convenient and reliable

By
Location: Atlanta
I like the convenience of pellets. These are very reliable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2011

Dirty

By
Location: FLorida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have used these pellets for years now in my Triumph. They can be bought just about anywhere so two thumbs up for the convenience factor. This product is also idiot resistant (nothing is idiot proof). I have tested many powders and this powder is just as accurate as anything else. On the downside this is extremely dirty shooting powder. If you aren’t going to be making multiple shoots between cleaning then this is a good powder for you. If you are on the lazy side like myself and like to wait till the end of muzzle loader season (we have deer and pigs so not out of the ordinary to kill 10 animals) to clean your gun then this is not a good powder for you. Blackhorn and Pioneer powders are the two I found that shoot the cleanest (allow for more shots between cleaning).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2011

Buying Mr. Reliable

By
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've only been Muzzleloading for 5 years now. I purchaced Pyrodex .50 caliber pellets when I got my American Knight inline. Haven't used anything else. The pellets are correctly measured, never crumbles up; even after a year in my speed loaders. I use 2 pellets and performance is great. The ease of using pellets makes life easy in the field. Three deer later...why change!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2011

Not Bad first time I tried em

By
Location: CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These were a last minute replacement for the triple 7 pellets I usually use. They seem to be much quieter and cleaner than the triple 7. Was able to sucessfully take two deer this season with these but havent tried any long shots yet. (Both deer were under 50 yards away).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011

works great

By
Location: Kansas
these pellets work well and produce the best groups of all I have tried in my inline.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2010

Easy to use

By
Location: Shillington, PA.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Recommend using these in quick load capsules just for ease of application.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2010

Good Powder

By
Location: Catskills, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good ignition, less of a "cloud" than with other powder, cleaning of barrel less rigourous.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2010

Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets

By
Location: Northeast PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
If you normally put up with the fouling and other associated problems that come with using black powder or it's various substitutes in an in-line muzzleloader, then the convenience of these pelleted charges is great. I took a new Vortek rifle to the range with some saboted bullets and some Hornady FPB's. Got it sighted in with sabots, 270gr Speer 45's and 100gr (2 pellets ) of pyrodex but the crud ring that builds up in the bore where the firing primer bumps the bullet ahead a short distance before the main charge fires and creates the ring, made it difficult to seat the bullet. I kept removing the breach plug and patch-wiping the bore to get good seating. This was frustrating enough that a week later I went back to Cabelas and purchased a jar of Blackhorn 209. It's more expensive, but supposedly won't cause this kind of problem. (I've read it's really actually a smokeless (nitro) powder with 'some' of the ingredients that other BP substites have in them to control pressure and burn rate. All I can say is "It's about time!" Savage had the right idea years ago with their model 10 using select smokeless powder loads, but the industry turned their backs on them. Then later came out and said that it's unsafe to shoot any smokeless powder in any muzzle loader. Why?! Don't they use good steels in modern ml rifles? Maybe self preservation tactic of the black powder substitute manufacturers, but I digress. The pellets are quick and convenient compared to loose powder, but you can't work up a customized load with them; its 50, 100 or 150gr. loads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010

Dependable and accurate

By
Location: Ligonier, IN
I have been using the pyrodex pellets for two years now. I have been wanting to try something different only because of the mess that pyrodex leaves...Well make a long story short...Everything else I tried, I could not get the consistency that I do with the pyrodex pellets...This is comparing to the other brands of pellets, not loose powder...I shot a deer this past year at 248 yards with three pellets(150 grains) and a 250 grain thompson center shockwave bullet out of my TC Triumph and I use the nikon with BDC scope and it really works! I was amazed! This powder has never let me down and is very very easy to use. I will continue to use it even though it is a bit messy! Happy hunting...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 49