Customer Reviews for PYRODEX Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100

PYRODEX Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100

At 50-grains a piece almost any load can be developed, from a low end load for target shooting and small game hunting to a maximum charge for big game. These pellets have a black powder ignition strip for easier ignition under the worst of conditions. Simply drop the pellets down the bore (ignition strip towards the bottom) seat the bullet and you are ready to fire. Burns consistently and thoroughly in in-line rifles but should not be used in side lock rifles (except the T/C firestorm). Per 100. Available: 50-grain pellets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
43 out of 44(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Review 1 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good performance but a bit fragile

Date:January 7, 2013
Good performance but a little bit fragile. A few of the pellets in my box were cracked in half when I first opened the box at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ease of use

Date:January 3, 2013
My Black Powder experience is slim to none, having the pre measured pelletts is nice. Takes one very important step and simplifies it. Clean's up fairly easily, but I would recommend cleaning the bore after every other shot, if not every shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Powdwe

Date:May 18, 2012
Shoot 150 grain. No problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pyrodex .50 cal. pellets

Date:January 16, 2012
I loaded 3 pellets with a 300gr. copper jacketed bullet. Shot 6 rounds and never had a missfire. I thought that I was shooting blackpowder grains it shot that well.
Shoot straight and often
Sparky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Muzzleloader Dependability

Date:January 9, 2012
I have used the 50 cal. Pyrodex pellets for years. Sure beats powder, and they provide reliability in the field and support accuracy at the range. I have never had a problem and they always provide a successful hunt if the animal is within range of the pellet/sabot combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: las vegas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

big bang for your buck

Date:January 9, 2012
I have been shooting black powder for several years and these pellets are easy to use and I cannot remember ever having a failed ignition. They go bang when they are suppose to. The easy to handle package and pipe cleaner make it quick for loading. They are great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Convenient and reliable

Date:October 10, 2011
I like the convenience of pellets. These are very reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: FLorida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dirty

Date:April 25, 2011
I have used these pellets for years now in my Triumph. They can be bought just about anywhere so two thumbs up for the convenience factor. This product is also idiot resistant (nothing is idiot proof). I have tested many powders and this powder is just as accurate as anything else. On the downside this is extremely dirty shooting powder. If you aren’t going to be making multiple shoots between cleaning then this is a good powder for you. If you are on the lazy side like myself and like to wait till the end of muzzle loader season (we have deer and pigs so not out of the ordinary to kill 10 animals) to clean your gun then this is not a good powder for you. Blackhorn and Pioneer powders are the two I found that shoot the cleanest (allow for more shots between cleaning).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buying Mr. Reliable

Date:February 24, 2011
I've only been Muzzleloading for 5 years now. I purchaced Pyrodex .50 caliber pellets when I got my American Knight inline. Haven't used anything else. The pellets are correctly measured, never crumbles up; even after a year in my speed loaders. I use 2 pellets and performance is great. The ease of using pellets makes life easy in the field. Three deer later...why change!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Bad first time I tried em

Date:February 18, 2011
These were a last minute replacement for the triple 7 pellets I usually use. They seem to be much quieter and cleaner than the triple 7. Was able to sucessfully take two deer this season with these but havent tried any long shots yet. (Both deer were under 50 yards away).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:January 27, 2011
these pellets work well and produce the best groups of all I have tried in my inline.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shillington, PA.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:August 17, 2010
Recommend using these in quick load capsules just for ease of application.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Catskills, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Powder

Date:August 16, 2010
Good ignition, less of a "cloud" than with other powder, cleaning of barrel less rigourous.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Northeast PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets

Date:August 16, 2010
If you normally put up with the fouling and other associated problems that come with using black powder or it's various substitutes in an in-line muzzleloader, then the convenience of these pelleted charges is great. I took a new Vortek rifle to the range with some saboted bullets and some Hornady FPB's. Got it sighted in with sabots, 270gr Speer 45's and 100gr (2 pellets ) of pyrodex but the crud ring that builds up in the bore where the firing primer bumps the bullet ahead a short distance before the main charge fires and creates the ring, made it difficult to seat the bullet. I kept removing the breach plug and patch-wiping the bore to get good seating. This was frustrating enough that a week later I went back to Cabelas and purchased a jar of Blackhorn 209. It's more expensive, but supposedly won't cause this kind of problem. (I've read it's really actually a smokeless (nitro) powder with 'some' of the ingredients that other BP substites have in them to control pressure and burn rate. All I can say is "It's about time!" Savage had the right idea years ago with their model 10 using select smokeless powder loads, but the industry turned their backs on them. Then later came out and said that it's unsafe to shoot any smokeless powder in any muzzle loader. Why?! Don't they use good steels in modern ml rifles? Maybe self preservation tactic of the black powder substitute manufacturers, but I digress. The pellets are quick and convenient compared to loose powder, but you can't work up a customized load with them; its 50, 100 or 150gr. loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ligonier, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dependable and accurate

Date:March 25, 2010
I have been using the pyrodex pellets for two years now. I have been wanting to try something different only because of the mess that pyrodex leaves...Well make a long story short...Everything else I tried, I could not get the consistency that I do with the pyrodex pellets...This is comparing to the other brands of pellets, not loose powder...I shot a deer this past year at 248 yards with three pellets(150 grains) and a 250 grain thompson center shockwave bullet out of my TC Triumph and I use the nikon with BDC scope and it really works! I was amazed! This powder has never let me down and is very very easy to use. I will continue to use it even though it is a bit messy! Happy hunting...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, PA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pyrodex .50 caliber pellets

Date:March 15, 2010
Very easy to use. Do not leave residue on hands. Burn cleanly. I would reccomend these to anyone using pellets for ML Rifles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jersey Pine Barrens
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nothing better

Date:December 30, 2009
Great powder so easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy and fast

Date:November 18, 2009
I'm new to black powder shooting so I asked for something easy. These pellets are fast and easy. Great way to get started. First time out shot 3" group at 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ULLIN IL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pyrodex pellets

Date:November 18, 2009
very good product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pyrodex® .50 Caliber Pellets – Per 100
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Philly PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy and Accurate

Date:November 2, 2009
Used the Pyrodex pellets for the first time with my new TC Triumph and they produced consistent results after sighting in. Easy to use and and I don't feel the need to measure out powder to get accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 44