Customer Reviews for STEEL IMAGES Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

STEEL IMAGES Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver

The mid-1800s were a time in American history that gave birth to a number of innovative firearm designs, and this truly unique, unusual sidearm was also known as the "Grape Shot Revolver." Developed in New Orleans in 1856 by Dr. Jean LeMat and backed by Pierre G.T. Beauregard, who was to become a general with the Confederacy. Roughly 2,900 were produced. An accurate reproduction of the First Model LeMat, our Cavalry version has a nine-shot, .44-caliber cylinder and rifled 6-3/4" barrel. What sets it apart from other revolver designs is the 20-gauge, .645" diameter 5-7/8" smoothbore barrel, originally intended for firing buckshot. Both are fired by a pivoting striker. In combat, the firepower from the pistol barrel plus a hefty dose of "blue whistlers" made the LeMat a fearsome weapon to face. Accurate details like the swivel lanyard ring and trigger guard spur duplicate those found on originals. The loading lever is mounted on the left side. N-SSA approved. Checkered Walnut grips. Don’t miss this opportunity to own a classic firearm that was part of the transition from single-shot to repeating arms. Barrel length: 6-3/4". Overall length: 13-1/4". Weight: 3 lbs. 8 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Santa Clara, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

BIg Gun

Date:September 11, 2007
This thing is unique. But the craftsmanship could be better. specifically the 20 guage barrel appears to be off center. It is also huge, heavy and kinda of a pain to load. I sent mine back and ordered the 1858 revolver in .44 It is much more sane if you want a shooter. But this gun does look cool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Stands Behind Their Product

Date:September 24, 2012
I did not shoot it, but from examining it, I noticed that the metal finish was fantastic. I could not see a single machining mark on it. It had a nice deep, rich, even blue. The timing was spot on.
However, the wood to metal fitting on the grips was terrible! It had a big chunk of wood missing. The damaged portion of the wood had stain and finish on it. So I know the damage was done in the manufacturing process and not in the shipping.
Also, there was another area on the grip in which the shaper cut too deep into the wood. Someone had put red clay over the cut in an attempt to hide it.
I decided to return it because the cost of this piece was too much to ignore the poor condition of the wood. Cabela’s has a wonderful method of return. Just peel off the return label conveniently included in the package. Mark why you are returning it and drop it off at the local UPS store. Easy as that.
To show how well Cabela's cares for their customers, there was a time in the return shipping I thought it had become lost. The shipper did not mark delivered on their web site after the scheduled delivery date. I called the shipper and they told me that Cabela’s had to file the missing report since they were the originating shipper. Here we go I thought.
So when I called Cabela’s, to my surprise, they said they would immediately refund my account and file the report with the shipping company. Such great customer service! Cabela’s even contacted me later to let me know they located it and were still crediting my account.
So why did I mark four stars for something I returned? Well first, I do appreciate Pietta for making this historic firearm. If it wasn’t for companies like this, we would only be looking at pictures from a history book and not shooting these firearms.
Second, the wood could have been easily replaced. In fact, like I said, I would have kept it if the cost wasn’t so much. The rest of the gun was fantastic.
And third, because of Cabela’s excellent customer service and the way they stand behind their products.
So for anyone debating whether to get this or not, I say go for it. There is no risk when you buy from Cabela’s.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Portland, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Special with some special monkey business

Date:November 26, 2010
This gun looks and feels great in my hand.
It is quite difficult to disassemble fully and clean because it is screwed together very tightly and requires a special screw bit to do so.
I would use it much more often if I could break it down easier.
I got a mould for a 20 gauge ball and cast my own.
It is pretty wild blasting that out of the shot barrel.
The accuracy seems to be pretty good for the most part.
There are various problems that seem to be the norm with the Lemat that perhaps come with the territory of this strangely designed pistol.
I would recommend this to any one that wants to spend the cash and wants it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lemat Revolver

Date:June 30, 2009
The revolver is a unique and interesting weapon. I had no problem loading either the revolver or the grape-shot barrel. For the revolver, it has a levering system that loads the cylinders, be sure to use the correct ball size. If you attempt a larger size (larger than .451) you could slightly bend the lever handle. As for the little clip that holds the lever handle and ramrod for the shot barrel, not to impressed. It was a little frail for the holding of the rod and snapped off. I took a piece of brass band and made me one in about 15 minutes, no sweat and actually that happened to the originals. All in all, I thought it was pretty accurate and soon the envy of all my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar City, UT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oh my

Date:February 14, 2011
What a pistol. Expensive yes, extravagant yes, very possibly the most awesome weapon ever yes. The LeMat is more fun than I have ever had with a pistol, there is nothing like filling a target full of 9 .44 cal rounds and then finishing it off with a helping of buckshot. This weapon is very high quality and accurate, the weight and sights takes a bit to become accustom with; although then again I am sure you could club something with it. Overall I am very pleased and would recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KC area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LeMat Revolver

Date:January 31, 2010
Gun is large. Finish and fix excellent. Action, loading ram smooth. Very Pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Southern Firefly top dog

Date:August 4, 2008
With a little simple hammer, fill in lead work, you can make the 20 gauge shotgun and the .44 ball go off on the first shot. Then you still have eight rounds as back up!
The South's secret weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NO. VA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Le Mat Revolver

Date:April 30, 2008
I purchased this from Cabela's after reading and researching this pistol for my collection. The fit and finish is beautifully and the case hardening is outstanding. I'm very happy with the over all quality and would recommend this to anyone looking for this particular pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: dallas tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

its a beauty

Date:March 10, 2008
its a beauty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Orleans
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LeMat Revolver

Date:February 20, 2008
This one is massive!! It is very impressive. I have not had a chance to take it out to the range but I look forward to it. The quality appears to be excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: stroudsburg, pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shooting lemat

Date:May 14, 2007
a very fine copy of the original gun very interesting operation shot about 200 times only 1 failure to fire the shotgun from oil in the breech shoots about 8 in high at 50 yd
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: I love my new hobby. New Mexico.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Le Mat

Date:December 21, 2006
The best black powder experience. It dosn't get any better.
Over 1,000 rounds, not one problems. Love that 18 gage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta LeMat .44 Caliber/20 GA. Cavalry Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GREENSBORO,N.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SNUGGLES

Date:November 20, 2006
BEAUTIFUL WELL MADE GUN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.