Customer Reviews for North American Arms Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

North American Arms Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver

The Companion Magnum .22 Percussion Revolver from North American Arms and legendary gun designer Dick Casull is the most innovative percussion revolver in years. The manufacturer, famous for building top-quality, diminutive rimfire handguns, now presents a true .22-caliber cap-and-ball offering. It is the world's smallest, full-functioning black-powder mini revolver. Surgical-quality stainless steel is used throughout. Uses standard #11 percussion caps (Remington recommended by manufacture) for convenience and can be used with any North American Arms accessory. Unlike rimfire cartridge arms, these do not require a federal firearms license and can be shipped to adults in areas where local laws allow. Included are 50 30-grain lead bullets, powder charge measure, bullet seater. Barrel length: 1-5/8" Overall length: 5-1/4". Weight: 7.2 ounces.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Review 1 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2009

naa 22mag

By
Location: massachsetts
i have 2 of this gun very nice peaces very fun to shoot i do have it to prtect my house i no it is not big in cal but it is a good little something and pretty cheap i love it it has a life time warranty and its preety powerful get the 22 mag 1/5.8 in one thats the best
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2009

Quite the hideout weapon

By
Location: Katy, TX
I bought the plastic grip that closes over the trigger and snaps out to a full palm grip for the pistol. Although I have not taken this little powerhouse to the range yet to train it to hit a target, it is a tight weapon, well made to close tolerances. I have to be sure the nipples are tight and the caps are tightly seated or the cylinder will not turn, but that is a good thing, pointing out the fact everything is made to close tolerance and should not spray spark and powder to the sides when fired (I have been hit with a gust of powder while standing near another type black powder pistol). The hammer spring is stiff, but that should also prevent accidental cocking - you wouldn't want one of these going off in your pocket. Overall I am very excited about owning and practicing with this weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2009

"You never know what you can do 'til you try"

By
Location: Oregon
This is by far one of the best black powder derringers ever made. It holds a decent amount of powder, functions well, can be quikly reloaded by simply swaping the used cylinder with a fresh one, makes a great bang, and is made completely from surgical stainless steel. I carry it quite often with complete satisfaction and cofidence. The #11 caps, once pressed in tight to the cylinder, can be water-proofed by simply using a thin brush with a healthy drop of nail polish. Once applied around the cap on the nipple, the cylinder should be blow dried for optimum sealing. A heater or hair dryer works bestfor this.
Prior to loading the cap, a thin pin or needle pushed from the back of the nipple, down on through the powder to the already seated bullet will allow for a surer ignition. Finally when all is done, use synthetic grease over the tops of the seated bullets to water seal and reduce fouling/chain fire.
This pistol, done in such careful measure, with lovin' care, will fire reliably, even after weeks of storage. It took a great deal of research and a painstakingly difficult process to repeat and test this, but it's worth it to share this with those that can benefit from it.
My daddy always said, "You never know what you can do 'til you try," and, "If you can't afford to lose, don't play."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2008

Great BP Derringer

By
Location: Maryland
Superbly made as all NAA handguns. Compact and easy to load, shoot, clean. Feels good in the hand. Not a toy for a boy but lots of fun too. All my friends want one or the .22 rimfire version. I highly recommend this BP derringer offered through Cabela's. Service, ordering and shipping from Cabell's is as always-the best!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2008

Super Little Gun

By
I think this is a well built little gun. I took it to the range and had a blast shooting it. I could put 4 out of 5 of the rounds into a 2in target from 15 feet. That was after I got use to the site. I only wish I could order a 22lr cylinder for it. I called NAA and they say NO to that. When you buy one of these yourself don't forget to order plenty of extra bullets. I went thru the ones they sent with it in no time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2008

WesternTravel

By
Location: Central Oregon
I find this little gem to be quite a keeper and hope it siuts best in the future. I am particularly appreciative of all its refinements. The black powder is powerful and cheaper than most, as I reload alot. I have already recomended to a very close friend of mine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2008

cute, works good.

By
Location: near berkeley, california
I really like this gun,
it is tiny
like others I have noticed that if the caps stick out, it will jam,
but if the caps do not stick out, it works great, get the right caps for it.
fairly accurate, single action only, made out of a very corrosion resistant stainless steel.
now I want the 22LR version, because it does take a while to load this version.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2007

Five star rating

By
Location: salisbury , MD
A nice little pistol to carry outdoors. I shot this pistol at a wet phone book to see the penetration. The 22. cal bullet penetrated 200 pages of the phone book at 3yds. I will use it on the trapline. So I give it five stars for handling , stainless , is accurate at close range , comes with good instructions and accessories. Five stars.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2007

As stated

By
Location: maryland
This gun is high quality and very loud the way i like em. very simple in turn very sturdy could not have asked for a better bp gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2007

NAA Cap & Ball 22 Mag..

By
Location: Gold Country of California
Great little pistol.
Not a true 22 mag. in stopping power but a great little shooter.
I load mine up with 3 cylinders with shot and the rest with the 22 bullets.
The shot is for when I'm panning and digging for gold I have had some unwanted rattlers find a interest in me.
We call them the keepers of the gold.
Well lets say it sure stops them with the shot loads.
**AND THEY TASTE LIKE CHICKEN**
Anyway again a great shirt pocket protector
I have 2 now and what they lack in power they make it up in quality and looks.
Pick up one but be sure it's the Mag model.
The LR is really just a loud pellet gun.
Ahappy Camper
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2007

Best blackpowder

By
Location: Florida
This little gem of a gun is GREAT!! It shoots beautifully and is a terriffic addition to my black powder arsenal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Companion .22 Magnum Frame Black-Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2006

From the hip

By
Location: Buckeye State
I have few faults with this little shootin' iron! It shoots straight enough but the location of the front sight blade is off a good bit due to a mistake in casting. But once you figure out how to compensating a hair it does alright. As we all know the common way to fire this type of gun is normally up close and-or from the hip. The way it holds up to my standards in other regards is why I decided it was worth the money spent, even if it shoots down & to the left a little. It is also fun if freinds don't know this & I have some fun at their expense. Otherwise it would get all 5 STARS! "What's a matter Ol'Pard,can't shoot straight?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.